Was there a point in our history when...

Beast Boy

We were the same size as Rangers and Celtic once they were both established? If so, when? What were the events that took place after this time to see them both grow so massively while we did not?

I ask this since I do not know the answer, and all my life we have struggled to compete with them, whilst just occasionally threatening to actually finish above them both.

I remember one of the people knowledgeable about the history of the club talk how it was the view in the 30s, that had we won a league in that decade we would have gone onto to rival the old firm in size due to a number of factors. Might have that wrong.

demographics my man....................(the people count)

The discovery of America and the rush to get there/trade etc bolstered the ship building industry in the UK, namely the West coast (you would not want to sail from Edinburgh to America now would you).................this attracted people/business from all over to flock to weegie land (Govan ship building..........hello..........hello we are the Etc.......) also, our Irish fellows from not to far across the water decided to join in and head East to the promise land of the tic and so..............the emergence of 2 erse cheeks from Glesga.................hence the size of the place.  We have never competed on the demographic chart but you know what, being a hearts fan is about being a PHM and supporting a real football team

Yes there was and what happened was WW1 and McCrae's battalion. Pick up a copy of the book to read the context

I remember one of the people knowledgeable about the history of the club talk how it was the view in the 30s, that had we won a league in that decade we would have gone onto to rival the old firm in size due to a number of factors. Might have that wrong.

Cheers. For me, I've always thought of us as a historically big club who were serious contenders back in the day, but circumstances saw us fail to capitalise upon our opportunity to take our seat at the top table. I am probably wrong, I don't know... I just see us in this light compared to the other clubs in Scottish football.

Yes there was and what happened was WW1 and McCrae's battalion. Pick up a copy of the book to read the context

I never knew the book covered this particular question of mine. Thanks, I will. Would you mind giving me a brief synopsis of how you think my question should be answered? Without links and scanned photos, just a potted history answer. Appreciate it. :)

Bigotry and sectarianism happened - pure and simple - the battle lines were drawn and have been in operation ever since - football is totally irrelevant except that it acts as the stage on which the puerile nonsense is carried out. The wee sowels deserve our sympathy for their feeble mindedness, but nothing else.

????? ?

Bigotry and sectarianism happened - pure and simple - the battle lines were drawn and have been in operation ever since - football is totally irrelevant except that it acts as the stage on which the puerile nonsense is carried out. The wee sowels deserve our sympathy for their feeble mindedness, but nothing else.

????? ?

This has always been a big part of the reason in my mind. I simply cannot produce the facts to back this idea up though.

When I was boy I got Boys Book of Soccer for Christmas, my two memories were Sam Bartram as a great goalie featured in the book, the other was a comment that the two richest teams in the world at that time were Rangers and Arsenal.  I don't remember Hearts ever being that big, Celtic always had a big support, but I was just a boy I don't remember them although with a good following being as big a  power as Rangers.  Through the years Celtic became a power, as did Hearts in the fifties. In my memory, which like everything else is not as strong as it once was is that Celtic became the major partner in power as it now is, probably in the sixties until today. I am sure, and don't argue the point others may have a completely different view

Manchester Utd. lost the entire spine of a first team at Munich in 1958 and won the European Cup 10 years later.  Tragic though the decimation of the team was, what else hindered a recovery?

I do remember that Hearts were estimated to have had 60,000 supporters at the 1956 Cup Final and that was considered to be the biggest travelling support anywhere in the world.

Can't vouch for the accuracy of that but would love it to be correct.

Hearts Heritage

In the second half of the 1950s Hearts were second only to Rangers in terms of attendance and best in terms of League performance.

The sale of Dave MacKay and Alex Young in particular led to the decline of the team both in performance and attendance.

Average home league crowds in the first 20 years post WWII

1    1946-1951    Rangers    36653
2    1946-1951    Celtic    27336
3    1946-1951    Hibernian    27319
4    1946-1951    Heart Of Midlothian    24438

1    1951-1956    Rangers    35309
2    1951-1956    Celtic    26750
3    1951-1956    Hibernian    24986
4    1951-1956    Heart Of Midlothian    24103

1    1956-1961    Rangers    33820
2    1956-1961    Heart Of Midlothian    22572
3    1956-1961    Celtic    18922
4    1956-1961    Hibernian    17002

1    1961-1966    Rangers    30160
2    1961-1966    Celtic    22429
3    1961-1966    Heart Of Midlothian    13867
4    1961-1966    Hibernian    11277

League points Top Division

1946-47 to 1950-51

1    Hibernian    228
2    Rangers    226
3    Heart Of Midlothian    176
4    Partick Thistle    160
5    Aberdeen    152
5    Celtic    152
7    Dundee    147
8    Motherwell    136
9    Third Lanark    134
10    St Mirren    133

1951-52 to 1955-56

1    Rangers    211
2    Hibernian    201
3    Celtic    187
3    Heart Of Midlothian    187
5    Aberdeen    182
6    East Fife    165
7    Partick Thistle    157
8    Dundee    151
9    Queen of the South    149
10    St Mirren    142

1956-57 to 1960-61

1    Heart Of Midlothian    251
2    Rangers    247
3    Kilmarnock    213
4    Celtic    192
5    Motherwell    191
6    Dundee    178
7    Partick Thistle    169
8    Hibernian    165
9    Aberdeen    161
9    Raith Rovers    161

Looking at David's stats its obvious there was a boom time immediately after the war bigger crowds even in our best five years 56-61 our crowds were less on average.

So it seems that the achievements of Jock Stein's Celtic team might have been important in cementing their position, at a time when they could otherwise have been vulnerable?

There has been a big change in the last 30 years with the Old Firm virtually wiping out the support of all clubs in a 30 mile vicinity. The likes of St Mirren, Killie, Motherwell and Partick have seen support evaporate and Glasgow clubs like Clyde and going back further Third Lanark have gone.

????? ?

Manchester Utd. lost the entire spine of a first team at Munich in 1958 and won the European Cup 10 years later. Tragic though the decimation of the team was, what else hindered a recovery?

Man united were already established as one of the worlds biggest clubs

In the second half of the 1950s Hearts were second only to Rangers in terms of attendance and best in terms of League performance.

The sale of Dave MacKay and Alex Young in particular led to the decline of the team both in performance and attendance.

3    1946-1951    Hibernian    27319

3    1951-1956    Hibernian    24986

1    1956-1961    Rangers    338202    1956-1961    Heart Of Midlothian    22572

4    1956-1961    Hibernian    17002

3    1961-1966    Heart Of Midlothian    13867u

1946-47 to 1950-51

1    Hibernian    228

2    Rangers    226

3    Heart Of Midlothian    176

4    Partick Thistle    160

5    Aberdeen    152

5    Celtic    152

7    Dundee    147

8    Motherwell    136

9    Third Lanark    134

10    St Mirren    133

1951-52 to 1955-56

1    Rangers    211

2    Hibernian    201

3    Celtic    187

3    Heart Of Midlothian    187

5    Aberdeen    182

6    East Fife    165

7    Partick Thistle    157

8    Dundee    151

9    Queen of the South    149

10    St Mirren    142

1956-57 to 1960-61

1    Heart Of Midlothian    251

2    Rangers    247

3    Kilmarnock    213

4    Celtic    192

5    Motherwell    191

6    Dundee    178

7    Partick Thistle    169

8    Hibernian    165

9    Aberdeen    161

9    Raith Rovers    161

For many years in the 50's we were better supported than Celtic and second only to Rangers. We had the chance to be up there but blew it. I blame the sale of Willie Wallace to Celtic of all teams. Hearts were actually the best supported team in Scotland by gates perhaps on 3 occasions ( see " The Roar of the Crowd"). Strangely too the only others team in Scotland to have a 30,000 average apart from the Uglies was H1b5! We made about 28,000 I think.

Both World Wars halted us moving up to the next level in different ways. WW1 & McCrae's and WW2 when we were about to move to a massive new stadium which would have met the post war demand for football.

Looking forwards rather than backwards our crowds and wealth are increasing compared to our rivals in Scotland. In another 20 years who knows where we will be. Interesting stats though.

Sent from my ZTE Blade Q Mini using Tapatalk

Looking forwards rather than backwards our crowds and wealth are increasing compared to our rivals in Scotland. In another 20 years who knows where we will be. Interesting stats though.

Sent from my ZTE Blade Q Mini using Tapatalk

We could get into Scottish economic history and see West developed more than East.

We could get into Scottish social history and see maybe the religious 'divide' (restarted) in the West and spread East and elsewhere in the country.

And then maybe we could just accept how well things are going for Hearts now.

Yours in 'moving onup'

YW

N Lincs Jambo

????? ?

My maternal grandfather who grew up in the 1890s early 1900s was a Queens Park man from Glasgow. I obviously never met the guy so what he said was passed down by my mother. Basically Queens were the top top side in Scotland for many a year (even now they still have more SC wins than us) and even made 2 English FA Cup finals. When professionalism came into play, Queens totally refused to go down that route and I believe they are still amateur to this day. As late as the 1930s Queens would still play games against the top English amateur side Corinthians and get crowds of 85,000 plus at Hampden for that.

The interesting story for my grandad though is that when Queens missed the boat by staying amateur, football in the west went through a period of decline in interest until two clubs, who in those early days had actually been quite friendly to one another, decided at board level that they could attach themselves to certain "roots and traditions" within Scottish society and use that as a platform to build their support. I'll bet you will never guess who these previously friendly clubs were.....

The result is plain for all to see. Decent Glasgow clubs like Queens, Partick Thistle, Third Lanark, Clyde etc couldn't attract the fans who wanted to express their "faith" and "beliefs" through football and hence became "diddy" clubs whilst the gruesome twosome created this two-headed monster that remains a cancer to this day.

It is interesting to see the stats for attendances after the war for the 20 years up until 1966. Both Hearts and Hibs had periods as the second best supported sides in Scotland. In a way this is pretty unsurprising as for this period, Hearts had won the league twice as many times as Celtic and Hibs three times as many. I firmly believe that if Celtic hadn't had the support of the sectarian baggage, with the results they had for. that 20 year period, they could have ended up like a Motherwell or Partick Thistle. Fortunately for them and unfortuately for the rest of Scottish football they appointed Jock Stein (who was only the 3rd manager in their history at the time), and Jock Stein's football brain was miles ahead of anyone in Scotland at that time. Since Big Jock went to Celtic in 1965, the league has only gone out of Glasgow on 4 occassions, all in the 1980s.

My maternal grandfather who grew up in the 1890s early 1900s was a Queens Park man from Glasgow. I obviously never met the guy so what he said was passed down by my mother. Basically Queens were the top top side in Scotland for many a year (even now they still have more SC wins than us) and even made 2 English FA Cup finals. When professionalism came into play, Queens totally refused to go down that route and I believe they are still amateur to this day. As late as the 1930s Queens would still play games against the top English amateur side Corinthians and get crowds of 85,000 plus at Hampden for that.

The interesting story for my grandad though is that when Queens missed the boat by staying amateur, football in the west went through a period of decline in interest until two clubs, who in those early days had actually been quite friendly to one another, decided at board level that they could attach themselves to certain "roots and traditions" within Scottish society and use that as a platform to build their support. I'll bet you will never guess who these previously friendly clubs were.....

The result is plain for all to see. Decent Glasgow clubs like Queens, Partick Thistle, Third Lanark, Clyde etc couldn't attract the fans who wanted to express their "faith" and "beliefs" through football and hence became "diddy" clubs whilst the gruesome twosome created this two-headed monster that remains a cancer to this day.

It is interesting to see the stats for attendances after the war for the 20 years up until 1966. Both Hearts and Hibs had periods as the second best supported sides in Scotland. In a way this is pretty unsurprising as for this period, Hearts had won the league twice as many times as Celtic and Hibs three times as many. I firmly believe that if Celtic hadn't had the support of the sectarian baggage, with the results they had for. that 20 year period, they could have ended up like a Motherwell or Partick Thistle. Fortunately for them and unfortuately for the rest of Scottish football they appointed Jock Stein (who was only the 3rd manager in their history at the time), and Jock Stein's football brain was miles ahead of anyone in Scotland at that time. Since Big Jock went to Celtic in 1965, the league has only gone out of Glasgow on 4 occassions, all in the 1980s.

Good read.

I think though that the Board Level meetings you describe are fairly speculative, no ?

I think there was a time in the 20s/30s Hearts had a bigger support than Celtic for a period.

I think this led to a proposed 60,000 stadium at Sighthill which fell through?

There's no doubt we maybe missed a window of opportunity to expand as a club but WW2 and the reasons above about the West Coast growing in population most probably put paid to that.

N Lincs Jambo

Good read.

I think though that the Board Level meetings you describe are fairly speculative, no ?

They are speculative Busby in as much as any story passed down verbally is speculative. All I can say is that my mother wasn't really interested in football although she would have described herself as Hearts due to being born and brought up in West Edinburgh but that is the story she told me on many occasions and her story never varied. My grandad may have just been bitter about the demise of his team but who knows...

1 1946-1951 Rangers 36653

2 1946-1951 Celtic 27336

3 1946-1951 Hibernian 27319

4 1946-1951 Heart Of Midlothian 24438

1 1951-1956 Rangers 35309

2 1951-1956 Celtic 26750

3 1951-1956 Hibernian 24986

4 1951-1956 Heart Of Midlothian 24103

1 1956-1961 Rangers 33820

2 1956-1961 Heart Of Midlothian 22572

3 1956-1961 Celtic 18922

4 1956-1961 Hibernian 17002

1 1961-1966 Rangers 30160

2 1961-1966 Celtic 22429

3 1961-1966 Heart Of Midlothian 13867

4 1961-1966 Hibernian 11277

1946-47 to 1950-51

1 Hibernian 228

2 Rangers 226

3 Heart Of Midlothian 176

4 Partick Thistle 160

5 Aberdeen 152

5 Celtic 152

7 Dundee 147

8 Motherwell 136

9 Third Lanark 134

10 St Mirren 133

1951-52 to 1955-56

1 Rangers 211

2 Hibernian 201

3 Celtic 187

3 Heart Of Midlothian 187

5 Aberdeen 182

6 East Fife 165

7 Partick Thistle 157

8 Dundee 151

9 Queen of the South 149

10 St Mirren 142

1956-57 to 1960-61

1 Heart Of Midlothian 251

2 Rangers 247

3 Kilmarnock 213

4 Celtic 192

5 Motherwell 191

6 Dundee 178

7 Partick Thistle 169

8 Hibernian 165

9 Aberdeen 161

9 Raith Rovers 161

Apologise to come across petty but I've no doubt Hibs average was helped by having a bigger capacity for bigger matches.

It's no surprise their record gate is against us.

N Lincs Jambo

Apologise to come across petty but I've no doubt Hibs average was helped by having a bigger capacity for bigger matches.

I believe quite a few teams' record gate is against us. May be wrong but I believe these include Aberdeen, Airdrie, QotS as well as Hibs.

They are speculative Busby in as much as any story passed down verbally is speculative. All I can say is that my mother wasn't really interested in football although she would have described herself as Hearts due to being born and brought up in West Edinburgh but that is the story she told me on many occasions and her story never varied. My grandad may have just been bitter about the demise of his team but who knows...

Well, not quite,....the rest of your post has provenance through family connections and Hard Stats.

The idea that both the erse cheeks actually had Board Meetings to make a conscious decisions to become the gruesome entities they are today is probably speculative.

I'm happy to be proven wrong though ?

However, as I said, a good read nonetheless.

Decline started in the 60s. Despite the success of the team under Tommy Walker, the corporate structure of the club inhibited growth and started to sell best players to balance the books. And then we had the poor sides of the 70s prior to Wallace Mercer.

If you look back at attendance figures for Scottish clubs many highest figures were obtained when Hearts were the visitors.

N Lincs Jambo

Well, not quite,....the rest of your post has provenance through family connections and Hard Stats.

The idea that both the erse cheeks actually had Board Meetings to make a conscious decisions to become the gruesome entities they are today is probably speculative.

Can't prove you wrong Busby and in fairness I only ever said it was a story passed down verbally from my granddad who died in the 1950s to my mother who died in 2002.

In a way though it would have made good commercial sense. Scotland when I was growing up in the 60s/70s still had a lot of very regular church-goers and I would imagine that a century or so ago it would almost have been obligatory to attend church. It was a part of the fabric of life. So why not tap into this and build a support out of it? My own father who was born and brought up in Carnoustie and played briefly for Arbroath in the 1930s supported Celtic pretty much because that's what was expected by the priests (note not my dad but my dad's 2nd cousin who told me that) even though he had no links whatsoever to Glasgow or Ireland.

Can't prove you wrong Busby and in fairness I only ever said it was a story passed down verbally from my granddad who died in the 1950s to my mother who died in 2002.

In a way though it would have made good commercial sense. Scotland when I was growing up in the 60s/70s still had a lot of very regular church-goers and I would imagine that a century or so ago it would almost have been obligatory to attend church. It was a part of the fabric of life. So why not tap into this and build a support out of it? My own father who was born and brought up in Carnoustie and played briefly for Arbroath in the 1930s supported Celtic pretty much because that's what was expected by the priests (note not my dad but my dad's 2nd cousin who told me that) even though he had no links whatsoever to Glasgow or Ireland.

There is no doubt that both have benefited from a combination of social demographics and religious bigotry.

My own thoughts are that the latter was just a gradual migration of feeble minds in a densely populated area to one flag or the other.

Ediit : just re-read your post. 

All due respect to your father of course.

????? ?

In a nutshell!

Take away the sectarianism and it would be a much more level playing field - much closer.

Many of the fans who travel to see the Two Cheeks would contribute to local teams.

Of course, there will always be glory hunters and, therefore, success will draw fans.

It has been well documented although my references are not at hand or in my head. Basically Rangers had won nothing since their inception till Celtic were formed. The establishment in Scotland begged the QP board to become professional to deal with the threat of Celtic (who were immediately successful after nicking most of Hibs first 11). Because QP refused, they then approached Rangers and the combination of this and recent Ulster immigration to the shipyards meant Rangers suddenly started winning things. As far as crowds go, the Roar of the Crowd by David Ross is an excellent read. He lists attendances as far as can be verified and Hearts were the best supported team in the 1920s. And we won damn all. 

Hearts Heritage

It had a very minor impact

Rounding all their 50,000 plus crowds down to 50,000 (Hearts maximum capacity)

Their average was only 371 better over those 5 year periods

3    1946-1951    Hibernian    27319    27051    268

3    1951-1956    Hibernian    24986    24645    341

1    1956-1961    Rangers    33820   

2    1956-1961    Heart Of Midlothian    22572  

4    1956-1961    Hibernian    17002    16955    47

3    1961-1966    Heart Of Midlothian    13867   

Even if you reduce it to 45,000 the maximum difference is 666

1946-1951    Hibernian    27319    26784    535

1951-1956    Hibernian    24986    24320    666

1956-1961    Hibernian    17002    16847    155

Reading a book that covers this very subject at the moment...Battle for Hearts and minds...well worth a read

Thanks Sinks, I'll have a look for it. :thumbsup:

Hearts were on a par with Rangers and Celtic  more or less  in the period from 1920  to 1960s  In my dads time

in terms of support coming to matches,

as a supporter we could raise  30  to 40 K support, not sure if at Tynie or at Hampden. 

I cant see why we drifted to under  20K paying supporters. 

Hearts were on a par with Rangers and Celtic  more or less  in the period from 1920  to 1960s  In my dads time

in terms of support coming to matches,

as a supporter we could raise  30  to 40 K support, not sure if at Tynie or at Hampden. 

I cant see why we drifted to under  20K paying supporters. 

yes we could get 30 to 40k for big games and we still can

but the core support was nowhere near that

even in the 50's when we were the best team in the country we could get league gates of 14/15,000

as others said once we started selling our best players for a pittance in the late 50's when we were the top team in the country

the fans got quickly disillusioned and the crowds dwindled

the way things went in the 60's and 70's we could easily have ended up a part time diddy team for ever more

for most of the 60's and 70's hibs were a far better team and had bigger crowds

Luckily it's all changed now

For all his faults it shows how important the Mercer takeover was to start us on the road

When I was boy I got Boys Book of Soccer for Christmas, my two memories were Sam Bartram as a great goalie featured in the book, the other was a comment that the two richest teams in the world at that time were Rangers and Arsenal.  I don't remember Hearts ever being that big, Celtic always had a big support, but I was just a boy I don't remember them although with a good following being as big a  power as Rangers.  Through the years Celtic became a power, as did Hearts in the fifties. In my memory, which like everything else is not as strong as it once was is that Celtic became the major partner in power as it now is, probably in the sixties until today. I am sure, and don't argue the point others may have a completely different view

Was that the Charlie Buchan version which I also got every year together with the Hugh Taylor Scottish equivalent. 

Thanks to everyone who has contributed to this thread so far. Really interesting stuff.

I wonder if, over the next century, as religion becomes less important in Scottish society, supporting a local team might become more popular again.

I guess it will take a very long time as the tribalism associated with the Old Firm is so ingrained and because those clubs are so successful and it is success that attracts supporters which in turn keeps them strong.

Sent from my GT-I8190N using Tapatalk

It was before my time when Hearts could be considered a genuine force on a par with the OF. In my lifetime, even during the 80s when it wasn't unusual for Rangers or Celtic to finish as low as 5th, we never got as close to them as Dundee Utd and Aberdeen did on a more regular basis. We were getting there during the 90s until money came into football - around the time of the arrival of Souness at Rangers - and they stretched away from everyone else. To our credit we've been the team that has made the best job of at least trying to get closer to them over the last 25 years or so, even if it ultimately led to us going into admin.

Something we never seemed to do under previous regimes though was strengthen the squad when we were going well during a season. I think the Budge-Levein combo get that the time to strengthen is when we're in a good position to keep the momentum going, so I'm optimistic that we could challenge in a one-off season - unless Rangers and Celtic go back to their old spending ways.

Personally I have never been more optimistic for the future of the Hearts. For a number of reasons.

1. Foundation of Hearts - The fact the club will be owned by the supporters i.e. the community which it represents, will mean that the decisions taken should be for the benefit of the club and not for some outside body which is basically using the club for its own ends.

2. The fact that the Greater Edinburgh area has a growing population and increasing prosperity while the Glasgow area is in long term decline will mean that within the next generation Edinburgh will overtake Glasgow as the largest Scottish city. The fact that there is more prosperity in the capital city should have a positive impact upon the clubs which play in Edinburgh.

3. The fact that the Celtic & particularly the Rangers support have not come to terms with the fact that they are in European terms minnows. Sooner or later the penny will drop forcing these clubs to begin living within their means. This will have an adverse effect upon attendances at the two ugly sisters.

4. Trading off the politics of Northern Ireland has frankly had its day. The two Glasgow clubs (again particularly Rangers) will have great difficulty in creating new healthier, non-sectarian identities. They will have to do this to conform with the new Scottish society which abhors the vile sectarian rivalry, however many of their hard-core supporters will lose interest when the clubs no longer represent the outdated ideologies which they currently identify with.

Personally I have never been more optimistic for the future of the Hearts. For a number of reasons.

1. Foundation of Hearts - The fact the club will be owned by the supporters i.e. the community which it represents, will mean that the decisions taken should be for the benefit of the club and not for some outside body which is basically using the club for its own ends.

2. The fact that the Greater Edinburgh area has a growing population and increasing prosperity while the Glasgow area is in long term decline will mean that within the next generation Edinburgh will overtake Glasgow as the largest Scottish city. The fact that there is more prosperity in the capital city should have a positive impact upon the clubs which play in Edinburgh.

3. The fact that the Celtic & particularly the Rangers support have not come to terms with the fact that they are in European terms minnows. Sooner or later the penny will drop forcing these clubs to begin living within their means. This will have an adverse effect upon attendances at the two ugly sisters.

4. Trading off the politics of Northern Ireland has frankly had its day. The two Glasgow clubs (again particularly Rangers) will have great difficulty in creating new healthier, non-sectarian identities. They will have to do this to conform with the new Scottish society which abhors the vile sectarian rivalry, however many of their hard-core supporters will lose interest when the clubs no longer represent the outdated ideologies which they currently identify with.

Good post & all the points true in their way. But I suspect optimistic- the West of Scotland press will continue to see Rangers & Celtic as the only show in town despite all the massive demographic & cultural changes you rightly outline.

Anyway one for Davie this- was there ever a time Hearts (or Hibs & I've even heard it said about Dundee) had the biggest average attendance in a season or is that not true? I know the famous 65,840 Hibs- Hearts New Years Day crowd was bigger than the Old Firm crowd the same day but wondered if that ever translated across a season. Cheers.

Hearts Heritage

Anyway one for Davie this- was there ever a time Hearts (or Hibs & I've even heard it said about Dundee) had the biggest average attendance in a season or is that not true? I know the famous 65,840 Hibs- Hearts New Years Day crowd was bigger than the Old Firm crowd the same day but wondered if that ever translated across a season. Cheers.

Home League Averages

Dundee twice

Hearts 4 times

1    1890-91    Celtic    5311

1    1891-92    Celtic    7636

1    1892-93    Celtic    9111

1    1893-94    Celtic    5944

1    1894-95    Celtic    7888

1    1895-96    Celtic    10366

1    1896-97    Celtic    11333

1    1897-98    Celtic    13055

1    1898-99    Celtic    12240

1    1899-00    Rangers    12111

1    1900-01    Rangers    9250

1    1901-02    Rangers    12888

1    1902-03    Dundee    11118

1    1903-04    Dundee    10192

1    1904-05    Rangers    14322

1    1905-06    Rangers    10566

1    1906-07    Celtic    13117

1    1907-08    Celtic    13617

1    1908-09    Rangers    16705

1    1909-10    Rangers    14470

1    1910-11    Rangers    16147

1    1911-12    Rangers    20529

1    1912-13    Rangers    21470

1    1913-14    Rangers    21394

1    1914-15    Rangers    14947

1    1915-16    Rangers    12210

1    1916-17    Rangers    12526

1    1917-18    Celtic    15058

1    1918-19    Rangers    21117

1    1919-20    Rangers    21380

1    1920-21    Rangers    23488

1    1921-22    Rangers    23857

1    1922-23    Rangers    22631

1    1923-24    Heart Of Midlothian    16263

1    1924-25    Heart Of Midlothian    17815

1    1925-26    Heart Of Midlothian    18368

1    1926-27    Rangers    17578

1    1927-28    Rangers    21263

1    1928-29    Rangers    19736

1    1929-30    Rangers    21578

1    1930-31    Rangers    20184

1    1931-32    Rangers    20368

1    1932-33    Rangers    16631

1    1933-34    Rangers    16894

1    1934-35    Rangers    19526

1    1935-36    Heart Of Midlothian    18362

1    1936-37    Rangers    20253

1    1937-38    Rangers    21578

1    1938-39    Rangers    23082

Home League Averages

Dundee twice

Hearts 4 times

1 1890-91 Celtic 5311

1 1891-92 Celtic 7636

1 1892-93 Celtic 9111

1 1893-94 Celtic 5944

1 1894-95 Celtic 7888

1 1895-96 Celtic 10366

1 1896-97 Celtic 11333

1 1897-98 Celtic 13055

1 1898-99 Celtic 12240

1 1899-00 Rangers 12111

1 1900-01 Rangers 9250

1 1901-02 Rangers 12888

1 1902-03 Dundee 11118

1 1903-04 Dundee 10192

1 1904-05 Rangers 14322

1 1905-06 Rangers 10566

1 1906-07 Celtic 13117

1 1907-08 Celtic 13617

1 1908-09 Rangers 16705

1 1909-10 Rangers 14470

1 1910-11 Rangers 16147

1 1911-12 Rangers 20529

1 1912-13 Rangers 21470

1 1913-14 Rangers 21394

1 1914-15 Rangers 14947

1 1915-16 Rangers 12210

1 1916-17 Rangers 12526

1 1917-18 Celtic 15058

1 1918-19 Rangers 21117

1 1919-20 Rangers 21380

1 1920-21 Rangers 23488

1 1921-22 Rangers 23857

1 1922-23 Rangers 22631

1 1923-24 Heart Of Midlothian 16263

1 1924-25 Heart Of Midlothian 17815

1 1925-26 Heart Of Midlothian 18368

1 1926-27 Rangers 17578

1 1927-28 Rangers 21263

1 1928-29 Rangers 19736

1 1929-30 Rangers 21578

1 1930-31 Rangers 20184

1 1931-32 Rangers 20368

1 1932-33 Rangers 16631

1 1933-34 Rangers 16894

1 1934-35 Rangers 19526

1 1935-36 Heart Of Midlothian 18362

1 1936-37 Rangers 20253

1 1937-38 Rangers 21578

1 1938-39 Rangers 23082

Trenendous info as ever Davie, thanks. Interesting that our top years weren't in the late 40s & 50s when I think I'm right in saying we often hit around 28,000 average.

Hearts Heritage

Post WWII top 4 league attendances

1    1946-47    Rangers    28466
2    1946-47    Hibernian    24225
3    1946-47    Celtic    19860
4    1946-47    Heart Of Midlothian    19309
1    1947-48    Rangers    28400
2    1947-48    Hibernian    27950
3    1947-48    Heart Of Midlothian    23624
4    1947-48    Celtic    21000
1    1948-49    Rangers    44600
2    1948-49    Celtic    37171