jambo mark Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 "Oh, that deserved a goal" NO, IT DIDN'T!!! If it deserved a goal it would have gone in
i8hibsh Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 "saved by the woodwork" grrrrrrrrrr 1.It aint wood 2.It is not as though the post is in the middle of the goal, the post is the outside of the target so it did not save the goal
rdewar42 Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 "saved by the woodwork" grrrrrrrrrr 1.It aint wood 2.It is not as though the post is in the middle of the goal, the post is the outside of the target so it did not save the goal That one gets to me as well. The bar and posts define the limits of the target area and are not part of it. Therefore they cannot "save" anything. If a shot hits them, it's a miss!
pupstersajambo Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 One thats creeped into commentators vocabulary in the last two seasons, "The Goalie/Defender just about got away with that" following the keeper/defender clearing it. They never JUST ABOUT got away with it, they DID get away with it.....
hom1874 Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 I would like Lawrence and Mark Donaldson to stop discussing the merits of the gourmet pies that they and Gary McKay consume by the bucketload and concentrate on giving us the action on the field. I have no interest whatsoever on their gourmet habits. It makes me hungry. Thanks mate I wasn't cocentrating very well.
scottish_chicP Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 Did anyone hear the commentator on celtic tonight say "it's just one of those nights you have to take your medicine"? Eh what?!
BigBreezey Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 'he could open a tin of beans with that left foot' naw, he couldnae!
gowestjambo Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 The thing I hate about commentators is when they say - Hearts Nil.............
Domokun Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 I really hate it when, and I know this may not count as a cliche, commentators say "pen" instead of penalty. Also, tonight while watching the Sellick comedy, the commentator on Sky One shortened a set-piece to "set". WHAT IS THE BLOODY POINT? :mad:
Thunderstruck Posted February 20, 2008 Posted February 20, 2008 It's not strictly speaking commentary but the Sportsound "whistle" that seems to come through with added volume at half-time and full time and for some interruptions in play. Is some wee jakey employed to sit with his finger on a sound effects button?
OmiyaHearts Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 'The first goal was always going to be important'. Really? Big Ron loved 'Early Doors'. - 'Hearts were two up early doors.' I have no idea what an early door is.
OmiyaHearts Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 Just found a few other classic Big Ron quotes 'They've done the old-fashioned things well; they've kicked the ball, they've headed it...' 'I've had this sneaking feeling throughout the game that it's there to be won.'
rdewar42 Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 'The first goal was always going to be important'. Really? Big Ron loved 'Early Doors'. - 'Hearts were two up early doors.' I have no idea what an early door is. Agreed. This "early doors" thing grates on my nerves. Its origins are a mystery to me.
Del1812 Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 that craig burley does ma tits in..think it was the last derby the end o last season when we won two nil..and bednar missed some chances..all burley kept sayin was "it should be bread and butter" every shot we had. A good drinking game is to take a shot every time Burley says 'bread and butter' during any commentary. Although be warned, last time I played it I remember nothing after 53 minutes of the match and awoke the next day cuddling a traffic cone.