Brookside ?

Csaba's Broon Shoes

Who remembers watching Brookie on a Saturday night throughout the 80s/90s

Who were you favourite characters and what were your memorable episodes ?

i loved brookside when i was younger

it was great when it was all gritty and "real" in the early days then when it went ridiculous it was just hilarious.

never really had a favourite character but jimmy corkhill was a bit of a legend

Csaba's Broon Shoes

The Yuppie couple with half brick mobile phones

Sinbad the window cleaner

Terry and Barry , alright , calm down

Mad John storyline , weirdo or what

The Jordache family , under the patio

The tidy bird with long black hair , Sammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmy

The mobbie , a shop on wheels

The old fart boring couple with the hibby son

Max the tom tank, with an oily rag of a wife

Nephilim Scotty

Loved Brookie, watched it for years, I really had a thing for the younger Jordash sister, curvy:dribble:

Genius TV - Sinbad was my favourite character.

I maintain that when he appeared in Corrie he should have been called sinbad and been a window cleaner.

Jackie Dickson and her mate Katie Rogers were tidy.

And Rachel* with the large knockers who i think might have been Anna Friels wee sister.

Gerard Kelly was a gangster in it for a while.

Used to love a bit of Brookside.

*Who was the daughter of Football League journeyman Les Chapman. Wee bit of Sunday trivia for you there.

Sin bad. That black dude (Can't rememebr his name) And jennifer Ellison. Bliss.

Mick ! Couple of years ago in Liverpool I pulled his sister-in-law :dribble: !

Was there no a brother & sister that played hide the sausage with each other.

:boak:

Nat and Georgia i think.

Brookie in the eighties was head & shoulders above other soaps.

There's never been a character since to touch the brilliantly menacing Barry Grant; who did us all a favour by pushing Sue off some scaffolding.

He also maaged to get his hands on some classy birds ...like the lovely Julie Peasgood from the frozen peas adverts !

juliepeasgoodws.jpg

:loved:

Damon & Debbie, Barry & Terry the original White Van Men, Billy Corkhill and his biscuit tin, Rod the Plod,

Sad it had to end, was far better than twee Corrie!

Brookside was essential TV.

My sister has some videos and they are spin offs of Brookside.

It's about Jimmys daughter getting married (cannae mind her name) and she ends up shooting someone or something along those lines!

Jimmy Corkhill - a god amongst men!

Made me think drugs were cool! :cool:

Damon & Debbie, Barry & Terry the original White Van Men, Billy Corkhill and his biscuit tin, Rod the Plod,

Damon was brilliant at the start.I cannot remember the name of his friend who got cult status with his looks and antics(might be Gizmo though not sure).

Harry Cross was also a legend.

Does anyone remember they brought out episodes that you got on VHS, special late night ones?

I loved brookside - never fully understood it all as I was only about 7/8 at the time. My mum and dad would have it on, so would always watch it.

Damon was brilliant at the start.I cannot remember the name of his friend who got cult status with his looks and antics(might be Gizmo though not sure).

Harry Cross was also a legend.

Harry Cross was brilliant the original Miserable Old Git that has nothing better to do than poke his nose in everyone elses business, he had a downtrodden mate too, was his name Ralph or something?

Harry Cross was even in The Farm's video for Groovy Train!

Harry Cross was brilliant the original Miserable Old Git that has nothing better to do than poke his nose in everyone elses business, he had a downtrodden mate too, was his name Ralph or something?

Ralph Hardwick ....also appeared on Porridge.

Can't believ Harry Cross is dead now.....RIP

Now there's a word i would never have thought to use to describe Coronation Street!

Brookside had it's moments, but the whining Scouse accent was too much to take at times.

Tommy McArdle if your interested...

MalcolmTierney.jpg

So was one of the burds, i think they are on the Mersey Ferry.

I forget her name.

Jimmy Corkhill on E was the best telly ever. Fact.

THe lights, the lights.......

Awesome and sadly missed in my household.

They even had a hobo story line just to cater for everyone, there was a brother and sister humpin each other, and the sister was very very tidy!!

the jimmy corkhill/manic depression story line was excellent - and really well handled too.