Poetry

speedbump

f you don't want it, don't bring it on. That's what you say, that's what you live by. So why the rage? Why every so often do you lose the plot? If you don't bring it on, how can you justify the outburst, that anger? Hurting loved ones that hurt you? Feeling sorry for yourself? Don't bother. Your choice, mate. How many times do you have to do it? Who is it you're really angry at? Feeling let down? You really need to take a good look at yourself. Do you like people looking at you? No! Then why give them the opportunity, it only makes it worse? Scrutiny. Who ****in' needs it? "Nice guy, but he's a mad ****." Have a nice night. Ever walked in a room... and how many times have you asked yourself, have they stopped laughing? Is he saying something? Never takes you long to find a seat, does it.

So you keep travelling along your track, getting off now and then. Funny how it's easier at first. That charm. Your cheeky grin. The ladies love it! And the men notice it. This is where you're best, isn't it mate? This is your ground, you're strong now. Is this the only role you know? Is this as good as it gets? Never takes long though does it? Sharing something, then being let down. Feeling unwanted.

Tantrum at first. just to let them know. You gain more ground that way. But for what? What's your game, mate? You're all right just being you. Haunted? Can't remember? Blind rage was it, mate? Or something personal that you've managed to bottle up since you were a child. So what's that got to do with any of these people?

Can you not love anybody?

Why can't you let them touch you? Isn't that what you've always wanted?

What happens inside? Why do you cower? You're supposed to be hard, aren't you?

Is it better just wanting it, does it keep you going? How can wanting be all you want?

Feel it! It's here now, your time has come. Let down no longer, c'mon man, this makes you stronger.

Put this to bed; let it all be said.

Remember my friend, you're a long time dead.

My favourite just now, anyone else got any?

Jambo_LuLu

Cannae beat a bit Shakey... (No, not that Welsh **** ;))

"My mistress' eyes are nothing like the sun;

Coral is far more red than her lips' red;

If snow be white, why then her breasts are dun;

If hairs be wires, black wires grow on her head.

I have seen roses damasked, red and white,

But no such roses see I in her cheeks;

And in some perfumes is there more delight

Than in the breath that from my mistress reeks.

I love to hear her speak, yet well I know

That music hath a far more pleasing sound;

I grant I never saw a goddess go;

My mistress when she walks treads on the ground.

And yet, by heaven, I think my love as rare

As any she belied with false compare."

Suicide in the Trenches

I knew a simple soldier boy

Who grinned at life in empty joy,

Slept soundly through the lonesome dark,

And whistled early with the lark.

In winter trenches, cowed and glum,

With crumps and lice and lack of rum,

He put a bullet through his brain.

No one spoke of him again.

You smug-faced crowds with kindling eye

Who cheer when soldier lads march by,

Sneak home and pray you'll never know

The hell where youth and laughter go.

Siegfried Sassoon

Narrative Arc

Wee frustrated bigoted weedgie

oh what a panic in thy heid ye

blondejamtart

I love poetry - my all-time favourite is Sylvia Plath, but my two favourites of hers are really long, so here's a short one I like too....

Stevie Smith - Not Waving But Drowning

Nobody heard him, the dead man,

But still he lay moaning:

I was much further out than you thought

And not waving but drowning.

Poor chap, he always loved larking

And now he's dead

It must have been too cold for him his heart gave way,

They said.

Oh, no no no, it was too cold always

(Still the dead one lay moaning)

I was much too far out all my life