What's the craic with...

Millfield_Mackem

It's a lot of pish.

Just incase your not aware, the SPL is a complete and utter joke.

Dirk Diggler
This top and bottom 6 split thingymebob?

It's a diddy structure in a diddy league in a diddy country.

If i tried to explain it to you completely, You'd have a whole load of new questions at the ready.

Most likely the same questions we've been asking for years.

:confused:

Millfield_Mackem
It's a lot of pish.

Common knowledge?

Seriously, what's the craic?

What happens is the good teams get into the top 6 and the not as good teams get in the bottom 6. As for hearts,we dont deserve to be in the bottom 6,we deserve to be in the scottish 3rd division.

Roll on bloody july when it can all start again.

Dirk Diggler
we deserve to be in the scottish 3rd division.

Stop being so bloody melodramatic.

Are you on the blob?

It was supposed to make the end of the season more exciting.

The top 6 teams play off for the European slots.

The bottom 6 teams play off against each other to avoid relegation.

In practise it's a load of pesh.

It simply gives the Old Firm one game each against all the better team that are threatening them.

Millfield_Mackem

It simply gives the Old Firm one game each against all the better team that are threatening them.

Sounds like a load of cacbabble to me.

Stop being so bloody melodramatic.

Are you on the blob?

I wish,it would give me a reason to be so ***kin angry at Shaggy for not doing the obvious and starting a must win game with 2 players up front!!!

Unfortunately my periods havent started yet.....

I am a 35 year old male,is this normal???;)

something we have to put up with....starting to look like you'se might be staying up I think- well done....:)

It was a crazy idea,this split,only in Scotland could a bottom 7 club end up with more points than a to 6,its madness

Not really.

Whoever makes it to 6th place before the split is usually a pesh team.

They then have to play both of the Uglies plus the (usually) two/three teams fighting for 3rd spot.

The 7th placed team have to play diddies. No wonder 7th always ends up with more points than 6th.

01/02 season: 6th place Dunfermline 46 points. 7th place Killie 49 points.

02/03 season: 6th place Dundee 44 points. 7th place Hibs 51 points.

03/04 season: 6th place Motherwell 46 points. 7th place Dundee 46 points.

04/05 season: 6th place Motherwell 48 points. 7th place Killie 49 points.

05/06 season: 6th place Aberdeen 54 points. 7th place ICT 58 points.

06/07 season: 6th place Hibs 49 points. 7th place Falkirk 50 points.

This top and bottom 6 split thingymebob?

It's a lot of pish.

Is it cause we are ****e and can't get there ...

Would be the other way round if it was reversed :sad:

Imeantasong

I think we saw it operating in Austria and Switzerland or something.

We probably thought there's a crap idea, let's introduce it and give our English telly companies something else to take the pesh out of.

It really is a nonsense.

How did we ever manage with having a simple league?

16-20 teams, playing each other twice. Dumbasses.

Dirk Diggler
It's a diddy structure in a diddy league in a diddy country.

If i tried to explain it to you completely, You'd have a whole load of new questions at the ready.

Most likely the same questions we've been asking for years.

01/02 season: 6th place Dunfermline 46 points. 7th place Killie 49 points.

02/03 season: 6th place Dundee 44 points. 7th place Hibs 51 points.

03/04 season: 6th place Motherwell 46 points. 7th place Dundee 46 points.

04/05 season: 6th place Motherwell 48 points. 7th place Killie 49 points.

05/06 season: 6th place Aberdeen 54 points. 7th place ICT 58 points.

06/07 season: 6th place Hibs 49 points. 7th place Falkirk 50 points.

Told you.

It's horse****. An absolute joke.

Mind you, the fact that we have 1 up one down & no play offs as well as a **** poorly small league with some decent 1st division sides just says it all about the set up.

Booooooorrrrrriiiiinnnng!

O.F M O R E M O N E Y

Common knowledge?

Seriously, what's the craic?

Are English people generally this clueless about Scottish football? Not a personal dig, just a wondering.

RockyBalboa

Think it's also to reduce the nummber of games in a season.

I actually think it's pretty good unless you are in the position of not having anything to play for when it comes about. Happened to Hibs under blobby and it was pish. But if your going for Europe or in a dogfight it can be quite good. Also means you don't have to play the pish teams again. :cool:

Is it cause we are ****e and can't get there ...

Would be the other way round if it was reversed :sad:

No, it's still absolute pish.

What is there to celebrate about finishing in the top 6 of a 12 team league?!

Think it's also to reduce the nummber of games in a season.

that was one of the ideas, as they introduced it when they increased the league to 12 teams, however now we play two extra games!!!!

I actually think it's pretty good unless you are in the position of not having anything to play for when it comes about. how can u actually justify that statement!? Happened to Hibs under blobby and it was pish. But if your going for Europe or in a dogfight it can be quite good. Also means you don't have to play the pish teams again. :cool:

the split, like most of scottish football is a joke.

Its a pish set up ,made to protect the old firm duopoly and to conn the fans of other teams to settle with and feel happy about there lack of ambition by thinking coming 3rd or in some cases 6th is actually winning something.

RockyBalboa
the split, like most of scottish football is a joke.

Because the teams playing for Europe play each other instead of a pish team and you get big matches against the OF instead of pish like Gretna or St Mirren. Also if your a team like Falkirk and Killie it's really beneficial financial wise.

Its a pish set up ,made to protect the old firm duopoly and to conn the fans of other teams to settle with and feel happy about there lack of ambition by thinking coming 3rd or in some cases 6th is actually winning something.

It works though!. How many people were wetting themselves that we might qualify for the "top six", ya fecking beauty!!!!

Except we didn't!

Hearts are now a bottom six club, sobering thought eh?.

Because the teams playing for Europe play each other instead of a pish team and you get big matches against the OF instead of pish like Gretna or St Mirren. Also if your a team like Falkirk and Killie it's really beneficial financial wise.

but a team could still be playing for europe and be in the bottom 6 and suddenly find themselves out the running!!!

also, before the split everyone got 'big' matches against the OF.

Lastly, is it really that financially beneficial?

RockyBalboa
but a team could still be playing for europe and be in the bottom 6 and suddenly find themselves out the running!!!

also, before the split everyone got 'big' matches against the OF.

Lastly, is it really that financially beneficial?

Very good point in number 1. Thankfully never happened.

True again, but it was too many games per season in a 12 team league.

A telly match against the old firm is going to be a lot more financially beneficial than a match against a bottom club with a pish support so yeah.

It's just another way for Romanov to embarrass us further!

You'd think he'd run out of ways to do so.

Next someone will be claiming Vlads back picking the team. I dunno say insisting Jose plays ahead of Wallace

Anyway, is the zip up my back a bit loose mate?

It also doesn't help that you aren't guaranteed to play an equal number of home and away games over the season. And neither does the fact that the split occurs after playing each other 3 times,which means that you may have played all the better teams twice away from home and once at home.

Whose idea was it anyway? Campbell Ogilvie put forward the Champions' League..did he do the "split" too?