Turncoat XI

Ivan Drago

Posted
I take it Mikel Arteta, Gaizka Mendieta and Iker Casillas were all outwith your budget then!? Lizarazu is still the only non-Spanish basque to have represented Bilbao, quite remarkable that they have done so well for so long in the Spanish top flight (from memory they have won the Copa Del Rey the 2nd most times and have never been relegated).

Casillas is from Madrid.

Posted
The Basque people live in both countries on both sides of the Pyrenees but predominantly in Spain but not sure where Lizarazu was born does anyone know?

he was born on the french side, i like the fact that athletic are the only top flight club not to have a shirt sponsor, and to play for them you must be Basque

Posted

Puskas, Schiaffino, Ghiggia, Desailly, Gullit, Rijkaard, Thuram, Aldridge, Cascarino, Houghton, McCarthy, Holland... there's bloody loads of 'em!

Posted
ZZ is of Algerian descent ie both parents Algerian i believe, however im pretty sure he was born in France, unlike a lot of their coloured players who were born in places like Senegal

Of the 23 players who won teh 98 world cup, I believe that only one was pure French. The rest were all of African decent.

Posted

Who cares about descent. Surely you can only be one nationality and that is the country whose land you are born in.

Posted

steven fletcher born in england raised by the flairmeisters:sarcasm:

Posted

John Barnes (Jamaica/England)

Cyrille Regis (cannae remember/England)

I was reading a website about foreign born England players that threw up a couple of funnies :

Stam Mortensen (England winger) actually made his debut FOR Wales in an England v Wales games (something to do with Wales getting humped at the time and having no subs).

Bobby Moore captained England AND 'Team America' on a few occasions : including one game for USA v England.

Apparently Rodney Marsh and George Best should also have played but did a runner - probably for a quiet shandy.:rolleyes:

Posted
Of the 23 players who won teh 98 world cup, I believe that only one was pure French. The rest were all of African decent.

I doubt that;

Barthez

Blanc

Lizarazu

Petit

Deschamps

Dugarry

Candela

Guivarc'h

Le Bouf

Pires (although he's part Portugese)

I take it your on the wind-up?

Posted
John Charles was a hugely proud Welshman, born and brought up in Swansea until he signed for Leeds. His brother also played for Wales if I recall correctly.

As is my brother in law who is so Welsh he supports Cardiff and Man U

I think his brother was Len and ma Da rated him too

HMFCjamieHMFC
Posted
I doubt that;

Barthez

Blanc

Lizarazu

Petit

Deschamps

Dugarry

Candela

Guivarc'h

Le Bouf

Pires (although he's part Portugese)

I take it your on the wind-up?

and Trezerguet is French-Argentine

Posted
Lizarazu was still born in France i think...

He's done ok then.

Posted
He's done ok then.

oops...

Posted

Ball. Ox.

Posted

dominic matteo

(england/scotland)

Posted

Many of you have mentioned that many French players are originally from Africa. But it goes the other way around too. Frederic Kanoute, born and bred in France, although his parents were form Mali, he was fed up waiting for a chance in the French national team and thus decided to represent his parents' fatherland Mali. Rather a big loss for France, I would say.

Posted
Many of you have mentioned that many French players are originally from Africa. But it goes the other way around too. Frederic Kanoute, born and bred in France, although his parents were form Mali, he was fed up waiting for a chance in the French national team and thus decided to represent his parents' fatherland Mali. Rather a big loss for France, I would say.

Im sure at the time Kanoute was hopelessly inconsistent, but capable of the odd moment of brilliance - i said at the time that i felt if he waited and became a more consistent player he wouldnt be far from the France squad. would certainly have him in my team before Trezegay, and possibly Henry as well at the moment...

Posted

Emanuel Olisadebe???

Posted
Bit of monday morning fun - pick 11 players who played for an international team other than the country of their birth.

Only one condition - you cant pick A**** McG**** coz he's a ******.

Here goes

Sullivan (England/Scotland)

Lucio Wagner (Brazil/Bulgaria)

Gough (Sweden/Scotland)

Elliot (england/scotland)

stockdale (England/Scotland)

Hargreaves (Canada/England)

Viera (Senegal/France)

Vinnie Jones (England/Wales)

Klose (Poland/Germany)

Di Stefano (Argentina/Colombia/Spain)

Eduardo (Brazil/Croatia)

I struggled a bit with defenders.....

Don't want to sound pedantic (but here goes) but how could you be struggling with defenders and still play Vinnie Jones in midfield?

sergent garcia
Posted

mauro camoranesi (argentina/italy) klose(poland/germany) bojan (croatia/spain) marcos senna (brasil/spain) and half of swiss team is from turkey in origin...

Posted
mauro camoranesi (argentina/italy) klose(poland/germany) bojan (croatia/spain) marcos senna (brasil/spain) and half of swiss team is from turkey in origin...

Actually it's serbia/spain (and catalonia). I can't blame him for doing that because no-one in their right state of mind would want to represent Serbia. A horrid, horrid country.

Posted

Ged Brannan

England/Cayman Islands

What a turncoat!;)

Posted

Edward "Ed" John McIlvenny (born 21 October 1924 in Greenock, Renfrewshire, Scotland – died May 18, 1989 in Eastbourne, Sussex, England) was a Scottish-American football (soccer) player who most notably captained the United States national team in their 1–0 upset of England in the 1950 World Cup.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ed_McIlvenny

crazy_jambo_2006
Posted

Scotland have had some right numpties, who were English. It was a complete farce, Enduring the likes of Stockdale, Matt Elliot, Neil Sullivan. Embarrassing. It's as if they see us as a backwater, where they can jaunt to and play some International Football.

It helps if they are any good. Andy Goram - English - but worked (played) up here. Stockdale, Syllivan and Elliot have never lived/worked in Scotland, as far as I know.

McGeady is a disgrace. It's not that he plays for Ireland. It's that he chose to play for another country, other than Scotland. The fact that it's Ireland doesn't bother me (that's a different argument) but how dare anyone turn their back on their country?

Posted

Bit harsh for people to be mentioning Puskas in this list. He only stopped playing for Hungary after being exiled as a traitor by the Communist regime when he left his homeland to turn professional at Real Madrid. He had about 100 caps for Hungary before playing a few times for Spain.

To compare the great man to the likes of McGeady is disgraceful!

Posted
Bit harsh for people to be mentioning Puskas in this list. He only stopped playing for Hungary after being exiled as a traitor by the Communist regime when he left his homeland to turn professional at Real Madrid. He had about 100 caps for Hungary before playing a few times for Spain.

To compare the great man to the likes of McGeady is disgraceful!

Actually Puskas signed for Real Madrid after refusing to return to Hungary after Honved were abroad on European business when the Hungarian uprising happened.

So he didn't actually leave Hungary to play for Madrid, he played for Madrid after refusing to return to Hungary.

sergent garcia
Posted
Actually it's serbia/spain (and catalonia). I can't blame him for doing that because no-one in their right state of mind would want to represent Serbia. A horrid, horrid country.

ai sorry my mistake sure he is serbian, but why sucha things bout serbia was there last summer superb country, best girls i ever saw:) i have lots of friends (round 5:) there. anyway why u saying sucha thing?

Posted

Wasn't this guy born in Spain while his dad was playing there ?

Posted
Wasn't this guy born in Spain while his dad was playing there ?

yeah i think thats the case

Posted

Bojan Krkic is Serbian, not Croatian.

Posted
he was born on the french side, i like the fact that athletic are the only top flight club not to have a shirt sponsor, and to play for them you must be Basque

Barca do not have a shirt sponsor either and actually pay unicef to put it on their own shirt.

Posted
dominic matteo

(england/scotland)

Not true.

He was born in Dumfries.

It is true that he grew up entirely in England, represented England B and was actually called up to the full England squad at one point in the early 90s, but never played (there was actually something of a controversy about England 'poaching' him at the time).

But for those curious people who actually seem to believe that you should be barred from representing any country except the one your mother happened to be in when you popped out, he's not a turncoat at all. Which is ironic, since he is possibly the worst kind - a player who represented a country that was not their first choice in order to get to play international football.

(Actually, that's not true. The worst kind has to be McGeady, who chose another country because he didn't think Scotland were going anywhere. Does anyone think he would have been so keen on Ireland if we had qualified for the last couple of World Cups? Thought not.)

Posted
Not true.

(Actually, that's not true. The worst kind has to be McGeady, who chose another country because he didn't think Scotland were going anywhere. Does anyone think he would have been so keen on Ireland if we had qualified for the last couple of World Cups? Thought not.)

I thought it was because Smelltic don't allow there kids to play schools football and you cant play for Scotland School Boys unless you play schools football. The Irish exploited that, through Packy Bonner, and has grown up playing for Ireland. His choice was turn his back on the country that played him in Internationals or play for the country of his birth who wouldn't play him at all.

Posted
I thought it was because Smelltic don't allow there kids to play schools football and you cant play for Scotland School Boys unless you play schools football. The Irish exploited that, through Packy Bonner, and has grown up playing for Ireland. His choice was turn his back on the country that played him in Internationals or play for the country of his birth who wouldn't play him at all.

Perhaps so. I'm sure there was a lot written in the papers about Scotland's (then) lowly standing when he declared for Ireland, though. A little too much for this to be nothing but idle speculation on the part of the papers, or so I thought.