New Tivoli Gorgie Road

davemclaren

davemclaren
No. God you are old. :P

That said is that you in your avatar ........ :eek:

Nope. He's younger than me. :rolleyes:

davemclaren
Phew that chap looks quite ill looking .........

Trust me, he drinks too much. :cool:

Anyone remember going to this as a cinema?

http://www.scottishcinemas.org.uk/edinburgh/newtivoli/index.html

I can take you back a wee bit, I can remember going there in Dec1952, my first leave as a soldier. It was a Sunday night and in those days the only movies you could get on a Sunday was health films. Never saw the movies but spent a lot of time convincing lassies I was a real soldier, having been in the army 10 weeks. Nothing like the old days to bring out the embarrassed blushes at your teenage naivety.:)

Buffalo Bill

John Lennon used to go to the cinema there with his cousin.

011john_p.jpg

Buffalo Bill

Spitonastranger

saturday mornings kids show, remeber the expensive seats at the back of the place, basically seats on a raised platform:)

Yes used to go there for the Sat morn kids show also went to the lyceum on Slateford road ABC club all together now! we are the boys.....................

davemclaren
John Lennon used to go to the cinema there with his cousin.

011john_p.jpg

Buffalo Bill

Now that is interesting. Do you think John followed the Hearts? ;)

Drew Busby !
Anyone remember going to this as a cinema?

http://www.scottishcinemas.org.uk/edinburgh/newtivoli/index.html

Oh yes indeed :laugh:

My parents and grandparents would have been going there fom the 1930's onwards. I was still going there as a youngster in the late 60's. My abiding memories are of it being bloody freezing of a Saturday night, the heating was something that had either long broken down - or maybe had never even existed.

Anyway, this is a thread for VeraNT !

Drew Busby !
Dave, my Grandma use to take the tickets an a Saturday morning for the kids matinee, so my folks got us a few freebies.