Summer holidays

Where is this year's hot and not summer destinations these days, any good links for booking

Looking for some ideas, probably a bit late to get availability now I realise 

cheers in advance, bon voyage 

Edited by Old Castle Rock

I'm being a chav this year and heading off to Sunny Beach in Bulgaria for 2 weeks, not sure I fancy it to be honest but hey ho.

I'm currently in Croatia and cannot recommend it enough. Used Jet2Holidays as their flight times from Edinburgh are superb. 

First time in Croatia (flew to Dubrovnik) and will definitely return. 

Orlando then New York for me this year. Never been to New York before so no idea what that will be like. Orlando is an amazing place if you’ve got kids. 

Pirate Village in Majorca for me with with wife & toddler in 3 weeks, cant wait actually to do all the things that I am probably to old for but can justify as somebody has to supervise the wee one !!

58 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Dubrovnik for a week in August. 

Have you been before? It’s briliant, enjoy yourself.

17 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Have you been before? It’s briliant, enjoy yourself.

I've not, buzzing for it. Cheers mate :thumbsup:

1 hour ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Dubrovnik for a week in August. 

I went to Dubrovnik old town by boat yesterday. Really good trip and a lot of spectacular sights. Very busy place too! 

3 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

I went to Dubrovnik old town by boat yesterday. Really good trip and a lot of spectacular sights. Very busy place too! 

We too visited it by boat one time. We were staying on a wee island called Korcula.

52 minutes ago, steve123 said:

Pirate Village in Majorca for me with with wife & toddler in 3 weeks, cant wait actually to do all the things that I am probably to old for but can justify as somebody has to supervise the wee one !!

In Santa Ponsa? Beware of the infestation of green and white hoops crawling about the place. I kid you not, I saw the same grown man on three occasions sporting full Celtic kit - top, shorts and socks - and each time it was a different kit. 

I spent most of my days in Palma Nova to avoid them. ?

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

We too visited it by boat one time. We were staying on a wee island called Korcula.

I'm in a quiet wee place called Cavtat. Really beautiful and laid back. 

4 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

In Santa Ponsa? Beware of the infestation of green and white hoops crawling about the place. I kid you not, I saw the same grown man on three occasions sporting full Celtic kit - top, shorts and socks - and each time it was a different kit. 

I spent most of my days in Palma Nova to avoid them. ?

Yea bud thats the one, ohhh the joys !!

3 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

I'm in a quiet wee place called Cavtat. Really beautiful and laid back. 

Drinking Keo beer I bet?

Just now, Samuel Camazzola said:

Ozujsko ?? ☀️

Your  typing has gone all funny.

Must be all that Keo :whistling:

Tenerife was a week in June for me and the Mrs, 20th wedding anniversary so we thought we'd do something different, a cottage with a pool and hot tub up the hills in San Miguel.

Then Tenerife with the daughter at the start of October, best book PDLA I suppose because she'll want more than sitting in a hot tub watching the stars.

Edited by bikerjambo

58 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Your  typing has gone all funny.

Must be all that Keo :whistling:

And the local brandy! ?

I had mine in January :sob:

Closest I'll get this summer is four nights in Darlington visiting my sister and the family in August. 

Jambo-Jimbo

Mediterranean Cruise in 18 days time.

Start from Civitavecchia (Rome), then sail to Messina (Sicily), then Mykonos, Rhodes, Santorini, Athens and finally Naples (for Pompeii & Sorrento), then back to Rome.

3 nights in Toronto followed by 10 nights in a cottage near Midland Ontario and then another 3 nights in Toronto. 

Edited by dougal

2 hours ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

And the local brandy! ?

You tried the apricot brandy?

Sweet as feck but goes over a wee treat.

FB2EFBB9-7B7E-4403-A5FA-AC8D779ADEC3.gif

2 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Start from Civitavecchia (Rome), then sail to Messina (Sicily), then Mykonos, Rhodes, Santorini, Athens and finally Naples (for Pompeii & Sorrento), then back to Rome.

Cool trip Jimbo :thumbsup:

5 hours ago, superjack said:

2 weeks in fuerteventura in August, really looking forward to it.

I'm just back, if you haven't sorted out transfers then look into hiiring a car, we got one for around £40 a week with all inclusive insurances.

Edited by graygo

2 nights in Mallaig in July. Going myself and looking forward to some walking and peace and quiet.

5 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

:toasting:

4 hours ago, dougal said:

3 nights in Toronto followed by 10 nights in a cottage near Midland Ontario and then another 3 nights in Toronto. 

There's a few Jambos in Ontario.  Madsers, all of them.  Avoid like Bejaysus.

jambogaz1968

Budapest in June . Somewhere in September (don't know where as the wife booked it , birthday surprise) , hoping to go somewhere in mid July for 9 nights .

Jambo-Jimbo
11 hours ago, Morgan said:

Cool trip Jimbo :thumbsup:

Always wanted to go to Rhodes, Athens & especially Pompeii and Santorini, all for the history and this cruise Itinerary ticked all of those boxes.

8 hours ago, Ulysses said:

:toasting:

Have taken out the full drinks package on board and only this week got another offer from Royal Caribbean, in which the full drinks package was £60 cheaper than the reduced offer which I had previously bought.

Needless to say I cancelled the package I had and bought a new one at the lower price, £60 is better in my pocket.

Works out that if me & the wife have 3 alcoholic drinks each per day we'll break even, don't think that's going to be a problem.  :laugh:

Of course it's only polite to sample the local beer on each of the Islands as well, to not do so would be disrespectful, would it not?

Florida next month. Going to a friends place in Fort Myers. 3 weeks and 4 days to go.......not that I’m counting on anything. 

Sooperstar
On 12/05/2018 at 12:25, benny said:

5 days booked in Venice,3 days booked in Bilbao in June.

A weekend away in London in July.

What made you choose Bilbao? I'm also headed there.

Jambo-Jimbo
On 12/05/2018 at 12:25, benny said:

5 days booked in Venice,3 days booked in Bilbao in June.

A weekend away in London in July.

Did Venice last June (4 Nights), excellent, you'll love it.

If you've not been before, there is one tip I'll give you, and that is book your attraction tickets online before you go, especially if you are going up the bell tower and or a guided tour of St. Mark's Basilica, as the queues can get very long.  We used Venetoinside website, excellent, couldn't fault them, and on both occasions we were escorted to a different entrance away from all the queues.  

I'm not doing a Summer holiday this year as I am doing 10 nights in Cancun in November. I am struggling already and it is only May!

A week at my sisters new house in Vilena, about 30 mins drive from Alicante.

Big hoose with 5 bedrooms and a pool spread over 3 buildings on a huge bit of land = £125 grand. Makes me sick.

3 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

What made you choose Bilbao? I'm also headed there.

Lovely city.

I like walking about the place taking it easy.

Watching the world go by with a few beers.

3 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Did Venice last June (4 Nights), excellent, you'll love it.

If you've not been before, there is one tip I'll give you, and that is book your attraction tickets online before you go, especially if you are going up the bell tower and or a guided tour of St. Mark's Basilica, as the queues can get very long.  We used Venetoinside website, excellent, couldn't fault them, and on both occasions we were escorted to a different entrance away from all the queues.  

Basing myself in Mestre.

Can visit Padova and Verona for a day as well.

invernessjt
36 minutes ago, benny said:

Basing myself in Mestre.

Can visit Padova and Verona for a day as well.

Burano is lovely and Treviso is well worth a visit too.

Pans Jambo

Been away for a week in Gran Canaria already. Winter was just too long for me so I had to go & get some sun on my chops.

Doing some home refurb this year so its a 'staycation' for me. If (IF) the weather is OK I might do some of the NC500 up the North West of Scotland. Love it up there if the weather is good.

Edited by Pans Jambo

On 12/05/2018 at 16:55, steve123 said:

Ha! We're going back there on the 4th July for a week. Went 2 years ago. Had a great time. The pirate invasion was fun and my kids thought it was a great laugh when daddy had to walk the plank. Hope you have a good time. Oh, and that part of Santa Ponsa is actually more German than Scots. 

Edited by Normthebarman

Sooperstar
1 hour ago, benny said:

Lovely city.

I like walking about the place taking it easy.

Watching the world go by with a few beers.

Good stuff. My trip is for a stag do, also in June, so apologies if you are going between the 17th to the 20th.

I've moved to the Cayman Islands for 3 years for work. I get a free holiday in the Caribbean on my days off 

:sweeet:

20180426_142314.jpg

Watch out for the crabs on the road at, I think, the east end of the island (could be west, can't remember exactly). Little ****ers are all over the place, we had to slalom the car in between the little buggers. Never saw so many crabs in my life. 

Jambo-Jimbo
2 hours ago, invernessjt said:

Burano is lovely and Treviso is well worth a visit too.

This place?

image.thumb.jpeg.19a52760cd9553dae61df3610aba30cc.jpeg

As you can see they'd just had a thunderstorm as we arrived, didn't take long until it dried out though.

1 hour ago, Normthebarman said:

Watch out for the crabs on the road at, I think, the east end of the island (could be west, can't remember exactly). Little ****ers are all over the place, we had to slalom the car in between the little buggers. Never saw so many crabs in my life. 

Met some already! Huge mud crabs. Bizarre though, one tiny claw amd one massive claw. The massive claw would take a finger off no problem!

2 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

This place?

image.thumb.jpeg.19a52760cd9553dae61df3610aba30cc.jpeg

As you can see they'd just had a thunderstorm as we arrived, didn't take long until it dried out though.

Christ aye, must have been a bad one, the roads are flooded.