John Smeaton: A fake?

Sherlock

Glasgow Airport Attack Hero John Smeaton Branded A 'Fake'

SCOTLAND'S terror attack heroes were at war last night after John Smeaton was branded a fake.

Alex McIlveen, right, claimed John "stood smoking a fag" while others tackled the terrorists, adding: "He's a fake who should have been exposed a long time ago."

But last night, Smeato described the allegation as "sad", adding: "It is a strange world when some people try and blow out your candle to make their own grow brighter."

Taxi driver Alex, 45, who tore a tendon kicking burning Kafeel Ahmed in the privates, broke his silence after John received a gallantry medal last week.

He told the Record: "I saw John getting his medal from the Queen and it really p***** me off because he didn't do anything.

"He just stood there smoking a cigarette and watched while we all got stuck in and he has been taking all the credit for it since.

"John changes his story every time he opens his mouth.

"There were no heroics on his part, no karate kicks or James Bond stunts. He didn't land a blow on anyone.

"The only reason John Smeaton got so much attention is because of what he said afterwards about Glasgow not tolerating terrorists.

"He has turned the whole of the Glasgow bombing attempt into the John Smeaton show."

Last night, Alex claimed John only got involved when airport worker Mary McCandlish shouted to him for help to drag Michael Kerr away from the burning Jeep.

He said: "John has admitted to us all that it was Mary who shouted on him to pull Michael away.

"All he did was pull Michael away from the burning Jeep because Mary asked him to.

"It is certainly not sour grapes fromme. I just feel that it is time the truth came out.

"It has been troubling me for months but I kept biting my tongue until I saw him with the Queen and I thought, 'enough is enough'.

"It should have come out ages ago and John should have the guts to hold his hands up and admit that all he did was pull Michael away and that was it.

"I think he got so carried away with himself that he didn't know where to stop."

Since the attack, John, 31, has met Prime Minister Gordon Brown four times and was congratulated by him at the Labour Party conference.

In December, he went to New York to receive an Everyday Superhero award from TV's CNN.

Replying to the claims last night, John said: "It's very sad that after all this time some individuals who have been on public record acknowledging what happened should now choose to see things differently.

"I am relaxed and confident about the situation. I have never felt worthy of any praise that has been given to me - however, if others want to acknowledge your involvement there's very little you can do other than try and graciously accept their kindness."

John stressed: "There were several lads who helped on that day. As I've said over and over again, they all should be recognised for their efforts and behaviour instead of debating who did the most. It shouldn't be turned into a competition."

Last night, groundsman Stephen Clarkson, who wrestled Kafeel Ahmed to the ground, admitted: "Those who were there and saw what happened have been talking about John's involvement or lack of it for a while and I am not surprised it has come out.

"John has been made a hero for his words. I didn't see him at the airport but I have said all along that John is ahero for what he said.

"John told me he tried to boot one of the terrorists but he didn't know if it connected.

"I do not hold anything against John, he is a thoroughly nice guy but if he has told lies, that's a different story.

"I have no reason to doubt Alex,he is a genuine guy. Other people who were there have told me exactly the same thing - why would they say that if it wasn't true?

"It will be interesting to see what comes out at the terror attack trial.

"It is not sour grapes with Alex. I think he just got sick of John always getting the credit for something he believes he didn't do."

Another hero of the attack, heating engineer Michael Kerr, 40, broke his leg and smashed his teeth as he fought the bombers. It was he who was pulled to safety by airport worker Mary.

But last night, he told the Record: "I am saying nothing. I just want to forget all about it."

His wife Annette, who launched a campaign to get Queen's Gallantry Medals for all the airport heroes, said: "Michael is grateful to John for helping to pull him away from the vehicle and we don't wish him any ill will.

"We've heard all the stories about John but we don't want to be drawn into an anti-John Smeaton campaign.

"I feel really sad it has come to this. It is such a shame."

I've always suspected that he didn't do as much as he said, or all he did was hit a man who was already on fire.

He's became famous because of the "set aboot ye" comment.

He's milked it big time, and I wish he would **** off!

dodethejambo
It seems that he's a hero for words rather than actions.

He has printed a reponse to this in 'the Stun' stating that if he was a fraud the cctv security cameras would show that and that he got his medal for helping to drag a injured man away from the burning jeep and not booting a terrorist.

I think the fact that he was the only one not injured gave the game away a long time ago. You don't have a fight with a guy who's on fire and get away without even slightly smoky knuckles.

He's a weegie,ned hun who saw an opportunity to kick a burning asian and grab 15mins of fame in a news interview.He's milked the death out of it and been branded a hero when thousands of our REAL soliders have been returning home form the middle east minus limbs.

I wish he would just **** off

He has printed a reponse to this in 'the Stun' stating that if he was a fraud the cctv security cameras would show that and that he got his medal for helping to drag a injured man away from the burning jeep and not booting a terrorist.

After being asked to help by a female cleaner it appears.

all he did was hit a man who was already on fire.

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

Brilliant.

im so glad this guy has spoke out, Smeaton has taken everyone for a ride imo.

Anyone remember the Dustin Hoffman film Accidental Hero??

If it was me (Smeaton) I would have kept my mouth shut after the incident and just got on with my life. I find him embarrsing.

every time I see him I just think...attention seeking whore.

Bonnie Prince Charlie

If it was me I wouild have threatened to return my medal unless all others involved were given one. He has certainly been use by the media and the fat feardie socialist my erse unelected Labour party leader. Does anyone think he actually writes his own page in the Sun? He's not exactly the brightest bulb is he.

blondejamtart
If it was me I wouild have threatened to return my medal unless all others involved were given one. He has certainly been use by the media and the fat feardie socialist my erse unelected Labour party leader. Does anyone think he actually writes his own page in the Sun? He's not exactly the brightest bulb is he.

While I tend to agree with you, I don't really think anyone can blame him for milking all the attention. Whatever part he played in the whole incident, how many people can say they wouldn't have done the same afterwards and taken everything on offer to him? I do, however, believe that everyone else involved should have been given the same recognition, and it would have been nice to see him take a stand and refuse to accept the medal unless the others were honoured in a similar fashion.

Boaby Ewing
While I tend to agree with you, I don't really think anyone can blame him for milking all the attention. Whatever part he played in the whole incident, how many people can say they wouldn't have done the same afterwards and taken everything on offer to him? I do, however, believe that everyone else involved should have been given the same recognition, and it would have been nice to see him take a stand and refuse to accept the medal unless the others were honoured in a similar fashion.

They were.

If I remember the original Smeaton interview on CNN which launched his 'fame' he only ever said he swung a kick at the terrorist, the rest was his description of Harry Quaeda running about on fire swinging haymakers shouting 'Allah Allah'.

I specifically remember him saying it was another boy who 'banjoed' him.

He was then turned into a bit of a cult figure by a blog/website which the rest of the meeja picked up on, and of course the radio interview where he coined the "Don't come to Glasgow - we'll set aboot ye".

Now, the guys a bit of a weedgie ned, but I don't think he ever started off inventing the truth, or looking for fame. And while I can't honestly say I'd like him if I met him in normal circumstances, he did give us all a good laugh initially.

He was just the vehicle for the Scottish ability to take the **** out of pretty much anything - terrorist attack? Don't make us laugh ya muppets.

The yanks would have all been in counselling while most of us shrugged it off.

blondejamtart

I honestly didn't think the others had been honoured in the same way as Smeaton. I thought that's why there were various campaigns on the go to correct that?

Boaby Ewing
I honestly didn't think the others had been honoured in the same way as Smeaton. I thought that's why there were various campaigns on the go to correct that?

I thought they also got medals from the queen. Frankly, I can't be ersed looking though.

If they didn't, then I agree they should have.

He has always said he was far from being alone in what he done! If anyone is to blame for over-exposure it's the sun! He's had the opportunity to do sh*tloads of things out of it - would you turn it down!?

Guaranteed the folk (media) who put him where he is - will be kicking him in the stanes in the near future!! :rolleyes:

It seems that he's a hero for words rather than actions.

he is not nor ever has been a hero kicking a burning man lying on the ground do me a favour

what really ****ed me off was the wee boy who defended his mother during a knife attack was reffered to as a wee smeto eh i dont think so the wee boy tackled a armed maniac stabbing his mom think he is a real hero smeto can kiss his arse

Smeaton's column after meeting the Queen was brilliant.

"Nice to meet another true blue at Buck House the other week. Never got a chance to speak to her about Rangers' revival under Walter Smith."

I think that he's a hero just for that.

Smeaton's column after meeting the Queen was brilliant.

"Nice to meet another true blue at Buck House the other week. Never got a chance to speak to her about Rangers' revival under Walter Smith."

I think that he's a hero just for that.

Does "hero" mean "fud" in your language? :rolleyes:

I find the guy embarassing as well.

The sort of idiot who revels in being a ned.

Typical hun.

...what really ****ed me off was the wee boy who defended his mother during a knife attack was reffered to as a wee smeto eh i dont think so the wee boy tackled a armed maniac stabbing his mom think he is a real hero smeto can kiss his arse

Admit it, it's funny. :P

Oh very. Which kind of explains the whole Smeato phenomenon.

He was essentially being ridiculed by those who could speak English properly and seen as an illiterate quaint little prole who were fascinated by his adrenaline fuelled outpourings.

Now the Snu has given him a platform as he is "the people's hero".

What a lot of guff. However, to quote Mr Morrissey, that joke isn't funny anymore.

Admit it, it's funny. :P

ok him being a dick is funny :)

him earning money and praise and meeting the queen for doing **** all at a time when thousands off real heroes are under fire in the gulf and afganistan is rediculious mate this nation needs to get real.

Drew Busby !

Fast forward five years and Smeaton will be on skid row. This whole thing about him playing William Wallace in the Edinburgh Dungeon, takes him from (ahem) "hero" to circus act.

Once he's had his 5 minutes of fame, then there will be the inevitable withdrawl symptoms once people forget all about him in the next few years.

Cue alcoholism. Cue unemployment. Cue begging on the streets. Cue early death.

Oh very. Which kind of explains the whole Smeato phenomenon.

He was essentially being ridiculed by those who could speak English properly and seen as an illiterate quaint little prole who were fascinated by his adrenaline fuelled outpourings.

Now the Snu has given him a platform as he is "the people's hero".

What a lot of guff. However, to quote Mr Morrissey, that joke isn't funny anymore.

Pretty much exactly my thoughts. Patronisingly marketed as an "everyman hero" just because he's a bit thick.

I didn't even realise that a woman was involved on the day. That says it all.

I watched the news and the two people calling JS a liar were Celtic fans, it was so obvious by looking at them, you could just tell.

If it was me (Smeaton) I would have kept my mouth shut after the incident and just got on with my life. I find him embarrsing.

every time I see him I just think...attention seeking whore.

Smeaton is your typical weegie baw bag. :mw_rolleyes:

The same Sun newspaper which is currently giving him a column will be near the front of the queue to knock him down if/when he ever gets in a bit of bother with the law. It's all about flogging papers, whether he really is a hero or not is to a large extent irrelevant.

Is he still working as a baggage handler? If he is, I'd be willing to bet the Sun has already been sniffing around his colleagues asking them if he's on the pockle.

he is not nor ever has been a hero kicking a burning man lying on the ground do me a favour

what really ****ed me off was the wee boy who defended his mother during a knife attack was reffered to as a wee smeto eh i dont think so the wee boy tackled a armed maniac stabbing his mom think he is a real hero smeto can kiss his arse

It's hardly his fault is it tho, he's been built up by the media.

And who are you to knock anyone, what heroic deeds have you committed to act so pompous?? Saving the health of the nation by eating every spare pie going?

jambo_ellen

he's a hero for battering a burning man, singema jeepramen was the guys name. when he was talking aww glasgae dussny take prisnors like.

Drew Busby !
he's a hero for battering a burning man, singema jeepramen was the guys name. when he was talking aww glasgae dussny take prisnors like.

Why do I get the queasy feeling that the incident may have allowed Smeaton to fulfill a lifetimes ambition...

Cue alcoholism. Cue unemployment. Cue begging on the streets. Cue early death.

I wasn't aware that he was a Hibs fan :biggrin:

After being asked to help by a female cleaner it appears.

who received the princely sum of a free pair of cinema tickets for her part in it all :o

I believe "Smeato" could be Irvine Jambo...:rolleyes:

Bonnie Prince Charlie
You can just see him ending up on Celebrity Big Brother.

Or maybe Engerland fan cowardy Broon's got him lined up for a safe seat in Glasgow. The sad thing is they'd probably vote for him!

Terrible Trio
I believe "Smeato" could be Irvine Jambo...:rolleyes:

Irvine was a woos who didn't like fighting

Anyway, one of the terrorists was a relative of his wife

Legend Claws

He is a 'working class hero' don't you know?

The whole thing is a joke and I am glad that he has been taken off his pedestal by the people who were the real heroes and had a proper go at the ****bags.

For him to receive a medal and the others to go without is shocking.