Hearts average attendance history ?

OTT

So was wondering if anybody knew Hearts average attendances reasonably far back (around the 50s) to now. I haven't been able to find anything and Im not totally sure how to use the london hearts page.

Cheers

(also does anyone know roughly how many jambos are in edinburgh ?)

Hearts Heritage

1945-46 19 19430

1946-47 21 20881

1947-48 19 24378

1948-49 22 28343

1949-50 19 28072

1950-51 19 26321

1951-52 20 27753

1952-53 20 24240

1953-54 18 26492

1954-55 21 26404

1955-56 24 24780

1956-57 21 25975

1957-58 22 24492

1958-59 22 22523

1959-60 22 24674

1960-61 23 22093

1961-62 24 15444

1962-63 22 15336

1963-64 22 14472

1964-65 21 16768

1965-66 25 15423

1966-67 21 10678

1967-68 22 11726

1968-69 20 11147

1969-70 21 11944

1970-71 26 13591

1971-72 24 12520

1972-73 23 9723

1973-74 25 12680

1974-75 24 12768

1975-76 26 12152

1976-77 27 12410

1977-78 23 9801

1978-79 21 10438

1979-80 22 5793

1980-81 22 7357

1981-82 23 5511

1982-83 27 6738

1983-84 23 10485

1984-85 25 10924

1985-86 22 18317

1986-87 27 15223

1987-88 26 16248

1988-89 25 15609

1989-90 22 15838

1990-91 20 13404

1991-92 28 13770

1992-93 29 10717

1993-94 25 10917

1994-95 22 10186

1995-96 22 13142

1996-97 24 12628

1997-98 22 16642

1998-99 22 13966

1999-00 19 14115

2000-01 24 12346

2001-02 21 11974

2002-03 20 11758

2003-04 24 12219

2004-05 26 13030

2005-06 23 18155

2006-07 22 18604

2007-08 21 15566

2008-09 21 14093

2009-10 22 13766

2010-11 21 13416

2011-12 23 12912

2012-13 21 12971

2013-14 5 14024

Total 1540 15398

Figures are a wee bit misleading as before all seating the averages were boosted by huge crowds for OF and derbies, with very large away supports which in the case of the OF could match or even exceed the home crowd. Crowds for run of the mill home games were even in the glory years, often not that much bigger than today, and crowds in the 60s and 70s for such games fell well below today's crowds.

Hearts Heritage

2005-06 is above the capacity at the time (18,008).

2006-07 might be right if including games at Murrayfield.

I always had 1985-86 as 16,298.

Apologies was using my 'Home filter' which included games at Hampden where Hearts were drawn as the Home team

Revised list

Games at Murrayfield included

My 'early' crowd figures are sourced from David Ross rather than other published sources.

1945-46 19430

1946-47 20881

1947-48 24378

1948-49 28343

1949-50 28072

1950-51 26321

1951-52 27753

1952-53 24240

1953-54 26492

1954-55 26404

1955-56 24780

1956-57 25975

1957-58 24492

1958-59 22523

1959-60 24674

1960-61 22093

1961-62 15444

1962-63 13624

1963-64 14472

1964-65 16768

1965-66 15423

1966-67 10678

1967-68 11726

1968-69 11147

1969-70 11944

1970-71 13591

1971-72 12520

1972-73 9723

1973-74 12680

1974-75 12768

1975-76 12152

1976-77 12410

1977-78 9801

1978-79 10438

1979-80 5793

1980-81 7357

1981-82 5511

1982-83 6738

1983-84 10485

1984-85 10924

1985-86 16388

1986-87 15223

1987-88 16248

1988-89 15609

1989-90 15838

1990-91 13404

1991-92 13349

1992-93 10717

1993-94 10917

1994-95 10186

1995-96 11971

1996-97 12496

1997-98 15103

1998-99 13966

1999-00 14115

2000-01 12346

2001-02 11974

2002-03 11758

2003-04 12219

2004-05 13030

2005-06 16652

2006-07 18604

2007-08 15566

2008-09 14093

2009-10 13985

2010-11 13416

2011-12 12923

2012-13 12971

2013-14 14024

Hearts Heritage

Home League Averages

1945-46 18074

1946-47 19310

1947-48 23624

1948-49 28014

1949-50 27325

1950-51 23917

1951-52 25238

1952-53 22377

1953-54 26248

1954-55 23133

1955-56 23588

1956-57 23882

1957-58 24159

1958-59 21471

1959-60 23059

1960-61 20294

1961-62 13828

1962-63 12778

1963-64 13834

1964-65 16786

1965-66 12110

1966-67 10241

1967-68 11228

1968-69 11546

1969-70 12475

1970-71 11667

1971-72 11196

1972-73 10261

1973-74 11733

1974-75 12225

1975-76 12677

1976-77 11716

1977-78 9863

1978-79 10887

1979-80 5734

1980-81 7759

1981-82 5157

1982-83 5913

1983-84 11914

1984-85 11305

1985-86 16198

1986-87 14499

1987-88 16633

1988-89 15367

1989-90 15694

1990-91 13232

1991-92 13317

1992-93 9829

1993-94 11019

1994-95 10124

1995-96 12078

1996-97 12349

1997-98 15337

1998-99 14183

1999-00 14246

2000-01 12774

2001-02 12080

2002-03 12037

2003-04 11962

2004-05 12272

2005-06 16762

2006-07 16889

2007-08 15933

2008-09 14398

2009-10 14497

2010-11 14186

2011-12 13386

2012-13 13163

2013-14 15434

Captain Bubblebeard

Home League Averages

1945-46 18074

1946-47 19310

1947-48 23624

1948-49 28014

1949-50 27325

1950-51 23917

1951-52 25238

1952-53 22377

1953-54 26248

1954-55 23133

1955-56 23588

1956-57 23882

1957-58 24159

1958-59 21471

1959-60 23059

1960-61 20294

1961-62 13828

1962-63 12778

1963-64 13834

1964-65 16786

1965-66 12110

1966-67 10241

1967-68 11228

1968-69 11546

1969-70 12475

1970-71 11667

1971-72 11196

1972-73 10261

1973-74 11733

1974-75 12225

1975-76 12677

1976-77 11716

1977-78 9863

1978-79 10887

1979-80 5734

1980-81 7759

1981-82 5157

1982-83 5913

1983-84 11914

1984-85 11305

1985-86 16198

1986-87 14499

1987-88 16633

1988-89 15367

1989-90 15694

1990-91 13232

1991-92 13317

1992-93 9829

1993-94 11019

1994-95 10124

1995-96 12078

1996-97 12349

1997-98 15337

1998-99 14183

1999-00 14246

2000-01 12774

2001-02 12080

2002-03 12037

2003-04 11962

2004-05 12272

2005-06 16762

2006-07 16889

2007-08 15933

2008-09 14398

2009-10 14497

2010-11 14186

2011-12 13386

2012-13 13163

2013-14 15434

06-07 looks a bit suspect, no?

Hearts Heritage

06-07 looks a bit suspect, no?

Yes!

That was the season where some of the crowds reported to the SPL were 'ticket sales' rather than 'bums on seats'

Hopefully at some point we will be able to report the correct figures.

As an aside Celtic have yet to publish a figure for their loss to Morton from last week.

If you're able to easily copy and paste the figures from David Ross's book from the 1920s and 1930s, 12 August 1893, it is an interesting read.

I may as well recommend David Ross's book ROAR of the Crowd", which I think is a must-read for anybody interested in attendances.

As it Stands This Season Thus Far...

1 Celtic 136,085 45,361 2 Heart of Midlothian 61,737 15,434 3 Aberdeen 40,746 13,582 4 Hibernian 37,394 9,348 5 Dundee United 30,050 7,512 6 Partick Thistle 24,865 6,216 7 Motherwell 20,385 5,096 8 St Mirren 14,238 4,746 9 Kilmarnock 16,569 4,142 10 St Johnstone 16,350 4,087 11 Inverness Caledonian Thistle 11,326 3,775 12 Ross County 13,537 3,384

So were most of the performances. :)

:lol: a few years before my time but my old mans told me all about it! Still pretty surprised to see average attendances of 5k

Hearts Heritage

If you're able to easily copy and paste the figures from David Ross's book from the 1920s and 1930s, 12 August 1893, it is an interesting read.

I may as well recommend David Ross's book ROAR of the Crowd", which I think is a must-read for anybody interested in attendances.

Thanks to David I have all those attendances. Great book.

Hearts Heritage

07/08.... 16,378 (16 Games)

08/09.... 14,304 (17 Games)

09/10.... 14,690 (16 Games)

10/11.... 14,105 (17 Games)

11/12.... 13,605 (16 Games)

12/13.... 12,811 (17 Games)

Useful Site for Stats... http://www.worldfoot...ue-2012-2013/1/

Unfortunately NOT always correct. Nearly all football sites take their figures from a single source (the PA) which occasionally publishes a wrong figure or dosen't publish one, which is subsequentlly NEVER updated.

Then it is replicated and published everywhere.

Hearts Heritage

Roar of the crowd had us as the only non-OF team to have the highest average attendance in Scotland over a season (in the 30s I think) and Hibs to be the only team outwith the OF to have an average attendance of over 30k over a season.

3 times in the 1920s, once in the 1930s

Roar of the crowd had us as the only non-OF team to have the highest average attendance in Scotland over a season (in the 30s I think) and Hibs to be the only team outwith the OF to have an average attendance of over 30k over a season.

For some reason I have it in my mind that dundee done it one season as well? I could be wrong though

Hearts Heritage

For some reason I have it in my mind that dundee done it one season as well? I could be wrong though

IIRC Dundee did it for home league crowds

Have Dundee not had the highest average attendance? Think pre-WW1

Seems 1961 was very significant. What was the reason for the collapse in support the sale of Alex Young or a poor performance in the league? I se we finished 7th in the next season after being champions and were 6th the year after.

Home League Averages

1945-46 18074

1946-47 19310

1947-48 23624

1948-49 28014

1949-50 27325

1950-51 23917

1951-52 25238

1952-53 22377

1953-54 26248

1954-55 23133

1955-56 23588

1956-57 23882

1957-58 24159

1958-59 21471

1959-60 23059

1960-61 20294

1961-62 13828

1962-63 12778

1963-64 13834

1964-65 16786

1965-66 12110

1966-67 10241

1967-68 11228

1968-69 11546

1969-70 12475

1970-71 11667

1971-72 11196

1972-73 10261

1973-74 11733

1974-75 12225

1975-76 12677

1976-77 11716

1977-78 9863

1978-79 10887

1979-80 5734

1980-81 7759

1981-82 5157

1982-83 5913

1983-84 11914

1984-85 11305

1985-86 16198

1986-87 14499

1987-88 16633

1988-89 15367

1989-90 15694

1990-91 13232

1991-92 13317

1992-93 9829

1993-94 11019

1994-95 10124

1995-96 12078

1996-97 12349

1997-98 15337

1998-99 14183

1999-00 14246

2000-01 12774

2001-02 12080

2002-03 12037

2003-04 11962

2004-05 12272

2005-06 16762

2006-07 16889

2007-08 15933

2008-09 14398

2009-10 14497

2010-11 14186

2011-12 13386

2012-13 13163

2013-14 15434

bigis semiauskas

surprised how low the championship winning seasons were in 58 and 60,thought we had crowds of 30 -40 thousand back then.

I think we did for the glamour games

surprised how low the championship winning seasons were in 58 and 60,thought we had crowds of 30 -40 thousand back then.

Hearts Heritage

Seems 1961 was very significant. What was the reason for the collapse in support the sale of Alex Young or a poor performance in the league? I se we finished 7th in the next season after being champions and were 6th the year after.

More Social rather than football related

They declined all round because of the phasing out of Saturday morning working

What sparked the revival from 5000s in 1981 and 1982 to in the 11,000s the 2 seasons after? Was it the arrival of Mercer? (Showing my age here)

Interestingly our most successful seasons in recent time show a significant increase in averages which shows the potential the club has when the fans turn up/a decent side is on the park

What sparked the revival from 5000s in 1981 and 1982 to in the 11,000s the 2 seasons after? Was it the arrival of Mercer? (Showing my age here)

Interestingly our most successful seasons in recent time show a significant increase in averages which shows the potential the club has when the fans turn up/a decent side is on the park

Promoted in season 1982-83.

Did well, finished 5th and qualified for Europe in 1983-84.

7th in 1984-85.

The seasons in the first division were 1977-78, 1979-80, 1981-82 and 1982-83.

• 4 years later...
Strachsuit

I make this year's final average figure to be 18,390. Highest since 06/07, which also included Murrayfield games. 

On Monday, September 30, 2013 at 20:05, Longshanks said:

The early 80's attendances are shocking.

Aye. Some think we are suffering now.

On 9/30/2013 at 19:25, 12august1893 said:

Yes!

That was the season where some of the crowds reported to the SPL were 'ticket sales' rather than 'bums on seats'

Hopefully at some point we will be able to report the correct figures.

As an aside Celtic have yet to publish a figure for their loss to Morton from last week.

55 minutes ago, Strachsuit said:

I make this year's final average figure to be 18,390. Highest since 06/07, which also included Murrayfield games. 

the bums on seats vs Seats Sold argument.

This year's will be distorted. Some crowds wew a lot less than reported

On 30 September 2013 at 20:12, Longshanks said:

:lol: a few years before my time but my old mans told me all about it! Still pretty surprised to see average attendances of 5k

If I remember correctly during that awful period we had a midweek game where under two thousand were in attendance. Now that really was a hard time to follow Hearts.

On 9/30/2013 at 22:34, 12august1893 said:

More Social rather than football related

They declined all round because of the phasing out of Saturday morning working

Roar of the crowd is a tremendous book. David also suggests road and rail improvements facilitated the furth of Glasgow support attending OF matches to the detriment of their local teams. Also suggests that people not working on a Sat. and going straight to the game was replaced by Sat morning shopping then home, and ach, just switch on the telly. Rangers crowds held up and Celtic's increased by about 25%. 

Strachsuit
1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said:

the bums on seats vs Seats Sold argument.

This year's will be distorted. Some crowds wew a lot less than reported

Indeed. However the biggest distortion this year will come from the Murrayfield games. Next season I'd imagine we'll drop down below 18,000.

1979 to 1983 they were horrendous times for us ,I never want any Hearts fan to experience that again and  I’m surprised the attendances were actually that high ?

wouldnt mind hibs going through that shit again though 

Super_Hans
4 hours ago, Strachsuit said:

Indeed. However the biggest distortion this year will come from the Murrayfield games. Next season I'd imagine we'll drop down below 18,000.

I make this season's Tynecastle average to be 17,125.

Last season's average was 16,315