Using vegetable oil as diesel?

The Old Tolbooth

The Old Tolbooth

This sounds absolutely crazy to me, but one of my clients assures me that this is correct.

He stated that diesel cars can run on vegetable oil instead of diesel, and it's also a lot cheaper too. He wasn't too impressed when I laughed at him at first :confused:

He reckons that if you use over a certain amount you need to pay duty on it, but it's a crazily high amount and not many people would use this much.

Firstly, is this guy winding me up (because I admit I have no knowledge of cars whatsoever and surely would have heard of this by now)

Secondly, if it's true, how do you go about doing it because diesel is a silly price now.

I have a funny feeling I'll be calling him back and calling him fatherless lol!

Commander Harris

did you know you can use used motor oil to fertilise your lawn?

Horatio Caine

One of my colleagues runs his diesel car on it. He's told me I should do the same but I haven't the bottle (!!)

I'll get my coat..

Seriously, there's enough people saying this for it to be true

The Old Tolbooth

I know fekall about gardening too lol!!! :confused:

hughesie27

I think it's more a mixture of the 2 liquids rather than simple getting to work while cooking your fry up breakast and warming your baps up.

Commander Harris
I know fekall about gardening too lol!!! :confused:

it's a poster they put up in "fight club" :)

Doctor FinnBarr

I seen a pic in the paper a week or 2 back of a guy outside a supermarket with gallons of the stuff, pouring it into his car!

:confused:

This sounds absolutely crazy to me, but one of my clients assures me that this is correct.

He stated that diesel cars can run on vegetable oil instead of diesel, and it's also a lot cheaper too. He wasn't too impressed when I laughed at him at first :confused:

He reckons that if you use over a certain amount you need to pay duty on it, but it's a crazily high amount and not many people would use this much.