Hearts 80s merchandise

Gershwin

Anyone remember all the club stuff you used to get in the 80s?

The sweatband and head band packs (Maroon-white-maroon with 'HEARTS' written in the middle)

Scarves that faded

Those felt outlined player pictures you could colour in

Silky bunnet-style hats.

Those were the days

Carl Weathers

The sweatband and head band packs (Maroon-white-maroon with 'HEARTS' written in the middle)

Scarves that faded

Silky bunnet-style hats.

Those were the days

I'm sure I still have my scarf with Hearts printed on one side.

Good days indeed.

I've still got my silky bunnet from the eighties, got Gary Mackay and Henry Smith's signatures on it.

Had the sweatbands and all that stuff aswell.

Bring back the silky bunnets!

Scarves that faded

Silky bunnet-style hats.

Those were the days

Oh aye, I'd love a sweatband set. And a silky bunnet. Hearts commercial department - Get on it!

I'm sure they didn't sell many of the hibs version :eek:

You are wrong actually......seemingly there was a massive demand for hibs soap.

Seemingly the phrase "would you bend down to pick up the soap" was coined back in the mid eighties in the Easter Road area.....:confused:

I remember that the club shop was a pie stand like shed on the McLeod Street terrace and was it Topps Sports or something that was on Gorgie Road.

Scarves that faded

Silky bunnet-style hats.

Those were the days

Oh I remember them well. Had all of the above, except the bunnet. I remember colouring in those pictures too-could never find a maroon felt-tip and the Hearts team all ended up in purple!

The woollen gloves with HEARTS across the knuckles.

I went oot with a Burd who I thought had them...She didnae wear gloves!! :eek:

I still have the soap in a set, the silky bunnet, which is a bit tattered now, the scarf with the faded HEARTS on it, and one of the wristbands.

I also have a variety of pennants, and Hearts strips that chart my growth from approximately age 7 onwards.

I'm now 29....

i have just moved to Milngavie and am now desperate to protect my house.

this soap would be better than an alarm system! :rofl:

i have just moved to Milngavie and am now desperate to protect my house.

this soap would be better than an alarm system! :rofl:

You sit behind me in glorious Section P. You've really moved to Drumchapel haven't you!?

aye - tis me. will look forward to soap discussions tomorrow.

and no - to the drumchapel cheek. i don't stay anywhere near the Beirut of the West

Think i still have the soap somewhere.Also a little book you could put players pictures in..Got Jeffries, Brough etc..

Also legendary were the half and half bobble hats, where the four panels were divided between a hearts badge, and in my case a Newcastle badge.

Remeber having a tankard and lots of etched glassware.

Back in the 70's we had the "Don't follow me - follow Hearts" bumper sticker. Would love to see a re-issue.

Brought some friends from Sheffield up to Edinburgh for a Hearts-Dunfermline match back in February 2003 as part of my stag weekend and they were very impressed at being able to buy a half and half Hearts and Sheffield Wednesday hat.

The woollen gloves with HEARTS across the knuckles.

You'd cut the fingers off the end if you wanted to look tough !!!!

Anyone remember the Digital watches you could get in Shoot Magazine

for various teams. They would have a plastic face in maroon and white

with Hearts written on and the badge etc...

I didn't want a Hearts hat with any English teams on it, so I got one that had Scotland on the other side. The terrible thing is, I still wear it - I wore it at a Youth match down here in rainy Oxfordshire last week. Until I started reading these posts I honestly didn't remember it was over 20 years old.

Sorry had to remove the soap photos - were causing issues.

What sort of issues webmaster?

Dunno if you are havin a laugh or being serious!

What sort of issues webmaster?

Dunno if you are havin a laugh or being serious!

Our Weedgie-based members were complaining.

Only they know how Dracula feels about garlic.

I've still got my Heart of Midlothian First Division Champions 79 - 80 scarf

My old man bought it for me off the ?24 he won on the pools for the grand sum of ?3

I remember that the club shop was a pie stand like shed on the McLeod Street terrace and was it Topps Sports or something that was on Gorgie Road.

My first ever "job" was to carry big bags of merchanise from the shop to the shed shop in the School End. We had a pass to get let through the big metal gates and in for nothing. Me and my cousin did it together aged about 11 or 12 for a while. Why we weren't robbed I'll never know.

Best job I've ever had really.

Anyone else have a Davy Crockett hat or was it just me?

I've still got the Hearts soap. Got it as a birthday present in 1986 and even as a 9 year knew it was too good to use, especially to wash my @rse. Left that to the sharpely cornered Imperial Leather bar:eek:

I remember the car sticker with don't follow me follow hearts, Ladies nylon briefs with an up Hearts motif on and the only thing I could afford as a lad, - a Hearts comb

Anyone else have a Davy Crockett hat or was it just me?

I've still got the Hearts soap. Got it as a birthday present in 1986 and even as a 9 year knew it was too good to use, especially to wash my @rse. Left that to the sharpely cornered Imperial Leather bar:eek:

didn't have one but remember them (hat not soap); & the Gilzean badges like Jesus saves but busby nets the rebound.

or the white silk scarf with "Hearts" in maroon on it, still have it. :movethatass::toasting:

I had some Topsport badges that said things like "I'd rather watch Crossroads than Hibs" and something about Gregor Stevens halfing somebody.

For me, Topsport was a sort of Mecca.

Art Vanderlay

Surely they still do wristbands?

A staple bit of merchandise for a football club, I'd have thought.

Still got my old ones, and the headband somewhere. And the hearts soap dish. Hell I still got a very faded Hearts duvet cover with the lines of a football pitch printed on it... in fact, I might even dig that out and she how she looks in action...

"I'm a Happy Hearts Fan" heart shaped sticker,

the "Umbro" scarf with the gold/yellow through it (late 1970's)

The "Wings" patch over the back of the denim jacket:o

I had some Topsport badges that said things like "I'd rather watch Crossroads than Hibs" and something about Gregor Stevens halfing somebody.

For me, Topsport was a sort of Mecca.

I loved Topsport too, used to go in before every match, I remember a Celtic fan getting a Celtic strip printed with 'Walker' on the back, I told Russell he spelt it wrong and it should be an 'N'. The Tic fan wasn't very happy but I thought it was funny...

Wish I could get one of those silver & maroon shiny tracksuits that would fit me now.

Felt like the dugs nuts in that

he he, i've got one of those in a bin bag in the loft. :cool:

got loads of those shell suit trackies and training tops too :confused:

along with a fair few ill-fitting (now anyway) and fashion-less pieces of garb.:eek:

Also legendary were the half and half bobble hats, where the four panels were divided between a hearts badge, and in my case a Newcastle badge.

I had a Hearts/Union Flag cause they didn't have a Scunny one!