Your Favourite ten singles in order.....Honesty Required ! !

Heres my selection :D

1. The Jam - Town called Malice

2. The Undertones - Teenage Kicks

3. The Jam - Going Underground

4. The Clash - London Calling

5. The Monkees - Daydream Believer

6. The Who - My Generation

7. Oasis - Champagne Supernova

8. Squeeze - Labelled with love

9. The Nolans - Im in the Mood for Dancing, (thats why honesty required :o )

10. Diana Ross/Lionel Ritchie - Endless Love....My Wedding Song just in case the missus has a wee peak at this. :whistling:

Beat that classy selection fellow kickbackers. :P

10. Diana Ross/Lionel Ritchie - Endless Love....My Wedding Song just in case the missus has a wee peak at this. :whistling:

Oh dear, she will be pleased, that's the relegation position!

Sooperstar

1. The Jam - Town called Malice

2. The Undertones - Teenage Kicks

3. The Jam - Going Underground

4. The Clash - London Calling

5. The Monkees - Daydream Believer

6. The Who - My Generation

7. Oasis - Champagne Supernova

8. Squeeze - Labelled with love

9. The Nolans - Im in the Mood for Dancing, (thats why honesty required :o )

Beat that classy selection fellow kickbackers. :P

I don't really do 'favourites' and I'm not saying I dislike your selections, but that's a pretty unimaginative list.

Oh dear, she will be pleased, that's the relegation position!

:lol: Least its in there though, just. :thumbsup:

I don't really do 'favourites' and I'm not saying I dislike your selections, but that's a pretty unimaginative list.

If you dont do FAVOURITES why bother replying to the post then :down:

These are my ten favourites from vinyl singles I actually own.

Rolling Stones - Honky Tonk Women/You Can't Always Get What You Want

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles - Tears Of A Clown

Elvis Costello - Watching The Detectives

Glen Campbell - Galveston

Glen Campbell - Wichita Lineman

XTC - This Is Pop

Country Joe & The Fish - I Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die Rag

Stranglers- Grip/London Lady

Jimi Hendrix - Voodoo Chile

J. Vincent Edward - Run To The Sun

1. The Undertones - Teenage Kicks

2. Amy Winehouse - Back To Black

3. David Cassidy - Daydreamer

4. Adam & The Ants - Plastic Surgery

5. The Killers - Human

6. Radiohead - Creep

7. Lisa Minnelli - Maybe This Time

8. David Bowie - Life on Mars

9. Dexys Midnight Runners - Dance Stance

10. Glenn Miller - Moonlight Serenade

Difficult enough wittling it down to 10 singles without puttin them in order but...

Willie Nelson ? Are you sure.

Metallica ? One

Eagles ? Life in the fast lane

Feeder ? Just a day

Danzig ? 13

Santana ? Smooth

Slipknot ? Duality

Smiths ? How soon is now

Morrissey ? You have killed me

Little Boots ? Remedy (holiday song)

Ask me again tommorrow and I'll probably give a different 10, I'm fickle like that.

Sooperstar

If you dont do FAVOURITES why bother replying to the post then :down:

Slightly touchy there.

I can still have an opinion on your list without having a list of my own.

1. screamager by therapy?

2. suffer the children by napalm death

3. no fronts by dog eat dog

4. too drunk to f@@k by dead kennedys

5. new rose by the damned

6. and the bands played on by saxon

7. run to the hills by iron maiden

8. teenage kicks by the undertones

9. army life by the exploited

10. jailbreak by ac/dc

difficult to make this list as i haven`t bought singles for a long time so i chose my favourites from ones i used t have. (all on vinyl apart from ac/dc and dog eat dog)

The Comedian

Honestly...

1. True faith - New Order

2. This is the day - The The

3. Near wild heaven - REM

4. Jealous Guy - Roxy Music

5. Nothings gonna stop us now - Starship

6. Phil Collins - Dance into the light

7. A new England - Kirsty MacColl

8. Nothing lasts forever - Echo & The Bunnymen

9. Same deep water as me - I AM Kloot

10.(We want) The same thing - Belinda Carlisle

Not a bad mix I suppose, Spotify that.

10. Rhianna - Umbrella

9. Kansas - Carry On My Wayward Son

8. Jimi Hendrix - Purple Haze

7. Queens of the Stone Age - Go With The Flow

6. Battles - Atlas

5. Nine Inch Nails - Closer

4. Nine Inch Nails - Head Like A Hole

3. Queens of the Stone Age - No-One Knows

2. Rage Against The Machine - Guerrilla Radio

1. Peter Gabriel - Sledgehammer

Slightly touchy there.

I can still have an opinion on your list without having a list of my own.

Ok thats fine just thought u were having a dig at the whole opening thread. No hard feelings. :thumbsup: BTW would still be interested in your choices of music. :woot: Bit of a nosey b**tard. :lol::lol:

Stoddyhmfc

1. James - Laid

2. Manic Street Preachers - a tristesse durera

3. Oasis - Cigarettes & Alcohol

4. Rasdiohead - Creep

5. Kula Shaker - Hey Dude

6. Cast - Alright

7. James - Destiny's Calling

8. Pulp - Common People

9. The Libertines - Time For Heros

10. Paul Weller - Broken Stones

All from my time on this earth :teehee:

I can give you ten but in no particular order;

Terry Jacks - Seasons in the Sun

Barry Ryan - Eloise

Nat King Cole - L-O-V-E

Annie Lennox - Pavement Cracks

ELO - Confusion

Candi Staton - You got the love

Blondie - Atomic

Fleetwood Mac - Don't Stop

Deacon Blue - When Will You (Make my telephone ring)

Simple Minds - Don't You (forget about me)

Ask me again tomorrow and it'll probably be different. :thumbsup:

CF11JamTart

1. Never Let Me Down Again - Depeche Mode

2. Wichita Lineman - Glen Campbell

3. Rattlesnakes - Lloyd Cole and the Commotions

4. Kowalski - Primal Scream

5. Do The Strand - Roxy Music

6. Uptown Top Ranking - Althea and Donna

7. Panama - Van Halen

8. Temptation - Heaven 17

9. Bedsitter - Soft Cell

10. Dog Eat Dog - Adam and the Ants

favourite ten singles in order...well no.1 is in order :whistling:

1.Dead Kennedys-Moon over marin ( best song ever fact)

2.Conflict-The serenade is dead

3.The Clash- Bank Robber

4.Flux of Pink Indians-Tube disasters (another best song ever :thumbsup: )

5.The Stranglers-Golden Brown

6.Pixies- Bone Machine

7.Crass- I aint thick,its just a trick

8.Misfits-Last caress

9.The Exploited- Dead cities

10.Dead Kennedys-Police Truck

1. The Tamperer - Feel It

2.Lori Anderson - Oh Superman

3.Skids - Into the Valley / TV Stars

4. Rush - Spirit of Radio.

5. New Order - Ceremony

6. Smiths - What Difference Does it Make

7. Mumford & Sons - The Cave

8. Uptown Festival - Shalamar

9. Run DMC - Walk This Way

10. Blue Nile - Family Life

Randle P McMurphy

I'll give you ten based on right now and in no specific order:

The Bottle - Gil Scott Heron

The Message - Grandmaster Flash

Down In The Tubestation - The Jam

Echo Beach - Martha & The Muffins

Rock Lobster - The B52s

Gangsters - The Specials

London Calling - The Clash

Ball Of Confusion - The Temptations

Teenage Dirtbag - Wheatus

Return Of The Mack - Mark Morrison

berrasbraw

Simply The Best- Tina Turner

Summer of 69- Brian Adams

Lead Full Of Pencil- Paolo Nuttini

Dont Stop Believing-Journey

2 Out of 3 Aint Bad- Meat Loaf

You're In My Heart- Rod Stewart

Live It Up - Mental As Anything

Suspicious Minds- Elvis

I Want To Breal Free-Queen

Last but not least The Nolans lol

RossHMFC93

In no particular order but 10 songs I love and regularly listen too are:

The View - Superstar Tradesman

The Libertines - Don't look Back into the Sun

Dr Dre - Still Dre

Geto Boyz - Open Minded

The View - Face For the Radio

The View - Wasted Little DJs

Rage Against the Machine - Know Your Enemy

Rage Against the Machine - Testify

The Libertines - What a Waster

The View - Wasteland.

Not surprisingly these are right up the top of my play count on iTunes. :thumbsup:

These are my ten favourites from vinyl singles I actually own.

Rolling Stones - Honky Tonk Women/You Can't Always Get What You Want

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles - Tears Of A Clown

Elvis Costello - Watching The Detectives

Glen Campbell - Galveston

Glen Campbell - Wichita Lineman

XTC - This Is Pop

Country Joe & The Fish - I Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die Rag

Stranglers- Grip/London Lady

Jimi Hendrix - Voodoo Chile

J. Vincent Edward - Run To The Sun

'attaboy! :thumbsup:

The Androids: Andwella's Dream

Wire Eardrum Buzz

Clash Guns fo Brixton

Chicken Shack I'd Rather Go Blind

Bloodstone Natural High

Vanity Fayre When You are a King

Julee Cruse falling

ELO Showdown

Dion and the Belmonts Diane

Sparks This town aint big enough for the both of us

1 - Whats the Difference - Dr Dre

2 - The Fear - Lily Allen

3 - Touch The Sky - Kanye West

4 - Propane Nightmares - Pendulum

5 - Empire State of Mind - Jay Z

6 - 99 Problems - Jay Z

7 - Sabotage - Beastie Boys

8 - Switch - Will Smith

9 - DVNO - Justice

10 - Fit But You Know It - The Streets

Acording to my itunes :blink:

Oasis - Whatever

Oasis - Don't Look Back in Anger (for the B-side cover of Cum On Feel The Noize)

Supernaturals - Lazy Lover

Sheryl Crow - Steve McQueen

Stereophonics - The Bartender and the Thief

Ryan Adams & the Cardinals - Halloweenhead

Ocean Colour Scene - I Just Need Myself

Speedway - Can't Turn Back

The White Stripes - Seven Nation Army

The Courteeners - What Took You So Long

In no particular order...

yvonnejambo

Faithless- Insomnia

Happy Mondays-Kinky Afro

Kasabian-Fire

Chemical Brothers-Do it again

Garbage-Stupid Girl

David Bowie-The laughing Gnome

James-Laid

Savage Garden-Truly madly deeply

Farankie goes to hollywood-Two tribes

The Prodigy-Out of space

PsychocAndy

Something's Wrong The Jesus and Marychain

Nine Million Rainy Days The Jesus and Marychain

Youth against Fascism Sonic Youth

Straight to Hell The Clash

Kick over Statues The Redskins

Amerika Rammstein

Love like Blood Killing Joke

Witchcraft Frank Sinatra

I will go The Corries

Bloodsport for All Carter The Unstoppable Sex Machine

Thats tonights selection

I can give you ten but in no particular order;

Terry Jacks - Seasons in the Sun

Barry Ryan - Eloise

Nat King Cole - L-O-V-E

Annie Lennox - Pavement Cracks

ELO - Confusion

Candi Staton - You got the love

Blondie - Atomic

Fleetwood Mac - Don't Stop

Deacon Blue - When Will You (Make my telephone ring)

Simple Minds - Don't You (forget about me)

Ask me again tomorrow and it'll probably be different. thumbsup.gif

Replace Barry Ryan wi 10cc Im not in love, and Nat King Cole wi Britney ,Im not a girl,not yet a women.

And we are getting close to mine, this will change.

Great threadthumbsup.gif

Doug.

Hot Love - T.Rex

Antmusic - Adam & The Ants

Life On Mars? - David Bowie

Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now - The Smiths

Sonny's Burning - The Birthday Party

Jackie - Scott Walker

Yes - McAlmont & Butler

Wunderbar - Tenpole Tudor

His Latest Flame - Elvis Presley

Into My Arms - Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Tonights will probably be: 5:15, The Who; Totally Wired, The Fall; Part Fears 2, Associates; Take Me Bak Ome, Slade; Excerpt From A Teenage Opera, Keith West; Poor Old Soul, Orange Juice; In The Neighbourhood, Tom Waits; Keep It, Dexy's; This Guy's In Love With You, Herb Alpert; Song From Under The Floorboards, Magazine.

In no particular order

Afterglow Small Faces

Sunshine of your love Cream

Baby your a rich man Beatles

Black night Deep Purple

Cant get enough of your love Bad Co

Cry Godley & Creme

Ballroom blitz Sweet

Honky tonk woman Stones

Caroline Quo

All or nothing Small Faces

That'll do for now

Something in the air / Thunderclap Newman

Action / The Sweet

Olivers army / Elvis Costello

Going underground / The Jam

Bohemian rhapsody / Queen

Rebel rebel / David bowie

God save the queen / The sex pistols

Without you / Nillson

Duchess / The stranglers

Revolution / The beatles

This list will change tommorow or even later on today. :note:

uniwildcat38

Faithless- Insomnia

This one makes my top 10 as well.

7 more, in no particular order: and restricting myself to 1 per artist.

Dire Straits - Telegraph Road

Pop Will Eat Itself - Another Man's Rhubarb

Transglobal Underground - Dustbowl

Senser - State of Mind

The Cult - Love Removal Machine

Bomb the Bass - Bug Powder Dust

S-Express - Mantra for a State of Mind

and 2 guilty pleasures to end with

Rebel MC - Street Tuff

Supercharge - Get Up and Dance

Replace Barry Ryan wi 10cc Im not in love, and Nat King Cole wi Britney ,Im not a girl,not yet a women.

And we are getting close to mine, this will change.

Great threadthumbsup.gif

Doug.

In no particular order

Indian Sunseet - Elton John

The thunder rolls - Garth Brooks

Alive and kicking - simple minds

Hotel california - Eagles

Lightning crashes - live

Comin' from where I'm from - Anthony Hamilton

Your song - Elton John

Mr Brightside - the killers

Maggie May - Rod Stewart

I'm not in love - 10cc

Oasis - Live Forever

Stone Roses - She Bangs The Drums

The Beach Boys - Sloop John B

The Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen In Love

The Smiths - There Is A Light and it Never Goes Out

New Order - True Faith

Ocean Colour Scene - The Day We Caught The Train

R.E.M. - Man On The Moon

Wu-Tang Clan - C.R.E.A.M

2Pac and Dre - California Love

That was very tough. The criteria I included to make it remotely possible was to only include a song per artist(s), it had to be my favourite song of any they had made and had to of been released in the charts. That meant inclusion for some of my favourite acts of all time such as The Beatles, Arctic Monkeys, The Cribs, The Sex Pistols, Stevie Wonder etc had to be left out because my favourite song wasn't released as a single.

Then it came down to cutting it to a top ten which meant acts like The Jam, The Strokes, The View, Roots Manuva, Joy Division etc had to miss out because the songs weren't as much of a favourite of me as some on the list.

Which brings me to my last point that I'm not even that big fan of The Buzzcocks, Ocean Colour Scene, New Order, R.E.M. or The Beach Boys, I just love those songs.

Oasis - Live Forever

Stone Roses - She Bangs The Drums

The Beach Boys - Sloop John B

The Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen In Love

The Smiths - There Is A Light and it Never Goes Out

New Order - True Faith

Ocean Colour Scene - The Day We Caught The Train

R.E.M. - Man On The Moon

Wu-Tang Clan - C.R.E.A.M

2Pac and Dre - California Love

That was very tough. The criteria I included to make it remotely possible was to only include a song per artist(s), it had to be my favourite song of any they had made and had to of been released in the charts. That meant inclusion for some of my favourite acts of all time such as The Beatles, Arctic Monkeys, The Cribs, The Sex Pistols, Stevie Wonder etc had to be left out because my favourite song wasn't released as a single.

Then it came down to cutting it to a top ten which meant acts like The Jam, The Strokes, The View, Roots Manuva, Joy Division etc had to miss out because the songs weren't as much of a favourite of me as some on the list.

Which brings me to my last point that I'm not even that big fan of The Buzzcocks, Ocean Colour Scene, New Order, R.E.M. or The Beach Boys, I just love those songs.

You left out THE JAM :verymad::verymad: i really should have stipulated at the start of my thread they had to be included. :P

Tough yin. Instead of my top 10 favourites, in order, I'll be picking a selection of 10 choice singles which may or may not be my favourites. It's too hard to remember 10 off the top of your head.

Martha & The Vandellas - Jimmy Mack

Bob Dylan - Like A Rolling Stone

The Smiths - Ask

Marvin Gaye - Let's Get It On

The Byrds - You Ain't Going Nowhere

Delakota - The Rock

Paul Simon - Me & Julio Down By The Schoolyard

The Clash - Train In Vain

Prince - Raspberry Beret

The Beach Boys - God Only Knows

I've almost certainly forgotten dozens.

You left out THE JAM :verymad::verymad: i really should have stipulated at the start of my thread they had to be included. :P

Down In The Tube Station at Midnight was the last song that I cut.

Prefer The Jam to about 6 artists on the final list though.

Down In The Tube Station at Midnight was the last song that I cut.

Prefer The Jam to about 6 artists on the final list though.

Let you off then. :thumbsup:

1. Town called malice - The Jam

2. Down in the tube station at midnight - The Jam

3. London calling - The Clash

4. Cool for cats - Squeeze

5. Stepping out - Joe Jackson

6. All cried out - Alison moyet

7. First picture of you - Lotus Eaters

8. Peaches - The Stranglers

9. Out to get you - James

10.party fears two - The Associates

That was hard!

Actually played most of my top 10 last night. The reason I didn't play them all, is because I played the B sides too. Should great singles have a great B side?

Granty for example also gets Precious, Mr. Clean, Armagideon Time, Model, Another World, ?,?, Go Buddy Go, ? , It's Better This Way.

I'd add Too Much Too Young/Skinhead Symphony and Penny Lane/Strawberry Fields Forever.

CF11JamTart

Actually played most of my top 10 last night. The reason I didn't play them all, is because I played the B sides too. Should great singles have a great B side?

Granty for example also gets Precious, Mr. Clean, Armagideon Time, Model, Another World, ?,?, Go Buddy Go, ? , It's Better This Way.

I'd add Too Much Too Young/Skinhead Symphony and Penny Lane/Strawberry Fields Forever.

Majestic

Gareth_Hearts

10.The Kooks- Naive

9. Faithless- We Come One

8. David Gray- This Years Love

7. Akon- Beautiful

6. Stardust- Music Sounds Better With You

5. Kharma 45- Ecstasy

4. Nickelback- Savin Me

3. Temper Trap- Sweet Disposition

2. The Streets- Blinded by the Lights

1. The Killers- Mr Brightside

Theres a quick guess, need about a day to properly do mine

In no particular order.....

The Cult. She sells sanctuary.

Doves. A house.

Procol Harum. A salty dog.

The Who. Armenia city in the sky.

Primal Scream. Burning wheel.

The Specials. Do the dog.

Air. Electronic Performers.

Wolfman. For Lovers.

The Smiths. London.

Beta Band. Dry the rain.

Dry the rain has to be up there as one of the best songs ever written. :thumbsup:

And I've no Beatles in there. How hard is it?

frankblack

Can't really pick 10 "singles" as a lot of bands have better album tracks than the singles released. I've excluded a lot of bands because non-singles are far better e.g. Pixies "Where Is My Mind?".

- At The Drive-in - Invalid Litter Dept.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wR1MVdDmUA

- Arcade Fire - Wake Up Video

- The Beat - Save It For Later

- The Black Crowes - Remedy Video

- Soulsavers (feat. Mark Lanegan) - Revival

- Screaming Trees - Dollar Bill

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MPYg5V3RCNA

- The Breeders - Cannonball

- The Damned - Eloise

- Depeche Mode - Enjoy The Silence

- Interpol - Evil (got tickets for them at the Corn Exchange)

Had to cut down the number of media files, so made them links instead.

(I had to restrain myself from posting 10 Mark Lanegan related tracks).

As others say, ask me tomorrow and the list will be completely different.

Some magic shouts throughout the thread by the way - even the worst lists imo have at least one or two belters. :thumbsup:

CF11JamTart

Re-doing my list to have chronologically (-ish) ten singles that, when they were released, made me think "bloody hell! that is fantastic" and had a lasting impression on me or altered the sort of music that I was listening to.

1. Dog eat dog - Adam and the ants

2. Bedsitter - Soft Cell

3. Temptation - Heaven 17

4. Don't you forget about me - Simple Minds

5. Love Removal Macine - The Cult

6. Tinder - Hipsawy

7. Loaded - Primal Scream

8. Midlife Crisis - Faith No More

9. I feel you - Depeche Mode

10. Take Me Out - Franz Ferdinand

championsleaguefan

1. Sally Cinnamon ( stone roses)

2. She Bangs the Drums ( stone roses)

3. Step On ( Happy Mondays)

4. Champange Supa Nova ( Oasis)

5. Billie Jean (Michael J)

6. Ebernezer Good (Shamen)

7. Roll with it ( Oasis)

8. This is how it feels ( Inpiral Carpets)

9. Tell me ( Inpiral Carpets)

10. Where's me Jumper ( Sultans of Ping Fc) lol how good

Could listen to that lot for ever.