What happened to the other 8000 fans?

It's all very well bragging about having sold out your sticklebrick arena but when your teams form is decent and you get 9000 at your next home game, it's a bit if a hollow statement is it not?

Further evidence that the game against us is all that matters to them. If that is the case, they will be hurting forever regardless :-).

spot on. If ever you wanted to see a definition of small time, its them.

Thunderstruck

They only got the extra 9000 or thereabouts because, like Romans in the Amphitheatre, they turned up hoping to see an unequal contest with some unfortunate being put to the sword. And, while they managed a rare win, if was far from convincing.

agreed, lickin' their lips with relish at the chance of giving us a sound thrashing, a chance to avenge the ultimate humiliation, next season they will all stay in their scratcher rather than support their club, no Hearts = no interest.

Came expecting revenge for 5-1 and our derby domination (for decades). Got hoofball and a fortuitous penalty to win... Then celebrated like a cup win.. I actually feel pitty for them. Forever the wee team.

They didnt actually sell out a few hundred short I believe .Yesterday would be back to going shopping with their sisters

Had a chuckle at the game updates on forth one yesterday. Hibs 3-0 down heading to half time and the presenter asked the journo at the game "so what has the reaction been like at Easter Road where it must be a capacity crowd?" Journo said " not quite a full house, around 10,000 here." :-)

Calls of "let's make it 8 -0" was only the attraction , they thought they were going slaughter us now that they Pat Butcher instead of Pat Fenlol. Delusional Twats.

Quite a few hibs mates before the start of the season giving it licks saying this is the time they will dominate us for years to come.

Hibs will never ever dominate us no matter bad we are.

Hearts Heritage

Quite a few hibs mates before the start of the season giving it licks saying this is the time they will dominate us for years to come.

Hibs will never ever dominate us no matter bad we are.

Apart from

1876 to 1887

The 1920s

The 1940s

1965 to 1979

You are correct

So for only 45 out of over 130 years of their existence have they managed to get the better of us on a regular basis and even then not since the 1970s. I think that illustrates the sheer superiority of Heart of Midlothian.

Do you have a comparison of how Hearts and Hibs attendances have compared over the last few decades? I'd be interested to see how they compare over the relative highs and lows of the respective clubs fortunes.

Apart from

1876 to 1887

The 1920s

The 1940s

1965 to 1979

You are correct

So for only 45 out of over 130 years of their existence have they managed to get the better of us on a regular basis and even then not since the 1970s. I think that illustrates the sheer superiority of Heart of Midlothian.

Do you have a comparison of how Hearts and Hibs attendances have compared over the last few decades? I'd be interested to see how they compare over the relative highs and lows of the respective clubs fortunes.

I'm sure he does

:bucktooth:

Hearts Heritage

Since Hearts came back up. Competitive games only. NB Includes Hearts at Murrayfield

season Hearts Hibs Diff

1983-84 10485 7360 3125

1984-85 10939 6999 3940

1985-86 16387 9769 6618

1986-87 15223 9246 5977

1987-88 16247 11416 4831

1988-89 15609 13057 2552

1989-90 15825 10776 5049

1990-91 13403 9257 4146

1991-92 13349 9979 3370

1992-93 10717 8974 1743

1993-94 10917 9786 1131

1994-95 10185 8921 1264

1995-96 11971 9586 2385

1996-97 12496 10711 1785

1997-98 15093 11770 3323

1998-99 13966 10256 3710

1999-00 14115 11983 2132

2000-01 12344 10727 1617

2001-02 11980 11553 427

2002-03 11757 9842 1915

2003-04 12191 8987 3204

2004-05 13080 12103 977

2005-06 16599 13805 2794

2006-07 18594 13673 4921 <-- Some games Hearts were counting tickets sold

2007-08 15555 13543 2012 <-- Some games Hearts were counting tickets sold

2008-09 14046 12271 1775

2009-10 13396 11419 1977

2010-11 13405 11444 1961

2011-12 11716 9635 2081

2012-13 12970 10868 2102

2013-14 13345 11401 1944

Average over that period of time 13451 10689 2762

Since Hearts came back up. Competitive games only. NB Includes Hearts at Murrayfield

season Hearts Hibs Diff

1983-84 10485 7360 3125

1984-85 10939 6999 3940

1985-86 16387 9769 6618

1986-87 15223 9246 5977

1987-88 16247 11416 4831

1988-89 15609 13057 2552

1989-90 15825 10776 5049

1990-91 13403 9257 4146

1991-92 13349 9979 3370

1992-93 10717 8974 1743

1993-94 10917 9786 1131

1994-95 10185 8921 1264

1995-96 11971 9586 2385

1996-97 12496 10711 1785

1997-98 15093 11770 3323

1998-99 13966 10256 3710

1999-00 14115 11983 2132

2000-01 12344 10727 1617

2001-02 11980 11553 427

2002-03 11757 9842 1915

2003-04 12191 8987 3204

2004-05 13080 12103 977

2005-06 16599 13805 2794

2006-07 18594 13673 4921 <-- Some games Hearts were counting tickets sold

2007-08 15555 13543 2012 <-- Some games Hearts were counting tickets sold

2008-09 14046 12271 1775

2009-10 13396 11419 1977

2010-11 13405 11444 1961

2011-12 11716 9635 2081

2012-13 12970 10868 2102

2013-14 13345 11401 1944

Average over that period of time 13451 10689 2762

Thanks for posting that. Yet more statistics that assert our dominance! However, those statistics are actually horrendously depressing. Obviously there's limitations on stadium capacity but how the heck can we ever challenge the OF for the league if both of the capital clubs are getting such low average attendances? It's all relative of course and I'm sure our attendances stack up very favourably compared to most other non-OF clubs but they are a fraction of what we need in order to get the revenue necessary to challenge the uglies (I would imagine).

I detest everything about their shitty meaningless little club, deluded bitter shower of inbreeds. Who seemingly take more interest in the famous Heart of Midlothian Football Clubs on & off field business affairs.

That's why we should never ever let them forget that famous day back in May 2012.

We now have the unique Openertunity to rebuild a team over the next couple of seasons which will again be the dominant force in Edinburgh, even in the Championship we will continue to be the big team.

Putting the rivalry to one side, I really wish clubs like Hibs and Aberdeen could sustain better crowds. If people actually went to the games we could start building a better league. A league that might actually be able to attract a sponsor.

Obviously there are other factors in play with that last point. Getting rid of Doncaster and appointing someone with a bit of creative vision would help.

Putting the rivalry to one side, I really wish clubs like Hibs and Aberdeen could sustain better crowds. If people actually went to the games we could start building a better league. A league that might actually be able to attract a sponsor.

Obviously there are other factors in play with that last point. Getting rid of Doncaster and appointing someone with a bit of creative vision would help.

FTFY

In all seriousness, I'd gave thought that the derby win would've out a couple of thousand on their gate.

9k when you've not had a match for a fortnight is pish.

Hearts Heritage

Hearts fans were just as fickle. When we were going for the title in 1964-65. There were some shocking crowds, regularly around 15,000 to 20,000 short of the 'Big Games'.

1964-08-19 Wed Hearts 8-1 Airdrieonians Division 1 6541 1 19:30

1964-09-12 Sat Hearts 1-1 Dunfermline Athletic Division 1 14130 3 15:00

1964-09-26 Sat Hearts 4-2 Celtic Division 1 24774 5 15:00

1964-10-10 Sat Hearts 0-0 St Mirren Division 1 10631 7 15:00

1964-10-17 Sat Hearts 1-1 Rangers Division 1 35072 8 15:00

1964-10-31 Sat Hearts 4-1 Greenock Morton Division 1 18617 10 15:00

1964-11-21 Sat Hearts 3-0 Clyde Division 1 11384 13 15:00

1964-12-05 Sat Hearts 3-1 Dundee United Division 1 10063 15 15:00

1964-12-12 Sat Hearts 6-3 Aberdeen Division 1 12117 16 15:00

1965-01-01 Fri Hearts 0-1 Hibernian Division 1 36297 19 14:00

1965-01-09 Sat Hearts 3-1 Third Lanark Division 1 10770 21 15:00

1965-01-23 Sat Hearts 1-0 Partick Thistle Division 1 14620 23 15:00

1965-02-27 Sat Hearts 1-7 Dundee Division 1 12393 26 15:00

1965-03-13 Sat Hearts 5-2 Falkirk Division 1 10019 28 15:00

1965-03-20 Sat Hearts 2-0 Motherwell Division 1 9323 29 15:00

1965-04-03 Sat Hearts 4-1 St Johnstone Division 1 11328 31 15:00

1965-04-24 Sat Hearts 0-2 Kilmarnock Division 1 37275 34 15:00

What makes me laugh is they want us to go down or worse little do they know us going down means that their wee club will be in deep doe doe in a financial sense bet you Petrie is not so happy with this.

Grumpy.

Heard that there were many neutrals in the Hibs end for the NY derby. Visitors for Hogmanay, Edinburgh Rangers and Celtic fans etc

Hearts fans were just as fickle. When we were going for the title in 1964-65. There were some shocking crowds, regularly around 15,000 to 20,000 short of the 'Big Games'.

1964-08-19 Wed Hearts 8-1 Airdrieonians Division 1 6541 1 19:30

1964-09-12 Sat Hearts 1-1 Dunfermline Athletic Division 1 14130 3 15:00

1964-09-26 Sat Hearts 4-2 Celtic Division 1 24774 5 15:00

1964-10-10 Sat Hearts 0-0 St Mirren Division 1 10631 7 15:00

1964-10-17 Sat Hearts 1-1 Rangers Division 1 35072 8 15:00

1964-10-31 Sat Hearts 4-1 Greenock Morton Division 1 18617 10 15:00

1964-11-21 Sat Hearts 3-0 Clyde Division 1 11384 13 15:00

1964-12-05 Sat Hearts 3-1 Dundee United Division 1 10063 15 15:00

1964-12-12 Sat Hearts 6-3 Aberdeen Division 1 12117 16 15:00

1965-01-01 Fri Hearts 0-1 Hibernian Division 1 36297 19 14:00

1965-01-09 Sat Hearts 3-1 Third Lanark Division 1 10770 21 15:00

1965-01-23 Sat Hearts 1-0 Partick Thistle Division 1 14620 23 15:00

1965-02-27 Sat Hearts 1-7 Dundee Division 1 12393 26 15:00

1965-03-13 Sat Hearts 5-2 Falkirk Division 1 10019 28 15:00

1965-03-20 Sat Hearts 2-0 Motherwell Division 1 9323 29 15:00

1965-04-03 Sat Hearts 4-1 St Johnstone Division 1 11328 31 15:00

1965-04-24 Sat Hearts 0-2 Kilmarnock Division 1 37275 34 15:00

I think that 8-1 game was the first league game I was allowed to go to - Ii thought it was pish as the games I played in down the park were usually 24-23 'last goal the winner'. Little did I know....

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope

I'd argue that what Scottish football needs, to be able to increase gates at non-InFirm games, is for more football fans to actually support their local team, rather than getting on a bus in the likes of Inverness, Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Ayr, Stranraer etc. and travelling to Ibrox or Parkhead or, perhaps even worse, professing support for Celtic or Rangers, but sitting on their arses in front of the TV every Saturday.

It needs that level of rethinking to change things drastically. Otherwise, the money's just going to keep leaking to Glasgow.

Yeah if we are replaced by Dundee or Hamilton instead of 2 crowds 15,000-20,000 @ ?28 a head plus Sky money they will get 2 gates of 9,000 and it will cost them a whole loada cash. For a club log reportedly losing a six figure sum every month I would imagine it may cause them more of a headache that it will a debt free Hearts. And then will their managable debt maybe be slightly less so? As my mum would say..be careful what you wish for when they long for our relegation.

That is Hibs crowd just now. Post above about the others getting excited about hammering our young team is spot on and also feeling a bit better after 5-1 cup final humiliation. Shame they don't get more. With the silky football of the Butcher Brazilians just a matter of time. Unfortunately results will keep crowds down.

What about this for a cracking excuse from a hobbo I know about the attendance yesterday, how I laughed when I read his reply 'below' after I quizzed him about it today.

This was his reply, I think you'll find it might have been more to do with the new electronic turnstiles which were in operation for the 1st time yesterday that were not working properly, so some were in likely without being counted, my reply what you telling me that they failed to count 8000 extra numbers.

Their excuses are comedy gold, how I laughed when I read his reply.

That is Hibs crowd just now. Post above about the others getting excited about hammering our young team is spot on and also feeling a bit better after 5-1 cup final humiliation. Shame they don't get more. With the silky football of the Butcher Brazilians just a matter of time. Unfortunately results will keep crowds down.

An amusing stat to go with your final point. In no way comparing their managerial prowess.

?@SPLstats: Terry Butcher has accumulated fewer points in his first 10 games in charge of Hibs than Gary Locke did in his first 10 in charge of Hearts.?

Guest oldcastlerock2012

An amusing stat to go with your final point. In no way comparing their managerial prowess.

?@SPLstats: Terry Butcher has accumulated fewer points in his first 10 games in charge of Hibs than Gary Locke did in his first 10 in charge of Hearts.?

Haha - that's an awesome stat and deserves a wider audience. And the media were calling it the Butcher revolution and churning out the full page interviews. Classic example of the terrible journalists we are lumbered with. "Big Tel" makes a few funny faces and tells some corny jokes and the media lap it up, forgetting to ask him about tactics or anything else football related.

Just checked and it's true. In fact if my maths is correct:

Gary Locke first 10 league matches: 14 points

Terry Butcher first 10 league matches: 13 points

Pat Fenlon last 10 league matches: 15 points

ffs and that's the Butcher revolution, that lot are easily pleased

I don't see how they can expect to attract a decent sponsor when they continually devalue their own product by allowing teams to not bother playing league matches when they're due, and instead go off and play meaningless friendlies.

Franco Fascione

Oh yeah. We will get bigger crowds than Aberdeen, Dundee Utd and Hibs next season too.

Our income from shared commercial income will drop but we will have two big crowds versus Sevco and we will have monthly FOH direct debits help sustain us.

:arry:

That's hilarious. I think their main justification is 'he's made us mare harder tae beet'.

My boss's excuse was that they probably didn't cound the numbers correct.

Even in our darkest moments they provide us with so much comedy.