Prison

Gershwin

Quite a few deviants on here...

Anyone ever spent time at her majesty's pleasure? 

prison_blackout_0.jpg

Well this is your thread.

Add your stories below.

Gorgiewave

No. If I could have a cell and shower to myself and plenty of books, I don't think I'd mind it for six months.

After that, it'd probably be samey.

I spent a couple of hours at Saughton.

Locking keys in the boot, ID and a long featureless corridor.

I spent a couple of hours at Saughton.

Locking keys in the boot, ID and a long featureless corridor.

I did a fair bit of work with the prisoners in the special unit there a few years ago. Some utterly terrifying guys in there. More worryingly some decent guys as well who worried me more as they were obviously the fly off the handle into uber violence types. Normally went in through the modern entrance but one day it was closed for maintenance and had to go through the old Victorian part of the jail, it looked like Porridge with all the balconies of cells. 

Stuart Lyon

Used to run our office team in a summer league and had home and away games against the prisoners in Saughton. They were really fit and I had to tell our guys not to swap jerseys with them after the game. One of them recognised one of our players who came from Bonnyrigg and introduced himself by saying "do you remember me I'm the guy that raped the lassie in the park".

Have you?

Sorry I didn't reply.

I was slopping out.

TheMaganator

Do people get bummed & forced to give out blow jobs in British prisons like they do in USA prisons?

Chester™

Do people get bummed & forced to give out blow jobs in British prisons like they do in USA prisons?

Aye.

Worked at HMP Shotts a few years back. The amount of young guys (early 20s) in there was a real eye opener. Booze was a cause of a lot of the lifers. Get in a gang and get blootered and stab/baseball bat/kick to death/stamp on someone's head. Bumming and BJs were almost strictly consensual. There were one or two bullies who used that as a weapon though. But they were mental. Like, REALLY mental.

Never been in jail myself, my brother spent a couple of months in Saughton. Absolutely hated it. He's a bit of a mentalist but by all accounts a lot of the people inside were on a completely different level.

Worked at HMP Shotts a few years back. The amount of young guys (early 20s) in there was a real eye opener. Booze was a cause of a lot of the lifers. Get in a gang and get blootered and stab/baseball bat/kick to death/stamp on someone's head. Bumming and BJs were almost strictly consensual. There were one or two bullies who used that as a weapon though. But they were mental. Like, REALLY mental.

It's easier than you think.

A few years ago a few guys I know we're at the old Revolution.

One of the group got bottled on the stairs for some daft reason and it started a bit of a rammy with everyone jumping in to defend their mate who had been bottled (understandably).

The start of the fight wasn't captured on CCTV and when it spilled out onto the street the chaps I know were rather dominant in the fisticuffs.

They then walked up Lothian Rd high giving each other high fives and hugs before being arrested a few hundred yards later.

When the CCTV footage came out they had no choice but to plead guilty because they had come out the club and pursued the guys, when they could have just started in, or walked in the opposite direction and called the police.

Two of them did a bit of time.

I worked in the prison here for a period when I first came here and was desperate for work.  I was in the wing where the remand prisoners were.  Some were in awaiting trial for murder, rape etc. The highest majority were in for drink cases, and a lot in those days for drugs.

There was no need for rape, there were a couple of homosexual inmates who thought they had died and gone to heaven. As guards the system was so loose it was disgusting.  Every effort was made to keep the peace, aspirins and cough medicine dealt out liberally.  The cons would go on sick  parade and get medication then they would pool it and one or two would get to use it and have a high.

One guy with whom I didn't get on was continuously asking me for a razor blade, I told him no after repeated requests I heard a breaking of glass and he had broken a light bulb and slashed himself.  I have seen more serious cuts on a wee girl doing macrame.  He was removed from his cell and came after me, he was an excellent source for relief of a few months of stress and tension. I realised I was not personality suited for the function of baby sitting criminals who used the system for their benefit.

I had a cousin who lived with us when his mother left him and went to America with the U.S. sailor she married   who told her he would take her to the States but not her ******* son. He lived with us until joining the navy in 1938 then served throughout the war on convoys, had a tough time. He became an alcoholic, and a thief. The detectives when he was arrested bought him a fish supper and got him to ask for offences he didn't commit to be considered in sentence.  His motivation was because he loved doing time in Saughton. He was booze free, the guards loved him, and they treated him with a respect he felt he got nowhere else, the term ******* haunted him all his life.  He would finish a spell, and get out, go on a tear and get back to his adopted home as soon as possible. There was never any question of rehabilitation, that was neither his or the systems objective, both were happy just to get him off the street.

Worked for the Scottish Prison Service a few years back with their health and care directorate. It was an eye opener.

Pennywise

Never had the pleasure. I worked with a boy who done 2 years for chopping a guys hand off with a shovel.

Lovely fella.

No thanks. I'd be useless in jail. Probably cry myself to sleep every night.

Maple Leaf

I did two years National Service in the British Army.

I realise that the army is not the same as prison;  the food in prison is probably better.

Overnighter in Montgomery County Jail in Texas. That was an eye-opening experience

GlasgoJambo

Was seeing a bursd who was working in Barlinnie, she was doing theatre or music therapy or the such. They had an open day for friends of staff so I went along. Couldn't believe how Victorian it was in the old block - two man cells with a metal pan. The rooms in the young offenders (or maybe no threat prisoners) block were decorated with porn.

The facilities they had were good for anyone who was willing to knuckle down - trades could be learned in carpentry, plumbing etc as well as the kitchens and gardening - food was decent too. They had a link up with a college in Motherwell to earn qualifications.

Nice football pitch as well. Apparently they had to crank up security during games as folk kept hoying mobile phones and drugs over the fence at the side of the pitch.

Jambothump

Probably worst night of my life was spent in Saughton, fined ?40 or sixty days in jail for flicking a V sign to Hibby's on London road after a derby down there.

Sister ponied up the ?38.50 (cos I spent a night in jail) next day. She was with a long standing family friend, it was really embarrassing, as we passed this friends warden nephew on his way to work.

I realise that the army is not the same as prison;  the food in prison is probably better.

So right my twelve weeks at Caterham Guards Depot would now be classed as cruel and unusual punishment, the only good thing was when you got out of there everything else seemed easy.  As I related in my previous post The prisoners where I was working, a Provincial Prison were treatred like they were in intensive care at a hospital.

This seems like a story worth hearing....

Not really to be honest, got into an argument with a sheriff after he accused me of being pished in the street (I'd had a grand total of three pints). Anyhow, he tells me that I'm drunk if he says I'm drunk, to which I replied "are you even old enough to be a cop, you look about 12". Next thing I know, I'm spreadeagled across the bonnet of the cruiser, shackled with arm and leg cuffs and on my way to County Jail. $200 fine, a cancelled Valentines dinner, and a very irate bursds that one cost me

Mr Nobody

About 20 years ago I played the prison team. Remember being taken to the change rooms and the endless corridor to get to the pitch. Really depressing stuff.

I was 18 and absolutely shitting myself. Remember sliding in for a tackle that was mistimed and taking a bloke out. Longest fricken 2 seconds of my life waiting to see how he would react.

To be fair they were one of the fairest teams I ever played against, hard but fair.

Also used to visit an ex-in law there quite a few times and again really depressing stuff especially when you see the wives visiting with toddler age kids.

I had visions of it being like in the film Stir Crazy. Pity.

Drunk and disorderly the charge was it?

The equivalent, Public Intoxication

Not really to be honest, got into an argument with a sheriff after he accused me of being pished in the street (I'd had a grand total of three pints). Anyhow, he tells me that I'm drunk if he says I'm drunk, to which I replied "are you even old enough to be a cop, you look about 12". Next thing I know, I'm spreadeagled across the bonnet of the cruiser, shackled with arm and leg cuffs and on my way to County Jail. $200 fine, a cancelled Valentines dinner, and a very irate bursds that one cost me

My mate got lifted at a Texans game for PI- he was a bit wobbly on his feet, and he got mouthy when challenged. Ended up in the Harris County nick in downtown Houston over night. Scared shitless...and he's 6 foot 5.

chuck berrys hairline

6 hours in the newly built Livingston police station. That was enough for me, cops tried to get some side info outside the station. Just walked away laughing!

I realise that the army is not the same as prison; the food in prison is probably better.

Needs revived, a bit of discipline widnae go amiss the noo.

A night in the Cells at St leanords for me, for kicking my own front door in so I could get my keys and phone for work, ex wife got me charged, In front of the kids I was handcuffed and led away, ended up in the courts the next again day from 7 till 3 looking at bars, really didn't like it!!!

I had to visit someone on Saughton, through work. I was well impressed with the security getting in. I think I spent most of time looking around the hall, to see if I knew anyone, only to see an uncle I hadn't seen in ages. Thankfully he was visiting someone, through work, too.

Jamhammer

I was locked up for something I didn't do. Was befriended by a guy named Red. Managed to get me a wee hammer. Took me a few years and I had to wade through **** to get out but I did it. Painting boats now.

I spent an afternoon at the prison library in Saughton, when I worked for the council libraries.

Was quite strange as, to begin with no inmates, then a few trickled in.  Obviously you didn't know who they were or what they were in for so it was quite sort of surreal.

Apparently the legal section in that library suffers from theft.  Pages torn out of legal practice books or indeed the whole book walks, 'cos everyone's a barrack room lawyer trying to find the bit that shows they were innocent or mistried.

I used to work it Saughton in the office, dealing with the Prisoners Personal Cash (like a mini bank inside I guess).

Anyway, being a smoker I had to go outside in a garden type area for a smoke break. We had guys who were classed as 'trusted' inmates (always a lifer), they wore a specific coloured top and would come in and empty the bins in the office. One day while heading for a smoke, wich obv I had to wait on a screw cominf past to open the door, there was an inmate waiting with me, seemed nice enough bloke and just made small chat. I remember it was a Friday and he asked me if I was going out that night, which I replied yeah have some kind of party to go too....stupidly, I autmatically asked him what he was up to that night? Soon as I said it I realised my error and thought "oh shit, he is going to think I was taking the pi$$"....thankfully, he seen the funny side and rambled on about going out on date to the pictures then off to a casino!!

I apologised and the guy was cool about it, every time I seen him after that he would come out with some made up rubbish about what he was up to that night.

I found out later he had murdered a couple of folk - sounds mental, but he seemed 'alright'!!

When I first started working there, I got a tour of a couple of sections of the prison. Enough to keep me away from a life of crime I tell ya. While walking through one part I walked past that William Beggs, the Limbs in the Loch killer from years ago. To look at the guy I just could understand how he kidnapped and cut up some poor strudent as he looked about 4ft nothing and not exactly a strong looking person.

I was locked up for something I didn't do. Was befriended by a guy named Red. Managed to get me a wee hammer. Took me a few years and I had to wade through **** to get out but I did it. Painting boats now.

The OP might be interested in your encounters with "The Sister's". :shifty:

Gorgiewave

So, is "working in the prison" like having a "friend" who's in trouble of some sort?

Chester™

When I first started working there, I got a tour of a couple of sections of the prison. Enough to keep me away from a life of crime I tell ya. While walking through one part I walked past that William Beggs, the Limbs in the Loch killer from years ago. To look at the guy I just could understand how he kidnapped and cut up some poor strudent as he looked about 4ft nothing and not exactly a strong looking person.

When working in court, I've been close to a lot of high profile murderers. None of them look particularly strong or up to much. Obviously they can find their evilness within though.

So, is "working in the prison" like having a "friend" who's in trouble of some sort?

Definitely not! 

When working in court, I've been close to a lot of high profile murderers. None of them look particularly strong or up to much. Obviously they can find their evilness within though.

I had the experience a couple of times being placed in a cell with a person accused of murder.  Both times other than the fact that one guy had brutally beat his girlfriend to death, and in a previous arrest had beat a bartender from the Black Bull on Leith Street and had tried very hard but unsuccesfully to gouge his eyes. Both were very quiet, the real bad guy was full of remorse, of course blaming drink.

I was never sure of my mission in these jobs, to gain statements of guilt, to prevent suicide, or in the hope that in the dungeon type cells of the old Central Police Station in the High Street one of them would do me in, and make life easier for some sergeants.

**** anything to do with prison.

Fully gives me the heebies thinking about it. 

Robbie Neilson

I watched a ShowCase film on BBC4 about Russia's toughest prison. Its in the middle of a forest bigger than Germany. Its exclusively for murderers, it looked brutal. Absolutely brutal

iantjambo

Got myself into a bit of bother a few years ago (first and ultimately last offence), I was absolutely bricking it that I might end up in prison.

Standing up in front of the judge was the most terrifying and humiliating experience of my life.

Ended up with community service.

The thought now of doing anything remotely illegal is well and truly gone.

Spent a few hours in a Mexican jail after my bank account never had enough to satisfy the bent coppers. Was a bit like Prison Break series 3 and I was doing my best Bellic impression. Anyway eventually got let out in the middle of nowhere without much explanation. Mexico is now off my holiday destination list, sure it's lovely now 15 years on......

Never even been in the cells or the back of a police car. Only because I've never been caught in the act as opposed to being a law abiding citizen.

To actual **** with being in a Mexican jail. That would have been terrifying.

Robbie Neilson

Thats the felly. A decent watch. Anyone thinks prison here is hard, have a look at this. And btw, to be honest, i think this is what it should be like, so as to act as a proper deterrent rather than viewed by some as easy street

On the way to the Edinburgh derby at Easter Road at new year in 1989, our supporters bus was stopped at traffic lights in Edinburgh, and this guy (he was definitely alone) with a green scarf on was running up the side of the bus giving the Jambos abuse, naturally half the bus got up and gave this guy stick back and nothing more was thought of it as the bus drove off. We were about 500 yards further on when the police stopped us, and this guy with the green scarf gets on the bus with someone else and they come up the back of the bus and flash CID cards in my face, and my mates face in the seat behind, they clearly just came up the back and wanted to lift anyone that was at the back. They charged us with a breach of the peace, claiming that we incited a riot at Gayfield Police Station and threw us in the cells. 

They knew they had absolutely nothing on us, and so threw in two Hibs fans, one of them had 'Hibs' tattooed across his knuckles and asked us who we supported as we had no colours on, my mate said Hearts, and he told us that they'd beaten us 1-0 with Mickey Weir scoring the only goal, we thought it would kick off but they were actually sound, the police clearly hoped it would kick off so they could nick us for something. We spent 4 or 5 hours in that cell and eventually had to get a taxi back to Galashiels at 1am ish. We felt outraged at what had happened to us and my mum got Sir David Steel involved, the officer who incited the riot in the first place lost his job and Sir Steel done an excellent job for us as the case was thrown out before it got to the court, but I'll never forget those hours in the jail cell, and I'd never want to go back! 

Used to run our office team in a summer league and had home and away games against the prisoners in Saughton. They were really fit and I had to tell our guys not to swap jerseys with them after the game. One of them recognised one of our players who came from Bonnyrigg and introduced himself by saying "do you remember me I'm the guy that raped the lassie in the park".

About 20 years ago I played the prison team. Remember being taken to the change rooms and the endless corridor to get to the pitch. Really depressing stuff.

I was 18 and absolutely shitting myself. Remember sliding in for a tackle that was mistimed and taking a bloke out. Longest fricken 2 seconds of my life waiting to see how he would react.

To be fair they were one of the fairest teams I ever played against, hard but fair.

Also used to visit an ex-in law there quite a few times and again really depressing stuff especially when you see the wives visiting with toddler age kids.

used to referee there in the midweek league, met a few guys I knew, had to be 3 yrs or more before you got into prison team, bookings and sending offs could lead to loss of privileges, and also recreation time,that's why they didn't retaliate,  some used to play for teams before they went in,  its the longest time spent getting in and out of changing rooms, usually a 2 pm KO if you weren't at prison by a certain time you didn't get in

Pennywise

Spent a few hours in a Mexican jail after my bank account never had enough to satisfy the bent coppers. Was a bit like Prison Break series 3 and I was doing my best Bellic impression. Anyway eventually got let out in the middle of nowhere without much explanation. Mexico is now off my holiday destination list, sure it's lovely now 15 years on......

Absolutely petrifying. I've read books about British guys being sent to prison in Thailand (Bangkok Hilton) and it scares the cack out me.