Old School Computer Games

Martin_T

3 hours ago, Darth Sidious said:

Bak 2 Skool, Skool Daze, Chuckie Egg, Barry McGuigan Boxing and Rebelstar II on the ZX Spectrum.  And dont forgot it was a golden age for text adventures...Kentilla, The Hobbit, Excalibur...

I seem to recall being wowed by the option to change the boxing gloves different colours in the C64 version.

Darth Sidious
4 hours ago, Martin_T said:

I seem to recall being wowed by the option to change the boxing gloves different colours in the C64 version.

Think it was only the shorts on the Spectrum.  8 colours to choose from.  You did get to pick which kind of boxer you were.  Slugger, dancer, etc.  Dont think I ever got very far in it.

4 hours ago, Darth Sidious said:

Think it was only the shorts on the Spectrum.  8 colours to choose from.  You did get to pick which kind of boxer you were.  Slugger, dancer, etc.  Dont think I ever got very far in it.

This is the C64 version, I'm not sure what difference, if any, the boxer type made!

image.jpeg.b7bbf7237ac53a68108a3d0550c7afc7.jpeg

image.jpeg.99b70e5b2bb1f96c49705efeaa77978c.jpeg

Into the Eagle’s Nest.

Another one I must mention, Gauntlet style with the World War 2 setting, and specifically the Eagle’s Nest building which is being used by a commander as his HQ.

Three Allied soldiers have been captured, and you must infiltrate the facilities, rescue your brave comrades, destroy the building, and salvage as much of the stolen art treasures as possible.

Sadly, there are only eight levels to explore, each with a specific mission objective.

If you know how to find your way through the levels, I guess you will have no problem with the game.

Edited by The Spy Who Loved Me

I got a "Grandstand" game one year for my christmas, I don't think it would be classed as a "computer' game(?) .

hqdefault.jpg

47 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

I'd love a game of Harrier Attack or Horace Goes Skiing. 😕

Download an emulator and look for the games on abandonware or other speccy sites or just play online like links below:

Harrier Attack:

https://spectrumcomputing.co.uk/index.php?cat=96&id=2241

Horace:

https://spectrumcomputing.co.uk/index.php?cat=96&id=2351

On 12/08/2020 at 21:01, The Spy Who Loved Me said:

https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/spectaculator-zx-spectrum-emulator/id421662150

If you have an iPhone, you can download for a small fee, plenty others including Rebelstar 1 and 2.

Cheers, there is also an android version of Laser Squad called Stellar Forces, not sure if this is available on iphone.

On 11/08/2020 at 13:58, Salad Fingers said:

Sensible Soccer European Champions for the Mega Drive. 

I am quite confident I would still skelp anyone's erse at it.  

I’m supremely confident that I would hand your arse to you :D

On 11/08/2020 at 14:08, Samuel Camazzola said:

Sensible World of Soccer was probably the pinnacle in the versions of the game released. I only played it on the Amiga and don't know if it made it on to other platforms. 

They released a version on the original PlayStation. It was shite. 

Space Mackerel
14 hours ago, frankblack said:

Download an emulator and look for the games on abandonware or other speccy sites or just play online like links below:

Harrier Attack:

https://spectrumcomputing.co.uk/index.php?cat=96&id=2241

Horace:

https://spectrumcomputing.co.uk/index.php?cat=96&id=2351

Cheers frank, got a link to an emulator, I've never heard of them and Google throws a load up.

I'm on a Windows 10 PC btw

17 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Cheers frank, got a link to an emulator, I've never heard of them and Google throws a load up.

I'm on a Windows 10 PC btw

You can play direct without an emulator if you click the links in those pages.  Think I clicked Speccy on each page.

18 hours ago, Rupert Pupkin said:

Many hours lost playing “World Class Leaderboard” 

288F9B59-DFC8-412F-9B0D-7C2E1B7B515A.jpeg

One of my favourites. IIRC on the easiest difficulty setting you could just aim your drive for the middle of the water hazards and it would create an artificial island from which you could take your next shot.

Space Mackerel
4 hours ago, The Spy Who Loved Me said:

Also, Harrier Attack is available for iPhone:

https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/recreated-zx-spectrum/id957141812

4 hours ago, frankblack said:

You can play direct without an emulator if you click the links in those pages.  Think I clicked Speccy on each page.

Cheers laddies, that's ma Friday night sorted 😉

I'm probably going to get the name wrong but there was a developer - Jeff Minter? who did a bunch of Llama themed games?  I remember playing those thinking that the developer must have been tripping when coming up with those,

2 hours ago, Space Mackerel said:

Cheers laddies, that's ma Friday night sorted 😉

Playing them online wi yir English pals?😀

On 13/08/2020 at 11:02, superjack said:

On my spectrum my faves were manic miner, paperboy, jet set willie and, the favourite, Daly Thomson's decathlon.

These plus from the same time period bubble bobble and a fighting game I think called renegade 

27 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Can you still buy The Spectrum+ anywhere? 

You’d find one on eBay or something I’m fairly sure. 

Space Mackerel
1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

Playing them online wi yir English pals?😀

Certainly no playing with auld bone spurs camper extraordinarie 😃

4 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Certainly no playing with auld bone spurs camper extraordinarie 😃

:lol: changed days mlad.
It’s all push and shuffle now :rifle:

😀

Space Mackerel
2 minutes ago, jack D and coke said: