American police again.... 😡

Swanny17

Surely the school have to explain themselves at the same time? They allowed this to happen? They called the police? Suppose we don’t know what the kid was doing that the police got called in the first place. 
Seems a bit OTT though. 

Interesting that the officer in question was dismissed for not following proper procedure. I would have though arresting a 6 year old and restraining her with zip ties was more worrying than missing a bit of paperwork. 

17 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

The defence from the hospital woman and the lies from the Sherrif here will get you angry.

Welcome to Trump's Merica

17 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

If anyone here has ever wondered how I could possibly prefer to live in Scotland over the USA . . . 😶

Police bodycam footage released on 25 February has captured the moment a visibly distressed child was arrested at her school in Orlando, Florida in September 2019.

The six-year-old girl was restrained with zip ties and escorted to a waiting police car after misbehaving in class.

Lawyers for her family at Smith and Eulo Law Firm told the BBC that the family chose to release the footage because they wanted to show how the arrest unfolded.

The person whose bodycam captured the ordeal was fired after an internal investigation by the Orlando Police Department. Officer Dennis Turner had not followed the correct protocol, which states that a police officer must have their supervisor's approval to arrest any child under the age of 12.

Can someone, please explain the last sentence to me.

The policeman has been sacked, but the person in the bodycam? he was was also sacked?

Policeman seemed quite proud of himself, she's a record breaker, dont ya know!

37 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Police bodycam footage released on 25 February has captured the moment a visibly distressed child was arrested at her school in Orlando, Florida in September 2019.

The six-year-old girl was restrained with zip ties and escorted to a waiting police car after misbehaving in class.

Lawyers for her family at Smith and Eulo Law Firm told the BBC that the family chose to release the footage because they wanted to show how the arrest unfolded.

The person whose bodycam captured the ordeal was fired after an internal investigation by the Orlando Police Department. Officer Dennis Turner had not followed the correct protocol, which states that a police officer must have their supervisor's approval to arrest any child under the age of 12.

The policeman has been sacked, but the person in the bodycam? he was was also sacked?

I was confused by this earlier. It only says that the bodycam footage cop was sacked. But he wasn't the one who appeared to do the actual arresting in the video.

46 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

It would seem that it's only the guy with the bodycam who's been sacked since he didn't follow the correct procedures either for capturing the video or for distributing it (or possibly both - not entirely clear). It would also appear perfectly OK to go into a school and arrest a 6-year-old pupil, making her absolutely shit scared, pleading through her sobs to be given a second chance. Absolutely sickening on so many levels. 

That wee bairn sobbing almost had me sobbing. 

**** sake. I wouldn't send my kids back to school after shit like that. Home school and I hope the parent sue **** out of the police force for that

Glad I'm not the only one confused by the report.

I thought bodycam pc had been sacked for whistle blowing, then the next sentence confused it.

An excerpt from Sky news.

****ing ridiculous.

Ms Kirkland had to collect Kaia from a juvenile detention facility where she was fingerprinted, had her mugshot taken and was charged with battery.

The officer involved has now been fired, and an internal investigation has been launched.

Police chief Orlando Rolon: "As a grandfather myself, I understand how traumatic this incident was for the children and everyone involved."

12 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

An excerpt from Sky news.

****ing ridiculous.

Ms Kirkland had to collect Kaia from a juvenile detention facility where she was fingerprinted, had her mugshot taken and was charged with battery.

The officer involved has now been fired, and an internal investigation has been launched.

Police chief Orlando Rolon: "As a grandfather myself, I understand how traumatic this incident was for the children and everyone involved."

The girl was charged with battery?

2 minutes ago, FWJ said:

I wonder if there’s more to this than little girl hasn’t done her homework, police called.

Kicking her teacher was what I heard on the radio. Cannot understand why the school called the police. For all we know she might be the most disruptive school child in the history of disruptive school kids but still.........

1 minute ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Kicking her teacher was what I heard on the radio. Cannot understand why the school called the police. For all we know she might be the most disruptive school child in the history of disruptive school kids but still.........

If that was the case then perhaps the teachers at the school were told that they were not to restrain children?

I don’t know (none of us do) but I think, as so often in these cases, there maybe more to it than first appears.

1 minute ago, FWJ said:

If that was the case then perhaps the teachers at the school were told that they were not to restrain children?

I don’t know (none of us do) but I think, as so often in these cases, there maybe more to it than first appears.

There probably is but it still doesn't excuse the ridiculous over-reaction by all who are meant to be the adults. 

30 minutes ago, FWJ said:

You might be right.

Maybe an AK-47 in her locker. 

5 hours ago, Lovecraft said:

Welcome to Trump's Merica

Been going on long before Trump became president, it's a way of life over there and has been since the end of the American civil war.

2 minutes ago, FWJ said:

I didn’t mention firearms or weapons of any kind.

I know you didn’t but did suggest there might be more to this.

3 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I know you didn’t but did suggest there might be more to this.

And I still do think that.  And it might be something as simple as teachers being told that they are not to restrain a child.

In the meantime I’m going to file under “not allowed to call it ‘Christmas’ in Birmingham any more” and wait to see if any more details are released.

1 hour ago, FWJ said:

There may well be more to it than we can see, but she’s a 6 year old girl FFS not some gunned up student at a Uni. 

9 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Surely the school have to explain themselves at the same time? They allowed this to happen? They called the police? Suppose we don’t know what the kid was doing that the police got called in the first place. 
Seems a bit OTT though. 

Agree bud, why the hell are they even phoning the police over an unruly 6 year old child🤯

9 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

Arresting a 6 year old for misbehaving in class :rofl: 

Oh, America  :vrface:

They’ve really lost the plot over there.

6 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

The defence from the hospital woman and the lies from the Sherrif here will get you angry.

That’s disgusting, ####ing bullies.

25 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

There may well be more to it than we can see, but she’s a 6 year old girl FFS not some gunned up student at a Uni. 

Can I just point out (again) that I at no stage mentioned firearms/weapons of any sort.

47 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Can I just point out (again) that I at no stage mentioned firearms/weapons of any sort.

Apologies bud, I wasn’t suggesting you did. But I can think of no reason whatsoever that a 6 year old would be restrained and arrested by 2 policemen.  It’s a shocking video, but all too true about what happens in that shambles of a country across the pond. 

Mac_fae_Gillie
5 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

He was the actual arresting officer and senior officer on the scene, his deputy did as ordered but overseen by him. The other one actually handing the child should have known better and will no doubt be punished to a lessor degree. Would be interesting to know the colour of the senior officer was.

9 hours ago, FWJ said:

I do know(None of us do), but there may be something more to your posts.

16 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

That boy will probably pay a visit to that hospital or PD armed now.

20 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

Outrageous. :o