6+5 rule passed!

Wonder how Vlad will react to this - not that the group formerly known as the G14 will accept it - in terms of showcasing Lithuanian players?

funktasticlad

This is the most stupid rule i think i've heard. the sooner someone replaces that crook at the head of FIFA the better. All this will do is make the rangers man utds real madrids of european football more and more stronger because the top players will be snapped up by them leaving the rest to pick up the dregs making football as a whole wosre off as the strong get stronger and the week get weaker. Also it will make the fees payed between clubs for home grown players between clubs turn silly.

Education and devolpment of youth teams @ grass roots, coaching, and taking down all no ball games signs is whats needed to improve football. The guy should be shot.

Also... what happens when teams suffer injury and suspension issues? Imagine having to play some untested kid whilst some seasoned pros warm the bench and cant play just because this Swiss guy says so

Spellczech

This is great for the French league I'd have thought and also good for the English and Italian NTs...It is bad for players from countries that have poor leagues including all but the best African players.

How will it affect us? Probably limit us to only getting Lithuanian foreigners in which is scary...and the OF will put more money into attracting the best young Scottish talent which could hurt all other clubs...

As said above, this ruling will not happen in Europe due to European Laws on Restriction of Trade. That's why the "3 foreigner" rule was dropped.

From FIFA.com

Joseph S. Blatter held a round table with journalists from the main press agencies on 7 May 2008. Ahead of the forthcoming FIFA Congress (29-30 May 2008), the FIFA President explained why in his opinion the so-called '6+5' rule, which will be discussed at the Congress, is crucial to the future of football.

Read on to see what the president of world football's governing body had to say...

On the '6+5' rule and other topics for discussion at the Congress

The '6+5' rule will be one of the subjects discussed at the FIFA Congress. It represents the extension of a series of measures taken by FIFA at the May 2007 Congress and finalised by the Executive Committee in October and whose aims are to protect minors, protect youth training, adapt the transfer system to today's realities and ensure tighter control over the actions of players' agents. Moreover, we will also discuss another "related" problem at the Congress - that of players taking on other nationalities. At the moment, after a two-year period a player can receive nationality from another country. Based on the misuse of this system that we have already seen, we want to increase this period to five years. If we do not, I would not be surprised if in 2014, half the players in the World Cup were of Brazilian origin...

On the aims of the '6+5' rule

We need to ask supporters around the world the following questions: are you in favour of a strong national team? Are you in favour of national team players playing for the top clubs in your country's league? Are you in favour of youth players being trained and then getting access to the first team at their original club? Do you want players who have come through the youth system at a club to sign their first pro contact with that club? If you answer "yes" to all these questions, then like me you are in favour of the '6+5' rule.

On the compatibility of the '6+5' rule with European laws

Contrary to what may have been said, the '6+5' rule does not contravene the European Labour Law on the freedom of movement. Clubs will still be free to take on as many foreign players as they want. When a match kicks off however, they will have to have six players on the pitch who are eligible for the national team of the country in question. Furthermore, the '6+5' rule supports another European Law, namely regarding having the broadest and fairest possible competition and restricting the concentration of finances and economic monopolies. This is the direction that football is going in. In the five main European championships at the moment, four-fifths of the teams are battling to avoid relegation to a lower division. This is not a sign that football is in good health. It is the proof that a minority of clubs control everything - money, players and means.

We are not trying to defy the laws that are in place. We have to struggle all year round against governmental interference in the affairs of Member Associations so we are not about to start interfering ourselves! Having said that, if we do not intervene, the fairness of the sport will be further endangered and identification with national teams is going to disappear. In the end it will all be down to money, there will be no more sporting competition or local or regional sentiment.

On the various stages of implementation of the '6+5' rule

I am going to make a suggestion to the Congress and ask the FIFA members for a mandate. I hope that they will give me this mandate so that we can start discussions with everybody involved in football - the leagues, the players, the national associations and the clubs - as well as those from the political scene - notably the European Union and the governments. I will of course be accompanied by UEFA President Michel Platini in my dealings with the European Union.

On the measures proposed by UEFA

The 4+4 or 'home-grown rule' proposed by UEFA has one major shortcoming - it does not protect players who are eligible for the national team of the club in question. Under this system, the richest clubs would merely have to buy players at an even younger age than they are currently doing. Michel Platini is in favour of the '6+5' system, he just thinks that it will be difficult to implement. But we have a lot of support. Many of our member associations have come out in favour of it as have famous players and coaches such as Gianfranco Zola, Roy Keane, Alex Ferguson, Johan Cruyff and Franz Beckenbauer.

Personally, I am convinced that it is far from impossible to solve the problem. The figures from the five main European championships (Germany, England, Spain, France and Italy) are not that far away from '6+5'. 43% of squads are made up of players who are not eligible. England and Germany are the only ones who are above 50%. Of course, rich clubs will always be able to buy the best players in the country. We are not fighting over money, we are fighting to keep a minimum of local, regional or national identity. We are fighting for youth training and this goes all the way up to the national teams. Rich clubs will stay rich but those less well off will stand a chance, that's all we ask for.

On the solidarity created by the '6+5' rule

Let's be honest: the Champions League is the biggest league in the world, but 80 per cent of the income it generates goes directly to the 32 participating clubs, and even more to the clubs who progress further in the competition. This season has been symptomatic. There were three English clubs in the semi-finals and two in the final, who will get even more money. Europe cannot carry on being so selfish. We need to have solidarity and to help others in order to maintain a balance in football. Europe looks after its rich clubs well but needs to look after those that are less well off. The '6+5' rule will redress the balance in sporting terms and I can guarantee that continents like South America and Africa are behind us on this, as they are the suppliers for the big European clubs and they are suffering from the exodus of their players. The President of the CAF Issa Hayatou for example defended the '6+5' rule at the African Confederation's Congress last January.

On how to convince the European Union

On behalf of FIFA I have been fighting for the past 33 years to defend the universality of our sport. There is room for us to discuss this with Europe and the governments, the door is not closed, and we are not alone in this. The Olympic Committee supports us, and the international volleyball, basketball and rugby federations are looking to introduce similar rules. It is easy to talk about solidarity but more difficult to actually implement it. We need to convince the world and the media, but I'm an optimist by nature and I'm convinced that we'll manage it.

Does that mean EVERY team has to have 6 footballers plus 5 Kaunus diddies in the team every week?

Should level the playing field a bit at least. :P

On the aims of the '6+5' rule

We need to ask supporters around the world the following questions: are you in favour of a strong national team? Are you in favour of national team players playing for the top clubs in your country's league? Are you in favour of youth players being trained and then getting access to the first team at their original club? Do you want players who have come through the youth system at a club to sign their first pro contact with that club? If you answer "yes" to all these questions, then like me you are in favour of the '6+5' rule.

Presumably by "supporters around the world" he doesn't mean supporters in Africa who've seen the quality of their national sides steadily improve as their players have enjoyed relatively easy access to the top leagues in the world. Hundreds, if not thousands, of Brazilians play all over the world from Milan to Japan to the Faroes. This has been going on for some time and it doesn't seem to do them much harm.

Also in the case of small countries with a nation with a big money league next door there will be a clear financial incentive for players from the former who are technically eligible for the latter to remain eligible by not playing international football for the small country.

This effect might have an overall negative impact in Scotland, where quite a lot of people have an English Grandparent. Although it might have dettered Aiden McGeady from becoming a foreigner and thus damaging his club career because he'd now count against Celtic's quota and we might acquire the odd Northern Irishmen with a Glaswegian Granny.

It could be a very serious problem indeed for the really small national associations like San Marino (Where just about everybody could claim to be Italian for quota purposes providing they've never played for San Marino) Lichtenstein(Germany) and Luxembourg(Germany/France).

From FIFA.com

On the compatibility of the '6+5' rule with European laws

Contrary to what may have been said, the '6+5' rule does not contravene the European Labour Law on the freedom of movement. Clubs will still be free to take on as many foreign players as they want. When a match kicks off however, they will have to have six players on the pitch who are eligible for the national team of the country in question. Furthermore, the '6+5' rule supports another European Law, namely regarding having the broadest and fairest possible competition and restricting the concentration of finances and economic monopolies. This is the direction that football is going in. In the five main European championships at the moment, four-fifths of the teams are battling to avoid relegation to a lower division. This is not a sign that football is in good health. It is the proof that a minority of clubs control everything - money, players and means.

Which is exactly the same restrictions placed on clubs with their 3 Foreigner ruling which they had to abandon due to European legislation :confused:

Is the EU able to say that any european citizien can play football for any international team within Europe that they like? Of course not. I presume due to the rules of international competitions??

They should just make the rules of the league that you have to have x number of players from your own country. If any player wants to work in that country, go ahead. But if they want to play football, the teams that sign them have to fulfil the criteria of the competion (which could be 1, 2, 5, 6 or 11 players from country x).

If it can be done at international level, I don't see why it can't be done at league level.

Which is exactly the same restrictions placed on clubs with their 3 Foreigner ruling which they had to abandon due to European legislation :confused:

Although Freedom of Movement for Workers is a right only for EU Citizens (plus a few others like the Norwegians, Swiss ) So watered down rules that, for example, limited the number of players from outside UEFA countries would probably still be legal.

I'm confused about this though

It's clearly illegal in European law to require Arsenal to discriminate against French Players in favour of English Ones

However it's clearly legal in European law to ask them to discriminate against Brazilians

But asking Arsenal to discriminate against Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish players would presumable be an issue for English, as opposed to EU, law and as far as I know Scots, Welsh and Northern Irish aren't covered by discrimination laws so I can't see how it could be challenged in the courts

Is the EU able to say that any european citizien can play football for any international team within Europe that they like? Of course not. I presume due to the rules of international competitions??

They should just make the rules of the league that you have to have x number of players from your own country. If any player wants to work in that country, go ahead. But if they want to play football, the teams that sign them have to fulfil the criteria of the competion (which could be 1, 2, 5, 6 or 11 players from country x).

If it can be done at international level, I don't see why it can't be done at league level.

From the European Commision

http://ec.europa.eu/sport/action_sports/dialogue/forum2003/forum2003-kontizas_en.pdf

The important passage for your purposes

"The only exception which the Court has made to the general rule of nondiscrimination is that in matches which are purely of sporting, rather than economic interest (e.g. matches between national teams) excluding foreign players for exclusively sports-related reasons may be justified."

Might be wrong here, but not sure it will contravene European employment laws...

A club can sign as any non-national players as it wishes, but can only play 5 in a starting 11... think the lawyers might struggle to challenge this one...

Will mean only one thing in the SPL... the OF will buy up all the young emerging Scottish talent...

this has next to no chance of surviving a challenge in the European courts.

FIFA can spin it all they like by arguing they are not restricting freedom of movement as a club can employ anyone they just won't be able to play them all at the same time, this won't wash in Europe. It is still a restriction on an employee based on nationality and one that, it could be argued, could have detrimental effects on their career progression.

http://ec.europa.eu/sport/action_sports/dialogue/forum2003/forum2003-kontizas_en.pdf

"The only exception which the Court has made to the general rule of nondiscrimination is that in matches which are purely of sporting, rather than economic interest (e.g. matches between national teams) excluding foreign players for exclusively sports-related reasons may be justified."

And given that the TV rights to the EPL amount to ?1.3 BILLION, there isn't an economic interest? :rolleyes:

The way things are going, there could well be a breakaway European Super League and the clubs can at last say "**** you" to their football federations and keep the money for themselves. The gruesome twosome would probably be wannabes at this party.

Might be wrong here, but not sure it will contravene European employment laws...

It will as has been shown in the past

A club can sign as any non-national players as it wishes, but can only play 5 in a starting 11... think the lawyers might struggle to challenge this one...

If you were allowed to hire as many Polish Bricklayers as you wanted on the proviso that there was a limit on how many were actually allowed near the bricks it would be the same principle.

It's not an outright ban on people working in other member states but it is clearly an obstacle.

Will mean only one thing in the SPL... the OF will buy up all the young emerging Scottish talent...

It would mean more than one thing.

It would also mean that there would be fewer Scottish Players playing in

the EPL. This would arguably be good for the SPL but bad for the National team as our (Scotland's) players benefit from playing against some of the strongest clubs in the world on a regular basis.

It would also mean that the quality of exotic import we got in second tier leagues like Scotland, Russia and Greece would be higher as an artificial choke on the numbers allowed in to the top tier (EPL, La Liga, Seria A, Bundesliga) would mean that there will be lots of players who are quite capable of operating at that level but can't get in. They'll end up in places like Scotland making less money and usually playing against opposition that they're a lot better than.

And given that the TV rights to the EPL amount to ?1.3 BILLION, there isn't an economic interest? :rolleyes:.

Precisely.

Part of the reason that the International game can be treated differently is that while it is professional it is invariably not the players' principal employment or source of income. Internationalists' do get paid to play for their country but fundamentally they're not doing it for the money and the sums involved are generally small compared to their full time income.

It will as has been shown in the past

If you were allowed to hire as many Polish Bricklayers as you wanted on the proviso that there was a limit on how many were actually allowed near the bricks it would be the same principle.

It's not an outright ban on people working in other member states but it is clearly an obstacle.

It would mean more than one thing.

It would also mean that there would be fewer Scottish Players playing in

the EPL. This would arguably be good for the SPL but bad for the National team as our (Scotland's) players benefit from playing against some of the strongest clubs in the world on a regular basis.

It would also mean that the quality of exotic import we got in second tier leagues like Scotland, Russia and Greece would be higher as an artificial choke on the numbers allowed in to the top tier (EPL, La Liga, Seria A, Bundesliga) would mean that there will be lots of players who are quite capable of operating at that level but can't get in. They'll end up in places like Scotland making less money and usually playing against opposition that they're a lot better than.

Mibbees aye, mibbees naw.

If this did come to fruition, it is guaranteed that there will be a breakaway of some sort with the biggest clubs forming their own league. These players would enjoy the financial awards but would not be able to play international football. However, competitions like the World Cup and the "Champions League" would be devalued as a result.

Therefore, it could well be that the middle ranked teams in the EPL would now be competing for the Premiership title so there could be opportunities for the Fletchers, Gordons and Maloneys of this world to play in a more advanced league than its Scottish equivalent.

Fair enough. I'm sure there must be other examples tho.

Just seems to me the EU are sticking their nose in where it ain't needed. Sporting tournaments should be allowed to have their rules IMO.

Do they prevent the French Tennis folks from giving a wildcard to a French boy in their tennis? Of course not. And there is economic interest there.

frankblack

I don't see the problem with this.

I think the Arsenals and Chelseas will be the ones with a problem because they don't play more than 2 English players.

There is nothing in this proposal that stops clubs from employing as many foreigners as they like. These foreigners earn their wages for more than just match day appearances - training, etc is part of their contract.

The fact that a club like Arsenal won't be able to play all the french/french-speaking african players they can sign is their problem. These clubs are descriminating against English players by not playing them at the moment. That counters the argument against this proposal.

I haven't read the proposal in full, but I guess the team could boost their starting line-up of 5 foreigners by bringing on 3 subs.

Question: do foreign youngsters brought up through the youth academy count as "local" players? I was led to believe that was why Hearts signed all these youngsters like Branny and Rapnik.

As a Hearts fan I don't think this will affect us too much. We should have a core of 6 Scottish players at the heart of the team at a minimum, although our team needs totally rebuilt because it is rotten to the core.

Fair enough. I'm sure there must be other examples tho.

Just seems to me the EU are sticking their nose in where it ain't needed. Sporting tournaments should be allowed to have their rules IMO.

Do they prevent the French Tennis folks from giving a wildcard to a French boy in their tennis? Of course not. And there is economic interest there.

But they don't restrict entry to French players, or insist a certain quota are French.

That's the difference.

This has no chance of surviving in Europe, at least as far as European players are concerned.

But they don't restrict entry to French players, or insist a certain quota are French.

That's the difference.

They're giving out wildcards to french players who didn't qualify. Which is as good as saying there are a quota of french players in the tournament.

This has no chance of surviving in Europe, at least as far as European players are concerned.

I tend to agree, unless UEFA go to the courts. Seems to me if they make a big enough fuss, they'll get an exception for football like some other areas of employment have.....

I wouldn't be so sure.

The 3 foreigner rule went remember.

Campbell Ogilvie comments.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/7427582.stm

Hearts managing director Campbell Ogilvie gave the proposal a guarded welcome despite his club's high proportion of imported players. "In principle, the club is in favour of a scheme promoting home-developed talent," he said.

"For any system to be implemented, it has to be structured appropriately and operable within the EU employment legislation."

"Uefa currently have a home-developed scheme which is accepted and appears successful."

However, Ogilvie stressed: "This scheme proposed by Fifa appears to contravene European Employment legislation."

The "home-developed" scheme he talks of is coming into place right? And it's heading in the same direction. X number of players in a squad must be home grown, increasing number over the years ahead......

Yes but home grown means grown, not born.

We could have a lot of home grown Lithuanians for example.

If you read Blatter's comments though, he seems to say that FIFA will go against that because the 'big' clubs will simply sign players at a younger age.

In effect, this is what Arsenal in particular have been doing for years with their French imports.

It would mean we couldn't sign players like Visconte, Kostadinov, Copil etc. as easily as we do now.

Yes but home grown means grown, not born.

I realise that, but isn't this just a way of getting round the EU rule whilst still encouraging player development in that country?

We could have a lot of home grown Lithuanians for example.

Don't go giving anyone any ideas. Before you know it the worlds first Miko factory will have opened in Scotland. ;)

If you read Blatter's comments though, he seems to say that FIFA will go against that because the 'big' clubs will simply sign players at a younger age.

Ah, I missed that.

In effect, this is what Arsenal in particular have been doing for years with

their French imports.

It would mean we couldn't sign players like Visconte, Kostadinov, Copil etc. as easily as we do now.

I thought that was the whole point of us signing those players so young, so they would be counted as "scottish" when this rule comes in.....

Mibbees aye, mibbees naw.

If this did come to fruition, it is guaranteed that there will be a breakaway of some sort with the biggest clubs forming their own league. These players would enjoy the financial awards but would not be able to play international football. However, competitions like the World Cup and the "Champions League" would be devalued as a result.

Therefore, it could well be that the middle ranked teams in the EPL would now be competing for the Premiership title so there could be opportunities for the Fletchers, Gordons and Maloneys of this world to play in a more advanced league than its Scottish equivalent.

I'd used the phrase "It would mean more than one thing" deliberately.

As I've outlined I reckon that there's no way FIFA's plan is legal or would be accepted by the big clubs but I was humouring hmfcalum (who was talking about what it "will" mean) and assuming that FIFA's plan was not only implemented but was accepted.

I thought that was the whole point of us signing those players so young, so they would be counted as "scottish" when this rule comes in.....

That's UEFA's "Home Grown Players" rule that you're thinking of which is a different thing altogether from FIFA's proposals. It has been looked on more favourably by the European Commision as it isn't direct discrimination on the grounds of nationality.

Whether it stands up when rigorously challenged in court is another question.

Excuse me, Mr Blatter.

What's the problem that you're trying to fix and how will this make it better?

Excuse me, Mr Blatter.

I am a fine and famous tailor and I have this wonderful, valuable gold thread which any intelligent person can see in all its splendour. In fact, should anyone be thick as mince they actually can't see it. Shall I make you a suit of clothes woven from this fine thread?

That's UEFA's "Home Grown Players" rule that you're thinking of which is a different thing altogether from FIFA's proposals. It has been looked on more favourably by the European Commision as it isn't direct discrimination on the grounds of nationality.

Whether it stands up when rigorously challenged in court is another question.

It's been accepted according to Campbell, and as far as I can see, it'll have similar results.

Just by natural way of things, it'll be mostly scottish players that develop at scottish clubs and the same in other countries. So it'll be mostly scottish players that end up qualifying as home grown at scottish clubs.

Yes, there'll be exceptions, but it seems to me this rule will acheive basically the same thing. Encourage teams to develop their own talent.

Ah, I missed that.

That was the plan based on the original UEFA premise. However, these new regulations surpass those.

Wonder how Vlad will react to this - not that the group formerly known as the G14 will accept it - in terms of showcasing Lithuanian players?

What Blatter/FIFA says is irelevant. Any such change clearly breaches EU law and would never be allowed to operate in member countries.

That was the plan based on the original UEFA premise. However, these new regulations surpass those.

Shall be interesting to see what develops then.

I see it as a good thing if clubs are encouraged to develop their own talent rather than buying in cheap imports.

http://europa.eu/rapid/pressReleasesAction.do?reference=IP/08/807&format=HTML&aged=0&language=EN&guiLanguage=en

IP/08/807

Brussels, 28 May 2008

UEFA rule on ‘home-grown players’: compatibility with the principle of free movement of persons

The European Commission has published an independent study on the ‘home-grown players’ rule adopted by UEFA. This rule requires clubs participating in the Champions League and the UEFA Cup to have a minimum number of ‘home-grown players’ in their squads. Compared with the '6+5' plan proposed by FIFA, which is incompatible with EU law, the Commission considers that UEFA has opted for an approach which seems to comply with the principle of free movement of workers while promoting the training of young European players. The Commission also notes that the measures are designed to support the promotion and protection of quality training for young footballers in the EU. This study had been announced in the White Paper on Sport in July 2007 .

The results of the independent study on UEFA’s ‘home-grown players’ rule are part of a broader independent study on the training of young sportsmen and sportswomen in Europe, which has been produced for the Commission and will be published in June. These results provide additional material for assessing the UEFA rule’s compatibility with the provisions of the Treaty on freedom of movement for persons.

Vladimir Špidla, Member of the European Commission responsible for employment, social affairs and equal opportunities, today declared that ‘Compared with the intentions announced by FIFA to impose the so-called ‘6+5’ rule, which is directly discriminatory and therefore incompatible with EU law, the ‘home-grown players’ rule proposed by UEFA seems to me to be proportionate and to comply with the principle of free movement of workers’.

J?n Figel', European Commissioner in charge of education, training, culture and youth, has stated that ‘Measures which require the top European clubs to preserve quality training structures seem to me to be necessary. The UEFA rules thus avoid the risk of professional football clubs abandoning training structures.’

According to Action 9 of the Pierre de Coubertin Action Plan, part of the White Paper on Sport, ‘Rules requiring that teams include a certain quota of ‘home-grown players’ could be accepted as being compatible with the Treaty provisions on free movement of persons if they do not lead to any direct discrimination based on nationality and if possible indirect discrimination effects resulting from them can be justified as being proportionate to a legitimate objective pursued, such as enhancing and protecting the training and development of talented young players’. This approach received the support of the European Parliament in its recent Resolution on the White Paper on Sport .

‘Home-grown players’ are defined by UEFA as players who, regardless of their nationality or age, have been trained by their club or by another club in the national association for at least three years between the age of 15 and 21. The UEFA rule does not contain any nationality conditions. It also applies in the same way to all players and all clubs participating in competitions organised by UEFA.

Although it is difficult at the moment to state with any certainty that the ‘home-grown players’ rule will lead to indirect discrimination on the basis of nationality, the potential risk of this cannot be discounted, as young players attending a training centre at a club in a Member State tend to be from that Member State rather than from other EU countries.

Nevertheless, the objectives underlying UEFA’s ‘home-grown players’ rule, namely promoting training for young players and consolidating the balance of competitions, seem to be legitimate objectives of general interest, as they are inherent to sporting activity.

Since the rules adopted by UEFA will be implemented gradually in successive stages (list A to include four ‘home-grown players’ out of 25 for the 2006/07 season and eight out of 25 as from the 2008/09 season), their practical effects will not be totally clear for a number of years.

Therefore, in order to be able to assess the implications of the UEFA rule in terms of the principle of free movement of workers, the Commission will closely monitor its implementation and undertake a further analysis of its consequences by 2012.

The independent study on UEFA’s ‘home-grown players’ rule and the White Paper on Sport are available on the website:

http://ec.europa.eu/sport/whatsup/index_en.html

Free movement of workers:

http://ec.europa.eu/employment_social/free_movement/sports_en.htm

It will barely affect our league anyway, if going by the current figures. Italian and Spanish leagues have a even better levels of homegrown players.

I've lost the link now, but BBC did an end of season report on it and we averaged about 5.5 Scots per game, Spain about 6.2 and Italy about 7.

England and Germany struggled, with only 3 or 4.

The English Prem though has been blighted by having too much money, which has stuck a ridiculous premium on the price of homegrown players. All the lower tier teams are so scared of the financial consequences of the drop that they'll spend and spend abroad instead.

What Blatter/FIFA says is irelevant. Any such change clearly breaches EU law and would never be allowed to operate in member countries.

Quite. However, UEFA could insist that it's their ball and could try and use it in the Champions League.

The threat of the big boys breaking away and World Cups being held without the top names would be disastrous to FIFA in lost sponsorship money. Blatter may be a crook but there's no point being a crook if he can't line his own pockets.

could try and use it in the Champions League.

I'm not sure they could get away with that. Those Champs League clubs that are EU domiciled would still be operating a discriminatory policy, albeit only in some games.

Is it any more discriminatory than an u-21 tournament or even international match?

At the end of the day though its a moot point as there is no way on earth they would block the likes of Barcelona, Arsenal, Liverpool or Bayern Munich from entering. These teams are the whole point of the competition in UEFA's eyes.

Blackdog35
Although Freedom of Movement for Workers is a right only for EU Citizens (plus a few others like the Norwegians, Swiss ) So watered down rules that, for example, limited the number of players from outside UEFA countries would probably still be legal.

I'm confused about this though

It's clearly illegal in European law to require Arsenal to discriminate against French Players in favour of English Ones

However it's clearly legal in European law to ask them to discriminate against Brazilians

But asking Arsenal to discriminate against Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish players would presumable be an issue for English, as opposed to EU, law and as far as I know Scots, Welsh and Northern Irish aren't covered by discrimination laws so I can't see how it could be challenged in the courts

Brazilians can be disciminated aginst as Brazil is not part of the EU so i am really not sure why you included that sentence.

As far as the EU is councerned the Scots, Welsh, English and Northern Irish are part of the UK ie one EU country so the 6-5 rule wouldn't apply as the Home nations players are all counted as UK/EU citzens not Scots, Welsh, English citzens etc.

These discussions are moot anyway 6-5 rule will never happen as it's utterly illegal on every front.

It's highly illegal.

The EU is more powerful than FIFA.

After the first few cases of players taking clubs and/or FIFA to court for racism because they can't get a game due to their nationality, this silly "law" will be repealed.

maroonedinoz
It's highly illegal.

The EU is more powerful than FIFA.

After the first few cases of players taking clubs and/or FIFA to court for racism because they can't get a game due to their nationality, this silly "law" will be repealed.

Firstly this law" intorudced by FIFa isn't a law and hasn't been 'introduced'.

The motion was basically that they should 'explore' the possibility of bringing it about.

As many have pointed out EU laws run counter to what is proposed.

However if I could put the opposite view to many and suggest the 'good points' about such a proposed law.

And that is that it would allow for more chance of developing young home grown players than currently exists, and would benefit several countries on an international team basis.

I think we need look no further than Tynecastle for examples of where the introduction of lyoung players has been stifled to a degree due to the 'easy option' of signing (or bringing in on loan) an 'experienced pro from foreign fields., rather than develop the youngsters

also..consider this. The main league I see as being affected is the super rich EPL.

Now some will say that becasue of the foreign army of talent on display that it is the best league in the world,

But does that mean that Englaish football is indeed the best in the world.?

Ponder that there were three "englsih" clubs in the semi finals of the European club championship, yet the Englsih national team has failed to make the European Championship fon an internatinal basis.

so a 'league' full of foreingers playing at a high standard, would not it seems, assist a country's international side.

Prince Buaben

Is there not rule though if you've moved to play in the UK and been here for 5 years and havent been capped for your native country then you then qualify for any of the home nations i.e Novo..Amouruso..etc?

There was a statistic quoted on ITV news last night that in the season just ended English players accounted for only 39% of English Premiership appearances.

Colonel Blater, Colonel Blater...What a joke!? Because I have question. Maby in LA Galaxy thay will have 6 from Kalifornia and 5 from amother states (countrys)!? EU rules are the same, like in USA. I'm sure that UEFA not will confirm this idea, because she working against rules in EU contract betwen countrys for free movement and job of EU people. FIFA is not over world.

Emotionaly we have the same problem here, but this is pricip and I don't agree Blater.

My CSKA: Nikolay Vujadinovic (Serbia), Quido Lanzaat (Holland), Felippe Machado (Brazil), Jose Rui Tavares de Veiga (Ze Rui) (Portugal), Marcos Antonio Malachias Junior - Marquinhos (Brazil and Bulgaria), Robert Petrov (F.Y.R Macedonoa), Nenad Nastic (Serbia), Florentin Petre (Romania), Udoji Chigozie (Nigeria - Bulgaria), Jose Luis Garces Rivera (Panama), Claudinei Alexandre Aparecido (Brazil - Portugal). This transfer window will comming new forighner guys.

In our bulgarian rules we have 5 places for players outsite of EU and no limit for EU players. And I confirm this. If local guys (including my country) want places under Sunny - fight pls!