joondalupjambo Posted April 22, 2025 Posted April 22, 2025 (edited) St Andrews Links Trust had a profit of £11.5 million in their 2024 accounts. Chucking away 179 tee times at £42 across a near six month period looks like a PR job. Very rough calculation 2.5% of the available tee times over 26 weeks. 8 hours x 5 tee times per hour x 7 days x 26 weeks. Edited April 22, 2025 by joondalupjambo
hmfc_liam06 Posted April 23, 2025 Posted April 23, 2025 12 hours ago, joondalupjambo said: St Andrews Links Trust had a profit of £11.5 million in their 2024 accounts. Chucking away 179 tee times at £42 across a near six month period looks like a PR job. Very rough calculation 2.5% of the available tee times over 26 weeks. 8 hours x 5 tee times per hour x 7 days x 26 weeks. PR job or not, this is something I've been saying all the top courses should be doing for locals. We're completely priced out of the market due to the extortionate prices they charge. The majority of Scottish golfers will never play the Old Course, Troon, Muirfield etc.
escobri Posted April 23, 2025 Posted April 23, 2025 46 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said: PR job or not, this is something I've been saying all the top courses should be doing for locals. We're completely priced out of the market due to the extortionate prices they charge. The majority of Scottish golfers will never play the Old Course, Troon, Muirfield etc. Yes it's a start and hopefully more top courses follow suit.
joondalupjambo Posted April 23, 2025 Posted April 23, 2025 1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said: PR job or not, this is something I've been saying all the top courses should be doing for locals. We're completely priced out of the market due to the extortionate prices they charge. The majority of Scottish golfers will never play the Old Course, Troon, Muirfield etc. Unfortunately market forces at work and if the overseas visitors, and the better off continue to pay private golf courses the top dollar then locals have no chance. I guess membership of a decent club now becomes a worthwhile thought for many as that will still be better value in the long run.
hmfc_liam06 Posted April 23, 2025 Posted April 23, 2025 15 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said: Unfortunately market forces at work and if the overseas visitors, and the better off continue to pay private golf courses the top dollar then locals have no chance. I guess membership of a decent club now becomes a worthwhile thought for many as that will still be better value in the long run. I understand the commercial aspect but it should be a Scottish Golf directive. The top courses should be giving back to the local people, who'll be the ones to pick up the pieces should the golfing market crash (unlikely but you never know).
toonland Posted April 23, 2025 Posted April 23, 2025 Electric trolleys worth it? Thinking of purchasing one.
kila Posted April 23, 2025 Posted April 23, 2025 44 minutes ago, toonland said: Electric trolleys worth it? Thinking of purchasing one. I guess it depends on how hilly the courses you play are, and how fit you are. Electric ones I've hired I've found I walk at a pace that's in-between two of the speed settings, that was a bit annoying. Also some models you press the dial to stop and twist to increase speed - all too easy to set it on max speed instead of stopping! Wouldn't mind one of the electric ones with a remote control though.
OBE Posted April 23, 2025 Posted April 23, 2025 3 hours ago, toonland said: Electric trolleys worth it? Thinking of purchasing one. Sciatic nerve gave me jip, bag carrying days are over, hello Motocaddy. Never tired now after a round, couldn't carry a bag these days with so much shit in it...I'll be fine if I ever get chucked out the house...😄
joondalupjambo Posted April 23, 2025 Posted April 23, 2025 8 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said: I understand the commercial aspect but it should be a Scottish Golf directive. The top courses should be giving back to the local people, who'll be the ones to pick up the pieces should the golfing market crash (unlikely but you never know). I admire your moral stance and don't disagree that sometimes the big boys need to give back. One of their arguements will be we do give back with reduced rates to Scottish and UK golfers. I sure you know this as well. The problem is that the generous rates they offer to these folk e.g. Kingsbarns is £195 a round, is still for those with that kind of cash. My mate is being taken there on Friday for a belated 70th birthday present in a four ball, just shy of £800 for the group he told me plus clubhouse costs for food, drink etc. Do you think though that by the few big boys, having very high visitor rounds that it allows lesser courses to have their fees a bit higher? And so on down the food chain.
weegranty Posted April 27, 2025 Posted April 27, 2025 Playing Wednesday after a year out with a shoulder injury,weather forecast looks great
Footballfirst Posted April 28, 2025 Posted April 28, 2025 Trump putting pressure on the UK government to lobby the R&A to hold the 2028 open at Turnberry. Lytham was expected to be the host.
joondalupjambo Posted May 1, 2025 Posted May 1, 2025 BBC News - Bootle Golf Course in Sefton 'vandalised by e-bikes' - BBC News https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c0qnv5zpp3eo Sad.
il Duce McTarkin Posted May 4, 2025 Posted May 4, 2025 On 27/04/2025 at 22:45, weegranty said: Playing Wednesday after a year out with a shoulder injury,weather forecast looks great I played a couple of weeks ago for the first time in around 6 years. I was never a regular player and only took the game up around 8 or 9 years ago. I've always ben absolutely murder (just happy to hit the ball), but that's not really the point. Played Glencorse for the first time, and the weather was lovely. A couple of pints before we went out and a good few afterwards. A cracking day out.
Ray Gin Posted May 4, 2025 Posted May 4, 2025 My short game is horrendous since transitioning back off the winter mats. Thinned chips and pitches galore. If anyone's watched any particularly good practice drill videos that have helped their chipping, please share!
Bigsmak Posted May 4, 2025 Posted May 4, 2025 6 hours ago, Ray Gin said: My short game is horrendous since transitioning back off the winter mats. Thinned chips and pitches galore. If anyone's watched any particularly good practice drill videos that have helped their chipping, please share! Dan Grieves - just watch all his stuff - This has transformed my game. [
Ray Gin Posted May 4, 2025 Posted May 4, 2025 51 minutes ago, Bigsmak said: Dan Grieves - just watch all his stuff - This has transformed my game. [ Thanks! 👍
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 5, 2025 Posted May 5, 2025 On 04/05/2025 at 07:55, il Duce McTarkin said: I played a couple of weeks ago for the first time in around 6 years. I was never a regular player and only took the game up around 8 or 9 years ago. I've always ben absolutely murder (just happy to hit the ball), but that's not really the point. Played Glencorse for the first time, and the weather was lovely. A couple of pints before we went out and a good few afterwards. A cracking day out. That's what it's all about - getting out and enjoying a few hours with mates. I'm back playing properly regularly again after a bad shoulder injury (and a year at another course where I barely managed to play) and just enjoying being out. Not worrying about where handicap is going or putting myself under pressure during rounds. Liberating!
weegranty Posted May 5, 2025 Posted May 5, 2025 On 04/05/2025 at 07:55, il Duce McTarkin said: I played a couple of weeks ago for the first time in around 6 years. I was never a regular player and only took the game up around 8 or 9 years ago. I've always ben absolutely murder (just happy to hit the ball), but that's not really the point. Played Glencorse for the first time, and the weather was lovely. A couple of pints before we went out and a good few afterwards. A cracking day out. It's just about me getting out,enjoying the game,getting fresh air and exercise. Not worried about Handicaps or playing any competitions and if I get a mate or two along it's an added bonus,enjoy golf mate.
il Duce McTarkin Posted May 5, 2025 Posted May 5, 2025 2 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said: Not worrying about where handicap is going or putting myself under pressure during rounds. Liberating! Strangely, I actually played better after not hitting a ball for years than I generally did when I was playing almost weekly. I reckon it's because I wasn't expecting anything and wasn't thinking about it much at all, just enjoying the moment and the occasional half-decent shot. 24 minutes ago, weegranty said: It's just about me getting out,enjoying the game,getting fresh air and exercise. Not worried about Handicaps or playing any competitions and if I get a mate or two along it's an added bonus,enjoy golf mate. Amen. 👍
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 5, 2025 Posted May 5, 2025 1 minute ago, il Duce McTarkin said: Strangely, I actually played better after not hitting a ball for years than I generally did when I was playing almost weekly. I reckon it's because I wasn't expecting anything and wasn't thinking about it much at all, just enjoying the moment and the occasional half-decent shot. Amen. 👍 Nah it's because you've forgotten your bad habits, they'll be back 😂
Bigsmak Posted May 6, 2025 Posted May 6, 2025 Managed to play twice over the weekend. That brings me to 5 games this year. Broke 80 around Monkton Hall in a team match, and shot a 74 on Gullane Number 3 on Sunday... My Body hurts, I am so out of practice. Some good stuff - the lack of golf has made me forget some of my bad habits, and my chipping practice from the back garden has worked wonders. My putting was also good.. But the double bogies are slipping in there as well. Not good.
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 7, 2025 Posted May 7, 2025 16 hours ago, Bigsmak said: Managed to play twice over the weekend. That brings me to 5 games this year. Broke 80 around Monkton Hall in a team match, and shot a 74 on Gullane Number 3 on Sunday... My Body hurts, I am so out of practice. Some good stuff - the lack of golf has made me forget some of my bad habits, and my chipping practice from the back garden has worked wonders. My putting was also good.. But the double bogies are slipping in there as well. Not good. I played 29 times at Leven all of last year. I'm at 27 from February since rejoining my local club 😅
Tommy Brown Posted May 8, 2025 Posted May 8, 2025 19 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said: I played 29 times at Leven all of last year. I'm at 27 from February since rejoining my local club 😅 Have you given up Leven?
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 8, 2025 Posted May 8, 2025 2 hours ago, Tommy Brown said: Have you given up Leven? Yeah wasn’t working out for me.
Tommy Brown Posted May 10, 2025 Posted May 10, 2025 Braids green damaged during the week by news. A gang of E-bike vandals have ripped up a historic Edinburgh golf course. The head greenkeeper at Braid Hills Golf Club has spoken of his despair, after around 15 riders roared across the greens. Gary Rodger branded the aftermath a 'scene of devastation' while speaking with the Daily Record.
OBE Posted May 10, 2025 Posted May 10, 2025 2 hours ago, Tommy Brown said: Braids green damaged during the week by news. A gang of E-bike vandals have ripped up a historic Edinburgh golf course. The head greenkeeper at Braid Hills Golf Club has spoken of his despair, after around 15 riders roared across the greens. Gary Rodger branded the aftermath a 'scene of devastation' while speaking with the Daily Record. Tar and feather the ****s, also skewer them with that flagpole, in one end, out the other, hole in one!
Tommy Brown Posted May 10, 2025 Posted May 10, 2025 21 minutes ago, OBE said: Tar and feather the ****s, also skewer them with that flagpole, in one end, out the other, hole in one! I had forgot to add to my post. Playing Pumphy on Wednesday, A young boy (barely a teenager), cycles out the woods and onto our 12th green. Roared at him twice from about 100 yds to get off. He got the message and got off the bike and pushed the bike away. Bit different, the boy was just naive (I think) and not deliberately wanting to cause damage.
sac Posted May 10, 2025 Posted May 10, 2025 On 04/05/2025 at 23:19, Bigsmak said: Dan Grieves - just watch all his stuff - This has transformed my game. [ Yep, watched quite a lot of his content, whilst also getting a couple of short game lessons from the young Pro at Turnhouse. Needed it badly🥴
Disser Pointon Posted May 11, 2025 Posted May 11, 2025 My driving has gone to pot, blocking everything............ Off to Turkey for 6 rounds on Saturday as well. 🙈 As usual the rest of the game is pretty solid, seldom get everything working together, but poor driving will kill me over there.
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 Amazing what playing regularly does for your game. Taken proper advantage of the weather last couple weeks (9 games) and the scores have tumbled last few rounds, scoring mid-70's.
Jambo4050 Posted May 16, 2025 Posted May 16, 2025 What an astonishingly poor golf course for a major championship. PGA of America need to up their game in regards to venues.
OBE Posted May 16, 2025 Posted May 16, 2025 3 hours ago, Jambo4050 said: What an astonishingly poor golf course for a major championship. PGA of America need to up their game in regards to venues. Silverknowes on a bad day...🥴
Jambo4050 Posted May 16, 2025 Posted May 16, 2025 1 hour ago, OBE said: Silverknowes on a bad day...🥴 Wouldn’t go that far…😉 it just doesn’t have enough risk for a major venue.
hmfc_liam06 Posted May 16, 2025 Posted May 16, 2025 Courses really in need of some rain. From winter straight into a drought with little chance of thick growth. Played a few places with a lot of bare lies, and greens suffering too. Looks like potentially some on the horizon from next Wednesday though.
escobri Posted May 22, 2025 Posted May 22, 2025 Rain is on its way it seems, good for the greens but watch the rough get ridiculous 😪
kila Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 11 hours ago, escobri said: Rain is on its way it seems, good for the greens but watch the rough get ridiculous 😪 And goodbye to 300 yard drives for hackers The aprons at my course are so cruel right now, bouncing off at right-angles despite most being fairly flat. A good soaking over the next few days and it'll be all good again.
Tommy Brown Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 5 hours ago, kila said: And goodbye to 300 yard drives for hackers The aprons at my course are so cruel right now, bouncing off at right-angles despite most being fairly flat. A good soaking over the next few days and it'll be all good again. Totally prefer wet grass and greens. Love trying to play Links golf, nor any good at it. Hmm. Not very at Parkland either
weegranty Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said: Totally prefer wet grass and greens. Love trying to play Links golf, nor any good at it. Hmm. Not very at Parkland either I've never seen pumpherston so dry,lots of harsh bounces.
OBE Posted May 23, 2025 Posted May 23, 2025 19 hours ago, escobri said: Rain is on its way it seems, good for the greens but watch the rough get ridiculous 😪 Yaaaaaaaaasssssss, puts the high handicappers back in their box...🤣
OBE Posted June 1, 2025 Posted June 1, 2025 2nd hole club champ qualifier, I'm in rough behind playing partner who's on the fairway, 5 yards in front. I take my stance, address the ball, take my backswing, split second before I strike the ball, I hear an almighty thwack...**** partner (in a hurry) strikes his ball 1st. I'm on the beach, he's middled the fairway. 8 goes on my card, dreams ruined for another year...****in' amateur, amateurs...I'm blaming him anyway.
Samuel Camazzola Posted June 1, 2025 Posted June 1, 2025 1 hour ago, OBE said: 2nd hole club champ qualifier, I'm in rough behind playing partner who's on the fairway, 5 yards in front. I take my stance, address the ball, take my backswing, split second before I strike the ball, I hear an almighty thwack...**** partner (in a hurry) strikes his ball 1st. I'm on the beach, he's middled the fairway. 8 goes on my card, dreams ruined for another year...****in' amateur, amateurs...I'm blaming him anyway. 'Ready golf', eh?
Tommy Brown Posted June 2, 2025 Posted June 2, 2025 22 hours ago, Samuel Camazzola said: 'Ready golf', eh? @OBE fannying about the rough. Playing partner fed up waiting .
OBE Posted June 2, 2025 Posted June 2, 2025 7 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said: @OBE fannying about the rough. Playing partner fed up waiting . ...👍...Sadly, partner starting to lose it a bit, leaving golf shoes on roof of car, forgetting his wallet (aye Ok, that old chestnut), 15 clubs in bag after practice putt session. Hopefully this is just a wee faze and not a constant...
kila Posted June 2, 2025 Posted June 2, 2025 Ready golf for stroke play, but match play you'll lose the hole if you play out of turn without partner giving the thumbs up first.
Tommy Brown Posted June 2, 2025 Posted June 2, 2025 (edited) 2 hours ago, kila said: Ready golf for stroke play, but match play you'll lose the hole if you play out of turn without partner giving the thumbs up first. Not correct. You should tell him that he has played out of turn and he has to play the shot again. I think, if you don't you've accepted it with no penalty. In match play, there's no penalty for playing out of turn, but the opponent has the option to cancel the stroke and have the player play again in their turn, according to the R&A and the USGA. The opponent can decide whether to cancel the stroke based on the situation, potentially if the out-of-turn shot was good or bad. addition: A mate caused a stooshie last year with this. I think the opponent putted out. He told the guy that he lost the hole, the opponent wasn't clued up and accepted it. Mate thinks he knows the rules inside out, he bloody doesn't, always pointing out things to him. Edited June 2, 2025 by Tommy Brown
kila Posted June 2, 2025 Posted June 2, 2025 30 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said: Not correct. You should tell him that he has played out of turn and he has to play the shot again. I think, if you don't you've accepted it with no penalty. In match play, there's no penalty for playing out of turn, but the opponent has the option to cancel the stroke and have the player play again in their turn, according to the R&A and the USGA. The opponent can decide whether to cancel the stroke based on the situation, potentially if the out-of-turn shot was good or bad. addition: A mate caused a stooshie last year with this. I think the opponent putted out. He told the guy that he lost the hole, the opponent wasn't clued up and accepted it. Mate thinks he knows the rules inside out, he bloody doesn't, always pointing out things to him. 👍 Thanks for the correction. To be honest, I use the R&A Rules app anytime I need to check something during a match anyway