Camping?

chester copperpot

chester copperpot

A complete novice here asking for advice.

My wee lad has been going on about it this week for me to take him camping this summer. I have not got the 1st clue about what to do.

Can any experienced campers out there give any advice. We both have sleeping bags, however dont know if they would stand up to the elements if out camping, as they're more for if we stay over somewhere.

Also campsites, whats the expected rate per night for pitching up a tent, and how much would I expect to pay for a decent tent. Any help greatly appreciated, along with any decent campsites that you've been to. I appreciate that in this day and age of cheap quality hotels, that its kind of a dying hobby, however my son is dead set on doing this, so trying to be a decent dad, want to give him an authentic experience.

This thread kind of shows my laziness when it comes to subjects I do not have a clue about. Rather than do a few hours research on the internet, I ask other people for help. Sums up my life of hotels whenever I've been away from home.

dodethejambo

If your going to be camping in the summer only best bet would be to pick up a cheap tent around ?20-?40, If the sleeping bags you have are for more staying inside I would also take a couple of blankets or duvet just incase, dont forget a pillow

The price of campsites vary all depends on what you are after, ranges from about ?10 a night upto ?20

check out this website for any more info

http://www.ukcampsite.co.uk/

before you do decide to go camping have a trial run by camping in your garden (If you have one)

chester copperpot
If your going to be camping in the summer only best bet would be to pick up a cheap tent around ?20-?40, If the sleeping bags you have are for more staying inside I would also take a couple of blankets or duvet just incase, dont forget a pillow

The price of campsites vary all depends on what you are after, ranges from about ?10 a night upto ?20