Favourite starter

ManxandCapeTownJambo
Posted

Yeah I like prawn cocktail but very partial to haggis parcel and whisky sauce and also black pudding with cider and apple 

always have chicken satay starter at Thai restaurants

chicken and sweetcorn soup from Chinese

Posted

I like a beef carpaccio, or scallop and black pudding starter if they're on the menu. Thinking about it, I'd go for the scallop starter if I had to choose between the two.

Posted

Peking Duck. The Costco one is the best non-restaurant variety in the UK by a mile.

Posted
7 minutes ago, CostaJambo said:

Peking Duck. The Costco one is the best non-restaurant variety in the UK by a mile.

Ah good 

Posted

Other than when I’m in a restaurant, I never have a starter. So it’s a rare treat I guess. 
So probably something like crispy Brie bites or some nice pate. 

Posted

Vegetable pakora or Haggis balls. Partial to a chicken wing as well.

Posted
20 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Whichever of the two Pot Noodles I open first.

Followed by?

Posted

Prawn cocktail if eating at home.

Chicken Wings if eating in a restaurant.

Posted

Bresaola with olive oil, lemon juice and black pepper.

Hummus with pita bread.

And, I love spring rolls.

Fitzroy Pointon
Posted

A nice bruschetta or goats cheese with a small salad and caramelised onion. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Chips

This.  I always make a good start on the chips before the deep fried piece of 'meat' in batter.

Posted

Mezze starter with hot flatbreads to share at Nar, a very popular Restaurant in Inverness.

54BF3D4A-A1A7-4753-8D66-960F343E6153.jpeg

Posted

Rarely have a starter but if they give us fresh warm bread and butter, I'll demolish it!

Posted

I have been known to go to the Chinese takeaway and buy 4 bags of mini spring rolls and nothing else.  

Posted

Fish, or fish and shellfish, soup. The last time we were in Portugal, it was on every restaurant menu so we ate in every restaurant we went to! Even in the odd crappy place, the fish soup was good.

It isn't a starter when I make it though: I make it as a very substantial main-course and include rice and sliced potato to make it even more satisfying. 

:sweeet:

Posted
5 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

Prawn cocktail 

Aye mine as well.

Posted

I usually go for something like a Cullen Skink, or Clam Chowder soup with crispy bread. 

Spare Ribs I have been known to go for too. 

Posted

Soup is always an option unless it comes from an Orange coloured vegetable (basically Carrots and Butternut Squash can F Off).

Posted

Partial to prawns wrapped in smoked salmon with a little seafood sauce and lemon. 

Posted (edited)

download.jpeg.jpg.fd65a07a55f78ba7ab79af99cb11bd68.jpg

Posted
6 hours ago, Salad Fingers said:

A nice bruschetta or goats cheese with a small salad and caramelised onion. 

Love Bruschetta, but it can be a hit or a miss. Some restaurants have no idea what they are doing with it.

Do love a black pudding and apple starter too

Posted
4 hours ago, indianajones said:

Wee bit Cullen Skink.

Wildfire do a nice Cullen Skink.

Posted

Prawn Pil Pil. 

I love a Prawn Cocktail. 

If I'm having Chinese I always hank myself during the day and get bbq spare ribs. 

The last starter I had was in Herringbone. Breads and Olives. Simple but class. 

Posted

Haggis, scallops, black pudding, steak tartar. Yes I am on statins. 

Posted

Scallops and black pudding on paprika toasted croutons with pea purée.

Or French onion soup. Onions make me fart. Yes!!!!

Posted
18 hours ago, Auld Reekin' said:

Fish, or fish and shellfish, soup. The last time we were in Portugal, it was on every restaurant menu so we ate in every restaurant we went to! Even in the odd crappy place, the fish soup was good.

It isn't a starter when I make it though: I make it as a very substantial main-course and include rice and sliced potato to make it even more satisfying. 

:sweeet:

In my experience these places are the best places to eat.  

My mrs and I always look to where the locals are eating and that’s usually the best experience.  We avoid the big 4-5 star tourist traps who sell the same stuff.  Last trip to India, we used to turn up to a old battered wooden shack that only opened up early evening, all veggie stuff…..big queue of locals as well……very cheap, less than a quid for loads of grub 👍

Posted
6 hours ago, Des Lynam said:

Calamari 

Yes I like Calamari as well. Well done for mixing things up with a new shout 

Posted
1 hour ago, highlandjambo3 said:

In my experience these places are the best places to eat.  

My mrs and I always look to where the locals are eating and that’s usually the best experience.  We avoid the big 4-5 star tourist traps who sell the same stuff.  Last trip to India, we used to turn up to a old battered wooden shack that only opened up early evening, all veggie stuff…..big queue of locals as well……very cheap, less than a quid for loads of grub 👍

Yep - in general - I'm sure you're right. Even in Europe, your best bet is to take a look at where the locals eat and go there too. However, by "crappy places", I was meaning the places where everything else we had was shite* and the only nice thing was the fish soup!

(*Take a bow, Restaurante Mistral in Portimão; easily the worst restaurant in Portugal we've ever eaten in! :thumbsup: )

Posted

Always partial to a fish starter, if we're not doing a fish course.

Prawn cocktail, smoked salmon, rollmop herring, smoked peppered mackerel, all barry.

All served with buttered brown bread, the maltier the bread the better, along with salad and some fresh lemon for squeezing.

:greggy:

Posted (edited)

Not a starter or a dessert man, I'd rather just get one big turbo main. 

Obviously if i'm going to be waiting about, i'll have some salad, olives etc. 

Edited by Greedy Jambo