Fitness Thread

Trying out stronglifts at the moment. Onto work out 4 and doing cardio with it.

Can't see any difference now, but I'm getting through the weight increases.

Overhead press is a killer though.

Trying out stronglifts at the moment. Onto work out 4 and doing cardio with it.

Can't see any difference now, but I'm getting through the weight increases.

Overhead press is a killer though.

It'll take time. Do you do any accessory work along with the 5x5?

I'm sure it'll take a good six weeks or so to see any sort of results. That's what I'm hoping anyway.

No I don't do any accessory work with it - yet. May do so depending on if I hit plateaus or if I don't feel like there's any results.

I'm sure it'll take a good six weeks or so to see any sort of results. That's what I'm hoping anyway.

No I don't do any accessory work with it - yet. May do so depending on if I hit plateaus or if I don't feel like there's any results.

So are you literally just doing the 'big lifts'? If so, I would add in some accessory work

Agree, otherwise it is essentially a strength routine which will still give some muscle - but high rep accessory work will give more hypertrophy. Making a total assumption here that this is what you were aiming for.

Even for strength I'd do accessory work with it, look to reduce and drop it once the big lifts become really tough.

Yes at this moment in time.

Tbh, although I'm not a total idiot, I'm not massively sure what I'm doing.

I'm not looking to add huge amounts of size or anything, but perhaps you can recommend some accessories?

Any advice gratefully received.

Edited by GforGallo

Agree, otherwise it is essentially a strength routine which will still give some muscle - but high rep accessory work will give more hypertrophy. Making a total assumption here that this is what you were aiming for.

Even for strength I'd do accessory work with it, look to reduce and drop it once the big lifts become really tough.

See below

I'm not looking to add huge amounts of size or anything, but perhaps you can recommend some accessories?

Chest - incline dumbbell press, chest press machine

Shoulders - lateral raises, hang and cleans

Back - lat pull down, seated row machine

Legs - leg press, hamstring curls

Arms - barbell curls, close grip bench.

Just examples of obvious accessory work you could do. Tailor it to the exercises you like. Assuming your doing 4-5 sets of your big lift per workout, add in 8-10 sets of your accessory stuff. Rep range is up to you, but 8-12 would probably be the most sensible approach to start

Chest - incline dumbbell press, chest press machine

Shoulders - lateral raises, hang and cleans

Back - lat pull down, seated row machine

Legs - leg press, hamstring curls

Arms - barbell curls, close grip bench.

Just examples of obvious accessory work you could do. Tailor it to the exercises you like. Assuming your doing 4-5 sets of your big lift per workout, add in 8-10 sets of your accessory stuff. Rep range is up to you, but 8-12 would probably be the most sensible approach to start

Few others I'd recommend

For chest I'd say a fly movement like dumbell flyes or cable flyes to avoid to many pressing movements.

Back - Bent Over Rows, Chins

Arms - Dips

Captain Sausage

Loving the exercise just now.

3x 90 minute sessions during the week. Back/shoulders, chest, legs.

Do a 7-10k run (aim for 4min/km) and a 20mi cycle (aim for 15mph) on the non gym days.

Then one weekend day is a 50-60mi cycle with some friends and my fianc?e. Usually cycle out to a cafe, have some dirty scran, then head home.

Diet is around 2500-3000kCal a day, avoiding refined sugars and basically eating really clean. Have one cheat day when we cycle, because I'm burning around 3500kCal a ride, so can eat what I want!

6 weeks to the wedding, in pretty good shape and just looking for that final push to get that 6pack!!

• 3 weeks later...

Yeah I've got Huntly Strongest Man u90kg on 30th April and then I'm doing Hertfordshire Strongest Man novices on 5th June so been busy practicing events and getting stronger last few weeks :)

A mate of mine is doing the same, he is taking a year to build up and do a practice run diet and then going for first timers in 2 years if he sticks to it.

How'd you get on?.

The Huntly comp got cancelled.

Did Herts and placed 5th, competed in an open weight competition weighing 90kg so v pleased with that.

Competing again end of this month in Stockton-on-Tees. Again no weight restrictions but events are all lighter so hopefully do well.

The Huntly comp got cancelled.

Did Herts and placed 5th, competed in an open weight competition weighing 90kg so v pleased with that.

Competing again end of this month in Stockton-on-Tees. Again no weight restrictions but events are all lighter so hopefully do well.

Good Luck, and well done.

How's everone been finding training in this weather? Humidity in the gym has been brutal for me, bring back winter :D

Train at 6am but even at that time it's pretty warm at the moment.  :thumbsdown:

How's everone been finding training in this weather? Humidity in the gym has been brutal for me, bring back winter :D

Fat and auld.

Train at 6am but even at that time it's pretty warm at the moment.  :thumbsdown:

I'm sweating before I have even started at the moment, bit of a nightmare. Still getting it done though

Fat and auld.

I'm not that fat and I'm still under 30 ya cheeky bas :D. Take it you've still not found the motivation to get back to it?

First injury in a while yesterday, pulled something in my lat/rear delt when deadlifting. Typical I am competing this coming Sunday but just going to rest it until then and hopefully be nothing major

I'm sweating before I have even started at the moment, bit of a nightmare. Still getting it done though

I'm not that fat and I'm still under 30 ya cheeky bas :D. Take it you've still not found the motivation to get back to it?

I meant me. :D

Injuries bud.

I meant me. :D

Injuries bud.

I know I was kidding lol. Nightmare eh, can't be easy older you get as I find recovering is getting harder all the time for me tbh

I'm trying to get back into shape after quitting smoking. I've been doing a mixture of swimming and going on the exercise bike.

Today I managed 14km in 29:34 on the bike. Being honest, am I dreadfully unfit? (I was sweating an absolute bucket load) What should I aim for?

I'm trying to get back into shape after quitting smoking. I've been doing a mixture of swimming and going on the exercise bike.

Today I managed 14km in 29:34 on the bike. Being honest, am I dreadfully unfit? (I was sweating an absolute bucket load) What should I aim for?

Just see what you can do in 30 minutes, and aim to beat your distance every time.

No squats or deadlifts for me for a few weeks now, tore ligaments in my ankle on Sunday :(

Will use it as a chance to get my bench press numbers up instead

No squats or deadlifts for me for a few weeks now, tore ligaments in my ankle on Sunday :(

Will use it as a chance to get my bench press numbers up instead

Hope its not as bad as it sounds, bud.

Was a bloody sore one. Last event in comp and was pushing to win it cos I had already won 2 out of 4 events and took 3rd in another.

Was on course to set a fast time, 80kg duckwalk about 4m away from finishing and I tumbled and rolled on my ankle. Recovered and got it over the line but that just made it worse I think.

Wasn't happy :(

Was a bloody sore one. Last event in comp and was pushing to win it cos I had already won 2 out of 4 events and took 3rd in another.

Was on course to set a fast time, 80kg duckwalk about 4m away from finishing and I tumbled and rolled on my ankle. Recovered and got it over the line but that just made it worse I think.

Wasn't happy :(

:( nightmare.

Did you win? :)

:( nightmare.

Did you win? :)

No. Did terrible in the sled drag so came down to that event. Despite the fall I got 4th but I was gutted tbh lol

tokyowalnut

Anyone train regularly in a crossfit gym?

Just interested in hearing the experience people have had.

I've booked 4 PT sessions with a crossfit gym to give it a shot. I'm pretty knowledgeable about training systems and technique but I want to sample it!

Anyone train regularly in a crossfit gym?

Just interested in hearing the experience people have had.

I've booked 4 PT sessions with a crossfit gym to give it a shot. I'm pretty knowledgeable about training systems and technique but I want to sample it!

I train in a strongman gym so it's basically the same thing, just lighter weights and more reps for crossfit. I'm sure you'll enjoy.

Not something I have ever fancied personally but it is good for all round fitness, good mixture of strength, cardio, speed and endurance

• 4 weeks later...

Any recommendations on powder drinks when too busy for meals.

One which is full of nutrients but good for weight loss?

Thanks

Thanks

I've started some cardio so which powder would be appropriate

Thanks

Thanks

As a meal replacement I use Huel with a scoop of whey mixed in. Best nutrient profile I have seen in a mrp powder.

Reducing calories is good for weight loss, there are a lot of supplements that offer "fat burning" and "diet protein" etc but it's generally a lot of shit tbh

I'm looking forward to seeing how good or bad Kevin levrone is at The Mr Olympia this weekend. I hope Phil gets beat.

Ken what's shite.

Having shite genes for bodybuilding.

Before anyone starts, I'm of course not saying genetics are everything - far from it. Diet and training of course play an absolutely huge role in gaining muscle, no doubt about it.

But it's just so ****ing demoralising growing up as a skinny-fat guy, putting in the effort to eat at a caloric surplus everyday and training hard for years, with minimal gains.

Then you see mates that have never trained a day in their life. Yet they have broad shoulders, massive arms and generally better conditioned than I ever will be.

It's just really hard to stay motivated when people clearly have an advantage in this game.

No one can tell me for a second that, if everyone trained the same, weighed the same and ate at a carbolic surplus, we would gain muscle at the same rate. We wouldn't, and that's where genetics come into it, they play a massive role on bodybuiding and, arguably, influence growth more important than diet and training alone.

Anyway, rant over. Just having a hard time staying motivated these days.

Ken what's shite.

Having shite genes for bodybuilding.

Before anyone starts, I'm of course not saying genetics are everything - far from it. Diet and training of course play an absolutely huge role in gaining muscle, no doubt about it.

But it's just so ******* demoralising growing up as a skinny-fat guy, putting in the effort to eat at a caloric surplus everyday and training hard for years, with minimal gains.

Then you see mates that have never trained a day in their life. Yet they have broad shoulders, massive arms and generally better conditioned than I ever will be.

It's just really hard to stay motivated when people clearly have an advantage in this game.

No one can tell me for a second that, if everyone trained the same, weighed the same and ate at a carbolic surplus, we would gain muscle at the same rate. We wouldn't, and that's where genetics come into it, they play a massive role on bodybuiding and, arguably, influence growth more important than diet and training alone.

Anyway, rant over. Just having a hard time staying motivated these days.

How do you train? When you say calorific surplus so have you been getting fatter?

My genetics aren't great, I will never have visible abs (apart from one time when I boxed around 12 years ago and got lesn very briefly) and no longer care to. When I started out I was a stick, now I'm over 200lb at 5' 8. My diet isn't the best but it is consistent

I'm looking forward to seeing how good or bad Kevin levrone is at The Mr Olympia this weekend. I hope Phil gets beat.

First time I have looked forward to a Mr O in recent years, Levrone is looking immense. 52 years old too!

Inspired my 43 yr old fat ass to get back yesterday. Strength has gone, its gonnae take a wee while. :(

Phil Heath 6x champion. He Equals the Great Dorian Yates.

Walked it. Looked unreal this year. Pics I saw in the build up I wasn't sure. Was v impressed with Roelly Winklaar this year

Levrone looked better at the press conference. Legs were way off. Still amazing though!

Walked it. Looked unreal this year. Pics I saw in the build up I wasn't sure. Was v impressed with Roelly Winklaar this year

Levrone looked better at the press conference. Legs were way off. Still amazing though!

Agree, but it needs kai back.

He won't go back after last years carry on. He dominated the Arnold's this year though.

Tbh they won't ever let him win anyway since he boned a grapefruit on video to make money to fund his bodybuilding dream

He won't go back after last years carry on. He dominated the Arnold's this year though.

Tbh they won't ever let him win anyway since he boned a grapefruit on video to make money to fund his bodybuilding dream

Probably.

Arnold's been trolling him too. :D

Where in Edinburgh can I do classes that specialise in Olympic-style weightlifting?

I've noticed a few Crossfit gyms do it (one in Murrayfield), but it seems fairly pricey.

Or am I best just teaching myself at a Puregym?

Where in Edinburgh can I do classes that specialise in Olympic-style weightlifting?

I've noticed a few Crossfit gyms do it (one in Murrayfield), but it seems fairly pricey.

The guy who owns one of the gyms I go to specialises in Olympic weightlifting and goes round training coaches. He's in Edinburgh quite a bit. I'll ask him where he suggests next time I see him

Energy gym at Craiglockhart worth looking into. Crossfit classes there would give intro to Oly lifting.