Munro bagging

korf123

I've recently just completed a few munros and am keen to try and climb a lot more- hopefully eventually climbing them all.

Just wondered if any of the other shed posters out there had completed them or are in the process of bagging? Obviously handy to do in the summer when there's no football and the weathers good.

• Replies 141

• Alan_R

• All roads lead to Gorgie

• Harko

• Auld Reekin'

I've climbed most of the Southerly one's but I really need to get my finger out with the more remote one's. I absolutely love a day in the hills though and find there's no better way to relax and clear the head. I was actually up Beinn Dorrain and Beinn an Dothaidh last weekend. It's a really nice track and if you go to one of the smaller peaks on Dothaidh you get a sheer drop and view over Rannoch Moor. It's absolutely stunning.

10690014_10204821588642115_6586731833102344188_n.jpg?oh=982cc39017a08a608691b43328812b23&oe=54CC72C8&__gda__=1419111036_7922e011e45fb66d0b261f1eccd51d70

Dothaidh Last weekend.

And my chum on Tarmachan ridge the week before.

10600434_10204762572086738_4584084147902234879_n.jpg?oh=699ddfc991c2979fd27f8aed4d474775&oe=54913031

Edited by Pete Seeger

1 Ben Lawers (though technically that might be 2)

End June / beg July - snow with zero visibilty. Did well to get up and back down!

You've probably unknowingly done two then as one of the routes takes you over Beinn Ghlash

I was up Ben Lawers and Beinn Ghlas and a couple others last weekend. Mist was so thick and weather so bad took a wrong turn and didn't manage to get on to An Stuc. Means I've got a good reason to go back and finish of the remaining three when the weather is nicer in that part of the world.

Was that on the Saturday? We we're in the region on the Sunday and got a great day for it.

How many have you bagged?

Was pretty active a couple of years ago and bagged 24 in two years, however my walking buddy became a Grandad and that put an end to his Munro bagging!. Its not the same walking on your own so I kind of lost the hill walking bug. Still do some low level walking but its not the same.

Decided to go up Ben Lomond by myself last month, as an attempt to bag my first Munro.

Not sure how far I got up, but didn't make it to the top. Was completely exhausted.

All that time driving there, getting up, driving home and never even made it to the top. Disaster.

Was that on the Saturday? We we're in the region on the Sunday and got a great day for it.

How many have you bagged?

Yeah on the Saturday, a weather front just came in as we were at the top. I've only done 19, so a long way to go!

I used to do them in the late 70s and early 80s before I 'emigrated' to England

Did about 40 I think

We named our daughter Scheihallian (Halli) after my favourite day on the hills. She was boern in 2001 and I was delighted to come back up and climb it wih her, her 11 year old brother and her granddad a couple of years ago.

Decided to go up Ben Lomond by myself last month, as an attempt to bag my first Munro.

Not sure how far I got up, but didn't make it to the top. Was completely exhausted.

All that time driving there, getting up, driving home and never even made it to the top. Disaster.

Well done for giving it a go. Try it again. I was completely knackered initially, but then started to enjoy the challenge.

Not climbed a hill for years now.

My fitness/ability has definitely improved, even just doing them occasionaly so its worth trying again Ragnar. It can be a long day though if you do it all in a oner.

Nice to go get some clean air and blood flowing though

Edited by korf123

The problem with Ben Lomond is you are starting not far above sea level so you should try something furthur east like Schiehallion where you start from a higher point. That way you can build your fitness levels up to the point where they all become easier. Having said that it is always an effort to reach the top but your pint at the end of the day tastes all the sweeter.

Assuming you're Edinburgh based, why not get yourself up to The Pentlands and do a few of the tops there first rather than going straight for a Munro? There are some cracking routes there, from circuits that'd take you a couple of hours to some that'd you'd need to allow all day for. Happy to give some suggestions if needed.

If you live elsewhere, there are likely to be hills nearby where you can do the same and, by doing so, build up your stamina and get the muscles you need for hillwalking more accustomed to the punishment they'll receive when you start back on the big fellaes again. Either way, don't give up, as there're few things better than a day on the hills, away from all the humdrum pish and the day-to-day irritations.

Assuming you're Edinburgh based, why not get yourself up to The Pentlands and do a few of the tops there first rather than going straight for a Munro? There are some cracking routes there, from circuits that'd take you a couple of hours to some that'd you'd need to allow all day for. Happy to give some suggestions if needed.

If you live elsewhere, there are likely to be hills nearby where you can do the same and, by doing so, build up your stamina and get the muscles you need for hillwalking more accustomed to the punishment they'll receive when you start back on the big fellaes again. Either way, don't give up, as there're few things better than a day on the hills, away from all the humdrum pish and the day-to-day irritations.

Agree with all of the above. The Pentlands are absolutely outstanding hills and those of us who live in Edinburgh are lucky to have them on our doorstep. I'm lucky enough to live on a bus route that deposits me just about at Fairmilehead from my front door, so it's possible to have a good day out in the hills and then a few pints without worrying about the car.

In terms of Munros and hills generally, I've done quite a few - walking is just about my favourite pastime. It's one of the reasons I'm not in favour of summer football; I'd rather use the good weather to be outdoors.

My first munros were ben more and stob binnein. Hard, hard work but thoroughly rewarding.

Cracking hills. I did them from the Loch Voil side, much nicer day out than doing it from Crainlarich.

My first munros were ben more and stob binnein. Hard, hard work but thoroughly rewarding.

That Ben More region has some great climbs. Cruach Ardrain is one of my favourite munros.

Not climbed a hill for years but used to do a lot when I was a teenager. The Torridon Area is pretty spectacular if you can get up there.

The Aonach ridge is meant to be very challenging, tried to convince a few people to do it when in the area but they wussed out. Do you think it's suitable for beginners of reasonable fitness but limited hillwalking experience?

gingerjambo190512

The Aonach ridge is meant to be very challenging, tried to convince a few people to do it when in the area but they wussed out. Do you think it's suitable for beginners of reasonable fitness but limited hillwalking experience?

The ridge was my second Munro, but I did it with friends who'd done it a few times before so I felt like was in safe hands,

I would do it again with you if you wanted,

I remember seeing a few episodes of that show. Yeah I'd be keen to do it though it looks like you'd need to do it on a nice dry day as it'd be tricky in places in the wet

I would recomend getting into wild camping as you get fitter.That way you can get into some remote and spectacular plases such as the Cairngorms and Knowdart. Just set up camp and then you can bag a lot in a day. Carry a hip flask of good malt to share at the end of the day. Does wonders for sore limbs.

Just climb the nice ones. Otherwise it becomes a box ticking exercise as there are quite a few really boring ones.

I'd say climb whatever hills you want, and don't get fixated on "Munro's" there are hundreds of 'lesser' hills that are a lot more interesting than many Munro's.

Suilven, Stac Pollaidh, The Cobbler, The Quiraing etc, etc.

I'd say climb whatever hills you want, and don't get fixated on "Munro's" there are hundreds of 'lesser' hills that are a lot more interesting than many Munro's.

Agreed. The pay off, view wise, from Stac Pollaidh is brilliant, and for not much effort. Canisp and Quinag are fantastic as well.

Agree with this. The best view in the Trossachs is from Ben A'an and it's not even a Corbett. It's like a mountain in miniature.

Excuse the shite on my lens.

10525895_10204472211907915_4383485483844223548_n.jpg?oh=ffe9eeb176f482ffbb820992820eecfb&oe=54C54761&__gda__=1419332727_1dd569a1dd4c86f1f275a580d7dde574

Edited by Pete Seeger

Agree with this. The best view in the Trossachs is from Ben A'an and it's not even a Corbett. It's like a mountain in miniature.

Excuse the shite on my lens.

10525895_10204472211907915_4383485483844223548_n.jpg?oh=ffe9eeb176f482ffbb820992820eecfb&oe=54C54761&__gda__=1419332727_1dd569a1dd4c86f1f275a580d7dde574

Ban a'an is lively. Me and my girlfriend climbed it then walked around loch katrine after. Beautiful scenery.

Car park and path to summit are to be "closed" (assuming you can really "close" a path up a hill!) soon for essential maintainance:

http://scotland.forestry.gov.uk/forest-parks/queen-elizabeth-forest-park/ben-aan

This one, near Strathyre, would be a reasonable alternative:

http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/lochlomond/beinn-an-t-sidhean.shtml

An Teallach :thumbsup:

066461_416cb2fe.jpg

The above, Liathhach and Sgurr Nan Gillean on Skye are the three gems imo. Not for the faint hearted though.

Done Nevis 6 times.. Only ever in summer and only had a view once! others were cloudy and snowy.. Still a good climb although it can be very busy simply because its the highest. I'd recommend an early start about 8ish and aim to be up and down for 3ish.. 7 hours is plenty for it. Mid afternoon you can dip the feet in the river nevis for a good cooling and then get to the pub before the crowds all finish their climb..

Done Ben Lawers, Vorlich, Lomond, Nevis, MacDuie, Cairngorm, Schihallion.. Done a few more but stopped "ticking them off" and just went for good days out in the hills.Schiehallions one of my favourites. A great climb and with the new path taking you up an alternative route to the old one very accessible. Although the top 1/4 or so is loose rocks of varying size, but stick to the left as you look up at the beginning of the rocks and its easier going. Get a nice day and you can see all the way down to Rannoch Moor from the top. Theres even a wee human sized seat formed naturally in the rock with great views.. It was watching Muriel Gray on the munro show talking about Shiehallion that got me interested in doing it.

Wish I had a car I'd get a couple in before the shitty weather comes back...

As free time got less and less I used to go up the Pentlands instead. As mentioned, some great paths and circular routes of varying lengths. Good for getting the old legs used to the endurance.

• 7 months later...

I don't have any desire to complete the munros, I just wanna do all the exciting ones. I do love a day out on the hills though - great way to unwind as a few folk on here have said.

I bagged off with a girl, who's surname was Munro.

Given how unfit I am, that is about as close as I will get to Munro bagging, which is a shame, as there are some magnificent sights.

Edited by Claudia

You should consider drinking more :laugh: . Did it while doing West Highland Way back in the days when everything was a pub crawl for me. We walked to the pub at the bottom from Milngavnie (With a carryout), about 12 miles, wife and mates went to the pub but I thought I'd nip up, did it in a couple of hours, ran back down cos I knew they were all smirking in the pub. I was a mere stripling of about 30 though, not sure I'd do that now. We stopped at every pub we saw on that walk and I still managed 2 Munro's. I'm a lazy bassa btw and always have been.

Good recycling of an old thread.

I was up Ben Chonzie on Sunday. Hares running about on top, and four seasons in one day kind of weather.

Beautiful!

Did any of them still have their white winter coat? 

Lochnagar on 30.12.14...

2ijlq1j.jpg

bdp94y.jpg

2cqfvw4.jpg

Bert Le Clos

Been toying with the idea of doing some Munro bagging for a few years. Might actually get round to doing some this year.

From the more experienced "climbers", do you need any specialist equipment to do them? I know there's hundreds and I'm obviously not going to steam into the most difficult ones from the off but I assumed most of them can be done as "walks" as opposed to "climbs"?

Been toying with the idea of doing some Munro bagging for a few years. Might actually get round to doing some this year.

From the more experienced "climbers", do you need any specialist equipment to do them? I know there's hundreds and I'm obviously not going to steam into the most difficult ones from the off but I assumed most of them can be done as "walks" as opposed to "climbs"?

The only thing you will need is suitable clothing. Water too. I drink about 3 litres worth on a 20-25km route. 

Do not skimp on boots. They are the most important thing in my opinion. As are decent socks. Fully recommend Meindl boots. 

Bert Le Clos

The only thing you will need is suitable clothing. Water too. I drink about 3 litres worth on a 20-25km route. 

Do not skimp on boots. They are the most important thing in my opinion. As are decent socks. Fully recommend Meindl boots. 

Don't try it in my Cons then?

I've got a fair amount of waterproofs etc. from cycling/skiing but would definitely need to invest in footwear.

Don't try it in my Cons then?

I've got a fair amount of waterproofs etc. from cycling/skiing but would definitely need to invest in footwear.

Haha, cons are a definite no go! 

If you are serious about it and think you will be hiking a lot within the coming years its definitely worth while investing in a decent pair. I've had a pair of Meindl Burma Pros (?170) for the best part of 4 years now and the mileage i've covered in them must be insane. They aren't even close to being finished yet either. If you look after them with dubbing etc they will go on and on. 

I'd also recommend Scarpa and Solomon footwear. All down to the wearers preference of course. Your best bet would be to go to somewhere like cotswolds and try them all on then leave without buying and find them cheaper online.

GTX (goretex) is also a must have in footwear. Especially in the peaty hills of Scotland! 

Edited by indianajones

willie wallace

I climbed my one and only a couple of years ago with my son.Beinn Sgritheall at Arnisdale.The route we took up involved a lot of scrambling over loose stones and was tough going at times but the views from the top made it well worth it.

Really enjoyed it and hopefully can try another one.

Me and a mate of mine used to go Munro bagging most weekends even over the winter. Seen some truly amazing views and also spent hours climbing to the top of some big bloody mountain and couldn't see my hand in front of my face. We did almost 70 in a couple of years but life caught up with us (wife, kids etc) and so we only go 1 - 2 times a year now.

Haven't done any of the more northerly ones but have hoovered up most of the southerly ones.

Agree with the posts above, if you are a novice get yourself up the Pentlands first so you get the feel of whats required. You can also test out your kit before you take on any of the more bigger remoter hills. DO NOT SCRIMP ON BOOTS OR A WATERPROOF JACKET. 

Look at the weather report before you go, learn how to read an OS map and use a compass and make sure you have them with you. Dont go alone and tell someone where you are going and what time you will be back.Have an extra fleece or sweater in your rucksack and take enough food and water with you. I always look at it from the question: "If I had to spend the night on the hills, do I have enough clothing and snacks to see me through comfortably"? A couple of energy bars and biscuits stashed away in the bottom of your rucksack is a handy thing to have. & don't forget your fully charged mobile, a first aid kit and a small torch. 

You will be amazed how many people still go onto the hills with very little (or very poor) equipment and get themselves into trouble (or worse). Seen folk in trainers in Glencoe. The bus stops and out they pour thinking Adidas trainers are perfect for climbing some of the highest mountains on these islands!

Me and a mate of mine used to go Munro bagging most weekends even over the winter. Seen some truly amazing views and also spent hours climbing to the top of some big bloody mountain and couldn't see my hand in front of my face. We did almost 70 in a couple of years but life caught up with us (wife, kids etc) and so we only go 1 - 2 times a year now.

Haven't done any of the more northerly ones but have hoovered up most of the southerly ones.

Agree with the posts above, if you are a novice get yourself up the Pentlands first so you get the feel of whats required. You can also test out your kit before you take on any of the more bigger remoter hills. DO NOT SCRIMP ON BOOTS OR A WATERPROOF JACKET. 

Look at the weather report before you go, learn how to read an OS map and use a compass and make sure you have them with you. Dont go alone and tell someone where you are going and what time you will be back.Have an extra fleece or sweater in your rucksack and take enough food and water with you. I always look at it from the question: "If I had to spend the night on the hills, do I have enough clothing and snacks to see me through comfortably"? A couple of energy bars and biscuits stashed away in the bottom of your rucksack is a handy thing to have. & don't forget your fully charged mobile, a first aid kit and a small torch. 

You will be amazed how many people still go onto the hills with very little (or very poor) equipment and get themselves into trouble (or worse). Seen folk in trainers in Glencoe. The bus stops and out they pour thinking Adidas trainers are perfect for climbing some of the highest mountains on these islands!

The good old flip flops and shorts up Nevis approach.

You wonder what goes through peoples heads?!