Irony of Celtic fans accusing us of bigotry.....!

Tommy Walker

Celtic can **** off and sort their own issues out. 

Sick of them dictating to other clubs, from the length of the grass to what songs we can and can't sing. 

However, we  need to rid ourselves of these "supporters" pretending to be Hearts fans. 

This small, but loud element have no place at our club. 

• Replies 286

• Alex Kintner

• Selkirkhmfc1874

• Governor Tarkin

1 hour ago, Selkirkhmfc1874 said:

So just be brave and do it online hiding behind a keyboard 

They are scum. It's not even opinion, it's fact.

I'll post my full name and seat info, if it makes you feel better?

39 minutes ago, cosanostra said:

What can they do if the police don't seem to do anything?

The police are only interested in public order, just look at the way they allow the unwashed hordes from both arse cheeks to sing what they want. If the club want to tackle this, and I have doubts about whether they do, then they could easily identify indivduals in our away support and ban them. Social media could be utilised to identify them as well, they are anything but discreet. 

7 minutes ago, EIEIO said:

This 100 per cent. However,  for whoever said there's only 10-15 singing,  there maybe in the video but there was 10 times this number "up to their knees" and belitilling cancer victims on my train out of Motherwell on Saturday. They had a police escort who let things go until the Tommy burns& Scott Brown's sister cancer stuff where he shouted them down bu,t in reality he was powerless to do much.

No doubt someone will be along in a few minutes defending this as harmless banter.

1 hour ago, upgotheheads said:

I care. I don't want my club to be associated with these scumbags. I don't want our youngest supporters exposed to sectarianism and hate.

There were a group of around 30 or 40 under the stand singing the Billy Boys song and generally making arseholes of themselves before the game, the police were doing nothing of course.

We need to get these twats out of our club and along the M8 where they belong. They will not be missed,  I hope Ann Budge and her team are on to it, there seems to be plenty of photos going around to identify them.

Oh, and long may it continue you say. Maybe you'd like to  follow them to Ibrox

Why didn't you take bull by horns and confront them rather than calling people scum bags online ?

As you are fully aware the “long may it continue” in my post was in reference to our great form meaning Celtic supporters are having to resort to trivial issues like this to have a go at us. It clearly shows on the pitch we’re doing it right! Don’t twist my words to suit your agenda. 

All I care about with regards to Hearts is what is happening on the pitch. We’re 5 points clear at the top of the table so I couldn’t be happier. 

If you want to spend your time worrying about what people should/shouldn’t be singing then that’s your call. Myself and the vast majority of normal Hearts supporters couldn’t give a toss. 

All this shows is that some supporters just look for something to moan about regardless of what is happening on the pitch. 

2 minutes ago, Jodami said:

The police are only interested in public order, just look at the way they allow the unwashed hordes from both arse cheeks to sing what they want. If the club want to tackle this, and I have doubts about whether they do, then they could easily identify indivduals in our away support and ban them. Social media could be utilised to identify them as well, they are anything but discreet. 

The club does ban neds who step out of line. I think the responsibility lies with the police to uphold the law. Singing sectarian songs is illegal. 

Until they start dealing with Rangers and Celtic, nothing will be done.

Just now, cosanostra said:

The club does ban neds who step out of line. I think the responsibility lies with the police to uphold the law. Singing sectarian songs is illegal. 

And we will be tarred as sectarian because the club refused to be proactive. It's about what the club wants to be not the ineffectiveness of police and the law.

Doctor Jambo says the government are not doing anything about it. I am not sure if he referring to the Scottish government or UK government. If he is referring to the Scottish government then he actually has to implicate their opposition and in particular Celtic supporting James Kelly of Scottish Labour party who brought a bill up to have the offensive behaviour at football legislation repealed and won in the Scottish Parliament.  This was a victory for bigots and a sad day for all righting thinking persons who live in Scotland.

Scottish Labour is riddled with how shall I put it non protestant MPS and have a very heavy influence in Glasgow Renfrewshire and North Lanarkshire.

Probably the most densely populated parts west of Harthill. This has been very prevelant in Scottish society from the late 19th century to the present day.

It's very difficult to stamp out as there are many in positions of power and authority who quite frankly don't want to stamp it out. It suits people's agenda to play the victim(s) constantly.

I say all the above as someone who was baptised as a Catholic at three months of age but, who on my late father's side family were all staunch protestants with his father and several brothers all in the Orange Order. It was my late Mother's side who were Irish/Italian Catholic from the old kirkgate in Leith.

I don't practise the Catholic faith and like 90+% of modern day Scots I don't attend any church on a Sunday or any day for that matter.

I despise sectarianism with a passion.

I despise it with a greater passion when used at Scottish football matches.

Most of all I despise it when it is associated with Heart of Midlothian Football club. A club who matches I've been attending since December 1965 and who I knew I had fallen in love with on a no1 bus journey home after that horrendous game on 01.01.73

I don't want songs sung in my name about being up to our knees in Fenian blood or disparaging Jews, ******* and Darkies  or anyone for that matter.

I am well aware of what supporters of Celtic sing and believe me they are as despicable as anyone. IRA, murdering scum in my eyes. As are the USA in my eyes.

However I don't support Celtic or Sevco so at this moment in time can't do alot about how they behave.

However I do support and love, yes love Heart of Midlothian and can do something about how our support behave. So if anyone in my vicinity at a game starts any sectarian pish I will call you out and I will grass you to the stewards and police and I will take all the abuse that comes my way especially on here but, the truth is I HAVE HAD ENOUGH of our great club's name being dragged through the mud. I personally don't want you at Tynecastle or anywhere Hearts are playing football.

Have to say I do not understand singing that stuff at a Motherwell match...Seems like there is an element who only go to games when we start doing well, and then do this stuff. It happened during the Burley run too with the Edinburgh is Beautiful song being videoed sung on a train. The OF fans just lap it up as it allows them to moralise. From our perspective, these people either have to be the stupidest people in our support, or they are not in our support at all...Why would Hearts fans want to make Hearts fans look bad?

Simple fact of the matter is, we have a problem with this stuff. Don’t see the point in trying to deny it. We have some absolute ****wits in our support unfortunately.

BerraBelieveit

Why would a want to confront them ? My choice is a just don't sing those songs ! It's not about keyboard warrior stuff but if people feel so strongly about it confront them in the act rather than hiding behind social media 

That is the one of the most ridiculous stances I've ever heard.

So a guy in his 70's who disgusted that a group of young Hearts fans are singing sectarian songs, which has nothing to do with Hearts, has to confront them and express his views towards them? Grow up. 

In your quite bizarre opinion it's also a crime for this guy to come on here and express his opinion on the group of fans because he never confronted them? 

Get a grip. 

34 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

It seems to stem from the same degree of intelligence as singing the song in the first place...

I don't think these people are closely acquainted with "education". The documentaries would have to be by Mr Tumble.

"Hello, Hello,

How are you?"

This is far more of a topic that needs discussing than some broken seats. After initially trying to curb this sort of thing, the club has been a little quiet about it recently. Would like to know what the plan is going forwards.

2 hours ago, Bauld said:

Identify and issue a stadium ban.

No place in our stands for bigoted arseholes.

Sentence them to a 6am firing squad...... am I more outraged yet??

Just now, I P Knightley said:

We know a song about that, don't we? Why don't you sing along while I play?

tumble1-565x275.png

Guy in his late thirties to early forties hanging around with kids, and acting like a child himself, whilst singing shite songs... He’s one of the Gorgie Groomer Boys isn’t he? ?

6 minutes ago, Geoff the Mince said:

We could sing some Lionel Ritchie "Hello , is it me your looking for " love a bit of Lionel .

I particularly enjoyed the rendition of, "Oh what a feeling, when you're stamping on a fenian" from some of these fools on the way back from Dunfermline. 

23 minutes ago, Bez said:

This is far more of a topic that needs discussing than some broken seats. After initially trying to curb this sort of thing, the club has been a little quiet about it recently. Would like to know what the plan is going forwards.

They are in a real position of strength to act right now but they seem to prefer to keep the head in the sand. I fear this is building up to a very public incident which will really embarrass the club. 

51 minutes ago, cosanostra said:

Only things other fans can do is boo it down...any other sort of reaction just plays into their hands.

Edited by Spellczech

2 hours ago, Selkirkhmfc1874 said:

Why didn't you take bull by horns and confront them rather than calling people scum bags online ?

Because, unlike you, I'm not stupid.

14 minutes ago, Ministry MK2 said:

Sentence them to a 6am firing squad...... am I more outraged yet??

It's not needed nor should it be wanted.

Football is a sport. It is for everyone. Hearts is a club that should also be for anyone who wants to follow regardless of their faith or race etc. 

It does not need religion or race etc brought into the equation in any way, shape or form.

And anyone who thinks you need to because of some rivalry between clubs is a ****ing moron.

Some history is best left in the past. 

34 minutes ago, ...a bit disco said:

"Hello, Hello,

How are you?"

"Hello hello

It's good to see you"  :biggrin: 

I'm no fan of bigoted songs from our fans or from anyone else.... but I also can't accept Celtic fans taking the moral high ground and lecturing anyone else on acceptable behaviour. Staggering lack of self-awareness. 

To those who say 'confront them' I have, on at least 5 occasions, it isn't sensible at all BTW, Easter road a few years back is the finest example, I told them (about 20 of them) to 'stop your ****ing shite, or **** off to ibrox' whilst they waved their union flags and thought it was funny... end result, police told me I would be getting ejected if I said anymore.. aye that works.

Not about being a keyboard warrior, it is stupid to try and confront 20 guys, OK, I have never had a sore face from it, however, it doesn't mean I haven't been threatened, that includes after the game too, I am by no means a 'big lad' either, I just do it as I see it, it really makes no sense however to go and confront these idiots, but since I have mental health issues I have no problem in doing it, others however are actually sensible and can see it is futile.

48 minutes ago, frasermck11 said:

All I care about with regards to Hearts is what is happening on the pitch. We’re 5 points clear at the top of the table so I couldn’t be happier. 

If you want to spend your time worrying about what people should/shouldn’t be singing then that’s your call. Myself and the vast majority of normal Hearts supporters couldn’t give a toss. 

All this shows is that some supporters just look for something to moan about regardless of what is happening on the pitch. 

All I care about is what's happening on the pitch - which is why this distraction shouldn't be taking place. Songs should be about Hearts being strong, winning and leading the league. If the 'singers' don't understand that this is an unwelcome and inappropriate distraction, then it should be brought to their attention. Yes, it's great that we can get under the skin of every other team in the league; best of all that it's the reigning champions. However, we ought to be doing that by the simple (and wonderful) fact of being 5 points clear of them - not by giving them a 'sectarian' stick to wave at us. Leave that shite to them and their bluenosed frenemies.

If you and your goon buddies don't like Catholics, why don't they go along to any one of a number of Catholic churches on a Sunday and sing their songs directly at their targets?

Your self-importance speaks volumes. You can't speak for the "majority" nor for "normal" Hearts supporters; just the ones you know and with whom you interact. If you lay down with dogs and all that...

And, a personal request: please never, never start a sentence with '"Myself". The word is "I". "Myself" is just ugly.

BerraBelieveit

This problem will never be resolved in my lifetime; would be delighted to be proved wrong.

Banning anyone who took part in any sectarian behavior would be banning thousands - that is not an exaggeration. 

Also, people suggesting that these people are not actually Hearts fans is ludicrous. They are definitely Hearts fans which is incredibly frustrating; they just seem to use football matches to express the most embarrassing, sectarian and non-Hearts related content. 

I will never understand how any of these people cannot take a step back and think - 'imagine we only took Hearts flags to the games, only sung Hearts songs & just change one word in one single song - everyone would take note and our reputation as fans would sore the same way it is soaring on the park and on the business side.' I completely get we loved to be hated by every other club in Scotland - it is absolutely glorious the seethe we create among every other clubs fans. However, I'd rather be hated for being that big club from the capital who know they are the greatest of all time than that sectarian, Rangers acting bunch from Gorgie. 

Never going to be resolved and anyone who doesn't mind sectarian singing or who takes part in it will be reading this thread laughing their heads off at the pant-wetting and moaning that comes out of here every single day. This will then result in them behaving even more sectarian and the problem just gets worse. 

I've just accepted it's a problem and hope at every away game it gets kept to a minimum, which it does. 

1 hour ago, red said:

These young guys should be encouraged to change there ways. Not lambasted by crisp packet rustlers on here! If half our support would get off their arse and actually sing a song once in a while we maybe would have more of a songbook. 

There an absolutely breath of fresh air home and away and I for one are grateful to have them! 

A few idiotic words sung in the moment ain’t gonna change my opinion of that especially when the OF do it for a whole match every week! 

1 hour ago, red said:

“The support they showed at Fir Park was immense. I’ve never seen anything like it”

Jimmy Dunne

Obvious bigot is obvious.

21 minutes ago, Bez said:

Guy in his late thirties to early forties hanging around with kids, and acting like a child himself, whilst singing shite songs... He’s one of the Gorgie Groomer Boys isn’t he? ?

Celtic's PR machine is second to none. Nothing ever sticks to them. Greatest fans in the world and all that nonsense. So let's not get our opinions on how we conduct ourselves, influenced by their behaviour. 

Hearts are not, and never have been, a club who discriminate against people who are Catholic. There has always been, though, in my lifetime of seeing Hearts since the 60s, a definite trend of Hearts fans singing sectarian songs at games. This usually gets worse when success brings out a higher number of "fans" who sing these songs. I would suggest that the vast majority of them don't see the inside of a church, other than to go to weddings or funerals. It's rather that they are ignorant sheep who latch onto the extreme beliefs of others, or just think it's cool to sing songs, which they have no idea the meaning of. 

If the reports of morons singing songs about Tommy Burns and Scott Brown's sister are true, then they sink to an even lower level. We criticise Hibs fans, rightly, for singing about Wallace Mercer. No right minded Hearts fan should ever find this type of thing acceptable in the name of our football club. 

Hearts need to take action and they need the support of the vast majority of decent and sensible Hearts people to stop this nonsense tarnishing our club.

15 minutes ago, Frank1874 said:

Obvious bigot is obvious.

sent from my Tumble Tap using Grooma Talk

8A85B550-871A-429C-A033-AAEF94025E0A.jpeg

Edited by Bez

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

I don't want songs sung in my name about being up to our knees in Fenian blood or disparaging Jews, ******* and Darkies  or anyone for that matter.

I am well aware of what supporters of Celtic sing and believe me they are as despicable as anyone. IRA, murdering scum in my eyes. As are the USA in my eyes.

However I don't support Celtic or Sevco so at this moment in time can't do alot about how they behave.

However I do support and love, yes love Heart of Midlothian and can do something about how our support behave. So if anyone in my vicinity at a game starts any sectarian pish I will call you out and I will grass you to the stewards and police and I will take all the abuse that comes my way especially on here but, the truth is I HAVE HAD ENOUGH of our great club's name being dragged through the mud. I personally don't want you at Tynecastle or anywhere Hearts are playing football.

????????

3 hours ago, frasermck11 said:

Who really cares? It’s 10/15 max singing. The fact that it’s being brought up by Celtic fans just shows how much our performances are getting to them. The day we start to bother what that lot are saying about us is the day we should give up. 

Long may it continue. 

Nah. 70 posts, a "who really cares" and a "long may it continue"

3 hours ago, TheStig said:

That's easy to do within our support cause its usually only a small number that sing the songs. But when Celtic and rangers take thousands to pretty much all away games and they are all singing are they really going to start throwing them all out? Doubt it. And thats where the problem lies. They get away with it so people in our support think they will get away with it.

It certainly won’t be easy. 

But would love it to be tried.

So TGFFITW are feeling a little offended because the arseholes in our support sing songs with naughty words in the lyrics. Firstly I want to point out that I don't get to as many games as I used to. However there's not a great deal the club can do when we are away from home. Also I have noticed the police are too chicken shit to deal with their neds when they march along Roseburn with their tricolours singing pro IRA songs. 

The GFA won't sanction them. 

It's that lot who bring out the worst in our support. However every team has an element that turn up for all the wrong reasons.

3 hours ago, Jamhammer said:

I've said before if anyone is going to be made an example of by the GFA it'll be us whilst they conveniently continue to ignore the majority of Celtic/Rangers supporters belting these songs out week in week out.

It's the 21st century. Hardly anyone goes to church. Please just consign this pish to the history books.

The example thing is a definite for us. Easy target. Not really any worry of smashed home windows. Media will be able to spout whatever they like without worry also.

Hearts need to be pro-active on this and be ready. It'll happen and it'll be us.

Uneducated, immature chavs behaving as such. Add the extra ingredient of pack mentality and you get those videos being made. Tbh apart from identifying them and banning them (although how you do that from away games I don't know) is about all the club can do. Until the Police actually start to do their job and lift them for breach of the peace or some other charge they will keep doing it. Some will grow out of it as they mature but a fair few will not.  

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

Doctor Jambo says the government are not doing anything about it. I am not sure if he referring to the Scottish government or UK government.

The Scottish government are doing nothing about it

It is a Scottish problem.

They are allowing sectarian segregation in education

They allow the marches,

No comment when an orange football strip is released.

They will do anything BUT get involved.

"its down to the clubs/SFA/councils blah blah blah"

I am in no way condoning the bigotry I consider it very cringeworthy.

My question about the Celtic blog is what has it got to do with Ireland. The last time I checked we employed more Irish players than Celtic so how is Ireland even relevant in this conversation. It was them that dragged Ireland into the bigotry conversation no one else and they need to take a long hard look at themselves. 

People in glass houses should not throw stones.

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

Have to say I do not understand singing that stuff at a Motherwell match...Seems like there is an element who only go to games when we start doing well, and then do this stuff. It happened during the Burley run too with the Edinburgh is Beautiful song being videoed sung on a train. The OF fans just lap it up as it allows them to moralise. From our perspective, these people either have to be the stupidest people in our support, or they are not in our support at all...Why would Hearts fans want to make Hearts fans look bad?

Just now, doctor jambo said:

They allow the marches,

You are wrong Doc. The current Scottish government did do something about it but, the Catholic bigots in the Scottish Labour party took the cream puff and along with the connivance of the Protestant bigots in the other parties got a law repealed they didn't like as it quite rightly called out the two biggest culprits.

Where I do agree with you is that the current Scottish government have been slow very slow to react to this defeat.

2 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

They allow the marches,

Hmmm...

You have segregation in education down south.

You have Orange Marches down south.

Commenting on an Orange Football strip is utterly pointless.

4 hours ago, Section Q said:

I use newsnow.co.uk as a news feed and this was on there from "On Video Celts" today. Sounds like they're starting to feel a bit rattled...???

"Douglas Walker of The Scottish Sun has tried to play down the anti-catholic songs sung by Hearts supporters after their 1-0 win over Motherwell.

A large number of Hearts fans share the song book enjoyed by Ibrox fans with a hatred for Catholics and Irish the focal point for their ‘support’.

That mentality was highlighted in 2011 when John Wilson attacked Neil Lennon in the dug-out at Tynecastle before being led away by the police to the cheers of the home support.

Ann Budge likes to portray Hearts as a family club but has did little to root out the sectarian element who are a constant feature of their support at home and away.

Sectarian issues are often portrayed as a West of Scotland problem but it’s clear that the attitudes found and supported by the authorities in Lanarkshire, Ayrshire and Renfrewshire don’t suddenly die out at the Lothians or on some mystery point along the M8."

Well there you have it. Proof that Newco have a song book clearly stating their hatred of all things Catholic and a love for a protestant (lets call it)  terror group.

All we need now is an admittance that Celtic fans have a hatred for the Queen and a love for an Irish (lets call it) terror group. And we'd have a full house.

Maybe the Scottish government should get involved. A bit more.

3 hours ago, HighTimes said:

This is spot on though - the idea that Celtic of all clubs can try to take nay moral high ground as they chant their support of a group of murderers on a weekly basis is laughable.

Yeah , but it's a "hate crime", according to Haggerty.  A bit rich coming from a supporter of a club whose fans are in constant trouble with UEFA and who love nothing more than a rousing pro IRA songbook.  Having said that, I thought the UJ had been banned from Tynecastle  (I appreciate this was at Fir Park) - so the club have tried to do something about it.  But  it was Celtic fans  who were so vociferously against the legislation put forward to stamp this out. So no hipocrisy there then. 

33 minutes ago, whytebeard said:

It certainly won’t be easy. 

But would love it to be tried.

We could start by cutting the allocation of both Celtic and Rangers and make it public knowledge that Hearts don't want to hear their political or folk songs ( as they call them to mask their bigotry ) at tyncastle and if they continue keep cutting the allocation until it stops. Then it shows we mean business and our own support will have to tow the party line or be shown the door. When I started supporting Hearts in the mid 70s I thought the pope was a new punk band and king billy was the queens husband, by the time I was 14 I knew the full prody song book but once I started working I grew out of it quickly but in truth I cant see an end to this anytime soon.