Travelling "Gap Year"

Private Womble

Private Womble

Now that I have a job I was thinking about saving up and pissing off for a while. Does anyone have any suggestions or experiences in the planning stages, I have never done anything like this before, was thinking SE Asia but open to going anywhere. Thanks in advance.

Guest C00l K1d

My mate recently done russia-china then vietnam and all around that way.

He done it with a company so they had an itinerary all set out and stuff.

It's a good way to do it if you're not to sure what you're doing, although if i was to travel i'd like to do it on my own terms.

He said vietnam was one of the most beautiful places he's ever been.

Never. Ever. Ever do it all organised through a tour. Ever.

Leaves you extremely restricted in where you can go and you will miss out on chance adventures - The best thing about travelling. Play it all by ear.

Oh and go yourself.

Tyrion Lannister

STA travel do some great "round the world"/multi stop flights.

Doing Home - Dubai- Sri Lanka - Singapore - Melbourne - Auckland - Los Angeles overland to NYC - Home all for just over ?1000 for flights.

All on my own terms, as long as I am on the flight home within 12 months. They do tours and planned itineraries to, but for places like Sri Lanka you could easily make your own itinerary for significantly cheaper and as mentioned above you are severely restricted, half the fun is the adventure surely.

Private Womble

My mate recently done russia-china then vietnam and all around that way.

He done it with a company so they had an itinerary all set out and stuff.

It's a good way to do it if you're not to sure what you're doing, although if i was to travel i'd like to do it on my own terms.

He said vietnam was one of the most beautiful places he's ever been.

Had a look at STA travel and there's a lot of good program ideas, but as you said I would also like to do it on my own terms.

Plenty time to plan so I'll see what I can come up with.