Which subject at school bored you to death?

Angel eyes

English. Felt like time slowed down in those classes.

Nobody bothers about grammar or punctuation on Kickback anyway, so turned out to be pretty useless.

Engineering science. I don't think anyone in the class understood what it was all about. And that included the teacher.

RE was a total waste of time.

Edited by Mister T

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

As a teacher trainer, I fully agree.

Some folk genuinely fit into the "those who can't, teach" line and are just unwilling/unable to put in the effort and thinking required to engage a class. Some others are just absolute naturals in the classroom and can make complicated things simple for a diverse group of people. A good teacher is worth their weight in gold both to the institution in which they work and wider society.

My son is in High School now, year 10 going into year 11, he took a couple of subjects, History being one, that he really enjoyed and was interested in but had a change of teacher last year and is really pissed off now, he's lost all interest in the subject and that's entirely down to the teacher, sad.

Maths. Integers, sine, cosine, tangent, all gobbledygook to me. 

Other than that, didn't mind the rest. 

7 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Any subject is made or broken by the teacher.

Mr McGrail, Tynecastle HS,  classical studies/history teacher,  he was the genisis for my, sometimes childish, interest in Greek and Roman history/legends/gods etc

42 minutes ago, Shooter McGavin said:

English. Felt like time slowed down in those classes.

Nobody bothers about grammar or punctuation on Kickback anyway, so turned out to be pretty useless.

:tlj:

13 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Maths.

Anyone that is into that kinda shite is a deviant.

:tlj:

image.jpeg.48f5718321949c885d40d190854aa56a.jpeg

Pretty much all of them in high school. Only liked the ones I could dick about in.

That said, I loved German. Weird because we did French at primary school and it bored the Bristol City's off me.

8 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Sorry to hear that.

I was on a horticulture course just before Covid and the best instructor on the course left to pursue a career change, leaving us with a guy who used to read powerpoint slides aloud and ask us to copy them down. Unreal.

Had a bizarre one in first year of uni. We had two classics lecturers, one mad old Welsh academic who was a fantastic orator and really brought it all to life. He'd offer tutorials and it was clear he really loved his subject. The other just showed us slides of her trips to Delphi over and over again then asked if we had any questions about the exam.

He was one of my 1st/2nd year teachers, I just "got" what he was teaching and how he did it.

Another one was an English teacher, whose name, shamefully, I forget, he was  into Jazz and played trumpet. (Hopefully some Tynie alumni will remind me of his name).

Another was Mr Lamont, deputy head, he put me on the straight and narrow after a period of being a little welt and heading to being an utter wasterel.

17 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Your sort are only useful for taking to the casino 😜 

Actually, my missus is an accountant and digs all the numbers stuff. I just hate it because I don't understand any of it. It was 50/51 whether or not I'd fail my Standard Grades.

😉   Hope for your sake that your wife's never heard you dismiss her career as just "numbers stuff"  😃

Looking back though, I agree with you and others who've said that the teacher style/personality/patience/enthusiasm etc are key to getting pupils interested and engaged in their subject - doesn't matter what the subject is.

A long time ago, but I still regret not "clicking" with English, History and Music at school.   Not all the teacher's fault, partly me being stubborn enough to dismiss their relevance.     Maybe a bit like you with Maths, eh :whistling:😉

Edited by Lone Striker

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

As a teacher trainer, I fully agree.

Some folk genuinely fit into the "those who can't, teach" line and are just unwilling/unable to put in the effort and thinking required to engage a class. Some others are just absolute naturals in the classroom and can make complicated things simple for a diverse group of people. A good teacher is worth their weight in gold both to the institution in which they work and wider society.

If those who can,  do,  and those who can't,  teach... what does that say about those who teach teachers?

:sadrobbo:

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

Agreed . I liked English but had an awful teacher . I liked history a lot . The teacher was great  too . I liked Teachers who could control the class and didn’t put up with rowdiness . Firm but fair . Couldn’t stand the insipid ones . 

I hated maths at school and still do . Still haven’t used Pythagoras’ theory yet ! 

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

I actually enjoyed the subjects at school, what I hated and bored me was the system used by some teachers of my younger days who were working because of the war and their antiquated dictatorial systems. On going to Boroughmuir I found every subject interesting but was less interested in Science Trig, and some other subjects I knew I would never use and actually never did. The saving grace for me was that all subjects were in books and I loved books and reading.

Edited by Sharpie

I went to the Royal High on Calton Hill and couldn't get out of there fast enough.  I left when I was 15.

There were no subjects I liked, but Latin was the one I hated most.

Mac_fae_Gillie

Maths aged 14+ just goes so deep that unless your going into  certain trades engineering/surveying etc it means nothing, plus had the pretty girl sat 1 row down 1 across to left (diagonal to you maths freaks) so my attention span was zero.

5 hours ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Home economics 

Has the potential to be a good class e.g learn how to cook healthy meals, taxes etc but naww we baked pineapple upside down cake

4 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

I went to the Royal High on Calton Hill and couldn't get out of there fast enough.  I left when I was 15.

There were no subjects I liked, but Latin was the one I hated most.

I went to the current one at Barnton in the 80s.

I also hated Latin, which I see as a purely academic subject with little use to most careers.

Religious Education is another pointless waste of space when most of British society isn't religious.

I also got frustrated that we were forced to do Rugby in PE when most boys were into football, which they had little interest in.

Hated all of them apart from Modern Studies. 
Hated school though so that probably had a lot to do with it. Couldn’t leave fast enough 

Loved (and still do): Maths, Chemistry

Liked: Physics, French

Tolerated: Modern Studies (would enjoy it more now with a maturer outlook)

Hated: English (a seemingly never-ending succession of crap teachers) and PE when we had to do shite like cross-country or volleyball. In my higher year my report card had a mark for PE when I didn't even do the subject giving me some insight into how well the PE staff knew their classes.

Religious Education was a complete waste of time.
Someone telling you fairy stories then asking you what you learned from each fairy story.

Away and shite.

History was pish too, but only because my year had to put up with farming reform in the 18th Century.

Goes a wee bit like this: there used to be wee fields owned by each family in the area. Then landlords took them all off them and now we have big fields.

That's it.

That's the entirety of 18th century farming reform.

The year below us had the Vietnam War. Jammy bassas.

I did do History again as an adult at college and this time I got the French Revolution. :yas:

Physics 

Maths 

Loved English but that's only because I was in a spammy class and we watched films and read easy books like Kes, Billy Liar, Our Day Out etc. I still love Kes to this day. 

R.E, The teacher hated me. I despised that class.

Maths, I never understood it, I know enough to get through life but I don't know what X or Y =.

French, 4 years I suffered that class and I left school with the same level of French I went in with. 

2 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Art. Bored me shitless.

Art was good, Draw a picture or do a wee clay thing. Music was another skive my music teacher used to give me good grades and I didn't have a clue what I was doing, I think she appreciated the effort I put into hitting the keyboard.

Hated maths at school but with a change of teachers/ lecturers at university, ended up studying the subject for 4 years. 

My ex History teacher was a nonce. Everyone knew it. He was a pervy old bugger who ended up marrying an ex pupil. 

My ex English teacher was a wrong 'un too. His brother was murdered in his house after being prosecuted for historic child abuse. 

My ex music teacher was a rampant woofer and was murdered in Thailand fairly recently by his house-boy, whatever that is. 

I remember my guidance teacher telling us that the health concerns around smoking were absolute rubbish as her mum and dad smoked 40 cigarettes a day and were fit as a fiddle. She died in her late 40s.

Teachers are arseholes. Anyone who leaves school and wants to teach is a waste of your time. 

I struggled with maths and physics so didn't really enjoy those subjects at the time. I enjoyed history and nature studies as we would be taken on field trips but the religious ones bored me. I liked art classes but woodwork I couldn't wait for that to end. 

11 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

Very much this. I hated English, but then our usual boring, insipid, teacher was off on maternity leave for half a year and the replacement was brilliant and suddenly made the subject interesting, so much so that I went from barely scraping a C in prelims to getting an A in the Higher exam.

4 hours ago, Steak said:

Has the potential to be a good class e.g learn how to cook healthy meals, taxes etc but naww we baked pineapple upside down cake

home ecconomics should teach how to make basic meals and how to budget your money. it would actually give people practical skills that they hopefully would use for the rest of their lives

I loved primary school but hated high school. 

At the end of year S2 when we had to choose subjects, I chose the ones I was either good at or enjoyed. My parents changed what I chose as they thought I "would never get a job with those qualifications". 

Result was that I was in three classes that I didnt have a scooby about and to be honest, I thought the school or teachers would have advised not to take the classes that I was useless at. 

I failed 3 of 7 "O" levels and chemistry was the worst. My result for that is a "no mention" as I walked out after the minimum 20 minutes. 

25 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

My ex music teacher was a rampant woofer and was murdered in Thailand fairly recently by his house-boy, whatever that is. 

Mr Crisp?

46 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

My ex History teacher was a nonce. Everyone knew it. He was a pervy old bugger who ended up marrying an ex pupil. 

My ex English teacher was a wrong 'un too. His brother was murdered in his house after being prosecuted for historic child abuse. 

I remember my guidance teacher telling us that the health concerns around smoking were absolute rubbish as her mum and dad smoked 40 cigarettes a day and were fit as a fiddle. She died in her late 40s.

Teachers are arseholes. Anyone who leaves school and wants to teach is a waste of your time. 

Bit OTT

3 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Didn’t know you were also a teacher, bud.

I knew you were though. 😊

3 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Aye 

He was my music teacher too, I liked him, he was passionate about all sorts of music and liked a lot of punk bands, probably one of the only teacher that I had any respect for.

2 hours ago, Cade said:

Religious Education was a complete waste of time.
Someone telling you fairy stories then asking you what you learned from each fairy story.

Away and shite.

History was pish too, but only because my year had to put up with farming reform in the 18th Century.

Goes a wee bit like this: there used to be wee fields owned by each family in the area. Then landlords took them all off them and now we have big fields.

That's it.

That's the entirety of 18th century farming reform.

The year below us had the Vietnam War. Jammy bassas.

I did do History again as an adult at college and this time I got the French Revolution. :yas:

I really enjoyed history , we did the Russian revolution and the first and world war and Second World War and the Weimar Republic .  Fascinating 

1 hour ago, PortyJambo said:

Very much this. I hated English, but then our usual boring, insipid, teacher was off on maternity leave for half a year and the replacement was brilliant and suddenly made the subject interesting, so much so that I went from barely scraping a C in prelims to getting an A in the Higher exam.

I had similar experience . When I did psychology at college it was dull as dishwasher as the Tutor was boring as paint . But when I went to Uni the tutor was a legend . Absolute scream of a guy , eccentric and very humorous and mAde the subject come alive . Brilliant .

in research it’s been found that teachers can be even more imfluential role models than parents . That’s been proven in this thread .  I had an  inspiring English teacher who was very encouraging to me and said I could be anything I wanted to be when I was older despite coming from a deprived background .  She was right . 👍 

1 hour ago, Weakened Offender said:

ABCDBEBF-0911-412E-92DA-F27AFE42030B.gif

Although I did well as school I hated it . Couldn’t wait to leave and be independent and get into the real world . Was quite an isolating experience too really knowing you were gay . Thank god is much better for young people know .