The Official JKB What Was The Last Film You Watched...

Guest GhostHunter

Cuban Fury

I thought it was okay. It has some very good comic performances, particularly from Chris O'Dowd. The story wasn't brilliant and I found some of the scenes very irratating, the writing was appaulingly bad in parts. I've seen better feel good comedies

7/10

Prince Avalanche

2/10 or 8/10

I normally have strong opinions as to what I like or loathe. This film threw me and I am still not sure 14 hours later what I think. This can be considered subtle observational humour in the extreme or pretentious drivel. It is very quirky and only has a handful of actors in it, the 2 stars are on screen almost completely. I think there is a layer to this film just under the surface that I was just getting or then again maybe I was imagining it. Over to you fellow Kickbacker and I would welcome an explanation of who the old woman was!

Edited by godandgorgie2012

Dallas Buyers Club. I thought it was excellent. 9.5/10.

I'd like to see Matthew McConnaughey and Jared Leto get oscars but I can't see them giving best actor and best supporting actor for the same film.

Sick Boy

1/10

Awful US horror based around a babysitter who is told, "our son is ill, listen to the monitor, but do not go down to see him in the basement if he makes a noise" Yes you have guessed it, she goes down.

Bullhead 7/10

Crikey that scene with the stones was a bit unpleasant.

Very hard to watch film overall. Interesting, tense, well acted, unique etc but I couldn't watch it again.

I'll just echo what others have said about Dallas Buyers Club. Truly outstanding film with some of the best acting I've ever seen in it. Top 5 of the last year without a doubt. It also had my favourite ever disco track in the soundtrack.

Drug Wars 8/10

Chinese film about an undercover Police operation attempting to bust a Crystal Meth ring with the assistance of one of the gang bosses they arrested.

Forest Gump

What can you say. I was worried about the tone of the movie, as I don't like when people are made fun of. But I thought it was well judged

8/10

The Lego Movie - very funny and the kids loved it. 7.5/10

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey - alright but too long, some shan CGI and had James feckin Nesbitt in it. 6/10

The Frozen Ground

7/10

Thriller set in Alaska showing an interesting seedier side of the state. A serial killer is on the loose and bodies begin to pop up each summer when the ice melts. Cage and Cusack star.

The Silence

5/10

German thriller about murders spanning 23 years. Found it hard to follow and work out who was who. Some shock value but not one of the best foreign film I have watched lately.

The Act of Killing - excellent documentary but a difficult watch. Disturbing but the main feeling I was left with was how strange it was, primarily as genocide and the most horrific crimes were being described in such an odd way. 9/10

Gets more and more deranged as it goes on. Incredible film.

The Protector 5/10

The martial arts are an 11 but the story and acting bring it down to a 5.

Going to watch the sequel tomorrow.today.

We're the Millers

7/10

I was surprised how much I enjoyed this and in particular Jennifer Aniston who looked delicious for a 45 year old.

The Hangover III

4/10

Tired concept but ok I suppose. Hopefully the last one as they really are stretching the jokes out now.

Man of Steel - 6/10 - it was alright, didn't think it was as good as people made out. It's a long way off the mark set by the Dark Knight films.

The Protector 5/10

The martial arts are an 11 but the story and acting bring it down to a 5.

Going to watch the sequel tomorrow.today.

The Protector 2

More of the same but with RZA in it. 6/10

Jackie Chan makes a 2 second cameo in both films.

Flight - pretty good drama. I was expecting something a bit more like Airport ' 77 but it was actually about addiction. Decent and Denzel is always quality. 7/10

The Selfish Giant - very good, Ken Loach style British drama. Kitchen sink stuff and pretty grim but says a lot about modern Britain for forgotten parts of society - the director wrote it having met kids in similar situations while filming in Bradford. Well worth watching. 8/10

Cropsey - interesting doc about a New York urban legend that ends up focusing on a series of child abductions in the 70s and 80s. 7/10

Gets more and more deranged as it goes on. Incredible film.

It's bizarre but is superb - it should be a stick on for the oscar.

Takeshi's Tynecastle

Lego Movie

Brilliantly effective toy advert, genuinely funny for all ages and great attention to detail. A lot of folk don't seem keen on the ending but I liked it. Unfortunately makes me want to buy Lego as much as the kids...

8/10

Forgot to say that the song in it is insanely addictive! The batman song is also amusing

Edited by Takeshi's Tynecastle

Takeshi's Tynecastle

Now You See Me

I definitely enjoyed this showy heist/magic movie. But it has to be one of the most superficial movies I have ever seen! No real plot, absolutely no character development, but luckily the tricks and the stylish production just about made it worthwhile.

6/10

Star Trek Into Darkness

Mostly enjoyed this (like the first one) with some good performances (especially Cumberbatch) but let down badly by an ludicrous ending and an increasing self referential smugness to the whole thing. And those annoying lens flares!!

6/10

I've watched a load of films lately:

Syrup - Adaptation to the novel of the same name (which I read a while back). Just doesn't work as a film, it feels like it's trying too hard to be clever. 3/10

Lone Survivor - Good stuff, a little jingoistic at times but I enjoyed it. 7.5/10

Her - Hard to watch at times, it was so cringe-worthy but still oddly compelling. 6/10

Filth - James McAvoy is outstanding, a pretty good attempt given how weak the source material is (Filth isn't much of a novel IMO). 7/10

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty: gave up after about half an hour, I just find Ben Stiller insufferable. 0/10

Edited by Snake Plissken

Yeah it was pretty bleak. Check "Lilya 4-ever" for a similar story.

Lilya 4-ever

7/10

Thanks to Ray Gin's recommendation we watched this last night. Wife said at the end "that wasn't very cheery was it" but we both watched it all the way through. Subtitles warning for those who don't like them but another stark portrayal of life that makes you thank your lucky stars for what you have.

Edited by godandgorgie2012

White House Down

6/10

Alright I suppose if you like shootie up action movies. The bit where the girl waved the flag lost it a point for me. But interesting theme / reasoning for the attack on the WH so I gave it the point back!

The Fifth Estate

5/10

Wikileaks and all that jazz. An interesting portrayal by Benedict Cumberbatch of Julian Assange. Thought it tried to hard to make computer geeks sexy.

Enter the Void

Bizarre film about a drug dealer who is shot by police and whose spirit floats around experiencing the aftermath and flashbacks to past experiences. Highly stylised with some stunning imagery, although it is a bit disjointed and weird, and overly long. Lots of fairly explicit sex scenes too, not one to watch with the family.

6.5/10

Edited by Ray Gin

Lilya 4-ever

7/10

Thanks to Ray Gin's recommendation we watched this last night. Wife said at the end "that wasn't very cheery was it" but we both watched it all the way through. Subtitles warning for those who don't like them but another stark portrayal of life that makes you thank your lucky stars for what you have.

One of my fave Swedish films, and Moodysson is a great director, have you seen Tillsammans (together)? Another Swedish gem is Mitt liv som Hund (my life as a dog).

Edited by jim747

Lilya 4-ever

7/10

Aye its pretty grim. Poor wee Lilya. :(

Twenty Feet from Stardom- 8/10 Excellent documentary film for anyone interested in music history. Loved every minute of it.

Donnie Brasco 9/10

Johnny Depp plays the role well its a pity he doesn't play more of these type of roles instead of the gimmicky roles he does now.

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Way better than the original, Rooney Mara could do very well in the industry. Wasn't too fussed about watching it, but Fincher is a master of suspense and putting a movie together where everything clicks together. Hopefully he makes all three although i'm not sure if he is

10/10

Star Trek 3 - The Search for Spock 6/10

Im currently making my way through the boxset of the films. The Search for Spock is one of the weaker ones I think. It looks like it was desperately hobbled together to make sure Spock would still be in the franchise somehow. Christopher Lloyd as a Klingon was entertaining though.

Star Trek 4 - The Voyage Home 6.5/10

This is the one where the crew time travel back to late 20thC San Francisco and have to nick a couple of humpback whales to take back home, so as to save the Earth from a probe which is wreaking havoc and needs to chat to the whales. As far fetched as ever, though quite comedic in several places, especially with the crew having to deal with the 'prehistoric' customs of the past.

Star Trek 5 - The Final Frontier 6/10

Here, Spock's half-bro decides he's on a mission to find God and pretty much hijacks the Enterprise. Obviously, its all a bit pish and he doesnt find God at all. Comedy scene of Spock giving a horse a Vulcan Nerve Pinch

Goodbye Lenin! - 8/10

An German film about an East German family who's Mother falls into a coma, after a heart attack, just before the Wall comes down. She awakes after the fall and her family are told that any shock may kill her. Her son (played by the fantastic Daniel Bruhl) takes it upon himself to conduct a charade, as the Mother is the staunch Socialist, that everything is normal. Lies upon lies and it spins out of control, including having to decant Western produce into Eastern jars, eg pickles, jam, sauces. Its quite amusing in many parts and quite sad at times as well. Certainly worth a watch.

PsychocAndy

The Delivery Man 7/10

Remake of the French-Canadian film Starbuck.

I'm not a fan of Vince Vaughan but it was basically a word for word remake.