Fitness Thread

I'd quite like an answer to that too. Loving my running, hate doing weights

I'd liken it to pushing a boulder up a hill, if you stop pushing it will roll back down and at a faster rate than you pushed it up. If you don't do weights regularly you can't expect to make any progress.

On an infrequent basis you can only really expect to burn more calories in a session rather than achieve any lasting results. If you're looking to lose weight/burn fat I can't recommend doing some resistance work enough.

Try bodyweight resistance exercises - squats, press ups, pull ups to incorporate some resistance work into your work outs without interupting your cardio. In fact, Creepy Lurker mentions a good example of such a circuit earlier on this page.

Done a weights session today for the first time in a few weeks after concentrating on cardio. Thought I was going to die. Seem to have lost a lot of strength as well.

Is there any point in doing weights now and again? I'm really into cardio at the moment and can't be arsed with weights if truth be told.

I'm putting my weights on gum tree type post IMO :P

Anyone know of cheap placed to play squash in Edinburgh ? I'm looking for games if anyone I'd interested?

Gordie

I've been really struggling with energy levels recently - been in quite a stressful job since August and exercise is always the first thing to go out the window for me, so I really need to get back out and work on my fitness to try and help get through a day without having trouble lasting the pace.

Done the ligaments in my wrist playing football so any weights requiring the use of my arms are off the menu for a while. Was planning on starting properly running along with my twice weekly fives, and trying to get to the gym as much as possible to do cardio/lower body exercises. Any recommendations on what the best way to plan that out would be, or the most effective uses of my time? I know the answers are probably somewhere in this thread but I've not got time to read it through at the moment.

I've been really struggling with energy levels recently - been in quite a stressful job since August and exercise is always the first thing to go out the window for me, so I really need to get back out and work on my fitness to try and help get through a day without having trouble lasting the pace.

Done the ligaments in my wrist playing football so any weights requiring the use of my arms are off the menu for a while. Was planning on starting properly running along with my twice weekly fives, and trying to get to the gym as much as possible to do cardio/lower body exercises. Any recommendations on what the best way to plan that out would be, or the most effective uses of my time? I know the answers are probably somewhere in this thread but I've not got time to read it through at the moment.

Aye right then :rolleyes:

I'd liken it to pushing a boulder up a hill, if you stop pushing it will roll back down and at a faster rate than you pushed it up. If you don't do weights regularly you can't expect to make any progress.

On an infrequent basis you can only really expect to burn more calories in a session rather than achieve any lasting results. If you're looking to lose weight/burn fat I can't recommend doing some resistance work enough.

Try bodyweight resistance exercises - squats, press ups, pull ups to incorporate some resistance work into your work outs without interupting your cardio. In fact, Creepy Lurker mentions a good example of such a circuit earlier on this page.

To be honest, in the months since I first took some advice off here, the extra core work is what's made the biggest difference for me. Looking less like Phil Stamp by the day (despite not really doing more cardio than I was) and my abs are as toned as they've ever been.

The big thing for me in the long term is going to be my diet - I need to stop having so many needlessly glutenous days and also cut down the amount I eat in general. Even when I'm on a healthy streak, I can be munching non stop all day. It's like I can't help myself. I think I'm still in that daft mindset where it's okay to eat as much as you like because you're training a lot and your not eating bad food.

Just went for a 5 mile run, it's like a summers day outside.

So much better running outside in the sun that on a treadmill. Cannae wait to clock up some miles this summer.

UnworthyPapaLazaru

I bought some Creatine. Anyone tried it and what did you think of it, tatses ok but it lies quite heavily in the stomach. If you have tried it, did you 'load' then 'maintenance' or just straight maintenance doses?

Never tried a loading phase, just maintenance. I took around 4.5g a day and did notice strength gains. As for the taste, I took capsules.

You'll probably notice a slight gain in weight due to the water retention.

How long you been on it for?

UnworthyPapaLazaru

Started today, think I'll do a mini load for a couple of days then go to 1 scoop maintenance.

Teenwolf, do you not go back to work stinking after working out on your lunch hour?

There's this invention called 'a shower'.

I found a new thing at the gym that annoys me for no real reason yesterday. Those wireless headphones with what looks like 2 USB's attached to each ear, so it looks like youre kinda wearing a double bluetooth headset. There were 3 boys in the gym with them on, each one looked like a bloody idiot.

These things.

SennheiserCOMPimg.jpg

If youre gonna get wireless headphones, at least get ones that don't make you look like a plum.

Creepy Lurker

I'd forgotten how hard it is to motivate yourself to go for a run with a hangover. sad.gif

Advice request number 94: I been doing weight-assisted pull-ups for many many weeks but I've reached the point of doing them unassisted (a minor achievement but quite a satisfying one tbf). I had a go this morning and my technique was woeful. I've seen other people cross their feet when they do them but I seemed to keep swinging into the weight stack in front of me. It's a good job that I'm happy to make a nob of myself because I spotted at least one person stifling laughterninja.gif Is there a good technique for unassisted pull-ups or does it come with time and strength?

Just to clarify - when I say pull-ups, I mean chin-ups.

Slow it down. Especially on the way down. Works muscle more too.

Also work on your core and use that to prevent swinging.

Practice and lat pulls will also help.

Useful advice stem guns, slower reps are easier to control. I think the main problem is that I'm not quite strong enough yet. Need to persevere

My Left Nut

So....First day at the gym this morning, had a good session ran for a good 20 minutes, not bad for me since am a fat git. Current weight is 17 stone so my target is 4 stone weight loss.

Gonna start the weights as I heard it helps burn fat faster, can someone give me advice on the weight side of things? would I be better doing 3 sets of 15 and failing on the last set?

Thanks for any advice given. :thumbsup:

So....First day at the gym this morning, had a good session ran for a good 20 minutes, not bad for me since am a fat git. Current weight is 17 stone so my target is 4 stone weight loss.

Gonna start the weights as I heard it helps burn fat faster, can someone give me advice on the weight side of things? would I be better doing 3 sets of 15 and failing on the last set?

Thanks for any advice given. :thumbsup:

Well done mate. Hope you stick at it. :thumbsup: Once it's a bit warmer there is nothing better than going running round the park with good music in your ears so give that a bash. :thumbsup:

Update on me - was at the knee specialist today and getting an MRI scan soon. The doc is almost certain I've torn ligaments and require key hole surgery.

Not been on this thread for ages..

Lost 11 pounds since the start of the year. That was through watching what I ate, cutting out the chocolate etc... Stopping snacking.

Was playing badminton once a week and that was it. Now in the last 3 weeks I have been swimming 3 times a week about 40 mins each session. And I am breathing hard at the end of it. Badminton once a week and about 2 rounds of golf a week.

I have stopped losing weight even though I am still eating pretty well and counting calories.... Could this be me getting a little more toned? ... In fact I might be a pound up on 2 weeks ago. FYI.. I am eating about 1500 calories a day....

cashgenerator

AP, as a keen student of all things knee related, what was the docs specific diagnosis? I'm finally getting back to football after ACL surgery last summer so I can feel your pain...

There wasn't really a specific diagnosis. After examining it he just said my knee was pretty sturdy, it wasn't my ACL (thank christ, my mates currently going through that ... what a nightmare) but he was pretty sure I'd torn a ligament. I need to go for an MRI scan to confirm and then will get surgery.

Once I get the specific diagnosis I'll let you know bud. :thumbsup:

Andy/Ian that is a nightmare. :(

I'm back at the running game, feeling pretty good so far. Not been doing much, just 3 miles or so at night 4 times a week plus football, but totally feeling the benefit. Been watching what I'm eating as well and already noticing a difference in my fitness at fives. Had a wee popcorn related incident last night at the cinema though. :vrface: Will have to sort that out later in a run and a healthyish evening.

Target for the end of the summer is to be able to do a 17k run I've mapped out on Nike Plus. Gives me something to work for at least. :thumbsup:

Vlad-Stupid

30th looming which has given me a much needed boot up the erchie to get back in shape. I used to be a competitive swimmer until I was 18 so always had amazing stamina and great muscle tone. I used to train 5 nights a week plus 3 early morning and Sunday afternoons. Now I struggle to get out of bed my muscles have seized up so much! Pretty much not done any exercise since the last time I played 11's Which was 8 years ago. I still have a pretty muscular physique but my 6pack is barely visible under about 1.5 stone of belly fat. My short term goal is to lose all the extra fat, long term I want to build up stamina and start toning. I started running this morning (only 2miles) which I plan to do three times a week for the first few weeks and build up to five times a week with no walking periods. Taking it easy to start with as I don't want injuries or to be too sore to get in to a proper routine. I done 30 mins of stretching before and 15 min after and actually feel surprisingly good! I plan on going out alternate days so as not to over strain anything.

I have been wondering how I've been getting so fat as I barley eat much and very rarely drink alcohol so I have been calorie counting for 8 weeks and have never managed to eat over 1000cal. Should I be eating more? Somebody told me that not eating enough puts on weight as you store more fat. I never snack, have two meat rolls and dinners are always some form of meat and vegetables

Dunno why I'm posting any of this tbh but I think it will help keep me motivated as it's something I've wanted to do for years but just never got round to.

Also thinking bout resurrecting my old Kona mountain bike from my mums shed and doing some cycling in between to build up my leg strength and stamina. Can anyone recommend what kind of milage I should do on the bike? Any hints, tips or advice about anything will be greatly appreciated :thumbsup:

Mr Brightside

Target for the end of the summer is to be able to do a 17k run I've mapped out on Nike Plus. Gives me something to work for at least. :thumbsup:

I use the Nike plus when I run and used it yesterday for the half marathon. It seems that my Nike plus overestimates the distance by about 10%.

This is fine for short distances but it was telling me I had done 14.6miles at the end and not the actual 13.1miles. Something to be aware of if your going to do an official event.

UnworthyPapaLazaru

Im wanting to get scientific. Does anyone have any good recommendations for sites that will help count my calories?

Vlad-Stupid

Im wanting to get scientific. Does anyone have any good recommendations for sites that will help count my calories?

I used the iPhone app My Fitness Pal wich i found to be really good. Website is http://www.myfitnesspal.com/ You can register an email to set up an account to track your progress. Dont worry bout giving them your email as they dont use it to send you shite, I never had a mail other than to confirm my account setupthumbsup.gif

Creepy Lurker

I have been wondering how I've been getting so fat as I barley eat much and very rarely drink alcohol so I have been calorie counting for 8 weeks and have never managed to eat over 1000cal. Should I be eating more? Somebody told me that not eating enough puts on weight as you store more fat. I never snack, have two meat rolls and dinners are always some form of meat and vegetables

If you don't eat enough, you'll go into a catabolic state: basically, your body will burn muscle for fuel instead of fat, which will indeed lead to fat storage. Given your history of being an athlete, this'd probably be even worse in your case. It wouldn't make you put on weight, though: it'd actually make you lose weight unless you weigh about a stone and never exercise. You'll only gain weight if you're taking on more calories than you're putting out, but your composition'll definitely get worse..

You definitely need to eat more: there's plenty of advice elsewhere in this thread and I'm a bit pushed for time right now, but basically what you need is to be eating small, healthy meals and snacks around six times a day. The right things to eat are mentioned elsewhere.

Edited by Creepy Lurker

Vlad-Stupid

If you don't eat enough, you'll go into a catabolic state: basically, your body will burn muscle for fuel instead of fat, which will indeed lead to fat storage. Given your history of being an athlete, this'd probably be even worse in your case. It wouldn't make you put on weight, though: it'd actually make you lose weight unless you weigh about a stone and never exercise. You'll only gain weight if you're taking on more calories than you're putting out, but your composition'll definitely get worse..

You definitely need to eat more: there's plenty of advice elsewhere in this thread and I'm a bit pushed for time right now, but basically what you need is to be eating small, healthy meals and snacks around six times a day. The right things to eat are mentioned elsewhere.

Thanks for the advice mate :thumbsup: I've always been wary about eating more often as I seem to get heavier the less I eat! I realise now that the weight gain is probably down to the fact I literally use no energy all day! Pretty much go from bed in the morning to the office, then straight home to the couch for the rest of the night :down: I'm aiming to exercise 5 times a week now, ran on Saturday plus a 5mile walk on Sat afternoon and 5mile again Sunday. Knee is feeling a bit knackered today so think I'll do some cycling tonight.

UnworthyPapaLazaru

I used the iPhone app My Fitness Pal wich i found to be really good. Website is http://www.myfitnesspal.com/ You can register an email to set up an account to track your progress. Dont worry bout giving them your email as they dont use it to send you shite, I never had a mail other than to confirm my account setupthumbsup.gif

Perfect mate, cheers.

I use the Nike plus when I run and used it yesterday for the half marathon. It seems that my Nike plus overestimates the distance by about 10%.

This is fine for short distances but it was telling me I had done 14.6miles at the end and not the actual 13.1miles. Something to be aware of if your going to do an official event.

Yeah I noticed that myself last summer when I did a 5k race in Inverleith. My Nike Plus said I'd run 5.6km at the end. You can calibrate it to sort that though, but how I do not know.

When I say I mapped out a run, I did it on the Google Map programme they have on the Nike+ website. Really good for planning your training I have found - think it is pretty much bang on with the distances as well.

Mine is constantly 10% out, but when I calibrated it it became unpredicatble, so I just reset it and work round the 10%, at least I know where I stand with it. I figure I'd rather spend ?15 on that and work round things, than splashing out ?300 for a Garmin. Incidently I heard through my running group that they mismeasured the route anyway by about 300-400 meters......

Mr Brightside

Mine is constantly 10% out, but when I calibrated it it became unpredicatble, so I just reset it and work round the 10%, at least I know where I stand with it. I figure I'd rather spend ?15 on that and work round things, than splashing out ?300 for a Garmin. Incidently I heard through my running group that they mismeasured the route anyway by about 300-400 meters......

Yeah will know in the future to take 10% of distances. Comes as a bit of a shock when your Nike + is telling you 13 miles and your at the 11mile mark, still you get what you pay for.

Will look into that google maps route planning.

Just on the Nike+ website mate.

Also, I use that MyFitnessPal app as well and it's really good if you can be arsed keying everything in as you go.

Vlad-Stupid

Was a bit sore after the weekend so done nothing yesterday other than a 20 min walk at lunch time. It's been an eye opener to exactly how unfit sitting at a desk for the last 18mths has made me! Going for a walk on my 30min lunch today and will be out on the bike tonight. Thought there's no point exercising if I'm not going to tweak my eating habits so today is muesli for breakfast, wholemeal pita with chicken lettuce and cucumber for lunch, apple, orange and banana fo snacks. Dinner is fish with lemon, a few baby potatoes and a mountain of spinach :thumbsup:

Finally had the time to read the whole thread last night, thanks to everyone for a good thread and loads of helpful advice :thumbsup:

Played sevens after a weekend at the National last night and was almost in tears when the buzzer went off for half time - was praying I'd just never heard it. av-269.png Starting to find my fitness again though, so will be spending the Easter holidays getting out running and in the gym.

What would folk say is the quickest/most effective way to build up stamina and fitness with running? HIIT I've heard lots about as being good, but how exactly would my run look if I decided to try it out? Have also read that for stamina, the best way is to achieve the distance first with a mix of walking and running, then phase out the walking spells? Was quite an old Men's Health I read that in though.

Edited by Charles Faceman Adam

Played sevens after a weekend at the National last night and was almost in tears when the buzzer went off for half time - was praying I'd just never heard it. av-269.png Starting to find my fitness again though, so will be spending the Easter holidays getting out running and in the gym.

What would folk say is the quickest/most effective way to build up stamina and fitness with running? HIIT I've heard lots about as being good, but how exactly would my run look if I decided to try it out? Have also read that for stamina, the best way is to achieve the distance first with a mix of walking and running, then phase out the walking spells? Was quite an old Men's Health I read that in though.

I've never done HIIT so can't comment on it, but I've a training shedule that takes you from walk 30 seconds run 30 seconds up to running for 2 hours. It's not quick though, it basicly increases week by week, but give me a shout if you want me to email you the shedule.

Used this for the last 3-4 months. Have it on Android..

Count everything I eat and track exercise as well. Good utility and helped me lose weight.

To start off with HIIT you could go down to your local park and find a fitbaw pitch.

On the pitch you can do things like jog the 18 yard box - sprint to half way - walk to 18 yards - sprint to goal line. Just mix it up doing that for a bit and you'll soon be breathing out yer arse.

Then you could go on to road running where you measure it by lamposts. Normal job for three lamposts, sprint for three, normal jog for three, sprint for three then vary the amount of lamposts etc.

Wish I could run.

Anyone got any good rowing programmes? Going to focus on rowing for a bit until my knee is sorted. First time back in the gym today for a good while, looking forward to it.

Vlad-Stupid

First time out on the bike tonight. Lasted 4 miles, 40 mins, legs are like jelly now as bike only had the choice of about 4 gears :vrface: need to give it a service this weekend I think!

Creepy Lurker

Whey protein supplements. Before workout, after workout or both???

Both will help to improve your performance, but depending on what else you're eating you might not need that much protein. There's no point in resurrecting the cringefest that was my argument with the other guy who used to post on here over exactly how much you require (although I stand by what I said), but it isn't just about taking on loads of protein; it's about balancing your macronutrient intake correctly so that you're taking the right amounts of protein, carbs and fat.

Edit: on topic, my own training's going pretty well at the moment. Just missed out on taking part in my first interclub competition last month as my coach doesn't think that I've been sparring for long enough (having watched the competition, he's probably right), but I feel like I'm improving a lot and should be able to hopefully make the next one.

Edited by Creepy Lurker

Gerd Muller

Not played 11 a side for maybe 5 years but for some reason got the urge to play again. Stopped playing due to work commitments and couldnt train during the week. Now got time to do the training, just to find a team. Might not even play for the team for a long while but training first to build up fitness and loss a bit of the beer belly. Going to start running soon. I know as soon as I go running, i'll hate it. Plus dont want to overdo it on the first run. Might start tonight.

Vlad-Stupid

Been doing 30min cardio work outs before work the last two mornings. Pretty knackering but im sure ill get in to the swing of things again. Does anybody have any recommended circuits i can do in the house, preferably without weights (as i dont have any)? There's about a million and one on the internet and im having trouble picking what one i think would be best!