Train spotting 2 (porno)

Tynecastle Valhalla

See there is a sequel planned !

The original is one of my fav films so can't wait

Watched the original last night. Also saw the play last Sunday at the festival which was good involved the audience alot as we were all sat on a warehouse floor.

Interesting to see if the original main cast will be back.

Watched the original last night. Also saw the play last Sunday at the festival which was good involved the audience alot as we were all sat on a warehouse floor.

Interesting to see if the original main cast will be back.

They will be.

Trainspotting was brilliant but dated as fast as an Ealing comedy. Hope they get fresh new faces and ditch the dinosaurs from the original. If not it will flop badly

Really? I watched it last night again and still think it's fantastic.

Thought the book was shite tbh. The prequel skagboys was much better , they could make that wi younger actors instead.

Riddley Walker

Thought the book was shite tbh. The prequel skagboys was much better , they could make that wi younger actors instead.

Really? I've never heard that said before.

I agree, book was shite (Porno). Also, the most recent film based on one of his books (Filth) was one of the worst things I've ever seen.

Totally agree. Just imagine a scene of spud at the caley hotel with a Dutch pornstar.

Been so long since I read Porno, from what I remember it wasn't the best and did it not refer to Spud having the money from Renton which only happened in the film version of Trainspotting?

Fearful this'll be a bit shit

Fitzroy Pointon

I'm reading Skagboys right now and don't think it's as good as Porno.  The rehab diary bit is the best.  Overall I think it is a pretty weak piece compared to Porno.

There's an extreme lack of Begbie.  The world needs more Begbie.  

Riddley Walker

Really? I've never heard that said before.

Scrap that, thought you were talking about Trainspotting. Didn't mind Porno tbh, but not at the same level as Trainspotting, Glue or Filth.

I thought the book was quite good to be honest.

The film could be a hit or a miss.

Ecstacy and Filth were woefully bad.

I think a prequel based on Skagboys might have been the better idea, but I do also like Porno as a book so...

Trainspotting is one of those rare movies that was better than than the book. I have sampled a couple of Welsh's books and put them down mainly because of the writing style and way he manages to glorify and glamourise violence and drug abuse just irritated me throughout. Welsh is a very limited author with a mindset in Hibs casualism (is that even a thing). Given far too much credit and kudos. he was astonishingly lucky that his book (Trainspotting) was picked up for a screenplay. No one would have heard of him otherwise and he'd still be wondering about on derby day with the other fat Hibs forty year olds looking for a fight.,

Trainspotting is one of those rare movies that was better than than the book. I have sampled a couple of Welsh's books and put them down mainly because of the writing style and way he manages to glorify and glamourise violence and drug abuse just irritated me throughout. Welsh is a very limited author with a mindset in Hibs casualism (is that even a thing). Given far too much credit and kudos. he was astonishingly lucky that his book (Trainspotting) was picked up for a screenplay. No one would have heard of him otherwise and he'd still be wondering about on derby day with the other fat Hibs forty year olds looking for a fight.,

I agree. He's a one trick pony that got lucky. Wouldn't give him the reek off my shite.

Trainspotting is one of those rare movies that was better than than the book. I have sampled a couple of Welsh's books and put them down mainly because of the writing style and way he manages to glorify and glamourise violence and drug abuse just irritated me throughout. Welsh is a very limited author with a mindset in Hibs casualism (is that even a thing). Given far too much credit and kudos. he was astonishingly lucky that his book (Trainspotting) was picked up for a screenplay. No one would have heard of him otherwise and he'd still be wondering about on derby day with the other fat Hibs forty year olds looking for a fight.,

Welsh was never part of that crowd but does admit he has a fascination with it.

I can't agree that Trainspotting the film is better than the book. The book is excellent and I don't thing he's ever bettered it really.

The problem is that he has never really kicked on as a writer, infact I think he's gone backwards, particularly over the last 10 years.

The last really good thing he done was Glue IMO, although I did like Porno and Skagboys.

The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins and A Decent Ride, his last two books, are absolute garbage.

You do have to admire him for making a career out of it.

Craig Gordons Gloves

Transporting was a movie of its time. The soundtrack reflected a lot of what was going on in the mid 90s and both the movie and the book were perfect for that period. I don't think porno would have the same impact although I enjoyed the book. I also enjoyed Glue which would make a good series on TV. I thought skagboys wasn't that good.

They will be.

Good thing is with Ewen McGregor, that movie shot him to fame and has done a lot of work stateside, but he isn't a total like most Scottish actors who go stateside.

Aye, been a while since I read it and thought there was good bits in it but I didn't like mixing the characters from different books for some reason and the lead up to the ending was poor.

Agree about glue being good and that train spotting was a film of its time, I just think it's too late to make this decent?

Anyway , hope I am proved wrong. [emoji106]

Found the hipster :)

Have to agree with this.  But kudos to the guy for making a very good career from his limitations.

Good thing is with Ewen McGregor, that movie shot him to fame and has done a lot of work stateside, but he isn't a total ###### like most Scottish actors who go stateside.

He was a tosser at school, apparently.

Trainspotting, Maribou Stork Nightmares and Glue in my opinion where his best books. Porno and Skag Boys were pretty good. His last few books though are pretty poor. Looks like all he wants to do is "shock" and fails pretty miserably.

Marabou Stork Nightmares was his finest moment. All downhill since then, bit like his favourite football team.

My favourite book of his.

Id love to hate the hibs dug but the nightmares and trainspotting were top class books.

And i am a fussy reader.

Maribou Stork Nightmares is a cant put down book.

Marabou Stork Nightmares was his finest moment.  All downhill since then, bit like his favourite football team.

One of the best lines from Trainspotting....".... a football team that never ******* wins...."

:2thumbsup:

Riddley Walker

I agree, book was shite (Porno). Also, the most recent film based on one of his books (Filth) was one of the worst things I've ever seen.

Thought the film of Filth was pretty good. It followed the same style of the Trainspotting film in being "cartoony", but I thought it worked and was a decent adaptation.

Aye, thought it was decent also.

Character in the book was fabulously horrible. 

I wonder how long he waited after seeing Bad Lieutenant before he wrote it?

Character in the book was a clich?d caricature drawn by crayons, only imo.

It's always struck me that Welsh's writing flows better when he's writing dialect.  When he writes in 'proper' English, it becomes a wee bit stilted.  But as I said above, he's made a damn good living out of it, so fair play to him.

Riddley Walker

It's always struck me that Welsh's writing flows better when he's writing dialect. When he writes in 'proper' English, it becomes a wee bit stilted. But as I said above, he's made a damn good living out of it, so fair play to him.

I'd agree with your second point, definitely. His non-dialect writing loses something.

It's always struck me that Welsh's writing flows better when he's writing dialect.  When he writes in 'proper' English, it becomes a wee bit stilted.  But as I said above, he's made a damn good living out of it, so fair play to him.

Welsh has been away too long now to get the dialect correct IMO.

There are plenty examples of this in his later books. The character 'Wee Jonty' is just another manifestation of the Cowdenbeath boy in Bedroom Secrets of the Masterchefs. He had Jonty speaking like he was from Fife.

It's the little things that annoy me.

Welsh has been away too long now to get the dialect correct IMO.

There are plenty examples of this in his later books. The character 'Wee Jonty' is just another manifestation of the Cowdenbeath boy in Bedroom Secrets of the Masterchefs. He had Jonty speaking like he was from Fife.

It's the little things that annoy me.

Tbh, I haven't read any of his stuff in a while.  He basically just re-writes stuff he's already written, though you cold probably level that at a number of writers. 

I'm not sure if this is just me, but I think it's highly unlikely to "date".

As a movie, it was released in the 90's but set in a very different decade. It's very definitely an 80's movie to me (clothes, Menzies, pubs and clubs) and I think it will always remain as such.

Good book, good movie, i don't want a sequel.

• 2 months later...
Remnants of Standards

Not often Jimmy Sandison gets name checked in a work of literature; Maribou ticks that box along with every other.

A former teacher of mine met Irvine Welsh around the time the book Porno came out and asked why he'd decided to do a sequel.

Irvine said "The official answer is, I loved these characters too much to leave them behind" and then winked and did the universal gesture for coining it in.

zoltan socrates

Marabou Stork Nightmares was his finest moment.  All downhill since then, bit like his favourite football team.

Totally agree with that, hard going for the first few chapters then it explodes into a sinister tale, his finest book and more worthy of a film than trainspotting imo

Anyone read his short story called the Roswell incident from the book 'children of Albion rovers'? Superb story

And because he's so fabulously horrible, he has to be a Hearts supporter, and called Robertson for good measure.

I used to enjoy the Hearts/Hibs references in his books, but he's got very self indulgent with it now. The sequel to Filth, Crime, is disgraceful IMO, and is the reason I'll never give him my money again.

And because he's so fabulously horrible, he has to be a Hearts supporter, and called Robertson for good measure.

I used to enjoy the Hearts/Hibs references in his books, but he's got very self indulgent with it now. The sequel to Filth, Crime, is disgraceful IMO, and is the reason I'll never give him my money again.

To be fair, and this has been mentioned many times, his greatest book was a tale of junkie, thieving, violent.....Hibbys !

I took to the character Robertson as I did Sick Boy...both horrible but great characters.

Jimmy_McNulty

Trainspotting, the Acid House and Maribou Stork Nightmares were great books (IMO).

Porno and Skagboys were decent,

Rest were shite.

Trainspotting was great movie. But Acid House was possibly worst movie I have ever seen.

Fearful for a movie version of porno too.

• 3 weeks later...