Fitness Thread

Stuart McNeill

I don't know if that was towards me, however I don't often post my personal life on Facebook! =]

anyway, are you able to help me ? haha

anyone know a good way just to lose belly weight to get lean atm, been far to lazy over the past few months and I want to join Pure gym just lose weight! Virgin was getting a bit too expensive!

anyway, anyone give me some tips ?!

Please don't join Pure at OT.

I canny handle any more :lol:

Just joking. No secrets or tips mate. Diet and excercise will see the fat disappear.

Creepy Lurker

Yeah it is basically circuit training with weights essentially plus some gymnastic movements thrown in. We actually get quite a few women at our gym and the trainer taking each class will scale you down during a workout if you're struggling to avoid injury. They totally preach good form over weight. I haven't seen any injuries in the 4 months I have been going and I would say that's testament to the boys that run it.

I done my fundamentals course at a crossfit up the road and it was loaded with paleo eating nobs covered in tattoos. Proper rugby dickheads (the plague of Wales) who weren't my cup of tea. Left that then joined another smaller gym a bit further away where the folks are pretty decent and the 2 guys that run it seem to know their stuff. He doesnt believe in the types of ridiculous exercises you mentioned, preferring more basic functional movements and puts on other classes like Olympic lifting (so you learn proper lifting technique outwith a class), Yoga and Kettlebells. We also tend to start each session with something like finding your 5 rep max on the front squat. Then the next again week trying to increase this. Having never really done proper weights before, Im really enjoying learning the lifts.

I like it but I can totally see where you are coming from. I find that if you get a decent gym with a good crowd of folk then, for me, it's far more interesting and seems to be far more effective (for me) than bashing away in the gym on your own. all folks are different though!

Yeah, that's fair enough. I quite enjoy Crossfit type training too actually, just annoys me when people get religious about it!

anyone know a good way just to lose belly weight to get lean atm, been far to lazy over the past few months and I want to join Pure gym just lose weight! Virgin was getting a bit too expensive!

anyway, anyone give me some tips ?!

Eating at a sensible caloric deficit will help you lose weight, mixed with proper training. Myfitnesspal is a really good app for tracking calories; try to get an idea of what your total daily energy expenditure is (ie how many calories you burn daily) and eat at 10-20% less than that. Make sure that you're getting around 1g protein/lb bodyweight and at least 0.4g fat/lb bodyweight and you can fill in the rest of your calories with any mix of protein, carbs and fat you prefer. Try to eat mainly nutritious whole foods, but there's no need to cut anything out completely provided that you're capable of applying a bit of common sense.

Power plates. Anyone use them?

I'm not talking about the claims you can fit a 60 minute workout into 10 minutes, but I've been using them at my gym to work on some ski specific exercises, deep squats, plank for the core etc, and then throwing in some press ups and dips, and doing all this at the end of everything else I've been doing (i.e. not as a replacement). Thinking about it, a deep squat with thousands of vibrations is about as close to the 'feel' of skiing on your legs so it makes sense. I've found throwing this in at the end has been pretty useful, although I've not been on the hill yet to actually test myself.

Any thoughts?

Generally speaking, they can be useful for things like injury rehab and the scientific evidence shows some benefits whilst doing certain types of training, but it's very very marginal when compared against a proper control group.... For example, you can lose weight and build upper body strength if you do a million press up's on them, but if you get similar people to do press up's on the floor you get the same result.

The people who built vibration training only gyms and make those ridiculous claims are absolute charlatans and I have actively fought against any suggestion that they should be brought in to the gym that I work at because I don't want our brand to be associated with that type of flim flam - on top of the fact that we would have to take out another piece of equipment to fit them in!

Having said all that... Skiing is one sport where you could see some benefits from using them. Have a look at the research... I check regulalrly to see if there is anything really conclusive out there to change my opinion, but I haven't seen anything convincing.

p.s.... It's January, so if anyone is thnking of joining Westwoods then drop me a PM for a free trial. We don't have a massive amount of free weights so we won't appeal to everyone on this thread, but anyone who is starting out and would not suit a budget gym that offers no help and support for novices, should consider us. The help you get from very experienced instructors included in the cost of membership is second to none.

Aye, talking about them in a totally different context to those charlatans who flog ten minute vibration session to fat folk (like some of the secretaries at my previous employer, who would then eat a mcdonalds for lunch as they'd done their session) and claim it will work wonders.

Probably a wise move not bringing them into you gym as they seem to attract a core of bursds who sit on them for ten minutes then go home. A few of them seem to rather enjoy it for some reason :lol:

It seems that quite a few national ski teams integrate them into their training though, and it feels like they are helpful in the specific context of ski training - certainly feels like that when the burn hits on the 4th or 5th deep squat.

We had a great guy who used to work for us who had a sports science degree and worked as a ski instructor abroad during winter.

He used to teach a "ski circuits" class, which focused on winter sports fitness and injury prevention. At the end of the class (after an hour of core/squats/cardio... core/lunges/cardio/skipping type of exercises) he put us all in the ski position and made us bounce up and down lean from side to side, then jump in the air, to stimulate skiing. After an hour of leg exercises it was agony. So I know the burn you're talking about.

The question is, do you reckon the burn you get from vibration training is better than in the class my buddy used to do?

If there are benefits, I think they are very marginal and would maybe give a pro skier an extra a few hundredths of a second. But for someone who does a week in the Alps once a year and the odd trip to Glen Shee and Hillend, i don't think it'll be any better than good, targeted exercises.

Guest GhostHunter

Motivation ? I daresay that puts all of us to shame....

Going back to the vibration machines - Pure have them, but I've never actually managed to find out if the actually do anything positive other than shake your fillings out...

Are they any good ?

Guys,

Are there any recommendations for decent fitness web sites? For information on nutrition, exercises, routines and general interesting stuff??

Cheers

Motivation ? I daresay that puts all of us to shame....

Going back to the vibration machines - Pure have them, but I've never actually managed to find out if the actually do anything positive other than shake your fillings out...

Are they any good ?

The short answer no, not really.

I've went and bought two 10kg weight plates but they are the wrong size. :vrface: 2" holes when I need 1".

Anyone want to buy them? Should be ?40, will sell them for ?20. Never used!

51s-HSNX0vL._AA300_.jpg

I got the wife one of they tubby plate machines a few months ago. I've went on it the last few weeks and actually lost some weight! Starting the running again in the next week or so. 10K in October again I think!

Guest GhostHunter

I got the wife one of they tubby plate machines a few months ago. I've went on it the last few weeks and actually lost some weight! Starting the running again in the next week or so. 10K in October again I think!

Still Got Fillings Bud, U ?

Done this on Saturday in 29:15. Was absolutely brutal, especially the last 12 pull ups which took me about 4 minutes!

For time:

Run 1200m

63 Kettlebell Swings (24kg)

36 Pull ups

Run 800m

42 Kettlebell Swings

24 Pull ups

Run 400m

21 Kettlebell Swings

12 Pull ups

Gym was rammed full of weapons again tonight, had hoped the post new year rush had ended.

Nightmare.

I've started going in the mornings for that very reason. The number of bursd who cannae use a rowing machine properly :vrface:

Tempting but I cannae get out my pit in the mornings!

What is an acceptable length of time to sit on a machine doing SFA and hogging the thing? Every 2nd cant in Pure seems to want to sit there for 5 mins staring at their shoes.

#welts

Guest GhostHunter

Tempting but I cannae get out my pit in the mornings!

What is an acceptable length of time to sit on a machine doing SFA and hogging the thing? Every 2nd cant in Pure seems to want to sit there for 5 mins staring at their shoes.

#welts

It's not just the afternoon, trust me...they've even started coming in at 4am to Pure Glasgow...I mean WTF, New Year was 2 weeks ago, give it up...

This morning prime example - weapon decided he was going to take up the entire free weight area on the ground floor with 2 benches side by side with a barbell across them (like there aren't specialised machines that accommodate that), puts on (and I'm not joking) 5kg on each side, then proceeds to "deadlift" (ahem) for ONE rep.

Today was the third morning in a row - so I didn't give him the choice, I moved his monumentally heavy weights to the proper place.

Honestly, I give up. New memberships in January should be banned.

January is an awful time.

4.30pm on a Monday in January and a boy is benching just the bar. No plates. 6 sets.

What a waste of a rack. I was fuming.

Had 4 guys training together last night at about half 7. Monday night at that time in January the gym is busy enough and these 4 were just following each other about the gym no idea what to do!

I'm one of the new gym spangles. Absolutely nae idea what I'm doing. The only thing I do know is when someone with nae neck starts hovering about the side of you, you ken it's time to move.

There was a dame at the Gorgie PureGym last night who stood putting in the wrong code in the door for about 7 minutes. Never once thought to grab someone to let her oot. She could have just written it on her hand. It wasn't as if she was going to get sweaty enough for it to rub off.

The PureGym up at Laurieston has some outrageously gid Betty's in it. That's why I went to Gorgie. Easier to use a treadmill when you've no got a pinger.

I have been going to the gym since about October, Tuesday, Thursday and Saturdays. Noticed a difference already in strength and shape of my arms, shoulders etc but chest not really changed much. To get more definition on chest, what should the reps, sets be?

Also, the gym I go to in Dunfermline was full of complete erses tonight too.

I have been going to the gym since about October, Tuesday, Thursday and Saturdays. Noticed a difference already in strength and shape of my arms, shoulders etc but chest not really changed much. To get more definition on chest, what should the reps, sets be?

Also, the gym I go to in Dunfermline was full of complete erses tonight too.

To build muscle you want a low number of reps... 6-8 x 3 sets.

If you can manage 3 sets of eight then you need to put the weight up.

It also depends on how much fat you have. My muscles are not small but they are covered by some fat so I go slightly higher with the reps doing 3 x 10.

If you are fat burning then it's also best to keep it at a higher intensity... Keeping your heart rate up for the hour you are in the gym gives you a better work out.

January is an awful time.

4.30pm on a Monday in January and a boy is benching just the bar. No plates. 6 sets.

What a waste of a rack. I was fuming.

I know there are rules, but surely thats worth a discrete wee videoing / posting on youtube.

Its the 22 stone wifey's walking on the treadmill at 2.5kph for an hour that are doing my nut in. Side by side, intent on a good natter, with each one oblivious to anything else going on - they never take their eyes of each other!

Roll on February

I was always under the impression that for muscle growth it is better to do more reps on a lighter weight?

For muscular hypertrophy (growth in cell size/volume) the 8-15 rep range works best for growth. Light weights will do nothing for anyone looking to grow, as in order for the muscle to be stimulated into growth it must come under sufficient external stress (which comes in the form of weights).

Personally i'd never use a "light" weight, as my interpretation of light is something which can be lifted without much effort. If you're looking for muscle growth, stick between 8 and 15 reps (preferably around 10-12) with weights which you find challenging but not ridiculous.

When working with clients in the gym I advise that if you can complete 3-4 sets of 10-12 reps at a particular weight without the last few reps on your last set being a struggle, you're probably lifting slightly below the appropriate weight.

Another amusing way of gauging effort is to remember - if you can complete your sets with a straight face, the weight is too light! It's all about effort and you do get out what you put in.

Chest definition?

Incline bench or incline dumbell press all day long.

That really brings the chest out.

Flat bench or flat dumbbells shouldn't be ignored though.

I tend to do 6 sets on the big compound excercises.

Warm up. Light weight. 12 reps without struggle.

4 working sets. Upping 10kg every time.

1 light set. Aiming for failure.

PaulHartley10

For muscular hypertrophy (growth in cell size/volume) the 8-15 rep range works best for growth. Light weights will do nothing for anyone looking to grow, as in order for the muscle to be stimulated into growth it must come under sufficient external stress (which comes in the form of weights).

Personally i'd never use a "light" weight, as my interpretation of light is something which can be lifted without much effort. If you're looking for muscle growth, stick between 8 and 15 reps (preferably around 10-12) with weights which you find challenging but not ridiculous.

When working with clients in the gym I advise that if you can complete 3-4 sets of 10-12 reps at a particular weight without the last few reps on your last set being a struggle, you're probably lifting slightly below the appropriate weight.

Another amusing way of gauging effort is to remember - if you can complete your sets with a straight face, the weight is too light! It's all about effort and you do get out what you put in.

I wasn't meaning light light. More say...is it better to do 8-10 reps at 50-60kg or 20-30 reps at 30-35kg.

I'm guessing the former?

I wasn't meaning light light. More say...is it better to do 8-10 reps at 50-60kg or 20-30 reps at 30-35kg.

I'm guessing the former?

Lower reps, heavier weight. Mainly made up of compound movements such as bench, squats, deadlifts etc. That's about it.

Does anyone know of a programme to help improve your performance for pull-ups? I am truly woeful at them and want to try and sort that out this year!

Edited by Alan Partridge

Lower reps, heavier weight. Mainly made up of compound movements such as bench, squats, deadlifts etc. That's about it.

Does anyone know of a programme to help improve your performance for pull-ups? I am truly woeful at them and want to try and sort that out this year!

Me too. If you find the secret, let me know. :lol:

I can dead lift 160kg and bend over row 75kg for reps.

Ask me to do pull ups tho. :vrface:

Shambolic.

Me too. If you find the secret, let me know. :lol:

I can dead lift 160kg and bend over row 75kg for reps.

Ask me to do pull ups tho. :vrface:

Shambolic.

I'm pretty pathetic with pull ups unless it is the first thing I do.

Sten Guns how tall are you and how much do you weigh if you don't mind me asking?

For pull ups, depending on how good you are at them as it stands, there's a couple of ways of doing it.

You can start with an under-hand grip (fingers facing back towards you) and build strength this way as your biceps will assist you lifting your weight, whilst still working your back. Once you can do a few of these (6-8) try changing to an over-hand grip (fingers facing away from you) with hands shoulder width apart. The next progression from there is to the traditional "wide-grip" pull-up, or chin-up as they're sometimes termed.

Should add that this takes time, just be persistent and stick at it. If you get (for example) 3 or 4 reps one week and one/two weeks later you can do an extra rep, that's progress and all progress counts. It's taken me 3/4 years of hard training to get to a decent level for pull-ups, but they're a great measure of raw strength and a great physique building exercise too.

Good luck and keep at it!

I'm guessing the former?

If you're looking for muscular growth and also gains in your strength, then yes, definately go with the 8-10 reps at the higher weight.

Another small bit of advice is to change your exercise selection every 3-4 weeks. By doing different exercises, the muscles will be constantly forced into adaptation as opposed to getting into their own "comfort zone" so to speak.

If you're just getting into things (apologies if not and you already know this stuff!) sticking to compound exercises (utilising more than one joint and subsequently more muscles) will be the best way to build raw muscle and strength, providing a good base to build on as you progress.

A word of advice to anyone too, and this comes from personal experience, always remember to train your legs and train them just as hard as any other muscle group! I neglected them for my first couple of years, meaning i've been playing a game of catch up ever since...and as anyone who has trained legs themselves can imagine, it hasn't been fun!

I'm pretty pathetic with pull ups unless it is the first thing I do.

Sten Guns how tall are you and how much do you weigh if you don't mind me asking?

5' 10

80kg

Back & Bi's tonight. Going to start with pull ups tonight. They WILL improve. :lol:

(By pull ups I mean wide grip and palms facing away)

Ask your gym to buy chin up assist bands. They are just big rubber bands that you attach to the bar and put your knee in. That has the effect of absorbing some of your body weight, making the exercise a bit easier to begin with.

They are about ?20 from Amazon.

5' 10

80kg

Back & Bi's tonight. Going to start with pull ups tonight. They WILL improve. :lol:

(By pull ups I mean wide grip and palms facing away)

Nice deadlift - double your weight

WIde arm pull ups are great for that v taper on your back.

Nice deadlift - double your weight

WIde arm pull ups are great for that v taper on your back.

Cheers mate.

Probably my favourite exercise these days.

PaulHartley10

If you're looking for muscular growth and also gains in your strength, then yes, definately go with the 8-10 reps at the higher weight.

Another small bit of advice is to change your exercise selection every 3-4 weeks. By doing different exercises, the muscles will be constantly forced into adaptation as opposed to getting into their own "comfort zone" so to speak.

If you're just getting into things (apologies if not and you already know this stuff!) sticking to compound exercises (utilising more than one joint and subsequently more muscles) will be the best way to build raw muscle and strength, providing a good base to build on as you progress.

A word of advice to anyone too, and this comes from personal experience, always remember to train your legs and train them just as hard as any other muscle group! I neglected them for my first couple of years, meaning i've been playing a game of catch up ever since...and as anyone who has trained legs themselves can imagine, it hasn't been fun!

I know absolutely nothing about it mate. I just go for a shot of the weights after I've finished my cardio. I use quite a lot of the machines which is probably stupid. I think I need to make up a plan as I'm too sore to even go today!

Ask your gym to buy chin up assist bands. They are just big rubber bands that you attach to the bar and put your knee in. That has the effect of absorbing some of your body weight, making the exercise a bit easier to begin with.

They are about ?20 from Amazon.

Can stress this enough. I started on a purple band (about 50% of my body weight taken up) and kept practising until I could do 20. I then dropped off the band altogether and started with strict pull ups (not to be confused with chin ups) and tried to do 5 every day. Once I could do 10 I then started doing 'kipping' pull ups and I can now pretty easily do about 30. Next aim in butterfly pull ups as I reckon you could crack out 50 pretty rapid plus you use your whole body in one movement.

Practised on Monday with a weighted vest. Can do 3 strict pull ups wearing 12.5kg.

Practise, practise, practise is the only way to get better.