wedding readings / poems

hearts151

Right jkb. Make my life easier with the missus. Give me good readings that you know / may have used lol.

Write one yourself, doesn't have to rhyme, can be a lot of shoite but nobody will care except her and she'll put in a wee bit extra effort on your wedding night as a thankyou.

My brother wrote his own to read at my wedding. I told him he could write his own or choose something himself. I had suggested My Love is Like Red Red Rose, or a wild card of innuendo from John Keats, Where Be ye Goin You Devon Maid. I'd have loved it if he'd read that, but to be fair he done an outstanding job all on his own. I seen a lassie try to read Shakespeare in character at a friends wedding and it was awful. She was bonkers though.

Where Be Ye Going, You Devon Maid?

WHERE be ye going, you Devon maid?

And what have ye there i' the basket?

Ye tight little fairy, just fresh from the dairy,

Will ye give me some cream if I ask it?

I love your meads, and I love your flowers,

And I love your junkets mainly,

But 'hind the door, I love kissing more,

O look not so disdainly!

I love your hills, and I love your dales,

And I love your flocks a-bleating;

But O, on the heather to lie together,

With both our hearts a-beating!

I'll put your basket all safe in a nook,

Your shawl I'll hang up on this willow,

And we will sigh in the daisy's eye,

And kiss on a grass-green pillow.

John Keats

Readings? Oh ffs no-one wants to hear poems and that, just get on with the ceremony pronto and have a party.

I also agree, but this is where the women win isn't it. They want more than a 5 minute ceremony and readings help pan it out to 25/30 minutes. One thing to be mindful of, if you're not having a religious ceremony then any reading can't have anything to do with god or bejesus in it (not sure if this is the case for those humanist services you can have in Scotland?).

Regal Kingston

Quote the lyrics of the Proclaimers "Lets get Married"

And sing the last verse accapello.

Or quote Lloyd Christmas "When I first met you I had that old fashioned feeling - where I'd do anything just to bone you"

Or just say what you actually feel?

My sister had my Love is Like a Red Red Rose as a reading at her wedding, they read it as a poem rather than as a song, it was nice.

O my Luve's like a red, red rose

That?s newly sprung in June;

O my Luve's like the melodie

That?s sweetly play'd in tune.

As fair art thou, my bonnie lass,

So deep in luve am I:

And I will luve thee still, my dear,

Till a? the seas gang dry:

Till a? the seas gang dry, my dear,

And the rocks melt wi? the sun:

I will luve thee still, my dear,

While the sands o? life shall run.

And fare thee well, my only Luve

And fare thee well, a while!

And I will come again, my Luve,

Tho? it were ten thousand mile

Be different.

Explain your love through the medium of dance.

Cheers Boris ya bas. Just wasted 2 hours watching the first 4 episodes of Summer Heights (full episodes on YouTube by the way) Forgot how genius it was.

I also agree, but this is where the women win isn't it. They want more than a 5 minute ceremony and readings help pan it out to 25/30 minutes. One thing to be mindful of, if you're not having a religious ceremony then any reading can't have anything to do with god or bejesus in it (not sure if this is the case for those humanist services you can have in Scotland?).

Na it's humanist. Nae religion

So are things with religious content allowed regardless? I'm only asking because if a registrar marries you then any mention of mythical gods or biblical figures is outlawed.

'This be the Verse', by Philip Larkin: perfect for your special day.