Trainspotting

I've decided it's my favourite film of all time. Must have watched it about 100 times and read the book three times. It actually upsets me a bit that the main characters are hibees.

It's just iconic for a certain age group.

Who's got the ******* cairds?

Victor Mancini

was talking to friend about this last week after we saw a trailer for filth(which im really looking forward to seeing) i seen trainspotting the week it was released on video and never enjoyed it, i was probably 14-15 at the time and have never once felt the urge to watch it again, tbh i found the acid house and ecstasy more enjoyable films even though i'd imagine they were done on smaller budgets in comparison and are nothing special imo, got high hopes for filth though

I read Trainspotting while at university in Bristol in early 1995. It made me homesick so I came back to Embra for a week and we beat Rangers 4-2 at Tynie in the cup. Likesay.

Filth: main character is a corrupt, amoral, ethically-and-morally-bankrupt, low-life, arsehole, sleazebag of a policeman, who's known as "Robbo" and is a Hearts' fan...

Bitter and jealous much Irvine?

Just say no to barely-literate, drug-induced pish, from the pish-meister supreme.

Sunshine on Leith looks good too - set in Edinburgh.

Never saw the musical - is there a Hibs connection other than the title?

I liked Trainspotting. I've been to the train station on Corrour where they go to get away from the city. It really is in the arse end of nowhere.

Filth could be good but I think they've picked the wrong actor. In the book the cop is middle aged, ugly, fat and with manky ******-rot. James McAvoy doesn't really seem to fit the character at all.

Trainspotting

Great film

Great soundtrack

Watched it many a time

Bought it on Blu-Ray about a year ago, still haven't got round to sticking it on the PS3

Soon though

Guest GhostHunter

Trainspotting in 3D would be awesome.

Renton coming out the bog would be something to behold - not sure the baby scene would be good though :eek:

Portrays Hibernian fans very well in my opinion. Good movie. Welsh is indeed an arsehole though. Looking forward to filth too.

Has anyone watched ecstasy?

Sunshine on Leith looks good too - set in Edinburgh.

Never saw the musical - is there a Hibs connection other than the title?

I liked Trainspotting. I've been to the train station on Corrour where they go to get away from the city. It really is in the arse end of nowhere.

Got a good couple of bites with a 5-1 comment on the trailer found on YouTube.

Ecstasy is absolutely terrible :lol:

Filth looks brilliant, mcavoy looks hilarious.

Noticed it on netflix but thought I'd get some opinions on it first before viewing. What makes it so pish?

Trainspotting in 3D would be awesome.

Renton coming out the bog would be something to behold - not sure the baby scene would be good though :eek:

i wouldn't want to see the scene went spud tries to get the bedsheets in the washing machine and his birds mother tries to help him in 3D

The fitba team they support is incidental. Magnificent book, great film.

Looking forward to Filth also. Some of it was filmed at the back of our building, a drug scene, art imitating life.

I like The Beach, alot too. Very underrated movie. As for Filth, i'm not really expecting much. Jim Broadbent seems very happy to do awful movies

The biggest issue I had with the film was the Begbie character, he was supposed to be the same age as the others as they were schoolmates. Instead he turned into a late 30's man.

Welshie stayed in the next block of flats from me in Muirhouse and there was plenty of guys then that looked like Begbie even at school. Craigroyston and Ainslie Park more so than Royal High. Might even have been guys like that at Leith Academy where Welshie went as Graigy and Ainslie were a bit rough for a bloke called Irvine.

My mates brother was like that at the beginning of 4th year, we were in 1st, and the full grown 'tache was one of the reasons he got expelled, along with the bullying, extortion and doing no school work.

They still planning to do porno as movie?

I enjoyed the book, unlike many, and thinking it would be good to follow up on trainspotting.

Apparently they are still going to make the film.

As for the book, I felt that Porno was sequel to the film Trainspotting rather than the book Trainspotting.

I like Irvine Welsh. Any time he's replied to a tweet to me he's been civil and engaging. He's a great writer and I enjoy his work.

Can't wait for Filth to come out but they should focus on an adaptation of MSN which would be bleak as **** but brilliant if done right.

I know Filth is meant to have some very dodgy stuff in it but I can't for a minute believe it can be worse than the scene in the Acid House where the boy is a fly on the wall of his parents Living Room/Bedroom. Totally minging but really really funny.

I like Irvine Welsh. Any time he's replied to a tweet to me he's been civil and engaging. He's a great writer and I enjoy his work.

Can't wait for Filth to come out but they should focus on an adaptation of MSN which would be bleak as **** but brilliant if done right.

I think IW is a cracking writer and comic genius, Hobo or not thoroughly enjoyed of most his work and at times had tears of laughter at his stuff

I thought Trainspotting and Marabou Stork Nightmares were brilliant, inventive novels. Blew me away.

I think it would be fair to say he's never really reached that level since, though. The Acid House, Glue, Filth and Porno all (imo) have their moments, but Ecstasy was a definite nadir.

I know Filth is meant to have some very dodgy stuff in it but I can't for a minute believe it can be worse than the scene in the Acid House where the boy is a fly on the wall of his parents Living Room/Bedroom. Totally minging but really really funny.

"Shite in ma mooth" :lol:

The granton star cause is brilliant!

Guest C00l K1d

"Shite in ma mooth" :lol:

The granton star cause is brilliant!

''Dinny shite in ma mooth, dinny dae it dinny, shite in ma mooth gon shite in ma mooth!''

Filth could be good but I think they've picked the wrong actor. In the book the cop is middle aged, ugly, fat and with manky ******-rot. James McAvoy doesn't really seem to fit the character at all.

Yeah I agree I thought someone worse looking and older would be better playing him, but still really looking forward to it. I love Irvine Welsh and yes he is hibby and a bit of a knob by all accounts but he has a great sense of humour and incredible talent in writing in a way that it grips you at same time as making you feel sick!

Trainspotting's a brilliant book and a good film, albeit a bit sanitised and not as dark. My old man is good mates with a few of Irvine's mates and sort of knows him so I got a signed first edition for nowt in 1993 (don't think he knew I was a Hearts supporter). I was about 15 or 16 and it really got me back into reading as I was bored sh!tless reading Shakespeare at the time (old Bill can spin a yarn but As You Like It isn't one of his better ones). Transpotting and Maribou Stork are both outstanding with most of his other books being either or good or very good, apart from Ecstasy which even he's admitted is crap.

"Dinae .... In ma"

Yeah I agree I thought someone worse looking and older would be better playing him, but still really looking forward to it. I love Irvine Welsh and yes he is hibby and a bit of a knob by all accounts but he has a great sense of humour and incredible talent in writing in a way that it grips you at same time as making you feel sick!

Carlisle the tiny weeg was never Begbie for me but carried it no bad, so might another

Apparently Begbie was based on two guys Irvine knew - one was a weegie psycho who he shared a flat with in London (the sharpened knitting needles and 'discipline ay the basebaw bat' came from him) and the other was a Leith bam who drunk himself into an early grave (things like trying to kill his own brother came from him).

Don't doubt for a moment..Trainspotting is a film based in the Capital no the Weeg (begbie never ever sounded like a west coater in the book ) but films have to sell last time RC got the gig this time McAvoy as Edinburgh don't have high profile actors sadly

Carlisle as begbie really pulled off the classic leith bam for me. Go down to central bar the night at the bottom of leith walk and there will be ten begbies in just like him!

What makes Begbie realistic for me, is that everyone knows a Begbie.

He might just be a random who drinks in your local, or the local heid case that everyone knows but try's to avoid, or like in the case of both the film & book, he is someone in your company.

We all know him, that's what makes it for me.

Read the book a ridiculous amount if times and have seen the film loads of times too, it's quality work.

Granton Star Cause is a quality comedy.

When he gets arrested and the copper is asking who's in the cells and what for is superb.

He gets a doing for vandalising a phone box because the cop has shares in BT.

Guest C00l K1d

Found the book too difficult to get into. Iirc it's one long text is it not, not broken down into chapters or that.

I kind of half enjoyed it, i might have another go at it as the last time i tried to read it was when i was 13/14

Found the book too difficult to get into. Iirc it's one long text is it not, not broken down into chapters or that.

The structure is all over the shop and the language is Embra phonetic which means at first it does take a while - but stick with it and you totally tune in and it becomes as easy to read as anything else. Well worth the time investment as is a fantastic novel.

Granton Star Cause is a quality comedy.

When he gets arrested and the copper is asking who's in the cells and what for is superb.

He gets a doing for vandalising a phone box because the cop has shares in BT.

"The hoor was asking fur it"...."aye well boys will be boys" :lol:

The structure is all over the shop and the language is Embra phonetic which means at first it does take a while - but stick with it and you totally tune in and it becomes as easy to read as anything else. Well worth the time investment as is a fantastic novel.

The problem is that he made a lot of the vernacular and slang up. My background is pretty much the same as his, born and brought up in Granton, schooled in Leith and all of my early pub experiences etc in Leith. And there was a lot of the stuff made no sense to me. Also if you are from a place and see it written like that as you would subconsciously do it yourself anyway. Morph is from the same area as me so may have had the same problems. Or may he's just a bit thick.

Guest C00l K1d

The problem is that he made a lot of the vernacular and slang up. My background is pretty much the same as his, born and brought up in Granton, schooled in Leith and all of my early pub experiences etc in Leith. And there was a lot of the stuff made no sense to me. Also if you are from a place and see it written like that as you would subconsciously do it yourself anyway. Morph is from the same area as me so may have had the same problems. Or may he's just a bit thick.

Nah you're right. It wasn't so much the language that got me, but there was a few bits that i had to read over twice.

It was just that it seemed to all roll into one, i had the exact same problem when I was reading city of god, the book set in the Brazilian favelas . I had to focus more on understanding the structure of the book rather than enjoying the story.