*** Vuelta a Espa?a 2012 ***

Naecups1902

Naecups1902

Already missing the tour but we're under 4 weeks away from the Vuelta so I thought I'd start a wee thread.

Check here for further information to keep the interest going just now.

http://www.lavuelta.com/indexen.html

Some interesting facts:

Running from Saturday August 18th to Sunday September 9th 2012, the 67th Vuelta a Espa?a will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,300 kilometres. These stages have the following profiles:

6 flat stages

13 mountain stages

1 team time-trial stage

1 individual time-trial stage

6 summit finishes

2 rest days

16 km. team time-trial

40 km. individual time-trial stage

37 mountain passes and hills

Cannae wait

Naecups1902

Where will it be televised?

Yes, should be on eurosport, just away to check, I might miss the first day which will be the team time trial (if I recall it was an evening race last year)

It was on ITV4 last year as well.

With a really poor (sound) quality commentary - hope that improves!

• 3 weeks later...

It was on ITV4 last year as well.

Not sure it is on ITV4 this year, Ned Boulting mentioned on Twitter than the next cycling on ITV4 was the Tour of Britain (which is after the Vuelta). Hopefully eurosport are showing it.

No Wiggins.

Sky Team:

Chris Froome, Juan Antonio Flecha, Sergio Henao, Danny Pate, Richie Porte, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift, Rigoberto Ur?n and Xabier Zandio thumbsup.gif

Saw a tweet from keys and gray last week, telling that Cav will be leaving sky and will be followed by others.Wouldnt surprse me tbh, he's dedicated to the team but he needs a team thats going to fully support him.

Grass isn't always greener!

Saw a tweet from keys and gray last week, telling that Cav will be leaving sky and will be followed by others.Wouldnt surprse me tbh, he's dedicated to the team but he needs a team thats going to fully support him.

Grass isn't always greener!

He kept to the party line but you could tell he wasn't happy

We'll see what transpires

Anyway, I'm looking forward to this

He kept to the party line but you could tell he wasn't happy

We'll see what transpires

Anyway, I'm looking forward to this

Sky doesn't suit Cavendish. I wouldn't be surprised if he leaves.

Looking forward to this too. :thumbsup:

Might miss Saturday but I'll tape it and watch before Sunday

Remember to not look on here then until Sunday. :lol:

I won't, if its on ITV4 might get it on the freeview channels

9:00 on ITV4.

Live on Eurosport at 5:45. :thumbsup:

9:00 on ITV4.

Live on Eurosport at 5:45. :thumbsup:

Looks smashing in the evening, if I can get ITV 4 I'm on it

Froome to win the thing, but not without an almighty slice of Spanish team partisan and doing everything to stop him.

I think Froome may well struggle to keep his form for the full three weeks, he's been riding at the top of his game for a few months now and may struggle in what is a very mountainous route, Contador on the other hand will be fresh after his forced lay off, and as long as he's been on a meat free diet i can see him taking the overall

Great finish to the stage with Contador already putting down a marker with some of his trademark punchy attacks, good to see his main challengers keeping with him though, looks good for the big mountains :thumbsup:

Froome up to second now only 1 second behind. Hopefully he has the legs to carry on for the rest of the race.

Not so sure he will be strong enough after the tour and the olympics.