The what are you reading at the moment fred

Finished The Visitors.  undertones of Robert Bloch's 'Psycho', and all in all not a bad wee books (only 266 pages).

Just about to start The Cabin at the End of the World.  Paul Tremblay's the author and I've read his two earlier books.  They're quite weird.  They sit in the horror section but the horror is all suggestion.  It's up to you as the reader to decide what is going on.  We'll see if this one is any different.

• Replies 2.8k

• Haken

• dougal

• Gigolo-Aunt

• Coco

Just finished 'My name is' the tale of a teenage alcoholic seen through the eyes of her friends, teachers and family. Written by Alistair Campbell (of weapons of mass destruction fame) himself a recovered alcoholic. Not a comedy but a great read.

Just finished The Reapers by John Connolly. It features Charlie Parker but is more about Louis and Angel. Another good read though.  

Currently reading The Truth About The Harry Quebert Affair by Jöel Dicker. Early on in the book but it's very engrossing and moves along at a fast pace. Enjoyable so far.

On ‎02‎/‎08‎/‎2018 at 13:54, Haken said:

Finished The Visitors.  undertones of Robert Bloch's 'Psycho', and all in all not a bad wee books (only 266 pages).

Just about to start The Cabin at the End of the World.  Paul Tremblay's the author and I've read his two earlier books.  They're quite weird.  They sit in the horror section but the horror is all suggestion.  It's up to you as the reader to decide what is going on.  We'll see if this one is any different.

Finished TCatEotW.   It will split opinion of those who read it (especially if it's your first Tremblay).  I thought it was superb.  A gay couple (and that's integral to the unravelling tale) and their adopted daughter find their woodland vacation interrupted by four strangers who tell them that the world is about to end and that this couple and their child are the only ones who can prevent it.  Is this a group of deranged cultists or are they telling the truth?

Now onto Strange Weather by Joe Hill, a collection of 4 'novellas'.  He really is the model of his auld man.

Yrsa Sigurdardottir, The Legacy and The Reckoning more Icelandic noir for me

Edited by systemx

Finished Strange Weather.  3/5 - it was ok.  The second story - Loaded - is the pick of the four, and strangely enough is the one least about weather and with no supernatural horror.  It's Hill's take on America's gun law.  Strong story with a strong ending.

Now onto some Scandi crime, The Crow Girl.

• 3 weeks later...
On ‎22‎/‎08‎/‎2018 at 14:32, Haken said:

Finished Strange Weather.  3/5 - it was ok.  The second story - Loaded - is the pick of the four, and strangely enough is the one least about weather and with no supernatural horror.  It's Hill's take on America's gun law.  Strong story with a strong ending.

Now onto some Scandi crime, The Crow Girl.

Finished The Crow Girl which, at 700+ pages, was a fairly hefty affair.  Very, very good, though.  Quite dark on a number of levels - do monstrous things to people and you will  create monsters being one of the themes.  It's subject matter is that of human trafficking and child sexual exploitation.  It's never particuarly graphic, but understandably it won't be everyone's cup of Earl Grey.

Now onto Helen Fields' fourth DI Callanach book, Perfect Silence.  

On ‎13‎/‎09‎/‎2018 at 14:48, Haken said:

Finished The Crow Girl which, at 700+ pages, was a fairly hefty affair.  Very, very good, though.  Quite dark on a number of levels - do monstrous things to people and you will  create monsters being one of the themes.  It's subject matter is that of human trafficking and child sexual exploitation.  It's never particuarly graphic, but understandably it won't be everyone's cup of Earl Grey.

Now onto Helen Fields' fourth DI Callanach book, Perfect Silence.  

Finished Perfect Silence.  Probably the best in the series so far.

Now onto The Hollow Tree by James Brogden, which was purchased from Blackwells' Horror Section.  We'll see.

Just finished a man called Ove by Fredrik Bauman, kind of darker , funnier, Swedish Victor Meldrew figure.

Thank you,  Goodnight by Andy Abramowitz set in Philadelphia about a band making a comeback after 20 years recommended.

On 09/08/2018 at 19:30, systemx said:

Yrsa Sigurdardottir, The Legacy and The Reckoning more Icelandic noir for me

Read one of hers? recently is that the one with the girl with no fingers on one of her hands? Borrowed from my local library so forgotten the title.

3 hours ago, EIEIO said:

Read one of hers? recently is that the one with the girl with no fingers on one of her hands? Borrowed from my local library so forgotten the title.

yes

Finished The Truth About The Harry Quebert Affair which I thought was excellent. Jumped back and forth between 1970s and 2000s. A real good whodunnit, which kept you guessing right up to the end. One of the best books I've read in quite a while.  Hope the TV series does the book justice.

Also recently finished Dodgers by Bill Beverly which was very well regarded with a few literary prize wins. To be honest, I thought it was just okay. Nothing to write home about.

Also read The Payoff by Stephen Leather. Think it might be his first novel. Was a small but decent read. Fast paced like his newer stuff.

Not I'm reading The Holy Assassin by Luis Miguel Rocha. It's got a kind of Dan Brown feel to it. Some aspects of truth interspersed with fiction and a few co piracy theories. If it's anything like his other book The Last Pope, then it should be a rollercoaster ride with plenty of mystery and a fair few deaths. 

Reading a brand new book called "Dam Busters".  Not to be confused with the 1951 Paul Brickhill book "The Dam Busters", although it is on the same subject.

The new book is by Canadian historian Ted Barris, who digs more into the backgrounds of the 30 Canadian aircrew who flew on the 1943 attack.  Half of those young men were killed.

On ‎20‎/‎09‎/‎2018 at 13:23, Haken said:

Finished Perfect Silence.  Probably the best in the series so far.

Now onto The Hollow Tree by James Brogden, which was purchased from Blackwells' Horror Section.  We'll see.

Finished The Hollow Tree.  Twas OK.  Entertaining enough for commuting.

Now onto The Girl Before which has a sort of Girl on the Train feel to it.  Seems alright so far.

On ‎28‎/‎09‎/‎2018 at 15:33, Haken said:

Finished The Hollow Tree.  Twas OK.  Entertaining enough for commuting.

Now onto The Girl Before which has a sort of Girl on the Train feel to it.  Seems alright so far.

Finished The Girl Before.  Pretty good easy reader, though a bit of a clever con by the writer by basically telling the same story twice (those of the girl now and the girl before).  But there's quite a few good twists and turns towards the end.

Now onto One of Us by Craig Dilouie, a tale of an alternative 1984 where a number of deformed kids (one woith a dog's head, another with roots instead of legs) born in the late 60s are struggling to find their place in the world.  Set in the deep south of N. America, it's allusions to alienation due to things like race and AIDS seem fairly obvious.  Only 50 pages in but good stuff so far.

On ‎04‎/‎10‎/‎2018 at 13:17, Haken said:

Finished The Girl Before.  Pretty good easy reader, though a bit of a clever con by the writer by basically telling the same story twice (those of the girl now and the girl before).  But there's quite a few good twists and turns towards the end.

Now onto One of Us by Craig Dilouie, a tale of an alternative 1984 where a number of deformed kids (one woith a dog's head, another with roots instead of legs) born in the late 60s are struggling to find their place in the world.  Set in the deep south of N. America, it's allusions to alienation due to things like race and AIDS seem fairly obvious.  Only 50 pages in but good stuff so far.

Finished One of Us.  Decent enough book.  Almost like HG Wells had written To Kill a Mockingbird.

Have started Gnomon by Nick Harkaway.  Big book+small text=challenging read on the train!  It's interesting so far, though.  It's a look at the 'Surveillance State' in the UK and projecting where we're going a wee bit into a future where everyone has security because the state knows everything there is to know about everyone.

Re reading all Patricia Highsmith psychological thrillers. She was superb.  Creator of that con man Tom Ripley as well as other lost characters. Currently reading her " Ediths Diary".  Excellent. 

Just about finished the Emperor series (Julius Ceaser) by Conn Iggulden...bought it on Kindle and have read the whole series in a oner...no story fatigue, excellent read and a mix of fact and writers licence with authors notes at the end of each book giving the factual background of the story you had just read.

Going to purchase SPQR by Mary Beard as a direct result of reading this, also purchased Falcon of Sparta by the same author, Conn Iggulden, not Mary Beard :lol: ).

Edited by Konrad von Carstein
Meh!

Just finished the final book in Peter Bretts demon cycle series. Amazing books. The series had everything. If you like fantasy books I couldn't recommend it highly enough, book 1 is called the painted man.

south morocco

Recent- Scotttish crime Fiction, WHS Mcintyre , series based on a criminal defence lawyer Robbie Munro. Down to earth  based in Linlithgow. Light humoured, definitely recommend. 

Philip Kerr- Bernie Gunther, Berlin Noir , grim sometimes, with a hint of dark humour. Both writers local strangely.

Edited by south morocco

Decided to take a break from the dark tower series and I'm reading salems lot, which is kind of connected. 

It's a great novel. 

On ‎12‎/‎10‎/‎2018 at 09:48, Haken said:

Finished One of Us.  Decent enough book.  Almost like HG Wells had written To Kill a Mockingbird.

Have started Gnomon by Nick Harkaway.  Big book+small text=challenging read on the train!  It's interesting so far, though.  It's a look at the 'Surveillance State' in the UK and projecting where we're going a wee bit into a future where everyone has security because the state knows everything there is to know about everyone.

Gnomon tunred out to be a pile of tripe.  Pretty impenetrable stuff.  There's a bit of publicity in the inside cover that says something like this is the book that will Harkaway spoken about in the same sentences as David Mitchell.  Yes, so long as that sentence is 'Harkaway tries to do a David MItchell but fails abysmally.'.

Now onto I Am Behind You by John Ajvide Lindqvist who is, apparently, Sweden's Stephen King.  So I'm expecting a really good story with a pish ending in a Scandinavian setting.

Just finished re-reading this...

1782192328.jpg.63692c45f1ce0662945b5d7a1f38c015.jpg

Currently on this...

9781473879638.jpg.1c8139474ee082667e22e24b28161dce.jpg

With this lined up next...

91oTGjPGvDL.thumb.jpg.b366f1d40c24d744560dda65dff027c9.jpg

On 20/09/2018 at 23:58, Maple Leaf said:

Reading a brand new book called "Dam Busters".  Not to be confused with the 1951 Paul Brickhill book "The Dam Busters", although it is on the same subject.

The new book is by Canadian historian Ted Barris, who digs more into the backgrounds of the 30 Canadian aircrew who flew on the 1943 attack.  Half of those young men were killed.

I was in Canada in 2011 and had the pleasure of meeting Fred Sutherland (one of the last two Canadian survivors) and being served a beer by him on his patio. A very modest guy, he didn't think the raids were worth the loss of life  from what i could see and his good lady seemed mystified at the British fascination with the Dambusters  generally. I recall Fred not being a fan of Johnny Johnson  at all.  Really special moment to meet him - i wanted to ask him for his autograph but thought better of it. 

2 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

I was in Canada in 2011 and had the pleasure of meeting Fred Sutherland (one of the last two Canadian survivors) and being served a beer by him on his patio. A very modest guy, he didn't think the raids were worth the loss of life  from what i could see and his good lady seemed mystified at the British fascination with the Dambusters  generally. I recall Fred not being a fan of Johnny Johnson  at all.  Really special moment to meet him - i wanted to ask him for his autograph but thought better of it. 

I'm inclined to agree with him on the loss of life.  Eight of 19 Lancasters were lost on the dams raid, and 53 of the 133 airmen who took part in the raid were killed.

A few months later the squadron did another low-level nighttime attack on the Dortmund-Ems canal, and that time 5 of 8 Lancasters were lost, with 35 crew members killed.

That's a catastrophic loss rate, and the RAF then abandoned low-level attacks.

King Of The Cat Cafe

I have just paid £20 for the newest Raymond E. Feist novel - 'King of Ashes'.

It is the most I have ever paid for a single book, and I am almost afraid of opening it in case I crease the pages.

If you have never heard of REF, just think "Game of Throne', except more intelligently written and without the softcore porn bits..

image.jpeg.48759240161d5793d89870b0a8b14d1d.jpeg

Always fancied this and it really hasn't disappointed. One of those books you can't wait to get back to. Any dog lovers will be right into it

I've just started reading a couple of post-Rebus Ian Rankin books, this time about Malcolm Fox.  Very enjoyable.

On ‎01‎/‎11‎/‎2018 at 13:29, Haken said:

Now onto I Am Behind You by John Ajvide Lindqvist who is, apparently, Sweden's Stephen King.  So I'm expecting a really good story with a pish ending in a Scandinavian setting.

Second book in a row that I've got so bored with that I didn't bother finishing.  The lack of sympathetic characters (and that includes 2 kids, a cat and a dog) in IaBY left me caring not a jot for the individuals or the circumstance they were placed in.  Dull stuff.

Now reading The Collector by Fiona Cummins, her follow up to Rattle, in which a serial killer collects specimens of people with bone deficiencies.  

Currently reading Stuart Cosgrove's 'Detroit 67'. 

I'm in February and so far, it's a very interesting read.  

On ‎13‎/‎11‎/‎2018 at 12:05, Haken said:

Now reading The Collector by Fiona Cummins, her follow up to Rattle, in which a serial killer collects specimens of people with bone deficiencies.  

Finished The Collector.  Easy read but not as good as Rattle.  

Sticking with the crime thriller genre but moving continents, now onto Gallery of the Dead by Chris Carter.  Set in Los Angeles, good stuff so far.

“If Only They Didn’t Speak English - Notes From Trump’s America” by Jon Sopel - the BBC’s North American correspondent.

A very interesting read and not at all dry from a man that clearly loves the US but laments what is happening.

Can highly recommend.

Jambo dans les Pyrenees

Just finished the latest William Boyd book, “Love is Blind”, really enjoyed it.  As in some of his past works, an Edinburgh connection runs through it.

On 21/11/2018 at 12:32, Haken said:

Finished The Collector.  Easy read but not as good as Rattle.  

Sticking with the crime thriller genre but moving continents, now onto Gallery of the Dead by Chris Carter.  Set in Los Angeles, good stuff so far.

GotD was ok. Maybe didn't help that I started at the 10th book in the series.  Thought the characters were a bit wooden.

now reading The Dead House which was a book I bought for my teenage daughter.  It's actually pretty good... ...so far.

On ‎02‎/‎12‎/‎2018 at 08:00, Haken said:

GotD was ok. Maybe didn't help that I started at the 10th book in the series.  Thought the characters were a bit wooden.

now reading The Dead House which was a book I bought for my teenage daughter.  It's actually pretty good... ...so far.

Finished The Dead House.  It was pretty good.  Maybe a bit longer than it needed to be, but enjoyable enough.

Reading The Crucifix Killer, which is Chris Carter's (see above) first 'Robert Hunter' book.  Only got it because they were selling it cheap in Asda!

On ‎05‎/‎12‎/‎2018 at 14:44, Haken said:

Reading The Crucifix Killer, which is Chris Carter's (see above) first 'Robert Hunter' book.  Only got it because they were selling it cheap in Asda!

Finished The Crucifix Killer, which was okay and an easy enough read.  Anyone with half a brain will work out who the killer is about half way through, though.

Am now re-reading Ghostwritten by David Mitchell, just because it's magic.

Just finished Sweet Little Lies by Caz Frear and thought it was a decent thriller

Now opened Harry Hole 5, the Devils Star by Jo Nesbo

Only have 3 other books left on my Kindle so will be scouring this thread looking for recommendations

I've been reading the sorcerers ring series by Morgan Rice, just finished the 12th book. When I downloaded them, they are sold as trilogys , but each individual book isn't that long so each trilogy feels like 1 book. Really enjoying the series. The target age group is probably teens but I just can't stop reading them.

For my next read, I've just downloaded a few Shaun Hutson books, not sure which 1 to start with, but I've always enjoyed his books.

• 4 weeks later...

Just about finished The Man in the High Castle. Slightly weird in the way it's written but enjoying it nonetheless.

Next is the Spy who came in from the cold, which I've wanted to read for years.