AOL Free laptop deal

weaz1981

Has anyone signed up to this? I know it is pricey and 24 month contract but i have been paying that for bt for the last 24 months without a fre laptop and wireless router!

Already got a desktop PC but was wanting a wee laptop to potter around the flat with anyway so the deal sounds ideal.

Any advice from fellow JT's would be greatful:compute:

Do The Dance

Mate of mine did it. Totally regretting it now. Says AOL are a joke.

Rawrrrrrrr

Total rip off

1) your tied in for 2 years to a pricey substandard package from one of the worst ISP's

2) The free laptops are **** poor and cost about ?300 new

3) Go for another provider who will offer you a free router for about half the price or less and half the term and either buy the laptop up front or get an interest free credit card and do it that way

Its an offer deliberatly aimed to deceive people into thinking its a good deal when they are actually paying for the laptop by paying way over the odds for the broadband package - and broadband will only get cheaper

Sheriff Fatman

Don't do it ,AOL are about the worst possible choice you could make for an ISP, and the laptops are very much at the scraping the barrel end of the market.

Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I used to like AOL, but since they got sold to carphone warehouse/talk talk it's went downhill, speed rate fluctuates constantly, and is sometimes non-existant.

A better option, and a route i'm going on at the end of the month, is O2 broadband (bethere.co.uk for non-O2 customers) which gives me 20meg broadband for ?15 a month, that's 3x AOL's top speed for 50% of the price.

Yeah, I'd stay clear of AOL.

If you're after a new laptop, PC World are doing 12 months free credit. It'll probably still work out cheaper in the long run.

Just got myself a new one.

Say What Again

Weaz, I'll buck the trend on this thread so far.

I was with AOL for 3-4 years and never had a single problem. What I paid for - I got. Simple. No gripes at all.