Irvine Jambo??????

The Duke

Good old Irvine- Jambo/Creag.

Dont think I have had as much fun on Kickback than the day that Creag decided to come clean.

Absolutely brilliant little saga.

RIP Irvine-Jambo.

A day? I don't think I did a jot of work for a good week and that's really not an exaggeration....I was totally glued to the screen for hours on end... :biggrin:

The aftermath was almost as entertaining as the 'coming out' itself, we had that CalMac guy (IJ again, no doubt) from the Tartan Army place blabbering on endlessly which eventually became an inter-forum spat when people found him over there having a nice wee giggle about the whole thing with his kilt wearing chums....Then people started finding random pics of him on the internet under various guises if I remember, Godsa still maintained he'd met him in a pub at some point, then we had the campaigners who tried to make him stand by his word and give his ST to some charity....not to mention the tabloid coverage....hehehehehehehe.

Ah, them were the days...

EDIT: And yeah, c'mon Mods...please can we have the thread brought over here? Think of it as an end-of-rubbish-season present or something. It'd cheer people up no end.

• Replies 136
Better not respond with my original comment.

Was it a comment on me taking your post as literal?

cosanostra

It was a pretty crazy week.

Even after all of the evidence pointed to him lying, i don't think i believed that Creag was not real until Craig came clean.

The guy talked some amount of pish but hindsight is a wonderful thing.

You have to love kickback sometimes, great entertainment for skydiver (no pun intended quagmire).

R.I.P Creag

Was it a comment on me taking your post as literal?

Pretty much, lucky I got it edited before the mods seen it, otherwise another warning for Mr Infraction. ;)

cosanostra

EDIT: And yeah, c'mon Mods...please can we have the thread brought over here? Think of it as an end-of-rubbish-season present or something. It'd cheer people up no end.

The old server is gone unfortunately.

Lost in the ether of cyberspace.

All that remains are our memories of our lost friend. :sad:

It was a pretty crazy week.

Even after all of the evidence pointed to him lying, i don't think i believed that Creag was not real until Craig came clean.

The guy talked some amount of pish but hindsight is a wonderful thing.

You have to love kickback sometimes, great entertainment for skydiver (no pun intended quagmire).

R.I.P Creag

I always stuck up for Craig (WOSH) as I always thought he was a bit dim and never had the intelligence to make up an online persona as good.

Maybe it was me lacking the intelligence though in hindsight. :confused:

cosanostra
I always stuck up for Craig (WOSH) as I always thought he was a bit dim and never had the intelligence to make up an online persona as good.

Maybe it was me lacking the intelligence though in hindsight. :confused:

Andy, i was suckered too.

I remember getting a few PMs from Creag about various stuff - music and such like. IJ liked me because i never abused anyone. I got a PM shortly after Creag had died from Craig saying "my uncle really liked you" and the prenny still never dropped. It was only when the evidence really started to pile up that i thought - hang on a minute, something is not right here. Then when he came clean, it all fell into place. I usually think i'm pretty on the ball but i was hooked, lined and sinkered when it came to IJ.

Andy, i was suckered too.

I remember getting a few PMs from Creag about various stuff - music and such like. IJ liked me because i never abused anyone. I got a PM shortly after Creag had died from Craig saying "my uncle really liked you" and the prenny still never dropped. It was only when the evidence really started to pile up that i thought - hang on a minute, something is not right here. Then when he came clean, it all fell into place. I usually think i'm pretty on the ball but i was hooked, lined and sinkered when it came to IJ.

Ach well, que sera as Creag used to say :laugh:

cosanostra
Ach well, que sera as Creag used to say :laugh:

All i'll say is, life is short folks........

The lad had some imagination.

I'm sure his imaginary wife, and his 5 imaginary kids are grieving whilst we post, so best we leave the slaggings alone. ;)

Could have ued it in a more constructive, less perverted manner though...

The old server is gone unfortunately.

Lost in the ether of cyberspace.

All that remains are our memories of our lost friend. :sad:

Aw no, that's a bit sad really. Maybe these things are best left to memory anyway....I don't think I'll be forgetting that one in a hurry... :)

I was lucky with the whole IJ thing...long before that, I'd had some sort of disagreement with him and he had come out with the biggest load of tripe I'd ever heard. I certainly didn't peg him as a mentalist at that point but I thought he was very arrogant and way too full of himself. His posts used to irritate the crap out of me so I gave him a wide berth after that.....fortunately... But I can see why so many people were shocked, he really did a very good job. Scary biscuits, but you can't help but be just a wee bit admiring.

Hehe.

I always mind doing a search when I read about the scam in the news for IrvineJambo - and finding a thread where someone was saying stuff like 'as I sat beside IrvineJambo at his bedside in the hospital......' etc etc and thinking to myself - what a tragic, loner, nerd, weirdo.

Believe me there were plenty of people who swore blind that they had met him and have been made to look like fools!

I dont know of the two origional threads are still on the backpages of the forum somewhere but they are a cracking read if you have nothing better to do.

Believe me there were plenty of people who swore blind that they had met him and have been made to look like fools!

I dont know of the two origional threads are still on the backpages of the forum somewhere but they are a cracking read if you have nothing better to do.

They were on the old forum, so have been consigned to history.

:(

cosanostra

All of the original threads are gone mate, we upgraded the server about 6 months ago and the old one was turned off.

There is only one person that i ever read about who said he met IJ and he has already been mentioned in this thread. Who else said that?

All of the original threads are gone mate, we upgraded the server about 6 months ago and the old one was turned off.

There is only one person that i ever read about who said he met IJ and he has already been mentioned in this thread. Who else said that?

I helped scatter his ashes from a helicopter over Tynecastle.

It was a very moving service.

I tried to crack on to his widow after it but she was having none of it unfortunately.

cosanostra
I helped scatter his ashes from a helicopter over Tynecastle.

It was a very moving service.

I tried to crack on to his widow after it but she was having none of it unfortunately.

He was incredibly hot, i don't blame you.

I think i can remember the service / helicopter / ashes etc, i just thought the guy in front of me had dandruff issues.

He was incredibly hot, i don't blame you.

I think i can remember the service / helicopter / ashes etc, i just thought the guy in front of me had dandruff issues.

HE???

Bloody hell!!

The plot thickens. IJ even has the power to shock from beyond the grave.

:eek:

I remember a couple of people saying they had met him at the pub or something.

Maybe I am just letting my imagination run wild again - still - great story none the less.

I remember a couple of people saying they had met him at the pub or something.

Maybe I am just letting my imagination run wild again - still - great story none the less.

At least its an appropriate thread for it.

Completely.

cosanostra
HE???

Bloody hell!!

The plot thickens. IJ even has the power to shock from beyond the grave.

:eek:

Arrrggh!!! What an unfortunate typo.

I meant she of course.

Always wondered who the guy was that Craig claimed to be Creag. Some random internet guy is famous among Hearts fans.

Arrrggh!!! What an unfortunate typo.

I meant she of course.

Always wondered who the guy was that Craig claimed to be Creag. Some random internet guy is famous among Hearts fans.

Abs who did Scott really meet? :eek:

cosanostra
Abs who did Scott really meet? :eek:

I'm guessing no-one.

Scott probably told Craig / Creag that he was really drunk one night, Craig said "i was in the same pub - can you not remember shaking hands with me?".

Scott remembers meeting some guy in some pub and says "em...aye....maybe....were you the big guy with the dark hair?"

Craig / Creag says "aye that was me".

Therefore the meeting can now be documented as being fact by Creag. Let's face it, Craig was a master of manipulation and stretching the truth, he could have manipulated the words of a drunk guy quite easily.

Guest GhostHunter

Interestingly, Scott does not drink.

So I guess thats that out the window then. :D

I'm guessing no-one.

Scott probably told Craig / Creag that he was really drunk one night, Craig said "i was in the same pub - can you not remember shaking hands with me?".

Scott remembers meeting some guy in some pub and says "em...aye....maybe....were you the big guy with the dark hair?"

Craig / Creag says "aye that was me".

Therefore the meeting can now be documented as being fact by Creag. Let's face it, Craig was a master of manipulation and stretching the truth, he could have manipulated the words of a drunk guy quite easily.

I'm almost certain that he confirmed he had met the guy in the picture though!

Unexplainable!

cosanostra
Interestingly, Scott does not drink.

So I guess thats that out the window then. :D

Did he not at the time though?

I am almost certain he said he was in some pub near Murrayfield when he met IJ and he'd had a skinfull. He was pretty sure it was him but he kind of skated around saying that it was 100%, definitely him.

Guest GhostHunter
Did he not at the time though?

I am almost certain he said he was in some pub near Murrayfield when he met IJ and he'd had a skinfull. He was pretty sure it was him but he kind of skated around saying that it was 100%, definitely him.

I was under the impression his medical condition precluded him from drinking.

cosanostra
I was under the impression his medical condition precluded him from drinking.

You are probably right.

I'm just speculating as to how someone managed to trick another person into believing that they had met an imaginary person.

NEILY1874

Its truely a shame that the IJ thread has been lost forever.

I wonder how the boy who 'invented' him is getting on.

His computer must have been his escape from a p1sh existance.

When the computers on he's married to a bollywood actress and has five kids, then when he turns it off he's back to being a virgin.

PS He had me fooled all along.

cosanostra
Its truely a shame that the IJ thread has been lost forever.

I wonder how the boy who 'invented' him is getting on.

His computer must have been his escape from a p1sh existance.

When the computers on he's married to a bollywood actress and has five kids, then when he turns it off he's back to being a virgin.

PS He had me fooled all along.

He's still a poster on the tartan army messageboard if you want to go say hi.

Do you think we could arrange an online question and answer session with the great man?!

NEILY1874

He's still a poster on the tartan army messageboard if you want to go say hi.

Im a member over there, not seen him posting all that much lately, although he does deserve thanks for the entertainment he gave to a couple of hundred people when that thread was on the go.

Certainly the best thread ive ever read.

I spoke to Craig via email a few months back - he's got a new job apparently.

I asked him if he ever came on here - he said he's read it once of twice, but not posted since the coming clean thread.

Surely there should be a song about Irvine Jambo.

Real or not, the name is now a legend.

Just get a chant going at Tynie, TWO IRVINE JAMBOS, THERE WAS 2 IRVINE JAMBOS!!!:rolleyes:

Dave Ross

Shows you should never take anything on the internet too seriously. The real world is the one we live outside the internet.

Surely they will have the mysql dumps of the database at that time, then they can restore the thread.

Bring it back :)

cosanostra
Surely they will have the mysql dumps of the database at that time, then they can restore the thread.

Bring it back :)

I don't even have a clue what mysql dumps are.

Maybe if you ask the computer genius known as Dexter.....

Dexter is so good at computers it's rumoured that the film "war games" was based loosely on his childhood. ;)

I have to say I was taken hook line and sinker as well.

I never really paid much attention to Irvine Jambo, but when Craig started posting I chatted to him a few times.

He went on a holiday to Riga just before I was due to go, and posted a 1000 word review/guide for me, which I thought was very nice of him.

There was the thing about Godsa meeting IJ, but the thing that got me believing was the fact that a few very reputable posters who had met the real Craig in the pub a few times and had looked him in the eye when he was spinning the dead uncle stories, and all completely and utterly believed him.... That did it for me, and combined with what he'd posted for my benefit, for no other reason other than to be nice guy.... I couldn't help but believe it was just a conspiracy theory when the accusations started flying.

I was flabbergasted when he came out with the truth.

And I don't believe for a second that he doesn't come on here. He's probably sitting reading this with a semi right now.

Kept me entertained for months. Still laugh at the thought of Quagmire and his parachute jump.

If I met IJ I wouldn't know whether to lump him or buy him a pint.

It was quite possibly the funniest ever thread. I was literally in tears when I posted that it was KB's "Bobby Ewing" moment. Quick as a flash, Dave de la Noir posts after me with a Bobby Ewing avatar!! :rofl:

It was all very Reggie Perrin. :)

I didn't get where I am today by jumping out an aeroplane.

The investigation thread and then the coming clean thread was just brilliant entertainment.

Wasn't there a few posters on here who knew him (Real guy) personally through the WoSH Supporters club?

By the way, just to confirm Cosanostra's comment, Godsa definitely said he was hammered when he met him. MOD EDIT

So can I get this right, cos I never posted much back then, but used to read alot of threads, and can remember godsa and IJ, I also mind this being in the papers.

There was 1 guy... with 2 user names? Irvine Jambo and Creag? 1 was really him and 1 was a made up alter ego? who he killed off then ran a charity scam to make ???? where a hobo jumped out a plane to raise money for the charity?

I wish I got to see that thread when it was about :(

So can I get this right, cos I never posted much back then, but used to read alot of threads, and can remember godsa and IJ, I also mind this being in the papers.

There was 1 guy... with 2 user names? Irvine Jambo and Creag? 1 was really him and 1 was a made up alter ego? who he killed off then ran a charity scam to make ???? where a hobo jumped out a plane to raise money for the charity?

I wish I got to see that thread when it was about :(

You could say it was a charity scam...but I don't believe Craig (real guy) made any cash out of it. When IJ died it was suggested that the cash raised went to his family, Craig said no and that it should be given to some other charity. That's what happened.

Folk did give money to a charity in order to remember a guy who never existed. Nobody made anything out of it, other than the charity - which to me is a good thing.

I've met Craig on one occasion and talked to him on the phone a few times. He's a nice guy, who made up a persona on the internet (I bet loads of folk do...In fact a fellow JKBer, whose name rhymes with Peave - goes on to Lesbian chat rooms and makes up fake folk in hope of receiving pornographic material from other Lesbians), albeit he took it way to far. It did provide real-life(ish) entertainment for a week and something which could easily me made into a film.

You could say it was a charity scam...but I don't believe Craig (real guy) made any cash out of it. When IJ died it was suggested that the cash raised went to his family, Craig said no and that it should be given to some other charity. That's what happened.

Folk did give money to a charity in order to remember a guy who never existed. Nobody made anything out of it, other than the charity - which to me is a good thing.

I've met Craig on one occasion and talked to him on the phone a few times. He's a nice guy, who made up a persona on the internet (I bet loads of folk do...In fact a fellow JKBer, whose name rhymes with Peave - goes on to Lesbian chat rooms and makes up fake folk in hope of receiving pornographic material from other Lesbians), albeit he took it way to far. It did provide real-life(ish) entertainment for a week and something which could easily me made into a film.

Genuinely made me laugh out loud there. The funniest bit was possibly your not so subtle attempt at revealing his username.

The best bit was watching the reaction of the "moral majority" as the thread went on.

At first, anyone who dared speculate that IJ might be a fictional character was set upon and cyber lynched. There were calls for people to be banned for daring to sully the great man's name.

Slowly but surely the truth dawned on a lot of people and the mob turned it's fury onto the poor saddo who invented it all.

It was hilarious. :)

I will give credit to Therapist, he suspected it from the off...

may just have been down to his hatred of all things Nationalist though ;)