Scottish independence and devolution superthread

Happy Hearts

1 hour ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

For your own good, step back from the internet before you have a full breakdown.

My previous comment was untrue and uncalled for .

Wee bite back that's all.

55 minutes ago, ehcaley said:

Do you know where to go for help?Stay safe.

Unfortunately you are daft.

AyrJambo
7 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Aye part time fans really ! Another similarly to the hobbos 

3 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I never started the analogy about teams and politics . The rest of your posting is gobbly  ****  👍😂no bother 

Ked is right You did as shown above

5 hours ago, Libertarian said:

Labour will win the British election, however when the electorate realise that they have only swapped one set of Tory's for another and nothing has changed or improved the pressure for independence will only increase. It won't be the SNP who deliver it though, they are finished.

Agreed and as usual Scotland will get the government that England votes for

Even when the penny drops about Labour there is still a monumental task in Scotland to address the colonial mindset so prevalent after centuries of pro UK propaganda

The country has been split on independence roughly 50 - 50 (give or take 3 or 4 either way) for the last ten years, and still is, so the idea that the current SNP shitshow means that support for independence will somehow melt away because of Humza Halfwit is one that is really only peddled by some of the unionist zoomers on here!

However you are right about the SNP

It's looking unlikely that they can undo the damage wrought by the Sturrels and the Greens without root and branch (literally) reform and I can't see that happening in time for an SP election in 2026 and in any case they are no longer pursuing independence - they are pursuing the marketing of independence as an electoral strategy to stay in power

Edited by AyrJambo

Libertarian
6 hours ago, AyrJambo said:

Ked is right You did as shown above

Agreed and as usual Scotland will get the government that England votes for

Even when the penny drops about Labour there is still a monumental task in Scotland to address the colonial mindset so prevalent after centuries of pro UK propaganda

The country has been split on independence roughly 50 - 50 (give or take 3 or 4 either way) for the last ten years, and still is, so the idea that the current SNP shitshow means that support for independence will somehow melt away because of Humza Halfwit is one that is really only peddled by some of the unionist zoomers on here!

However you are right about the SNP

It's looking unlikely that they can undo the damage wrought by the Sturrels and the Greens without root and branch (literally) reform and I can't see that happening in time for an SP election in 2026 and in any case they are no longer pursuing independence - they are pursuing the marketing of independence as an electoral strategy to stay in power

Scottish independence is not only the best way of changing Scotland, but actually challenging the nature of UK politics & the way that it works at present throughout these islands. Scottish independence is in fact a revolution which will sweep away the rotting UK establishment which is seeing growing poverty and inequality 

Lord Montpelier
13 minutes ago, Libertarian said:

Scottish independence is not only the best way of changing Scotland, but actually challenging the nature of UK politics & the way that it works at present throughout these islands. Scottish independence is in fact a revolution which will sweep away the rotting UK establishment which is seeing growing poverty and inequality 

If its a revolution its the most inept one in world history. 

TallPaul
16 minutes ago, Libertarian said:

Can you explain why Scotland becoming economically poorer in the unlikely event of independence help reduce poverty?

Gundermann
13 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

Sounds like great news to me. Whats the bad news/who is upset; have they massively jacked up the subsidies? 

It is great news. One less thing to bash Scot Gov about though.

Subsidies for public transport...

:rudiyas:

Gundermann
2 hours ago, Libertarian said:

There are some, Billy Bragg IIRC, who see Scottish independence as a way to create a progressive egalitarian social democracy in England that isn't wed to the Royal Family, Empire or class system. I'd love to see it. Win, win.

Gundermann

A Danish view on Thatcher and her legacy. Don't we know it...

The UK is not just significantly poorer than France, let alone Germany or Denmark. The poorest 10% of Britons now also earn less than the poorest 10% in Slovenia...

Screenshot2024-04-23at09-11-47mastodon_scot.png.2323b9a04078a6a417973a06d0178ed6.png

Edited by Gundermann

12 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

There are some, Billy Bragg IIRC, who see Scottish independence as a way to create a progressive egalitarian social democracy in England that isn't wed to the Royal Family, Empire or class system. I'd love to see it. Win, win.

Billy Bragg the misogynist , 

11 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

A Danish view on Thatcher and her legacy. Don't we know it...

Screenshot2024-04-23at09-11-47mastodon_scot.png.2323b9a04078a6a417973a06d0178ed6.png

Denmark ! 💤😂

Libertarian
2 hours ago, TallPaul said:

Can you explain why Scotland becoming economically poorer in the unlikely event of independence help reduce poverty?

The GDP of Denmark is 50% higher than in Scotland. The GDP of Norway is two thirds higher than Scotland's. Can you explain how allowing a rancid corrupt UK establishment to make the economic decisions for Scotland is is better for the people of Scotland? We are by-standers in our own country where the decisions that really matter are made elsewhere. That's why poverty is increasing and life expectancy in many areas of Scotland is decreasing.

2 minutes ago, Libertarian said:

The GDP of Denmark is 50% higher than in Scotland. The GDP of Norway is two thirds higher than Scotland's. Can you explain how allowing a rancid corrupt UK establishment to make the economic decisions for Scotland is is better for the people of Scotland? We are by-standers in our own country where the decisions that really matter are made elsewhere. That's why poverty is increasing and life expectancy in many areas of Scotland is decreasing.

Do u and that other poster work for the Scandi tourist board ? 

8 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Play the ball and not the men Judy... :biker:

Rebut their postulations or wheesht :lol:

17 minutes ago, Libertarian said:

That's all great. But unless the journey from day 1 of independence to where those countries are now can be explained, worts and all, then it's understandable why most people think its not worth the risk.

Oor "Scandinaiveans" oot in force again with their usual nonsense without any factual back up as to how our economy would magically transform despite the further 10 years of austerity Swinney said would follow Indy 

15 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Play the ball and not the men Judy... :biker:

Rebut their postulations or wheesht :lol:

I cant help playing the men ! 

on a serious note comparing And contrasting countries isn’t that scientific really . There are a myriad of things to take into account why Scandi countries seem relatively successful . Being of a small populous probably has little to do with it . 

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

1 minute ago, manaliveits105 said:

Oor "Scandinaiveans" oot in force again with their usual nonsense without any factual back up as to how our economy would magically transform despite the further 10 years of austerity Swinney said would follow Indy 

I know . Seems to be the new argument . It won’t wash with the great Scottish public when they realise it’s over a tenner a pint in these countries 😂

SE16 3LN

Happy St George's day everyone. Enjoy your celebrationsIMG-20240423-WA0001.jpg.f60c75ed2fe297dcd717de503bc9041d.jpg

5 minutes ago, SE16 3LN said:

Happy St George's day everyone. Enjoy your celebrationsIMG-20240423-WA0001.jpg.f60c75ed2fe297dcd717de503bc9041d.jpg

👍👍👍

Saint George born in Turkey buried in Palestine 

Happy dragon hunting people !

Libertarian
1 hour ago, pablo said:

That's all great. But unless the journey from day 1 of independence to where those countries are now can be explained, worts and all, then it's understandable why most people think its not worth the risk.

There's a bigger risk tied to a UK state which still thinks it has an empire and is a super power. 

Australis
1 hour ago, SE16 3LN said:

🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧🇬🇧

1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

He works for Putin.

:sweeet:

3 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Do the hoosers celebrate St Georges day?

Only if it upsets the fieldies.

Rupert Custard
1 hour ago, manaliveits105 said:

The Norwegians weren’t so keen on secession.

Facing the result of the referendum, Erna Solberg, Prime Minister of Norway, stated to Norwegian broadcaster NRK she was 'glad' Scotland chose to remain in the union and that Scottish independence could have become challenging for Norway as a neighbouring country.[455]

6 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Only if it upsets the fieldies.

Only if they're shite trolls you say?

:tlj:

19 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Only if they're shite trolls you say?

:tlj:

You need a hand putting the bunting up?

Japan Jambo
1 minute ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

You need a hand putting the bunting up?

Think he needs a hand getting up 😁

49 minutes ago, Libertarian said:

There's a bigger risk tied to a UK state which still thinks it has an empire and is a super power. 

Not enough people agree with you to change anything. 

3 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

image.jpeg.7e1451b9b1828df121e2416aa33d0ef5.jpeg

Just now, pablo said:

Not enough people agree with you to change anything. 

We all know that Libertarian doesn't like empires and super powers unless they're Russian.

1 minute ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

We all know that Libertarian doesn't like empires and super powers unless they're Russian.

Maybe it's Alex Salmond? 

2 hours ago, pablo said:

There's no doubt its a risk but most developed countries of a comparable size seem to do well enough. I'd give Ireland as the best example - there's a good report here which explores the preconceptions at the time of independence and what happened since.

It would be unreasonable to think there will not be disruption and things may wel get slightly worse before they get better. But it is also reasonable to think that there is a good chance Scotland would eventually develop a good economy, especially within Europe, given its natural resources and its tourism potential/ the Scottish diaspora, just as ireland has done.

https://www.economicsobservatory.com/irelands-economy-since-independence-what-lessons-from-the-past-100-years

22 minutes ago, pablo said:

Maybe it's Alex Salmond? 

Salmond comes across quite likeable.

SE16 3LN
53 minutes ago, scott herbertson said:

There's no doubt its a risk but most developed countries of a comparable size seem to do well enough. I'd give Ireland as the best example - there's a good report here which explores the preconceptions at the time of independence and what happened since.

It would be unreasonable to think there will not be disruption and things may wel get slightly worse before they get better. But it is also reasonable to think that there is a good chance Scotland would eventually develop a good economy, especially within Europe, given its natural resources and its tourism potential/ the Scottish diaspora, just as ireland has done.

https://www.economicsobservatory.com/irelands-economy-since-independence-what-lessons-from-the-past-100-years

😀 Yeah, it only took 80 years and then there was another recession after the banks crashed. The booming Irish economy was based on UK and EU subsidies, bank credit and the safety net of working in England and the UK benefit system. Of course there was also mass emigration. Nothing wrong with supporting an independent Scotland but it will take decades to establish. The "We'll be richer than Dubai" bullshit based on Murrellnomics and an emotional hatred of the neighbours is financial suicide and the majority of Scots are bright enough to understand that.

Now i'm off to party with the noisy neighbours.

Jim_Duncan
55 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Salmond comes across quite likeable.

:loved:

3 minutes ago, SE16 3LN said:

... an emotional hatred of the neighbours...

Often cited and no doubt with a smidgen of truth in a handful of extreme cases but, in general, complete and utter horseshite...IMO.

2 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

Sadly true.

2 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

image.jpeg.7e1451b9b1828df121e2416aa33d0ef5.jpeg

I've got a few left from the ones you gave me last time 👍

1 hour ago, scott herbertson said:

Nah down with that. The boys want to remain tied to mammy's apron strings in steerage on the Titanic with a coterie of ****wits and outright criminals at the helm. 

😀 Yeah, it only took 80 years and then there was another recession after the banks crashed. The booming Irish economy was based on UK and EU subsidies, bank credit and the safety net of working in England and the UK benefit system. Of course there was also mass emigration. Nothing wrong with supporting an independent Scotland but it will take decades to establish. The "We'll be richer than Dubai" bullshit based on Murrellnomics and an emotional hatred of the neighbours is financial suicide and the majority of Scots are bright enough to understand that.

Fair comment 

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Nah down with that. The boys want to remain tied to mammy's apron strings in steerage on the Titanic with a coterie of ****wits and outright criminals at the helm. 

From where I sit, no difference between the SNP and Unionist parties.

Jim_Duncan
2 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

From where I sit, no difference between the SNP and Unionist parties.

I reckon Rishi Sunak, Keith Starmer and whichever empty suit is in charge of the LibDems could all ride a scooter. 

2 hours ago, SE16 3LN said:

Good posting . Truth bullets . Even the SNP acknowledge the economic “ hurdles “ of a post Indy Scotland

14 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

I reckon Rishi Sunak, Keith Starmer and whichever empty suit is in charge of the LibDems could all ride a scooter. 

I'm not sure about that. The only difference I see between them is the colour of the rosette they wear.

TallPaul
6 hours ago, Libertarian said:

Unbelievably simplistic thinking. 

TallPaul
4 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Do the hoosers celebrate St Georges day?

Not sure about that but definitely Bloody Sunday 

Libertarian
5 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

Unbelievably simplistic thinking. 

Why?