West Highland Way

Gerd Muller

Gerd Muller

Going to do it in May. Only ever climbed ben lomond to 3/4 of the way up one morning when extremely hungover before it started to snow so I'm a complete novice.

Anyone done this walk?

Yeah I have done it, It's a great walk. Are you camping or gonna stay at b&b's etc along the way?

I would get a few practice walks in if you are a complete novice. The only real tough bit was the devil's staircase after 10 pints if guinness the night before it was literally hell on earth. For the most part it is just walking we set out to do about 16-20 miles a day, if you buy one of the guide books you can sort out your stops etc. Oh and pack the bare minimum of stuff I ended up throwing away everything that wasn't essential.

Going to do it in May. Only ever climbed ben lomond to 3/4 of the way up one morning when extremely hungover before it started to snow so I'm a complete novice.

Anyone done this walk?

I have done quite a few munros. Can't beat a bit walking. Best not beeing hungover though. ;)Would suggest you do a few practice walks first though. Get a good pair of boots. ?100 should do you.

Carl Weathers

Make sure your footwear is sorted and don't carry tents, camping gear etc on your back - it takes the fun out of it!

I think you can arrange to get your gear couriered at the stops along the way.

Craig Gordons Gloves

Never done it all at once, but have walked quite a few sections of it. As the previous folks say - make sure your boots are good and are 'broken in' before you start. Be careful of the midgies around Kinlochleven youth hostel, we camped there one night and it drove me totally insane putting up the tent. I had 4 ciggies going at the same time to try and drive the buggers away.