Things that annoy you on a night out

RoyCropper

When people who are convinced they are 'characters' with "great bants" try to talk to you or try to show off. 99% of these creatures are absolutely deluded no-marks who fancy themselves as something important/interesting when they couldn't be further from reality. Tbh, the pub/club scene in Edinburgh is pretty much garbage when compared to Glasgow.

I moved through to Glasgow the start of last year and haven't looked back. Its a million miles ahead of Edinburgh for a good night out. Plenty of good bars and clubs and the tottie is outstanding. None of this george street ramjet types who think they are above you and clubs like subclub and the arches offer decent techno/drum n bass/electro nights!

Just looking at some of these phots....jesus :yucky: I seriously wouldn't be bothered if the only place in Edinburgh I ever scooped in again was Gorige/Dalry :thumbsup:

• Replies 383

166326_10150091381994697_132358979696_5840695_7551394_n.jpg

What an absolute selection of freaks.

Luckily for that boy, he has a big tongue because he sure isnt going to get any birds with his looks.

Loving the girl/bloke on the left too, nice touch, keeping her options open.

The place you go to is secondary to the company you are in.

The Hive is a hole, of that there can be no doubt, yet Teenwolf has enjoyed a few good nights in there. It is what it is, a dive that is easy to pull in. Personal highlight: 18 year old dressed up as a pirate about 10 months ago. Best walk of shame ever.

Better than the ghastly over-priced abominations in George Street at any rate. I was in Lulus on Saturday, what I saw was essentially everything that is wrong with Edinburgh and indeed western civilisation in mircocosm.

?10 to get in :what:

A barman who ignored anyone who didn't have tits.

?8.35 for a vodka and coke and a Peroni and when I paid by card, the cheeky barsteward actually put a tip into the card reader.

I was sober enough to tell him to GTF

I ditched the bird I'd gone in with after about an hour and went home. In fairness, some of the talent in there was outstanding but probably not worth emptying one's bank account in pursuit of. The other positive was I woke up on Sunday without any kind of hangover.

The Hive: because sometimes you can't be arsed making an effort

Thats tame compared to the one I saw. I saw a guy in his twenties doing a walk of shame, this guy had shoulder length hair that was scruffy, smoking a cigerette and wearing a bright yellow tweetie-pie costume with the head hanging behind him. He had all this on while walking through Bridgeston, an area to put it into context is a just under a mile from Celtic Park and has three pubs in a row with union flags/northern ireland flags, and has orange order marches every so often, so you have to say that is quite surreal. (By the way I was in the area getting food between rows on the Clyde (it is right next to Glasgow Green.)

I blummin' love The Hive mainly because of my last visit there where so many incredible things happened;

A limbo contest using a cardigan as the bar

My mate taking his shoes off on the dance floor and putting them on his hands for about 7 songs

Pulling a bird on the dance floor, her showing me her axe wound then going outside with her where she said;

"Oh, there's my boyfriend"

And went off to tell him she'd pulled me.

I left fairly quickly after that, not before my mate put a cigarette doon his winker.

You try getting that on George Street.

I'd like to point out at this juncture that at no stage did I rip anyone I knew. I prefer the coward's way of anonymity. Tazio will need to watch his back though. :thumbsup:

Why? Is someone going to spit on it?

Used to go for pints with a group of guys from work, followed by the inevitable "let's go for something to eat"

Usually a pizza house

Then there's the one guy who has the steak, claiming he's allergic to tomatoes

Then there's the splitting of the bill

And it's always the one who has the steak who suggests splitting the bill :down::angry:

1) People who are in a large group crowding round the bar while 1 person buys the drinks, thus blocking the bar so no one else can get in about the bar.

2) When queuing at the bar and its extremely busy, people who wave their notes in the air trying to get served first. If I was a barman i would serve these people last.

3) People who have no concept of a queue at the taxi rank. Wait your turn you erse.

4) When i go for a piss, someone at the next urinal I have never seen in my life, asking me - "Having a good night mate?" Erm aye i am but i prefer to do my socialising at the bar and not the toilets.

5) Another toilet related one. When in an open urinal, there is no else but you and someone comes in and stands right next to you! If you want to go willie watching go somewhere else.

Jeez i sound like a right hoot on a night out. Must be getting old! These things dont make or break my night out but just little things that annoy me. :thumbsup:

Whats yours?

Some pretty depressing reading on this thread, and reminders of why I had settled into a weekend routine of rarely doing anything other than the Gorgie shuffle.

The boozer scene where I am now is a million miles away from Edinburgh - and almost every aspect is better.

Youve just made that up if your honest,because in real life only a woos would allow a barman to take there money and make them apologise..total p@sh in my eyes.The last thing most people would be is nice to a dick of a barperson behaving like that. Id probably get a life ban oot the place. <_<

no he hasnt. we used to do the same thing 20 years ago, if some muppet expects civility after waving a 20 in my face shouting 'mate, mate' trying to be billy big baws then the lost money for 5 minutes, you would be suprised how nice people are when you go back up to them hand them there cash and then say 'now what would you like?'

also takes them about 3-4 mins to realise whats happened........

no he hasnt. we used to do the same thing 20 years ago, if some muppet expects civility after waving a 20 in my face shouting 'mate, mate' trying to be billy big baws then the lost money for 5 minutes, you would be suprised how nice people are when you go back up to them hand them there cash and then say 'now what would you like?'

also takes them about 3-4 mins to realise whats happened........

Not that I'm enough of a prick to be waving money at barstaff but if they done the above to me my response would be to order a handfull of strange drinks, possible random shooters or cocktails that are a pain in the erse to make and then just as they are about finsished i would simply walk out possibly citing their attitude as the reason prior to doing so!

Have spent enough time behind bars to know that in every shift you will get erses at the bar but retorts as per the above are few and far between, simply because it's not worth the hassle! Much easier to just serve those all around said erse first!

Not that I'm enough of a prick to be waving money at barstaff but if they done the above to me my response would be to order a handfull of strange drinks, possible random shooters or cocktails that are a pain in the erse to make and then just as they are about finsished i would simply walk out possibly citing their attitude as the reason prior to doing so!

Have spent enough time behind bars to know that in every shift you will get erses at the bar but retorts as per the above are few and far between, simply because it's not worth the hassle! Much easier to just serve those all around said erse first!

The erseholes that do it wouldnt have the brains to think of your suggestion :rolleyes:

Anyway that was really busy bars that i ran 3 or 4 deep on a friday/sat night, there's loads of different ways to deal with the diks as you say, but some of them deserved the money taken away approach :ninja:

Fantastic thread. Really enjoyed the hive pictures and the curry chat :thumbsup:

Surprised Cav hasn't been mentioned.

General thoughts?

Guest C00l K1d

Fantastic thread. Really enjoyed the hive pictures and the curry chat :thumbsup:

General thoughts?

It's still shite but no as bad as it used to be (well it didn't seem as bad as how my parents made it out to be when it was actually cav)

I am rather drunk and bored right now so I thought I would have a gander at this thread...some of you moan waaaay too much and sound like old men!! The photos of the Hive make me never want to go there though haha :thumbsup:

Conclusions from the above.

1 - I am too old for The Hive.

2 - Even if I wasn't too old for The Hive, I wouldn't be going to The Hive.

3 - I.J, despite being older than bighusref, is desperately grabbing for yoof by attending said evening nite spots.

Incidently, I think that I.J, was recently in one of these photo albums. If I recall, wearing an interesting tie.

1. Correct

2. Correct

3. Incorrect

Your further comment, has factuality to begin with, then a combination of age and senility letting you down.

Once again, I like the Hive. It's no Citrus Club, but.

thumbsup.gif

I am rather drunk and bored right now so I thought I would have a gander at this thread...some of you moan waaaay too much and sound like old men!! The photos of the Hive make me never want to go there though haha :thumbsup:

Drunk a girl, you ok huh.gif

Really? It's not the first time I've been drunk and yep I am awesome thanks :teehee:

Being asked by bouncers "where u been the night then" gets on my paps! None of your business you ?7 a hour rent a gimp..a simple aye or naw would suffice!!

Thinly veiled 'I was too drunk to remember and got knocked back'

It's called a test - if you can answer without stumbling, dribbling, slurring, throw up or being unable to stand straight - you pass. If not then it's the old 'not tonight pal'.

And I am not being funny, but ?7 an hour? :down:

I wouldn't get out of my bed for that.

It's called a test - if you can answer without stumbling, dribbling, slurring, throw up or being unable to stand straight - you pass. If not then it's the old 'not tonight pal'.

Agreed, especially the second part! Why would anyone fork out ?445 to get a SIA licence so they can work for ?7 an hour???

This gets my goat. If I go to a bar I always make sure that whoever was there before me gets served before me. Every time. I expect the same in return but very rarely does it happen. Quite a lot of folk are surprised if I get offered service first and pass it off to the guy who's been waiting longer. Hopefully they do the same for someone else because of it.

Barney Stinson, fixing the world one step at a time.

I done exactly this in the Ardmillan before the derby. :thumbsup:

I was waiting for ages but the boy in front had been waiting even longer when the barman served a woman who just arrived. We had a laugh about it and shook our heads. The barman then came to serve me but I told him the boy in front was before me. I got served next anyway and I think the barman was surprised at my honesty and decided to serve me next. :thumbsup:

I can't remember if it's been on this thread or if it even exists, but there should be a 'Bar etiquette' addition to this thread.

Simple things like the above would make the world a happier place.

I can't remember if it's been on this thread or if it even exists, but there should be a 'Bar etiquette' addition to this thread.

Simple things like the above would make the world a happier place.

As one of my mates likes to say.....'its nice to be nice' :thumbsup:

Or "Good manners cost nothing" as my Gran used to say

Maybe the most frustrating thing on a night out is when you give up your go to someone else who has been waiting longer. Then once the barman has finished serving them he/she buggers off and serves someone else.

It's called a test - if you can answer without stumbling, dribbling, slurring, throw up or being unable to stand

straight - you pass. If not then it's the old 'not tonight pal'.

Seriously I've been knocked back completely sober plenty of times by power hungry bouncers!

As for the ?7 an hour chat to be honest I'm not really sure what those idiots earn but I bet it's a pittance for standing on the doors working extremely unsociable hours. Saying that the large majority of doormen I've had the pleasure of meeting probably don't have too many mates anyway so I doubt this bothers them.

The classic 'bouncers earn crap money, are power hungry and have no friends' argument.

I lose count every weekend at how many drunk, over-excited 'plebs' bring out this 'gem'.

Maybe you should have a word with those people who can't behave themselves when they have had a drink......then there would be no need for 'power hungry' bouncers.

If you are ever unfortunate enough to get smacked in the face by some yob in a pub/club - I fully expect you to tell the bouncers to let him continue because you don't want their help.

The classic 'bouncers earn crap money, are power hungry and have no friends' argument.

I lose count every weekend at how many drunk, over-excited 'plebs' bring out this 'gem'.

Maybe you should have a word with those people who

can't behave themselves when they have had a drink......then there would be no need for 'power hungry' bouncers.

If you are ever unfortunate enough to get smacked in the face by some yob in a pub/club - I fully expect you to tell the bouncers to let him continue because you don't want

their help.

Sorry I'f I've offended you but that's my opinion on doormen in general. I'm sure there are thousands of other who agree.

I tend not to drink in estsblishments that attract jumped up plebs so don't expect to be saved by a "hero" bouncer anytime soon.

Who do you think stops the 'unwanted crowd' from coming into places where they would not be wanted?

Juan Rom?n Riquelme

There are a lot of good bouncers and a lot of bad bouncers, just like with any profession. Usually if you treat them with a bit of respect and don't have the general attitude that they're ersehole bouncers they're alright.

Agreed and the longer SIA licenses are in place then the bad bouncers will be rooted out!

Recently me and my mate (who is SIA licensed) had to pull the doorman of the pub we were in off a guy because the bouncers reaction was way OTT, said bouncer has been sacked from the pub, sacked by the security firm that provided him, reported to the Police and reported to SIA.

It's wannabe hardmen like him that make the job a lot more difficult for everyone else!

General thoughts?

Hell hole.

?4.20 a drink in recent weeks, and takes about 45 minutes to get served.

The snatch is unreal though.

<br />The classic 'bouncers earn crap money, are power hungry and have no friends' argument.

Maybe you should have a word with those people who can't behave themselves when they have had a drink......then there would be no need for 'power hungry' bouncers.

If you are ever unfortunate enough to get smacked in the face by some yob in a pub/club - I fully expect you to tell the bouncers to let him continue because you don't want their help.<br />

<br /><br />

Well said that man.

I get on with just about every bouncer at my work. They are all sound, down to earth guys who are just doing a tough job. Some of the stick they get is incredible. I just dot get the arrogance of some people.

I would never work at a bar that didn't employ bouncers because it's just not worth the intimidation you face otherwise.

One thing this thread has taught me is that high quality, high definition digital photography and ugly, sweaty scottish people just don't go.

this

If you are ever unfortunate enough to get smacked in the face by some yob in a pub/club - I fully expect you to tell the bouncers to let him continue because you don't want their help.

It's the sort of patter that....

Folk who have been in trouble with the police use.

Naughty fans use to talk about stewards.

In general, folk that behave in pubs don't complain about bouncers. Although, of course, there are always exceptions.

i know two of the folk in this photo, standard Hive client?le. Mutants.

I know the girl with the pink hair, she lives across the road from me hahaha

Bit of a low point for me, but I was in this situation and politely asked the girls to go to the back of the que a few times. Got the response of what you going to do about it, I ended up gobbing on her back, she had a backless dress on.

What an utter charmer. A fairly high percentage of blokes seeing you do that to a girl in a boozer would have justifiably knocked you flat out IMO.

The Hive is a hole, of that there can be no doubt, yet Teenwolf has enjoyed a few good nights in there. It is what it is, a dive that is easy to pull in. Personal highlight: 18 year old dressed up as a pirate about 10 months ago. Best walk of shame ever.

Teenwolf and his catch! :thumbsup:

169036_10150093047769697_132358979696_5866944_2912286_n.jpg