Munro bagging

korf123

The only thing you will need is suitable clothing. Water too. I drink about 3 litres worth on a 20-25km route. 

Do not skimp on boots. They are the most important thing in my opinion. As are decent socks. Fully recommend Meindl boots. 

This ^^ Boots are by far the most important in terms of your comfort. Go to a decent mountain gear shop and try them on, I don't like Meindl and its not a criticism, they just don't suit my foot shape, you'll only find that out by trying boots yourself. There are a lot of other things to consider though. If you're going solo and don't have any experience then read a lot, loads of good books out there about walking in Scotland and they will all give the same basic message. People do die on the hills occasionally. I was in the scouts and cubs and am decent with a map and compass as a result, you need that if cloud or fog drop, being reliant on electronics alone is definitely risky for the solo walker - I've never been up a hill without these. Take enough sweets/energy bars and liquid to do you 24 hours too, its just about mitigation. Goretex and Polartec are a good idea if you have them, or similar. Shorts and trainers are just asking for grief.

Also planning escape routes is a good idea, if you get a nipped muscle, or the weather looks like going bad, its good to have some pre-planned exits. Other good ideas are leaving info with people. If you're parking at the bottom then leave a note with a departure time and rough route on the dash. If you get lost or injure yourself this will get you found much more quickly in areas with no phone signal. Never underestimate the temperature either, a 10C drop from bottom to top isnt unusual and sleet or hail on the tops in summer is common. I would recommend finding a friend who knows what they're doing at least to start with, but it's slightly hypocritical as I have nearly always solo walked, it's got its own buzz.

• Replies 141

• Alan_R

• All roads lead to Gorgie

• Harko

• indianajones

The good old flip flops and shorts up Nevis approach.

You wonder what goes through peoples heads?!

couple of year back doing the WHW, day 2 Balmaha - Beinglas we met an italian lass who was scrambling round the loch in flip flops! couldnae believe what i was seeing, she looked like she was out for a stroll in the sunshine ffs. Tidy as feck tho :ruiner:

Me and a mate tried to do Ben Lawers a few years ago and went up the wrong way and did a couple of others, along with An Stuc. Weather turned and we ended up haviong to go round to the village of Lawers rather than over Ben Lawers and Ghlas. I've done a few since but my mate has done them all. We did Ben Wyvis a year or two ago and everyone who'd ever climbed with him went. It was awesome. Can't whack a nice day in the hills.

Decent gear is a must and you have to respect the weather, no matter how close you are to a summit, if the weather is bad turn aroound and go back. The hill aint going anywhere. Me and my Mrs walked right past the summit of Ben Nevis in bad weather.

Been toying with the idea of doing some Munro bagging for a few years. Might actually get round to doing some this year.

From the more experienced "climbers", do you need any specialist equipment to do them? I know there's hundreds and I'm obviously not going to steam into the most difficult ones from the off but I assumed most of them can be done as "walks" as opposed to "climbs"?

As well as waterproofs, boots etc, remember to take a compass and map and learn how to use them as relying on anything electronic is risky. Even on good days clouds can engulf the tops and you find yourself in thick mist quite quickly. There can be an extra satisfaction when you navigate through mist to a summit cairn but the clear days are the best. Good luck it is worth all the toil.

Edited by All roads lead to Gorgie

Went up Ben Lomond three weekends ago.

11150278_10152736989181759_3541494120513

11083997_10152736997196759_3078568253551

Didn't make the top, the Mrs's boots were hurting her (she's the expert in all this, not me - second one I've walked ever) so we came back down again.

couple of year back doing the WHW, day 2 Balmaha - Beinglas we met an italian lass who was scrambling round the loch in flip flops! couldnae believe what i was seeing, she looked like she was out for a stroll in the sunshine ffs. Tidy as feck tho :ruiner:

I've said this before, but the female hill-walking community includes a very high proportion of extremely tidy bursd.

I'm a fair-weather walker, really. Have probably done about 70 Munros, far fewer Corbetts and a sprinkling of lower hills. I usually manage about seven or eight "proper" walks a year, but nowadays they're not all to summits. The highlight of last year was a sunny day walking through the Lairig Ghru from Linn of Dee to Coylumbridge - about 19 miles. The Cairngorms looked absolutely glorious.

The one thing I would say about hill-walking (other than the excellent safety advice already given by others) is that unless you get off the roads and into the hills in Scotland, you're never going to have a great overview of the topography of the country. On a clear day, you can see just about half of the country from summits in some regions. It can be a fairly mind-blowing experience.

I've said this before, but the female hill-walking community includes a very high proportion of extremely tidy bursd.

I'm a fair-weather walker, really. Have probably done about 70 Munros, far fewer Corbetts and a sprinkling of lower hills. I usually manage about seven or eight "proper" walks a year, but nowadays they're not all to summits. The highlight of last year was a sunny day walking through the Lairig Ghru from Linn of Dee to Coylumbridge - about 19 miles. The Cairngorms looked absolutely glorious.

The one thing I would say about hill-walking (other than the excellent safety advice already given by others) is that unless you get off the roads and into the hills in Scotland, you're never going to have a great overview of the topography of the country. On a clear day, you can see just about half of the country from summits in some regions. It can be a fairly mind-blowing experience.

The most "spectacular view" I have ever had hill-walking was at the top of Monte Urbi?n (2,228m / 7,310ft) in northern Spain, on the border of the Castilla-Le?n & La Rioja regions. We'd reached the top and were admiring the (natural) scenery when a couple joined us at the top. He was dressed conventionally for the conditions and the route, but she was less so - much less so... She was wearing socks and boots (for some reason I didn't get around to checking the make or the quality of her boots...) and a one-piece, high-cut, swimsuit. Oh, and possibly sunglasses - nothing else!

OK, I'll admit that even though she'd have taken the Miss West Lothian title by storm, she wasn't what you'd call a stunner and there was a fair amount of cellulite on show, as revealed by the high-cut of her swimsuit, but she was certainly a major distraction from the amazing panorama all around us. (Sorry, the only pics I took were of said panorama, as I'd already pushed my luck far enough with my bursd to get away with trying to take any snaps of the Spanish sun-worshipper.)

I've never seen anything in Scotland or elsewhere to rival that, but would agree that there are some nice looking women to be found tramping them thar hills!

My old man is an alpine climber and was a munroist before the age of 30. I never quite had the bug in my teens/early 20s but have still done around 30. Like so many, my first two aged 6/7 were Ben Lawers and Beinn Ghlas. Done a few 3 day trips to Skye with the old man to climb the Cuillin.

Getting back into it now though - hoping to spend "off-season" in the hills this year and enhance my skills, as I'm still incredibly reliant on the old boy.

I've missed haviong a car for the last few years and as a result ahven't been able to get up the pentlands during the colder months to keep my hand in and fitness up...

NOw we've got a dog and I'm dying to get him up the hills for good days out.. He's a black lab so will be fine in most places.. certainly everywhere I'll be going anyway.. looking to do Lomond and nevis again, hopefully before june so as to miss most of the tourist hoards up nevis.. Going to dig my munro book out so I can mark off the hills that are within a 2-2.5 hour drive from livingston.. My camping kit is quite old now and its a bit costly to be buying new stuff until I'm back into the groove of it all..

To be honest I'm not bothered about completing them all, I'd just like a few more good days out in the hills away from the shite of monday to friday arseholes trying and succeeding in making life a bit shitter everyday. Lifes too short to let these pri**s win. The hills are great therapy!

My old man is an alpine climber and was a munroist before the age of 30. I never quite had the bug in my teens/early 20s but have still done around 30. Like so many, my first two aged 6/7 were Ben Lawers and Beinn Ghlas. Done a few 3 day trips to Skye with the old man to climb the Cuillin.

Getting back into it now though - hoping to spend "off-season" in the hills this year and enhance my skills, as I'm still incredibly reliant on the old boy.

By skills I'm assuming map reading, bearings, navigation etc... (if I'm wrong sorry no offence meant!) try this book,...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mountain-Navigation-Peter-Author-Paperback/dp/B0092KW91W/ref=sr_1_2/279-7238049-4927520?ie=UTF8&qid=1430416083&sr=8-2&keywords=mountain+navigation+peter+cliff

It's the daddy. the bible. it's excellant.

A mate of my brothers joined the reserve SAS (21 down south) and they were "strongly" advised to buy it.. He said it was invaluable and played an enormous part in him passing that part of the course.. 

I've got a copy and will be going over it again before I head out as I'm a bit rusty..

I've missed haviong a car for the last few years and as a result ahven't been able to get up the pentlands during the colder months to keep my hand in and fitness up...

NOw we've got a dog and I'm dying to get him up the hills for good days out.. He's a black lab so will be fine in most places.. certainly everywhere I'll be going anyway.. looking to do Lomond and nevis again, hopefully before june so as to miss most of the tourist hoards up nevis.. Going to dig my munro book out so I can mark off the hills that are within a 2-2.5 hour drive from livingston.. My camping kit is quite old now and its a bit costly to be buying new stuff until I'm back into the groove of it all..

To be honest I'm not bothered about completing them all, I'd just like a few more good days out in the hills away from the shite of monday to friday arseholes trying and succeeding in making life a bit shitter everyday. Lifes too short to let these pri**s win. The hills are great therapy!

Make sure you put an anti-tick collar on your dog, or use some other anti-tick treatment, as a lot of the hills in the west and north - and the approaches to them - are hoaching with the horrible little feckers.

By skills I'm assuming map reading, bearings, navigation etc... (if I'm wrong sorry no offence meant!) try this book,...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mountain-Navigation-Peter-Author-Paperback/dp/B0092KW91W/ref=sr_1_2/279-7238049-4927520?ie=UTF8&qid=1430416083&sr=8-2&keywords=mountain+navigation+peter+cliff

It's the daddy. the bible. it's excellant.

A mate of my brothers joined the reserve SAS (21 down south) and they were "strongly" advised to buy it.. He said it was invaluable and played an enormous part in him passing that part of the course..

I've got a copy and will be going over it again before I head out as I'm a bit rusty..

That is what I meant mate thanks- I'll take a look. I've only done around 30 munros as I said and in that alone have had enough hairy experiences to know how critical it is to be able to navigate etc when you can't see 30 yards in front of you!

I'm looking forward to getting a few tasty hills done over the summer. I just did the Aonach Eagach last week, and I fancy the Wee Buachille via the curved ridged, as well as An Teallach, and the Torridon hills. After that I'll get over to Skye hopefully.

muldoon74

Can't wait to get a car again and get back up the hills..

Been planning wee jaunts since discovering this thread a couple of weeks ago..

|Was just looking at my pics of my last trip up Schiehallion.. (one of my fave hills..) great day.. and only a couple of hours from Edinburgh..

Ben Lomond is a good starter hill aswell.. (although, not to be taken lightly as shit can happen..).. Last time I did Lomond , on the way back down we met a couple of guys in jeas, trianers and vests.. They asked how far to the top (we were literally 60 seconds from the top) I said half an hour.. they almost collapsed.. If they had a map and knew how to use it they wouldn't have me taking the piss out of them,.. Further down, for those that know Lomond there is a definate 2 stage structure to it.. It goes up very sharpely, almost like a hill on top of a hill,.. Anyway just a this juncture we meet two burssdrzz in shorts, t shirts and nothing else.. they asked us for water,.. So I gave them the last litre I had.. Also advised them to maybe not go to the top because they were woefully equipped for such an undertaking.. Who the feck doesn't take enough water?!!

I didn't mind giving them the last of my water because we were on the way down and prob only 20 minutes from a pint in the Rowardennan Hotel at the foot of the hill...

I'm rambling here.. really miss the hills.. remembering good days out and hankering after more of the same.... really want to get over to the Arrochar Alps and do the Cobbler (Ben Arthur), Narnairn and a couple of others over there.. This country is fu**ing awesome for walking in...

muldoon74

I'm looking forward to getting a few tasty hills done over the summer. I just did the Aonach Eagach last week, and I fancy the Wee Buachille via the curved ridged, as well as An Teallach, and the Torridon hills. After that I'll get over to Skye hopefully.

Aonach Eagach on the list. Styed at the Red Squirell camp site just along form the Claigach Inn 20 years ago... Met a bursddzz from North Dakota who wa barmaiding there... I was a bawhair away from international relations when.. Boof! Card declined and no cash back available. Bye bye the best night of her life..

The Clachaig Inn is good - I went in for a pint and some food after I was done. I'd quite like to go there on a Saturday night after a day on the hills - they have live music and stuff, I reckon it would be quite a decent atmosphere. The Aonach Eagach is a fun day out - certainly up with the best hills I've climbed in Scotland.

Clachaig has been mobbed the last couple of times I was going to go in.

Last time was in October so not exactly high season, no tables for over an hour at least. 

Went to The Glencoe Inn, very good meal in more refined surroundings. 

:toff:

muldoon74

The Clachaig Inn is good - I went in for a pint and some food after I was done. I'd quite like to go there on a Saturday night after a day on the hills - they have live music and stuff, I reckon it would be quite a decent atmosphere. The Aonach Eagach is a fun day out - certainly up with the best hills I've climbed in Scotland.

Clachaig was awesome.. Live band giving laldy in the corner near the open fire... Boots all drying near the door.. Like minded people chatting and swapping war stories...

Ive heard and read that the Aonach Eagach has a couple of sectiosn where a rope is advisable.. I wish more people I take up Nevis (taken a few over the years in various workplaces) would drive.. Looking up at the Eagach from the A82 Glencoe I've nearly binned the car into an oncoming coach on many an occoassion..! Its just so beautiful.. Need to do it.

boredwaitin

i fancy doing some munros.anyone know what would be a good one to try/start with a springer spaniel 2 year old.dont want it to be to

rocky more softer on the foot any help would be great thanks.

As the lowest Munro is (obviously) over 3000ft most if not all are rocky at the summit, and if they are popular the paths will be well worn and down to bedrock or gravel most of the way.

Dave McCreery's knee

i fancy doing some munros.anyone know what would be a good one to try/start with a springer spaniel 2 year old.dont want it to be to

Pretty much any of the southern munros, just read up on walkhighlands website or get the SMC Munro book and the routes and terrains are well described. As long as the dog has good recall it'll be fine. My spaniel's done over 100 munros and she's never happier (or more tired afterwards)

Edited by Dave McCreery's knee

Ben Chonzie is very easy underfoot. 

Not too far away either. 

The Vulture

Should you go up Assynt way, this is the place to go for a pie. 

http://www.lochinverlarder.co.uk/

I try and walk 12 munros a year on average, am now upto 95. Not really a winter walker as there is too little daylight. 

It's a great way to see Scotland and gives you an opportunity to see landscapes and places that I wouldn't normally visit. 

Favourite munro, hard to say, but Ladhar Bheinn would have to be up there. The ridge walk to the summit is epic. 

Any advice from folks who have done the Inn Pinn? Planning on doing that and probably with a Skye guide too.

Clachaig was awesome.. Live band giving laldy in the corner near the open fire... Boots all drying near the door.. Like minded people chatting and swapping war stories...

Ive heard and read that the Aonach Eagach has a couple of sectiosn where a rope is advisable.. I wish more people I take up Nevis (taken a few over the years in various workplaces) would drive.. Looking up at the Eagach from the A82 Glencoe I've nearly binned the car into an oncoming coach on many an occoassion..! Its just so beautiful.. Need to do it.

The way you describe the Clachaig is how I imagined it - that's why I'd like to go back when it's likely to be a bit more busy, I was in middle of afternoon on a Monday so pretty quiet.

Aonach Eagach can be done without rope - that's how I did it, but it just depends on you're confidence. If you're comfortable with a bit of exposure and scrambling of a higher grade such as The Saddle via the Forcan ridge then it's alright in summer conditions. When I was on the Aonach Eagach a couple of weeks ago there was a woman with a guide - she was pretty nervous, so the guide had her roped up. As I say though - it just depends on you're confidence levels, and provided you don't do anything silly then you can manage it without a rope in summer. I wouldn't know what to do with a rope in any case though, ha ha!

Pans Jambo

The way you describe the Clachaig is how I imagined it - that's why I'd like to go back when it's likely to be a bit more busy, I was in middle of afternoon on a Monday so pretty quiet.

Aonach Eagach can be done without rope - that's how I did it, but it just depends on you're confidence. If you're comfortable with a bit of exposure and scrambling of a higher grade such as The Saddle via the Forcan ridge then it's alright in summer conditions. When I was on the Aonach Eagach a couple of weeks ago there was a woman with a guide - she was pretty nervous, so the guide had her roped up. As I say though - it just depends on you're confidence levels, and provided you don't do anything silly then you can manage it without a rope in summer. I wouldn't know what to do with a rope in any case though, ha ha!

I waited for a warm still autumn weekend to book myself into the clachaig. Got a taxi from the hotel to the start of the climb at the east of the glen. When I got up there the views were stunning & I really enjoyed the walk/climb/scramble along the ridge. There are a couple of tricky bits but you are spot on, if you are confident & careful, its a good challenge.

Best part is at the end where the descent at the west of the Glen takes you right back to the Clachaig where you can enjoy a well earned pint.

Great day. Wouldn't do it in the winter though!

Gerd Muller

Think I'm gonna attempt Ben Chonzie on Monday. A lot of people have said its an 'easy' Munro to climb.

Looking forward to a bit of mountain walking when I retire in 5 weeks . Had a full knee replacement op 6 months ago and finally able to walk more than 4 miles without my knee doing an imitation of a Zeppelin. My aim is to get up a few of the munros again over the next few years though no chance of doing them all now

Think I'm gonna attempt Ben Chonzie on Monday. A lot of people have said its an 'easy' Munro to climb.

It's pretty easy. It takes a bit of a slagging as being a dull hill, but I think it's a lovely walk. Great in late winter/early spring when the mountain hares are out in their winter coats.

mahgrassyshoes

If you have a decent level of fitness do the route starting at the reservoir at loch turret rather starting at Invergeldie. A longer walk but a much nicer route. You should be able to sight a few Hare on this route, they're massive. The dog enjoyed chasing them, couldn't get close though.

I love hillwalking. Done 50-60 munros. Would love to be a compleater but it's a time consuming hobby if you live in the central belt and I've just had my first child. Worth the effort though. Some of the view are so spectacular and so few people get to see them. It's true what they say - if it wasn't hard everyone would do it and that's what makes it so special.

Treated myself to a one man tent at Christmas, so plan is to get back in shape and do a few wild camps bagging some really remote munros at some point this year.

Perhaps someone should arrange a kickback outing on the hills. Would be a good way to get a bunch of Jambo's together.

On the note of prep. As others have said hills like the pentlands are a good place to start. Also the lomond hills in Fife and the ochils too. If you are going for your first Munro is would suggest the ben cleuch circuit in the ochils as a warm up. The incline on the law is steep and challenging and also has a tiny wee bit of scrambling - always good to have some experience of hand on rock. If you manage that you'll cope with the Munros that most people tend to start with - Ben Lomond, Sciehallion etc

It's pretty easy. It takes a bit of a slagging as being a dull hill, but I think it's a lovely walk. Great in late winter/early spring when the mountain hares are out in their winter coats.

It is strange how that hill attracts so many mountain hares, something to do with the vegetation maybe. The Tolmount above Glen Clova is the only other place I remember seeing them in great numbers.

I waited for a warm still autumn weekend to book myself into the clachaig. Got a taxi from the hotel to the start of the climb at the east of the glen. When I got up there the views were stunning & I really enjoyed the walk/climb/scramble along the ridge. There are a couple of tricky bits but you are spot on, if you are confident & careful, its a good challenge.

Best part is at the end where the descent at the west of the Glen takes you right back to the Clachaig where you can enjoy a well earned pint.

Great day. Wouldn't do it in the winter though!

Wow - sounds like you came down Clachaig gully if you finished up right next to the Clachaig Inn on your descent?

I went further along the ridge for the descent cause apparently there's been a lot of accidents with people trying to go down Clachaig gully - I think that's the original descent route, but it's become quite eroded over the last few years and is quite dangerous now, well that's what it says on Walk Highlands anyway!! How did you find it - it looks pretty steep and loose from ground level.

I would recommend Stuchd an Lochain and Meall Buidhe either side of Loch an Daimh near Glen Lyon. You can park below the dam go up one return to your car for lunch and then go up the other one. Meall Buidhe is rounded and mossy underfoot, Stuchd an Lochain steeper but mainly grassy. Extensive views north to Lochaber over Rannoch Moor.

mahgrassyshoes

I would recommend Stuchd an Lochain and Meall Buidhe either side of Loch an Daimh near Glen Lyon. You can park below the dam go up one return to your car for lunch and then go up the other one. Meall Buidhe is rounded and mossy underfoot, Stuchd an Lochain steeper but mainly grassy. Extensive views north to Lochaber over Rannoch Moor.

These are good, straight forward hills. Only thing is there are a lot of deer around the area so it he pup may have to stay on the lead if he's still prone to chasing animals.

Schiehallion is a good starter, again fairly straight forward and as it is so central you get cracking views of loads of hills if you get a nice clear day.

Edited by mahgrassyshoes

Gorgiewave

Two questions about Munros:

1. Which ones can reasonably be reached on public transport?

2. (Approximately) how many need special equipment/training etc. to climb?

1) Lots

2) Only 1, the Inaccessible Pinnacle, Sgurr Dearg, part of the Cuillin ridge on Skye. 

Never used public transport to reach a Munro but can imagine it might be a little difficult and time consuming.

If you are just off for a wander up a hill in good weather conditions you wont need any specialist equipment. Depending how covered the hill is in ice and snow, crampons and ice axes would be recommended and are probably considered as 'specialist' equipment. 

There are different routes up munros which would require ropes etc but there are always other walking routes up. Apart from Sgurr Dearg as SUTLOL mentioned. Climbing gear is needed to reach the summit. 

Edited by indianajones

The west highland line has a number of stops with easily accessible hills from arrocher northwards, in fact I don't think there is a stop north of there without nearby munros. I have also taken the train to Dalwhinnie and Blair Athol to have a day on the hills. The A9 citylink busses are also handy.

Possibly the most obvious and one of the most easily accessed Munro from public transport would be Ben Nevis.

Also Cairngorm, buses run to the car-park at the ski slopes.

Buses and trains to Oban stopping at Loch Awe give easy access to Ben Cruachan. 

That's three without even trying to think about it. 

Possibly the most obvious and one of the most easily accessed Munro from public transport would be Ben Nevis.

Also Cairngorm, buses run to the car-park at the ski slopes.

Buses and trains to Oban stopping at Loch Awe give easy access to Ben Cruachan. 

That's three without even trying to think about it.

http://www.scottishhills.com/html/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=2550

5977307164_b085b2b8e7_b.jpg

I'm planning on doing the notorious curved ridge route of Buachille Etive Mor tomorrow - this is the line up it, I have to say I am looking forward to it with a mixture of fear & excitement!!

Good luck - I was always a 'path of least resistance' man myself tho i admire people who have the guts to do the more dangerous lines.

Same for me! I've got that mixture of a strong desire to get to the top with a healthy dash or vertigo

In good weather Curved Ridge is pretty easy as long as you have a head for heights and don't mind the exposure. There's only one wee step that's a bit tricky. Wouldn't fancy it in the wind and rain though.

It's a cracking scramble and the route back down the corrie to Kingshouse for a pint is easy too.

Enjoy :)

In good weather Curved Ridge is pretty easy as long as you have a head for heights and don't mind the exposure. There's only one wee step that's a bit tricky. Wouldn't fancy it in the wind and rain though.

It's a cracking scramble and the route back down the corrie to Kingshouse for a pint is easy too.

Enjoy :)

Cheers - had a cracking day today. Interestingly enough - one of the trickiest parts was actually finding the beginning of the ridge once you're up over the water slab! There seems to be numerous scree paths shooting off all over the place, but I eventually found it. The scrambling was fine - like you said, there is a wee tricky part that involves a wee bit more technique to get over but after that it was all good. It was nice and quiet - at least coming up the ridge, I met a few more folk coming up the corrie track on my way back down.

I thoroughly enjoyed myself - will definitely do again some time.

Cheers - had a cracking day today. Interestingly enough - one of the trickiest parts was actually finding the beginning of the ridge once you're up over the water slab! There seems to be numerous scree paths shooting off all over the place, but I eventually found it. The scrambling was fine - like you said, there is a wee tricky part that involves a wee bit more technique to get over but after that it was all good. It was nice and quiet - at least coming up the ridge, I met a few more folk coming up the corrie track on my way back down.

I thoroughly enjoyed myself - will definitely do again some time.

Any pics? Looks cracking that route.. I'd maybe go for the more sedate route myself having lost the desire to challenge myself when I went over 17st.. Going to use the dog and getting up the hills as motivation to get back down to a fitter healthier me and get back up the hills without risking a heart attack. I want to take the dog up these places.. he'll love it.

I've done a spreadsheet of the munros I've done and am realistically planning to do in the next 4-5 years. In no way will I be a compleater but I'm going to try and hoover up the closer ones and then look to spread out again taking in some of the cairngorms, mamores etc.. This thread has re-ignited my desire for the hills.. I lost it for a few years there..

Also goingt o try and get in some grahams, corbetts etc as although they are not munros there are many decent hills there for the climbing..

The person who mentioned a JKB walking club may be onto something..

Any pics? Looks cracking that route.. I'd maybe go for the more sedate route myself having lost the desire to challenge myself when I went over 17st.. Going to use the dog and getting up the hills as motivation to get back down to a fitter healthier me and get back up the hills without risking a heart attack. I want to take the dog up these places.. he'll love it.

I've done a spreadsheet of the munros I've done and am realistically planning to do in the next 4-5 years. In no way will I be a compleater but I'm going to try and hoover up the closer ones and then look to spread out again taking in some of the cairngorms, mamores etc.. This thread has re-ignited my desire for the hills.. I lost it for a few years there..

Also goingt o try and get in some grahams, corbetts etc as although they are not munros there are many decent hills there for the climbing..

The person who mentioned a JKB walking club may be onto something..

I foolishly decided not to take my camera with me... weather was forecast as grey/cloudy/misty in the morning and clearing later in the afternoon, so I didn't think I'd get any decent photos. It turned out to be a lot better than that and there would have been a few decent photos - doh!

I don't have any intentions of doing all the munros either, I just wanna do all the tricky ones, and yes there are a lot of good corbetts & grahams to climb. Great height doesn't necessarily make for a spectacular hill/mountain!

• 5 years later...

Since lockdown been on a fitness kick. Was running a bit too much so in an effort to keep things going ive taken up hiking as well. Done a few hills. Decided to go for a munro.

Im the type mostly to dive into things so rather than 1 munro i done 7 in one day. (Within ben lawer range) it was a long hard slog. Best bits was the scrambles and the ascents with little or no paths. Was absolutely knackered by the end of it. But a great day.

📍Meall a'Choire Leith
📍Meall Corranaich
📍Beinn Ghlas
📍Ben Lawers
📍An Stuc
📍Meall Garbh
📍Meall Greigh

On 28/04/2015 at 17:57, Paolo said:

I bagged off with a girl, who's surname was Munro.

Given how unfit I am, that is about as close as I will get to Munro bagging, which is a shame, as there are some magnificent sights.

😁

1 hour ago, Alan_R said:

Since lockdown been on a fitness kick. Was running a bit too much so in an effort to keep things going ive taken up hiking as well. Done a few hills. Decided to go for a munro.

Im the type mostly to dive into things so rather than 1 munro i done 7 in one day. (Within ben lawer range) it was a long hard slog. Best bits was the scrambles and the ascents with little or no paths. Was absolutely knackered by the end of it. But a great day.

📍Meall a'Choire Leith
📍Meall Corranaich
📍Beinn Ghlas
📍Ben Lawers
📍An Stuc
📍Meall Garbh
📍Meall Greigh

Hope you took a pish* on the summit of the first one...   :muggy:

Certainly sounds like you've dived-into the hillwalking right enough!

(*Or better still, some 5h1te!   :thumbsup: )

Edited by Auld Reekin'

His name is

I'm doing Ben Lui tomorrow. Only done one other, Buacaille Etive Mor.

Not done any exercise during this Corona pandemic so could be a slog!