Wimbledon 2009 thread

djf

Ok, thanks. Very informative.

Few more questions.

What is your opinion on Hobo Murrays Queens win, impressive?

Can you predict the 4 semi-finalists at Wimbledon please?

Thanks in advance.

Loving the avatar, AP. :10900:

• Replies 1.4k
Loving the avatar, AP. :10900:

Apologies for having an avatar. :D

Arse 'Friends' Dyslexic?
BIG CUPS in tennis are Wimbledon and The USA open, the French doesn't count , the OZ open is equivalent to a CIS Cup win.

Time will tell, 4 in a row, 104 to go.

Should you not be out getting PUMPed by the other guys down the gym?

Arse 'Friends' Dyslexic?
Should you not be out getting PUMPed by the other guys down the gym?

Oops - meant to say "with the other guys".

Well I hope Murray goes out in the first round as a result of being pish

You're as predictable as you are ignorant and immature.

My personal favourite for the tourney and as a player in general is Fed but your constant trolling of tennis threads with the same old crap has me wanting Murray to score an unlikely victory. Not, I suspect that it would shut you the duck up.

Here's Jon Wertheim's predictions, which I always check before every Grand Slam, and have been going on for over a decade now. Seem fair enough to me: I'm wary of Murray's likely meeting with Roddick in the semi though.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/writers/jon_wertheim/06/19/wimbledon.men/index.html?eref=T1

Murray will get beat in the Semis.

Federer will win it IMO.

Can Nadal and Fed play each other in the final or are they in the same draw?

Well I hope Murray goes out in the first round as a result of being pish and a hobo. I'll be supporting Roddick this year, seems a decent bloke and has the nickname 'A-rod' which is much nicer than 'dour scottish ****'.

For those supporting Murray remember this quote -

"Jamie said: "When we went to watch Hibs my favourite player was Michael O'Neill, but the guy we both loved to watch had to be Russell Latapy, a magical player and a real entertainer.

"Andy's favourite player, though, was another tricky wee midfielder, MICKEY WEIR." YES, MICKEY WEIR!

So just because Andy supports Hibs means you wont support him?

Give it a rest!

Murray will get beat in the Semis.

Federer will win it IMO.

Can Nadal and Fed play each other in the final or are they in the same draw?

News of the draw has yet to reach Cyprus, it seems; nor have Nadal's injury problems... He's just withdrawn from the event at a live press conference.

Ok, thanks. Very informative.

Few more questions.

What is your opinion on Hobo Murrays Queens win, impressive?

Can you predict the 4 semi-finalists at Wimbledon please?

Thanks in advance.

I thought Murray did well at Queens but he always does well when the BIG boys aren't there. He played some nice stuff but nothing overwhelming.

Only semi final prediction i'll make is that Murray won't be there, all joking aside the UK media will ensure he will flap early on, the pressure already on him is enormous, have you seen the TV ad the now, something like ' Britain hasn't had a mens winner for xx years but we will soon and we'll be there to cover it" basically saying they EXPECT him to win, just like Hibs expected to beat Livvy in the CIS final.

I'm sorry to comment on these threads but it's an open forum and I don't like Murray so I am entitled to comment how I like, after all many opinions make a debate not just one Pro Murray opinion.

COME ON A-ROD!

I thought Murray did well at Queens but he always does well when the BIG boys aren't there. He played some nice stuff but nothing overwhelming.

Only semi final prediction i'll make is that Murray won't be there, all joking aside the UK media will ensure he will flap early on, the pressure already on him is enormous, have you seen the TV ad the now, something like ' Britain hasn't had a mens winner for xx years but we will soon and we'll be there to cover it" basically saying they EXPECT him to win, just like Hibs expected to beat Livvy in the CIS final.

I'm sorry to comment on these threads but it's an open forum and I don't like Murray so I am entitled to comment how I like, after all many opinions make a debate not just one Pro Murray opinion.

COME ON A-ROD!

Thankfully, the hype surrounding Murray has yet to reach anything remotely like that which burdened and went a long way towards ruining Henman. The problem will start if he's still not won a major by the end of Wimbledon 2010 - because it's when the question became not "when Henman wins", but "will he ever win?" that things turned nasty.

As for Murray not reaching the semis: unless he gets injured, I very much expect you'll be wrong.

Optimus Prime

Murray has a superb chance how that Nadal is out. Looking at his quarter of the draw there is very few obstacles there with perhaps Stanislas Warwinka presenting the biggest threat. Del Porto doesn't have the game on grass and i predict he'll go out in the first week.

Mikhail Youzhy v Juan Carlos Ferrero is a great first round clash and the winner of this could also be a danger in Murrays quarter.

The big winner with Nadals exit is Leyton Hewitt as the draw now opens up for him.

Think the draw contributed to Nadal's decision, he had a shocking draw.

It's all set up now for a Federer-Murray final. Realistically I think the only guy that might stop that could be Roddick but his record against Murray is woeful and Murray will probably beat him because he can get his serve back into play (the same reason why Federer always beats him as well).

Saw arguments earlier that Murray has a difficult draw, I just don't see it. I don't think he could have picked a better draw. Dent might be dangerous in the third round but Murray returns too well to lose to a big server. Like the French, Gonzalez is a danger in the quarters but on grass, Murray would win.

If Federer serves like he did in the French, he'll win.

Arse 'Friends' Dyslexic?
I think Amelie Mauresmo will win the men's title this year.

Don't give up.

One day someone'll find your posts amusing...

:10900:

The big winner with Nadals exit is Leyton Hewitt as the draw now opens up for him.

Agreed. He's really got to fancy his chances to go a long way now. Him against Roddick in the quarters would be good.

I'm sure Boris'll be doing what he usually does. Boris on Lleyton Hewitt in 2002: "Look at those spots on his face!"

As for Henman - he doesn't have any regrets. He knows he overachieved, unlike muppets in the media or broader public who don't understand the slightest thing about the sport.

Best Becker quote of Wimbledon, among a career of many, was whe John Inverdale asked him what Tim Henman would be thinking the night Ivanisevic knocked him out in the semi.

"He won't be thinking anything", said Boris, "He's probably drunk!"

Optimus Prime
Agreed. He's really got to fancy his chances to go a long way now. Him against Roddick in the quarters would be good.

Yeah and tbh i'd fancy him to beat Roddick. Hewitt has the return of serve to nullify Roddicks main weapon.

Don't give up.

One day someone'll find your posts amusing...

:10900:

I'm afraid that I did with that one. Probably because it's relative to 3ismymentalage's piffle elsewhere on the thread.

Shame that Nadal has had to withdraw. He strikes me as a modest and decent man. That's him down 2000 points in the rankings, then. If Federer goes on to win the tournament, he's back at #1.

I can't see Hewitt doing much, though. He's worn out. Like Nadal, he had a style which couldn't be sustained at the top level for a long career.

COME ON A-ROD!

It's a tennis debate. The "opinions" given in your usual posts are nothing to do with tennis.

You are not knowledgeable about tennis and, if you bothered to read the content of any of the posts rather than just reach for the caps lock key and start typing the usual tiresome pish, you'd notice that the threads are not usually one-sided pro-Murray threads. And guess what? They work perfectly well without your nonsense.

A reminder.

I know squat about tennis and can see Murray is a bottler BUT I will now never again talk about him UNTIL he gets pumped out of Wimbledon in the summer. My thoughts of Murray are now silenced and I apologise to you all if I have upset or bored you. Alas we shall meet again come SW19.

You owe us at least 4 weeks of silence on tennis matters.

Murray may be a genuinely good player but i don`t think he`ll win Wimbledon because i think he`s a bottler.

Over the last year i`ve noticed he`s came back crashing down to earth in the big tournaments after the usual hype of what he`s going to do.

Then you get the excuses from him and how he`s going to do it the next time blah blah blah....he may be better but i think he`s another Henman in the making but probably will be more successful in the smaller tourneys.

Is Rafael Nadal supposed to be under suspicion of taking a drug which is not detected?

First I heard of it.

Murray has a better chance than ever now of winning wimbledon. He has always appeared unlucky before where he faces Nadal in the semi than Federer in the final or vice-versa. It is always going to be tough for him. He got good practice at Queens but the problem for people will always be Federer, he won the French Open for the first time so is back on top of his game so who ever faces him will need to play the game of their life to beat him.

I'm sure Boris'll be doing what he usually does. Boris on Lleyton Hewitt in 2002: "Look at those spots on his face!"

As for Henman - he doesn't have any regrets. He knows he overachieved, unlike muppets in the media or broader public who don't understand the slightest thing about the sport.

My favourite Becker quote was when the camera homed in on some fat bird with a banner saying "Marry me Tim". There was a slight pause then Becker said "She's gonna be waiting maybe 100 years!" :laugh: No doubt the PC brigade will be all over it again this year, probably the reason the BBC dropped him in the first place!

Disappointed Rafa's not there, myself.

Not because I like him, quite the opposite - I wanted a Federer vs Nadal final, with both players at full fitness, so that Roger could take back what's rightfully his.

I'm all about the guy. Wears old school Wimbers clobber, check. Proper headband, check.

nike-roger-federer-sharapova-1.jpg

Well I hope Murray goes out in the first round as a result of being pish and a hobo.

He might be a hobo but he's hardly pish. He's number 3 in the world behind 2 of the greatest tennis players of all time! Your argument of choosing to hate the man just because he supports a different football team is ridiculous, i'm not convinced you have the mental age above 12 tbh.

Murray may be a genuinely good player but i don`t think he`ll win Wimbledon because i think he`s a bottler.

Over the last year i`ve noticed he`s came back crashing down to earth in the big tournaments after the usual hype of what he`s going to do.

Then you get the excuses from him and how he`s going to do it the next time blah blah blah....he may be better but i think he`s another Henman in the making but probably will be more successful in the smaller tourneys.

I see where you are coming from but I dont think Murray really is a bottler in the 'True Brit' sense.

He's crashed out a few times, as he's not always able to produce his 'A' game whenever it's really needed, however for every step back I think he's taking two forward :2thumbsup:

Good thread by the way ................a lot more knowledge of Tennis than fitbah being shown I have to say though :10900:

He might be a hobo but he's hardly pish. He's number 3 in the world behind 2 of the greatest tennis players of all time! Your argument of choosing to hate the man just because he supports a different football team is ridiculous, i'm not convinced you have the mental age above 12 tbh.

Especially when he hardly supports said team! :stuart:

Would be the equivalent of a Real Madrid fan not wanting me to succeed as I'm a Barca fan.

3inabeds bird is still tidier tho

Poor Murray, he'll never amount to anything :(

I have it on good authority that 3inabed's bird is at least 37% uglier than this...

ugly+woman.jpg

That's really unfair on Murray, imo.

He hardly bottled the US Open - he had an epic against Nadal one day, where he showed plenty bottle, and then ran into a fresh Federer on top of his game the next. He got further than he's ever been in the French, despite clay being his weakest surface by far and having a draw packed with clay specialists. The Australian is the only one where he could be accused of missing an opportunity, but Verdasco was immense on the day.

It's way, way too early to be saying he's a bottler when he's only properly emerged as a top class player over the last year. Give him time. If he's not won any Grand Slams in the next 3 years, then sure, start to worry.

You're calling him another Henman - he's got more titles under his belt at 22 than Tiger Tim got in his entire career. Entirely different prospect imo.

That's really unfair on Murray, imo.

He hardly bottled the US Open - he had an epic against Nadal one day, where he showed plenty bottle, and then ran into a fresh Federer on top of his game the next. He got further than he's ever been in the French, despite clay being his weakest surface by far and having a draw packed with clay specialists. The Australian is the only one where he could be accused of missing an opportunity, but Verdasco was immense on the day.

It's way, way too early to be saying he's a bottler when he's only properly emerged as a top class player over the last year. Give him time. If he's not won any Grand Slams in the next 3 years, then sure, start to worry.

You're calling him another Henman - he's got more titles under his belt at 22 than Tiger Tim got in his entire career. Entirely different prospect imo.

Exactly Thommo.

Even the Verdasco defeat can be put into perspective when you remember that it went to 5 sets and that Verdasco took Nadal to the longest game in Aussie open history after it.

Verdasco was in the form of his life.

Unfortunately, Andy will be accused by many of bottling it every time he doesn't win a major.

Ludicrous, but there you go.

Exactly Thommo.

Even the Verdasco defeat can be put into perspective when you remember that it went to 5 sets and that Verdasco took Nadal to the longest game in Aussie open history after it.

Verdasco was in the form of his life.

Unfortunately, Andy will be accused by many of bottling it every time he doesn't win a major.

Ludicrous, but there you go.

It was ludicrous in Henman's - a weaker player than Murray - case too, but that didn't stop everyone doing it.

There's four big Cups in tennis: Wimbledon is the most prestigious, the Aussie Open the least prestigious.

Fog in channel, continent cut off. ;)

It was ludicrous in Henman's - a weaker player than Murray - case too, but that didn't stop everyone doing it.

Not so sure if that's true Shaun.

I always thought that Henman grossly over-performed at Wimbledon.

I think people deep down knew he just wasn't good enough.

I think people are starting to realise that Murray certainly is good enough...but being good enough and actually doing it are two different things.

The men's game is like a Piranha tank. It's full of players that can beat you on their day.

I just hope that Andy can get that first major out the way to take all the pressure off.

By the way, like you, I think Flushing Meadows is where it's at for him this year. But after Nadal pulling out today....I''m daring to dream a little. :th_o:

andy-murray_1012528c.jpg

I honestly think this is the moment 3menarenakedinmybed snapped and totally lost the plot when it came to Murray.

He just couldnae accept the fact that a HOBO DOUR FACED MUG like Murray who isnae PUMPED could attract some top class clunge.

Honestly, never seen such an irrational hatred in all my life. He puts it down to the Hibs thing but he's kidding himself on. He actually posted some pish on another thread ripping into Murray because he wouldn't enjoy a holiday as much as Cristiano Ronaldo would. WTF.

Obviously Murray has pumped his bird/ma/sister or he played tennis but just wasnae good enough.

andy-murray_1012528c.jpg

I honestly think this is the moment 3menarenakedinmybed snapped and totally lost the plot when it came to Murray.

He just couldnae accept the fact that a HOBO DOUR FACED MUG like Murray who isnae PUMPED could attract some top class clunge.

Honestly, never seen such an irrational hatred in all my life. He puts it down to the Hibs thing but he's kidding himself on. He actually posted some pish on another thread ripping into Murray because he wouldn't enjoy a holiday as much as Cristiano Ronaldo would. WTF.

Obviously Murray has pumped his bird/ma/sister or he played tennis but just wasnae good enough.

I think the bitterness can be traced back to 3inabed's bird's first modeling shoot.

fat-tennis-player.jpg

Not so sure if that's true Shaun.

I always thought that Henman grossly over-performed at Wimbledon.

I think people deep down knew he just wasn't good enough.

I think people are starting to realise that Murray certainly is good enough...but being good enough and actually doing it are two different things.

The men's game is like a Piranha tank. It's full of players that can beat you on their day.

I just hope that Andy can get that first major out the way to take all the pressure off.

By the way, like you, I think Flushing Meadows is where it's at for him this year. But after Nadal pulling out today....I''m daring to dream a little. :th_o:

He did. But someone who over-performs and eventually loses to a superior player isn't a choker! Meanwhile, if the people knew deep down he wasn't good enough (you're right: he wasn't), it might've been an idea if they hadn't acted like he'd let down the entire country when being beaten by a superior player, or for tabloids not to have ridiculous headlines like "CHOKE NOW TIM, AND WE'LL NEVER FORGIVE YOU!"

That's the British press for you though...s*** of the Earth.

I didn't actually ever meet anyone that really believed Henman should be winning Wimbledon.

The difference between Henman and Murray is that Murray is genuinely world class. Even Henman admits he's better than he ever was.

The longer he goes without a major the worse it will get.

No chance, she's knackered moonlighting as the lead singer in the Red Hot Chilli Peppers.

That's the British press for you though...s*** of the Earth.

I didn't actually ever meet anyone that really believed Henman should be winning Wimbledon.

The difference between Henman and Murray is that Murray is genuinely world class. Even Henman admits he's better than he ever was.

The longer he goes without a major the worse it will get.

Henman's fellow players stared at some the headlines in open mouthed disbelief. "Welcome to my world, guys!" But you're exactly right: Murray's so good he should win a Slam, and something will have to go very wrong for him not to. The sooner the better for his sake; though Henman's at least been able to advise him on the way the press behave, and I get the sense with Murray that somehow, he's nowhere near the same target Tim was.

It's because Andy is a real man and not a wee poof who does half hearted fist pumps to show off his (pretend) heart of a lion. :2thumbsup:

No chance, she's knackered moonlighting as the lead singer in the Red Hot Chilli Peppers.

Gentlemen, I have a confession to make. Not only did I like Amelie Mauresmo, and was delighted when she at last won Wimbledon - but I found her attractive as well. Get a look at that!

mauresmo_ap.jpg

I have a deeply unfortunate habit of being attracted to lesbians: it's happened with at least two other girls, except in their case, I didn't know beforehand (and no, it isn't what they told me just to put me off either!). Something clearly went wrong with my wiring somewhere... :57: