Thistle Hospitality

Gibbster

A big thank-you to all at the Hearts commercial team for organising a splendid warm up for the big event.

Highlights were:

Family photo with Hartley

Starting the 1st song of the morning

All of the banter from Scott Wilson, Sir Paul and King Robbo

Hearing about the Jambo at the table next to us winning ?1 million

Only downsides were (not attributed to the organisers):

Bus Driver taking 45 minutes to get us from the Thistle to Hampden (although we did get to noise up some hibs Bassa's when he drove round the east stand)

Dad losing his ticket ? found 1 hour later on the floor of the bus parked up outside Hampden

Thanks again a well organised day.

P.s. only in Glasgow could 2 of four courses be a biscuit and a bacon roll

Pants Shaton

I also got a family photo with Sir Paul and my dad lost his ticket too. Small world.

The Thistle entertainment was great but the food wasnt up to much. Our table had a couple of non-drinkers so we had plenty of bevvy.

The buses were awful - who books school buses for adults??? I am just getting the feeling back into my erse today.

I think you may have been on our bus - our driver didnt know his way to Hampden, followed another bus and ended up at the hobos end. We ended up getting a police escort back to the Hearts end :lol:

Sounds like we were the bus behind, our driver decided not to follow the police and the bus in front! We ended up back in sight of the thistle hotel before passing the shed again.

Some decent banter even then though:

1902, 1902 oooh oooh, we've been on this bus since 1902

N Lincs Jambo

The Thistle entertainment was great but the food wasnt up to much. Our table had a couple of non-drinkers so we had plenty of bevvy.

The buses were awful - who books school buses for adults??? I am just getting the feeling back into my erse today.

Think I was on this bus too. Totally agree with all the comments. Top day out and didn't let the iffy lunch bother me one bit. Congrats to the Hearts Comm Dep't for organising this day so well. :thumbsup:

Griclesfield

Atmosphere in the Thistle was superb.

Food was horrendous. ( I believe it was served as a steak, more like a flip flop )

Inspirational speech from Scott Wilson was awesome.

Was on bus 12 and us and 13 were the only buses to park on Queen Drive ... not great when you spend that kinda money.

overall the day was great, and the result can overshadow all negative points for me ...

Well Done HMFC.

Loved the day from start to finish. Wee Robbo was absolutely amazing at getting us all going and Scott Wilson is a funny man (the Samuel L Jackson joke... well!)

Only thing was how early it all started and finished. We were finished eating by 11h45 and just kinda though, "right, what now?!". I'd decided to stay sober for the game so I could remember it all etc. That went oot the windae with all that time and nervous energy on my hands! Then we got to Hampden so early and there are no pubs anywhere near it.

Rather they did it all early than leave it late and have a squeaky bum drive to the stadium worrying about kickoff though!

Well done, Hearts.

And I thought the nosh was OK. Granted I'd come straight off an overnight flight, just making the buses by the hair o ma baws, so would have eaten a foostie coo, but was happy with the bacon rolls, roast beef, pavlova combo. Happy with the amount of bevvy on the go too.

Jambomullins

It was superb and well worth the money. Robbo and Scott Wilson certainly fired me up for the game............the drink helped too of course

• 3 weeks later...

Thought it was an excellent do - food was edible, champagne wasn't so got a pint of Guinness, no shortage of beers, the company at the table was 1st class, Scott, Paul and John were the icing on the cake and I guess I must've been on the same (front) bus to Hampden as the others mentioned above :lol:

On a side note...I was chatting to an acquaintance (bro's faither-in-law) who'd been at the equivalent Hobo do.

Must've been 100 folk there...MC was Grant Stott and special guests were Grant Brebner and Stephan Glass.

In other words...big team, big do...

Thought it was an excellent do - food was edible, champagne wasn't so got a pint of Guinness, no shortage of beers, the company at the table was 1st class, Scott, Paul and John were the icing on the cake and I guess I must've been on the same (front) bus to Hampden as the others mentioned above :lol:

On a side note...I was chatting to an acquaintance (bro's faither-in-law) who'd been at the equivalent Hobo do.

Must've been 100 folk there...MC was Grant Stott and special guests were Grant Brebner and Stephan Glass.

In other words...big team, big do...

Loved it, and to top it we were at table 51 think my old man took the table number - oh the omens, if only we knew!!