Golden age of TV comedy.

hueyview

After a disappointing derby, and a so so National horse betting, its great to see Dads army on when coming home....

Up with Porridge, Steptoe and son and Rising damp now showing on freeview...   Why are current shows not so funny......

To be honest, Porridge had some decent bits but aside from that, I think that those you have mentioned are terrible.  

It's all about opinions though. 

7 minutes ago, Salad Fingers said:

To be honest, Porridge had some decent bits but aside from that, I think that those you have mentioned are terrible.  

It's all about opinions though. 

True, but some funny lines stay with you decades later....  Still love the Steptoe episode with Leonard Rossiter as the escaped prisoner,  being better off in the jail..  Early Rigsby...

Jambo-Jimbo

Till Death Do Us Part, Love Thy Neighbour, Mind Your Language and even Rising Damp especially the juju stick episode would have the PC brigade having a hissy fit.

Edit: Almost every day of the week there used to be some sitcom either on the BBC or ITV, then you had the chat shows, Oliver Reed and wild thing, now those were the days, great telly.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

30 minutes ago, hueyview said:

After a disappointing derby, and a so so National horse betting, its great to see Dads army on when coming home....

Up with Porridge, Steptoe and son and Rising damp now showing on freeview...   Why are current shows not so funny......

Depends on what current shows you've been watching and what you've missed out on. 

2 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Till Death Do Us Part, Love Thy Neighbour, Mind Your Language and even Rising Damp especially the juju stick episode would have the PC brigade having a hissy fit.

burning his own furniture....

Depends on your flavour of comedy. I happen to think that the last twenty years have been a golden age of comedy.

On the Buses :rofl: 

Love thy Neighbour :rofl: 

Til’ death do us part :rofl:

Porridge :rofl:

Extremely funny programmes, if you’re not a ‘snowflake’.

The Black and White Minstrel Show was a good bit of Saturday night entertainment too.

:oohmatron: 

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

The Black and White Minstrel Show was a good bit of Saturday night entertainment too.

Shhh the snowflakes will be along soon :2guns:

14 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Christ, TV must have been grim in the 70s if On the Buses was considered funny. 

19 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Perhaps lob in a spot of this...

AINT-HALF-HOT-MUM_2677372c.jpg.b5a0f1091544d78a88b1ff007ccf6544.jpg

26 minutes ago, Salad Fingers said:

Christ, TV must have been grim in the 70s if On the Buses was considered funny. 

Remember there was only three channels at the time.Not hundreds and unlimited porn on internet.

2 hours ago, hueyview said:

It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia is a million times funnier than all of those shows. 

I love how anyone over 40 describes snowflakes as folk who think racism isnae that funny. Anyway, I digress. 

Comedy shows that are an absolute mile better than any of the 70s UK shite mentioned so far;

Always Sunny in Philadelphia

League of Gentlemen (1st 2 series)

Peep Show

Big Train

Brass Eye

Curb Your Enthusiasm

Anything with Partridge

South Park

Louis

The Thick of It

The 70s was probably good at the time, I've no idea. Looking back at those shows when I catch them, they're cringey as ****. 

Each to their own though, rose tinted spectacles are bloody marvelous things. 

9 hours ago, Morgan said:

It's amazing how the right wing racists who moan about their right to free speech, call people who object to this type of humour or views, "snowflakes"? While objecting to others free speech.

Two shows you've big upped are totally shite and for the mentally challenged. Only porridge is any good and that, like only fools, crossed the line several times, with several episodes banned from further airing.

Enjoy!

Morecambe & Wise Christmas shows from the 70s

Angela Rippon dancing

Shirley Bassey in workman’s boots

”Andrew Prevue”

Glenda Jackson performing in “a play what I wrote”

Newscasters doing “There Ain’t Nothing Like A Dame”

”The Stripper” breakfast sketch.

Classics

If you watch these so called classics now, i'm pretty sure folk will soon turn them off. Absolutely pish. Dad's Army, Are you being served, Ain't half hot, Only when I laugh, Last of the summer wine. All pish.

The Likely lads, and Porridge are good, tho.

7 hours ago, The Brow said:

I love how anyone over 40 describes snowflakes as folk who think racism isnae that funny. Anyway, I digress. 

Comedy shows that are an absolute mile better than any of the 70s UK shite mentioned so far;

Always Sunny in Philadelphia

League of Gentlemen (1st 2 series)

Peep Show

Big Train

Brass Eye

Curb Your Enthusiasm

Anything with Partridge

South Park

Louis

The Thick of It

The 70s was probably good at the time, I've no idea. Looking back at those shows when I catch them, they're cringey as ****. 

Each to their own though, rose tinted spectacles are bloody marvelous things. 

:spoton:with all of those shows

I got annoyed a few weeks back and Porridge was on, my 25yo stepson comes in without knowing of it or without ever seeing it and says

"What's this gash?":wallbash:

Likely Lads (La Frenais & Clement), great comic writers that more relate to working class. Porridge & Auf Weideshen, Pet (80s).

Dad's Army is never off TV, but I still laugh at it, Clive Dunn in particular plays it brilliantly.

Perry & Croft - Dad's Army, Are you being Served, Hi-di-Hi, Aint Half Hot Mum.

I would probably find them funnier now that at the time. More at them than with them. (DA excepted)

john cleese Fawlty Towers, without doubt a comedy that got laughing hysterically to this day, superbly written and produced

John Sullivan (Only fools, Citizen Smith, dear John, Just Good Friends)

Leonard Rossiter, another comic genius.

I just  think, we all take a disliking to things and never give them a chance (mine is Friends).

Was trying to think of US comedies from 70's can only think of MASH & Taxi.

Little Britain

Brass Eye

The Day Today

Jam

Spaced

Black Books

Father Ted

IT Crowd

Smack The Pony

Peep Show

Big Train

League of Gentlemen

And so on. And that's just the British shows.

Late 90s-early 00's was outstanding.

Mac_fae_Gillie

Much prefer comedy of last 20years most of which is Yank to British 70s/early 80s stuff.

Firstly lot of British classics kicked out few episodes the "oh how great was Blackadder or Fawlty Towers when only 24/13 episodes were made compared to Modern family or Simpsons or Big Bang Theory same go beyond their time like Friends or Cheers and Frasier.

UK still had same great shows with true laugh out loud moments but repetitive as hell.

Miss Slocome's Pussy

"I will say this only once".."you stupid woman"

"Hello Dave" na its Rodney..."you plonker"

etc etc....

great at first but well passed their sell by dates.

but Father Ted, Coupling, Rules of Engagement, Modern Family and Dick Emery got to be high on my favs.

1 hour ago, TheStig said:

Could watch only fools and horses all day. Calling a black sex doll pepsi wouldn't go down well in todays world.

Agreed re. Only Fools and Horses.  ?

Some of the episodes are timeless.

Fawlty Towers is in a similar vein.

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

It's amazing how the right wing racists who moan about their right to free speech, call people who object to this type of humour or views, "snowflakes"? While objecting to others free speech.

Two shows you've big upped are totally shite and for the mentally challenged. Only porridge is any good and that, like only fools, crossed the line several times, with several episodes banned from further airing.

Enjoy!

You’re surely not calling me a ‘right wing racist’ are you, Aussie?

:angry:

Tried to watch Morecambe and Wise recently.

Don't think I laughed once.

The worst of the lot though was Bread.

Cringe worthy pish.

Early Doors.

Extras.

Curb Your Enthusiasm 

Great tv.

I suppose though in 20 years time the Shed will look back at Miranda and Mrs Brown's boys as crap sitcoms.

Edited by benny

7 minutes ago, benny said:

I suppose though in 20 years time the Shed will look back at Miranda and Mrs Brown's boys as crap sitcoms.

We already look at them as crap. 

Thought Morecombe & Wise was pish.

Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads, Porridge and Only Fools and Horses are my all time favourites.

8 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Thought Morecombe & Wise was pish.

Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads, Porridge and Only Fools and Horses are my all time favourites.

Similarly, Mike and Bernie Winters.

Tommy Cooper was also so corny (unfunny) that he was actually funny, if you get my drift?

9 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Tommy Cooper was also so corny (unfunny) that he was actually funny, if you get my drift?

Forgot about Laurel & Hardy who I thought were brilliant.

Edited by The Real Maroonblood

Jambo-Jimbo
1 hour ago, Morgan said:

That's what made Tommy Cooper such a comical genius, his timing and the fact that he was useless at the tricks, or at least that was the act that they went wrong, when in reality he was a very good magician.

Jambo-Jimbo
4 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

I got annoyed a few weeks back and Porridge was on, my 25yo stepson comes in without knowing of it or without ever seeing it and says

"What's this gash?":wallbash:

Likely Lads (La Frenais & Clement), great comic writers that more relate to working class. Porridge & Auf Weideshen, Pet (80s).

Dad's Army is never off TV, but I still laugh at it, Clive Dunn in particular plays it brilliantly.

Perry & Croft - Dad's Army, Are you being Served, Hi-di-Hi, Aint Half Hot Mum.

I would probably find them funnier now that at the time. More at them than with them. (DA excepted)

john cleese Fawlty Towers, without doubt a comedy that got laughing hysterically to this day, superbly written and produced

John Sullivan (Only fools, Citizen Smith, dear John, Just Good Friends)

Leonard Rossiter, another comic genius.

I just  think, we all take a disliking to things and never give them a chance (mine is Friends).

Happy days in the 70's/80's  :fonzie:

then in the 80's we had 'Married with Children'

Jambo-Jimbo

Sunday nights usually had Spitting Image followed by Hale & Pace.

At it's height Spitting Image regulary attracted 15 Million viewers.

16 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Sunday nights usually had Spitting Image followed by Hale & Pace.

At it's height Spitting Image regulary attracted 15 Million viewers.

There certainly would be plenty of material for Spitting Image today.

13 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

The time is ripe for a Spitting Image comeback imo

Problem for people “of an age” is that these old shows are re-run to the point where you are utterly bored of them. 

How many times does that Dead Parrot sketch get rolled out? Four candles? 

I am sure they were funny the first time but not on repeated viewing, and I suspect that goes for most comedy. I wouldn’t want to see David Brent’s dance another 100 times, but the first viewing was immense. 

Would appreciate a re-run of A Bit of Fry & Laurie, Absolutely and that Lee & Herring show, the name of which escapes me. 

5 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Eric and Ernie in bed together. Feck knows what went on after the lights went out.

It certainly wouldn’t be funny.

6 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Eric and Ernie in bed together. Feck knows what went on after the lights went out.

Just some time spent building up an appetite. Which explains the breakfast sketch. 

haveyouheard 22

Most sit coms are absolute  shite ,riddled with canned laughter from the off

Rising Damp for me is a stand out 

The original Till Death Us Do Part was absolute quality as were the first eps of Steptoe and Son 

Jambo-Jimbo
1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Indeed, just imagine what they would do with, May, Corbyn, Johnston, Mogg, Foster, Tusk, Juncker, Putin, Trump, Kim et al.

8 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Indeed, just imagine what they would do with, May, Corbyn, Johnston, Mogg, Foster, Tusk, Juncker, Putin, Trump, Kim et al.

I really enjoyed the Windsors which featured May and Corbyn, very funny. 

3 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Happy days in the 70's/80's  :fonzie:

then in the 80's we had 'Married with Children'

And Cheers ??????

lauriesrank

Blackadder, only fools, south park and at times family guy are very very funny, I currently have porridge set as an always record and will watch them all when it's done.

Barker has some brilliant lines in it.

Friends, dads army, last of the snoring wine and the likely lads can do 1.

Edited by lauriesrank

23 hours ago, hueyview said:

Up with Porridge, Steptoe and son and Rising damp now showing on freeview...   Why are current shows not so funny...…

The 70's was a fairly golden era for British comedy. More so for Monty Python;  Peter Cook and Dudley Moore, rather than "Don't tell him Pike" ; Arthur Mullard or Reg Varney :thumbsup:

9 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

I remember that MASH was shown in the UK without the, completely unnecessary, canned laughter that the US television used. It made the difference in recognising it’s anti war theme, whilst the comedy was easily appreciated without a brainless prompt.

18 hours ago, Cade said:

Little Britain

Brass Eye

The Day Today

Jam

Spaced

Black Books

Father Ted

IT Crowd

Smack The Pony

Peep Show

Big Train

League of Gentlemen

And so on. And that's just the British shows.

Late 90s-early 00's was outstanding.

So it's just not the the 70s that's, Utter Pish!

12 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

I'd say just now is a golden age.

And 40/ 50 years at least probably since Hancock. 

Hancock's half hour. ?