William H. Bonney Posted July 17 Posted July 17 3 hours ago, JWL said: Teeing off just before 16.00 is Scotland's Cameron Adam. Take it his auld man is a Jambo? He is from Edinburgh so I guess it's entirely plausible.
Thurlaston Posted July 17 Posted July 17 Teeing off just before Cameron Adam is Frazer Jones from my golf club (Kirby Muxloe in Leicestershire). First time anyone from my club has ever made it to the Open. Never met Frazer but strongly suspect that he is not a Jambo
OBE Posted July 17 Posted July 17 3 hours ago, JWL said: Teeing off just before 16.00 is Scotland's Cameron Adam. Take it his auld man is a Jambo? Any hint of Maroon in his garb, should confirm...🇱🇻
OBE Posted July 17 Posted July 17 Squeaky bum time there for, Rory, anything better than an 8 at the 1st will suffice...🤓
El Prez Posted July 17 Posted July 17 14 minutes ago, OBE said: Squeaky bum time there for, Rory, anything better than an 8 at the 1st will suffice...🤓 Bogey. Missed a 3ft'er. So, yeah. Lots better.
OBE Posted July 17 Posted July 17 6 hours ago, Mikey1874 said: http://www.fawanews.sc/Golf-The-153rd-Open.html Blessed with Sky Sports UHD, it's like being there without getting drenched. Undulations on fairways and greens are prominently defined in the UHD format.
OBE Posted July 17 Posted July 17 3 minutes ago, El Prez said: Bogey. Missed a 3ft'er. So, yeah. Lots better. Must be an awesome experience playing well in front of those massive galleries...on the other hand...🥴
El Prez Posted July 17 Posted July 17 2 minutes ago, OBE said: Must be an awesome experience playing well in front of those massive galleries...on the other hand...🥴 I've only played well, to a gallery of three. @Lord Beni of Gorgie can hopefully attest to it. Scheffler ominously about for the others. Has hardly hit a fairway all day but has scrambled really well, tbf.
OBE Posted July 17 Posted July 17 Rory's lie off the tee on the second... looked like spinach, broccoli, pea pods and a couple of blades of grass...
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted July 17 Posted July 17 20 minutes ago, El Prez said: I've only played well, to a gallery of three. @Lord Beni of Gorgie can hopefully attest to it. Scheffler ominously about for the others. Has hardly hit a fairway all day but has scrambled really well, tbf. Be a fair few sore bones if I played to a gallery, like the Prez, 3s enough, though I did once have a 7 ball for the final 3 holes at Braemar back in the day, dont think the members were impressed
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted July 17 Posted July 17 26 minutes ago, OBE said: Blessed with Sky Sports UHD, it's like being there without getting drenched. Undulations on fairways and greens are prominently defined in the UHD format.
Lord Beni of Gorgie Posted July 17 Posted July 17 4 minutes ago, OBE said: 😄 Just jealous, though I can't complain too much
Tommy Brown Posted July 17 Posted July 17 Interesting stat there when interviewing Fitzpatrick. 33 years since the last Englishman won the Open. Sir Nick Dildo in 1992 Had a look to refresh 2 NI and 1 Scot. 2 Irish. Harrington twice, & Lowry.
Samuel Camazzola Posted July 17 Posted July 17 Lucas Glover is having some purple patch to what could be considered as the autumn of his career. Been really solid over the last three years and was in contention as a captain's pick for Rome two years ago. See if he can maintain this start.
Malinga the Swinga Posted July 17 Posted July 17 McIntyre doing well then suddenly decides to hit shit drives, approach shots and putts. Two bogies in a row before sinking about 20 feet for par so still 1 under.
The Mighty Thor Posted July 17 Posted July 17 30 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said: McIlroy's group, 4.5 hrs and putting on the 13th Desperate stuff. 5 hours to 15th. Golf is committing a very slow suicide.
Samuel Camazzola Posted July 17 Posted July 17 3 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said: Desperate stuff. 5 hours to 15th. Golf is committing a very slow suicide. When The Open is at the Old Course, the loop from 7th green through to 12th tee is a complete bottleneck. A painful watch and the exiting/onboarding of spectators of the stands beside 7 and 10 contributes to the hold-ups.
Samuel Camazzola Posted July 17 Posted July 17 12 hours ago, JWL said: Teeing off just before 16.00 is Scotland's Cameron Adam. Take it his auld man is a Jambo? Inches away from a hole-in-one!
Rudi Skacel Posted July 17 Posted July 17 4 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said: Inches away from a hole-in-one! dont know about hos auld man but I know he is a Hibby!!
Samuel Camazzola Posted July 17 Posted July 17 6 minutes ago, Rudi Skacel said: dont know about hos auld man but I know he is a Hibby!! Booooo!
The Mighty Thor Posted July 17 Posted July 17 33 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said: When The Open is at the Old Course, the loop from 7th green through to 12th tee is a complete bottleneck. A painful watch and the exiting/onboarding of spectators of the stands beside 7 and 10 contributes to the hold-ups. They're going to be 10 minutes shy of 6 hours all in. That's a joke
Armageddon Posted July 17 Posted July 17 14 hours ago, JWL said: Teeing off just before 16.00 is Scotland's Cameron Adam. Take it his auld man is a Jambo? Father and son are Hibs fans unfortunately 😂 Unreal family led amazing parents, I know his dad Steve well. Praying he makes the cut, the lad will have an unbelievable golfing career.
Samuel Camazzola Posted July 18 Posted July 18 As good a player Aaron Rai is, a penalty needs to be applied for the use of iron covers.
N Lincs Jambo Posted July 18 Posted July 18 9 hours ago, Armageddon said: Father and son are Hibs fans unfortunately 😂 Unreal family led amazing parents, I know his dad Steve well. Praying he makes the cut, the lad will have an unbelievable golfing career. A very decent first round of 73. Saw the name further up the thread and thought there might have been something in that name but saw him very briefly on the box yesterday and he was in light green sadly. Still excellent first round from the young man. Oh and we forgave Andy Murray
escobri Posted July 18 Posted July 18 1 hour ago, Footballfirst said: McIlroy's driving accuracy, 156th of 156 in the field. Golfer sorts his putting out, driver says #### you 🤣
OBE Posted July 18 Posted July 18 K's sake! The rest of the field hanging onto, Harman's romper suit tails...again...🤓
Thurlaston Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Cameron Adam having a great round so far. Making the cut looks distinctly possible if he can keep his nerve.
El Prez Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Soon to be -5. Stat of the day(week): Rory's only hit 18% of fairways so far. That's not going to get it done.
Malinga the Swinga Posted July 18 Posted July 18 1 hour ago, Ray Gin said: It's gie dreich now Excellent, hope it chucks it down till end of day.
merrymac Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Why oh why do sky have to spoil their coverage by having the man with the worst accent in the world doing commentary 😡
N Lincs Jambo Posted July 18 Posted July 18 3 hours ago, Thurlaston said: Cameron Adam having a great round so far. Making the cut looks distinctly possible if he can keep his nerve. Sadly bogied the last two holes to finish three over. Projected cut currently +1
OBE Posted July 18 Posted July 18 (edited) 14 minutes ago, merrymac said: Why oh why do sky have to spoil their coverage by having the man with the worst accent in the world doing commentary 😡 Ewan Murray hangin' onto Gmacs coat-tails in that Dept...🤮 Edited July 18 by OBE
merrymac Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Its a close run thing, but G Mac wins it on the totally plastic mid - atlantic/irish combo
Samuel Camazzola Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Accent aside, G Mac does provide decent contributions. I caught a bit of 5 Live yesterday but Chappers was not on air. Colin Murray was a hard listen doing the anchor role.
Malinga the Swinga Posted July 18 Posted July 18 1 hour ago, merrymac said: Why oh why do sky have to spoil their coverage by having the man with the worst accent in the world doing commentary 😡 Not sure who you mean. Paul McGinley ruins whatever event he covers for me. Not his accent, just his ability to call every shot as fantastic and when it turns out to be average, making some form if excuse. Rest of team, even Faldo, are okay
merrymac Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Just now, Malinga the Swinga said: Not sure who you mean. Paul McGinley ruins whatever event he covers for me. Not his accent, just his ability to call every shot as fantastic and when it turns out to be average, making some form if excuse. Rest of team, even Faldo, are okay G Mac
OBE Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Paul McGinley can't pronounce popular, his effort is popalar, funny as...😄
Malinga the Swinga Posted July 18 Posted July 18 20 minutes ago, merrymac said: G Mac I've been spared the phony accent of McDowell so far and had forgotten about him. Hoping that's the case for remainder of tournament
merrymac Posted July 18 Posted July 18 5 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said: I've been spared the phony accent of McDowell so far and had forgotten about him. Hoping that's the case for remainder of tournament Oh he is on this weekend unfortunately
Armageddon Posted July 18 Posted July 18 4 hours ago, merrymac said: Why oh why do sky have to spoil their coverage by having the man with the worst accent in the world doing commentary 😡 Hahahahaha I have been losing my shit about that accent!!!
merrymac Posted July 18 Posted July 18 14 minutes ago, Armageddon said: Hahahahaha I have been losing my shit about that accent!!! It absolutely does my nut in the bad news is he is on all weekend. Volume down i reckon
Cruyff Posted July 19 Posted July 19 (edited) Go on Bob son, this is your day in the pissing rain to get yourself in about it. Edited July 19 by Cruyff
Samuel Camazzola Posted July 19 Posted July 19 Rory having the start he needed. A birdie on 5 is a must...