Oxgangs

Hound

8 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I've been in Merchiston Castle School.    Played a school chess match there for Forries.    Won my match.    Checkmate... ya *****.

Funnily enough I was wondering about chess the other night.

Is there any permutation that is new ?

Or can there be to win it?

• Replies 185

• Governor Tarkin

• The Real Maroonblood

• jake

1 minute ago, jake said:

Funnily enough I was wondering about chess the other night.

Is there any permutation that is new ?

Or can there be to win it?

Eh?

7 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Hosed down the library.

Good lad.

There's something deeply satisfying about conforming to the preconceptions that the monied class have of you straight after besting them on their own turf.

Edited by Governor Tarkin

5 minutes ago, jake said:

I cant think of another way to put the question.

Two questions.   

There is a practically infinite number of 'permutations' of game move complexity.

Can't answer the second one as it makes no sense.

7 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Two questions.   

There is a practically infinite number of 'permutations' of game move complexity.

Can't answer the second one as it makes no sense.

It's a mathematical game constrained by a board.

There is no infinite as its governed by that.

8 minutes ago, jake said:

It's a mathematical game constrained by a board.

There is no infinite as its governed by that.

Practically infinite is what I said.    

3 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Was she tidy?

I was about 8 or 9 ffs.

Yes, I think she was.  :wink:

55 minutes ago, Morgan said:

I was about 8 or 9 ffs.

Yes, I think she was.  :wink:

That’s the one.

My brother always had the hots for her.

He always tried to make monthly appointments.

He was about 14 or 15 at the time.😀

On 02/07/2010 at 12:04, Boof said:

Surely a good chance they would miss their intended target then?

ps - I haven't a chuffing clue where Oxgangs is :D

Same. I'm from Edinburgh and couldn't point to it on a map, and I've never set foot in it. 

17 hours ago, Smithee said:

Well that ends the debate - Oxgangs, truly the Jewel in Edinburgh's Crown.

Don't know if anyone's mentioned, but it's named after an old unit of measurement, the oxgang, which was the amount of land one ox could work per annual season

17 hours ago, Superunknown said:

Aye, someone started a thread about it recently

17 hours ago, Smithee said:

*******. Out smartarsed.

Ahem... https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/183861-oxgang/  :lol: 

14 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That’s the one.

My brother always had the hots for her.

He always tried to make monthly appointments.

He was about 14 or 15 at the time.😀

I don’t blame your brother!

When I was wee I thought she was pretty old.  In retrospect, I guess she was maybe only late 20’s or early 30’s!

6 hours ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Same. I'm from Edinburgh and couldn't point to it on a map, and I've never set foot in it.

You probably had no need to more or less cross town to go there, so that’s hardly surprising really.

Similiarly, I’ve never set foot in places like Pilton or Muirhouse for no other reason other than they were far away from where I lived. 

I would say that as a rule, folk tend to more or less stick to their ‘own part of town’.

21 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

😫  Mrs Warwick, the butcher of Oxgangs.

I got her if Mr Russell was off. Both horrific.

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

I don’t blame your brother!

When I was wee I thought she was pretty old.  In retrospect, I guess she was maybe only late 20’s or early 30’s!

38 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Her body made up for any dentistry failings.:P

41 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

He had a crap body though.

1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I take it you would have liked to have given her a filling?

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

I take it you would have liked to have given her a filling?

I would have..

It was her loss as I moved away from Oxgangs:mad:

Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

I would have..

It was her loss as I moved away from Oxgangs:mad:

Poor Hazel.  :sad: 

She never got over you.

Metaphorically speaking, of course.  

11 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

She was better looking than Mr Russell that's for sure but even more butcher like.

I can vividly remember walking in past reception and into that wee square waiting room like it was The Green Mile.

I was terrified of the place as a wee nipper.

33 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

She was better looking than Mr Russell that's for sure but even more butcher like.

I can vividly remember walking in past reception and into that wee square waiting room like it was The Green Mile.

Was Dr Motley your GP? His surgery was next door although he might have gone in your time.

40 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Snap.

I used to struggle like hell when she was gassing me.

My mum eventually moved us to another dentist when Warwick suggested removing half of my baby teeth.

The new dentist said there was nothing wrong with them.

11 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Snap.

My mum eventually moved us to another dentist when Warwick suggested removing half of my baby teeth.

It’s a pity you weren’t older to appreciate her feminine qualities.

21 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Was Dr Motley your GP? His surgery was next door although he might have gone in your time.

Nah for some reason my doctors was in Morningside, just down from the Churchill Theatre on the same side of the road.

48 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Snap.

The gas!

I was to have four teeth removed at the same time and she was attempting to put me under. I was to count from 1 to 10.  I was focussed on the glass tray beside the chair with all the wee implements on it. When I came round, someone was brushing up the broken glass from tray that I had flipped into the air just before succumbing to the bloody gas!

I think she did have a bit of a fetish for pulling teeth.

38 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Nah for some reason my doctors was in Morningside, just down from the Churchill Theatre on the same side of the road.

I was fortunate as well I didn’t have him. Mines was in the Southside.

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

I think she did have a bit of a fetish for pulling teeth.

It's an established fact.

On 18/08/2019 at 17:31, Morgan said:

And his brother, Keith (Beefy).

Took me to Hearts games with his daughters when I was a kid. His and Neil's dad was good friends with my mum and the reason I am a Hearts fan when all my dad's family are Hibs

1 minute ago, jambostuart said:

Took me to Hearts games with his daughters when I was a kid. His and Neil's dad was good friends with my mum and the reason I am a Hearts fan when all my dad's family are Hibs

He’s a good lad, is Keith.

7 minutes ago, Morgan said:

He’s a good lad, is Keith.

He's my mate's step-dad.

Big softie.

Lovely fella.

The younger brother must browse Kickback as I've seen some of the pish from here pitch up on his facebook.

Mostly ribbing the vermin type stuff.

He's a good lad too. 

23 hours ago, PTBCAL said:

I live at Colinton Mains - very neighbourly and all the kids out playing in a safe environment - does help that I live in a cul de sac with lots of grass etc 

That'll certainly help keep you chilled and allow you to enjoy your environment

18 minutes ago, Smithee said:

:isee:

5 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

He's my mate's step-dad.

Big softie.

Lovely fella.

The younger brother must browse Kickback as I've seen some of the pish from here pitch up on his facebook.

Mostly ribbing the vermin type stuff.

He's a good lad too. 

Steven? He's a good laugh. No seen any of the family in years but very fond memories of them.

Went out with a lassie frim Oxgangs.  First got rattled in about her at a flat in Dickson Street. Would have been about the time of the first Gulf War.

Midway through 22 in a row, Happy Mondays had just hit town, MC Hammer was telling us not to touch This, about 5 stone ago, had to queue for tickets at the TO/ shop in McLeod Street, Tour of Duty on the telly....

Very nearly 30 years ago.

Happy days.

On 19/08/2019 at 16:14, Morgan said:

Yellowing bad teeth?

:winkiss:

Young Broomie Terrors.😂

Back in the day they were, knew a lot of them.

33 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

Young Broomie Terrors.😂

Back in the day they were, knew a lot of them.

Ah, right!  :thumbsup:

Never heard of them, ML.

willie wallace
On 18/08/2019 at 20:20, Victorian said:

I've been in Merchiston Castle School.    Played a school chess match there for Forries.    Won my match.    Checkmate... ya *****.

Never thought I would ever see chess and Forries in the same sentence😄

On 20/08/2019 at 00:16, been here before said:

Went out with a lassie frim Oxgangs.  First got rattled in about her at a flat in Dickson Street. Would have been about the time of the first Gulf War.

Midway through 22 in a row, Happy Mondays had just hit town, MC Hammer was telling us not to touch This, about 5 stone ago, had to queue for tickets at the TO/ shop in McLeod Street, Tour of Duty on the telly....

Very nearly 30 years ago.

Happy days.

My childhood memories of Oxgangs have just come flooding back. 

You're quite the wordsmith. :lol:

Tour of Duty? Was that the Vietnam drama with "Paint it Black" at the start? 

On 19/08/2019 at 18:11, Smithee said:

How slow am I 😔😀👍

I spent the early part of my life growing up in Oxgangs moved away and came back. Now live close by in the posh houses. 😂

Oxgangs was a great place to grow up it was a place that always filled me with excitement growing up there was always stuff to do. Remember 15 aside football matches at Hunter Tryst pitch. Graduating into hanging about the chippy and going to the Com. 

Going on tour with Fat Fergie (RIP) and his group of nutters terrorising   Wester Hailes, Colvenstone etc. 

Oxgangs had had its fair share of Hibs casuals, still does have a few ageing fattys that think they are still 19.

My generation were mostly Hearts fans. It’s a weird place it seams to go through generations as there groups of fans from both sides some generations were Hobos. I agree with a previous comment football never really came into it Bar -OX came first. We stuck together it used to feel like our part of the city and we all defended it from any invaders.  

I agree it looks tired in parts parts these days. Especially down the bottom. 

Still miss the top chippy it was always the best. Merdos at the Broadway is ok though. Wee Bundy at bottom chippy seems  to have worked there my whole life. 

You can take to boy out Oxgangs, but you can’t take Oxgangs out the boy.