Official Golf geeks gibber thread

Victorian

3 hours ago, kila said:

Watched wee bit - that scoreboard thing is too distracting with all the team logos :laugh:

Totally - its like Formula 1 takes your attention away from what you should be looking at.

Don't see anything revolutionary or mind bogglingly different.

• Replies 14.9k

• hmfc_liam06

• Samuel Camazzola

• Irufushi

• Victorian

On 08/06/2022 at 16:17, Rockwell said:

And they wouldn't answer so took it as a no .they are prepared to go anywhere in the world.they wouldn't even rule out Russia . Looks like if the money is right they will go anywhere look forward to the Liv event in Pyongyang.

Footballers went to Russia and will now go to Qatar and then the US. Just depends how far or biased your morals go. Funny old game.

14 hours ago, kila said:

Watched wee bit - that scoreboard thing is too distracting with all the team logos :laugh:

The scoreboard has to go.

13 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

Brandel Chamblee making some good points on SSN, top 4 best paid sportsmen of all time, Jordan-Woods-Palmer-Nicklaus, Mickelson 11th ahead of guys like Beckham who play more popular sports and have a higher profile. 

Are they tho, are do sponsorship make them more. Who is paid more for winning or competing in their respective competition. 

And Beckham was pish compared to The greats of football or any other sport. Why should he earn more based on ability.

Jordan Goat. Jack and Tiger the Goats. Palmer trailblazer and marketers dream. Most of the top earners are American and are heavyweight material in sales. 

Pound for pound, Who has made the most money on ability. Probably Phil Taylor. 

Floyd Mayweather must be up there and wee Messi doesn't half do well for himself. Tho I only think Floyd would fight anywhere for $100m.

2 hours ago, Armageddon said:

Graeme McDowell's accent triggers me more than anything on earth.

Agreed. Arsehole of a man to boot, comes across as a complete bell end. 

The tipping point is the number of top players going over. 

Once that goes to a high enough number an accommodation is inevitable. 

10 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

The tipping point is the number of top players going over. 

Once that goes to a high enough number an accommodation is inevitable. 

They’ll need more than 3 of the worlds top 30.  I hope all the has-beens have fuvked it but now they’re absolutely loaded.

I wonder if they could be sued due to breach of contract 🤔🤔🤔

24 minutes ago, Steak said:

£4 mil for the winner at the end of Saturday 😬

How is that sustainable?

£1.88 litre for petrol & rising, piece o pish...Saudi backed...

14 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Are they tho, are do sponsorship make them more. Who is paid more for winning or competing in their respective competition. 

And Beckham was pish compared to The greats of football or any other sport. Why should he earn more based on ability.

Yes they are, Google it. 
Mickelson has made more than $800m on the US tour. Beckham was used as someone who was talented and had a huge media presence and “brand” compared to most golfers. 
He rightly there are far bigger world stars, who play more popular sports, but make less money. 

6 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

This guy reckons the LIV events will be absorbed into the US tour in the fall from next year, and that the Masters won’t ban players as they love past champions and want the best field possible. 
https://consent.yahoo.com/v2/collectConsent?sessionId=3_cc-session_235ef299-a515-4252-a186-4196d9bd6d45

The Fall. You mean Autumn.

Greg Norman tried to or had Alan Shipnuck manhandled out of the press conference yesterday, cause he asks difficult questions. Greg Norman is a total bellend.

3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Could be worse. Kids could be called 'weans'. 

14 hours ago, jonesy said:

What's with the team names? All a bit cartoonish and aimed at folk with low attention spans. 

And will these teams be together for a while or are they going to change them completely every year?

They should have made them relatable to the average punter. The Hackers, The Shankers, The Three Putts, The Iron Covers, The No Returns...

On the team front, it's not entirely clear what will happen for the rest of the season as there will be a bit of a change in the field for the remaining six 54 hole events. Due to the Captains being paid chunky fees, I'd expect they'll be committed to play in every event and will remain as part of their named team. 

21 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Wee anes =Weans A perfectly good Scots word. You stuck to English word Bairn. :thumbsup:

On 11/06/2022 at 03:03, ri Alban said:

I was just using his words 😆, the reporter that got ejected by Norman’s goons. 

On 11/06/2022 at 06:58, Samuel Camazzola said:

Or children could be called kids😉

McIlroy really in his element right now putting on a bit of a show at the Canadian Open, hope he can keep it going through next week at the US Open

Edited by kila

1 hour ago, kila said:

McIlroy really in his element right now putting on a bit of a show at the Canadian Open, hope he can keep it going through next week at the US Open

Justin Rose shooting 60 with three bogies😲

blew it on the last

4 hours ago, John Findlay said:

Or children could be called kids😉

The kids are alright. 👍 

Families of 911 criticising Americans playing on the LIV tour, taking it to another level. 
Meanwhile Rory, Tony and both Justin’s putting on a show in Canada, whilst Linn Grant becomes the first woman to win on the European tour. 

Nice win for Rory and strong finish. 

The winner's cheque was dwarfed by his appearance fee but a lovely bonus for his temporary caddie 💵 

Starting to enjoy my golf again. I'm starting to get my game back. 17 shots I took off my score from the week before. Out tomorrow for my final handicap card, then it's hard graft to get it down to about 10. Which was my old unofficial handicap.

I was going very well today when after I hit a birdie 2, I went 10, I did well to forget about it. That's my Handicap scores in. Should be around 24. No too bad after being away from golf for over ten years. Driving very well :) but my long irons aren't what they should be. :(

17 hours ago, ri Alban said:

I was going very well today when after I hit a birdie 2, I went 10, I did well to forget about it. That's my Handicap scores in. Should be around 24. No too bad after being away from golf for over ten years. Driving very well :) but my long irons aren't what they should be. :(

Just play as much as you can - that will get that handicap down 

4 hours ago, Bigsmak said:

Just play as much as you can - that will get that handicap down 

Any recommendations for stand bags lads? 

looking at reviews online and the ping hoofer seems to be popular but never had one before. 

any advice appreciated 👍

46 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

looking at reviews online and the ping hoofer seems to be popular but never had one before. 

any advice appreciated 👍

Number of dividers is what determines the bag I buy. 14-way dividers are worth it if you like a consistent club arrangement - some have them in a 3-4-4-3 or similar and others are a criss-cross.

The lack of images of the top of the bag/arrangement means it's easy to overlook a nice looking bag that has 2 or 4 dividers. Some prefer that though, but I find everything ends up upside down when carried.

48 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

any advice appreciated 👍

Are you looking for full waterproof with sealed zips etc...? 

Big Max, Sun Mountain and Ogio are probably the most reliable manufacturers. Big Max are German and supply premium bags and trolleys. I have one of their lightweight smaller bags for quick rounds etc. Been very happy with it. 

The other two are big names in the US for backpacking and hillwalking bags and the ones I've seen have been impressive. 

3 minutes ago, kila said:

Number of dividers is what determines the bag I buy. 14-way dividers are worth it if you like a consistent club arrangement - some have them in a 3-4-4-3 or similar and others are a criss-cross.

The lack of images of the top of the bag/arrangement means it's easy to overlook a nice looking bag that has 2 or 4 dividers. Some prefer that though, but I find everything ends up upside down when carried.

My srixon bag has 4 dividers and it does my head in tbh, 14 dividers might be a shout . 👍

4 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Are you looking for full waterproof with sealed zips etc...? 

Big Max, Sun Mountain and Ogio are probably the most reliable manufacturers. Big Max are German and supply premium bags and trolleys. I have one of their lightweight smaller bags for quick rounds etc. Been very happy with it. 

The other two are big names in the US for backpacking and hillwalking bags and the ones I've seen have been impressive. 

Sun mountain do seem good but near double the price of most others. Not overly fussed for waterproof If it’s raining I’ll not go out haha. Handy if I’m out and it starts raining I suppose. Will have a look at big max and ogio see what they’re like. Thanks.

1 minute ago, Irufushi said:

My srixon bag has 4 dividers and it does my head in tbh, 14 dividers might be a shout . 👍

Sun mountain do seem good but near double the price of most others. Not overly fussed for waterproof If it’s raining I’ll not go out haha. Handy if I’m out and it starts raining I suppose. Will have a look at big max and ogio see what they’re like. Thanks.

With the variety of brands I've had and got (currently have five I rotate), I've never had an issue with quality or had to return any. A couple of guys I play with have returned theirs (Callaway, Titleist) but it could be down to the way they handle them. 

I think all of the top brands make bags to a good standard and it is just down to what you want (number of pockets, amount of storage, waterproof, colour, number of dividers or simply the brand name. 

The three I mentioned are at the upper end of the price scale. However, they are specialists in that market. Wilson make nice bags too and are another who are bigger in the US than here. 

One of my bags is a Taylor Made hybrid. It's quite big for a carry bag with a stand but designed to fit a trolley too. It has a 14-way divider feature which is handy. 

If you're looking for something a bit different from what others use, Vice could worth a look http://www.vicegolf.com/uk/

On 14/06/2022 at 15:22, ri Alban said:

I lipped out for a hole in one last week. Think it just caught the edge of the windmill. Anyway, wagers on Cantlay and Zalatoris this week but it is absolutely wide open. 

Rose, C, Smith, Finau & Lowry, all £2.50 each way...Just a wee something to keep me interested/awake...👀

23 hours ago, Irufushi said:

any advice appreciated 👍

I’ve just bought a bag from Caddy Club, the quality is outstanding for the price, £129 I think I paid.

They’re a small independent golf brand.

Concerned for my season. I’ve been out in the States on holiday and injured my arm doing an indoor skydive. I can’t lift my left arm whatsoever (I’m on day 5 since it happened). 

I think I’ve strained a nerve but will be straight for an MRI when I get home on Monday.

8 hours ago, ri Alban said:

I hope Phil wins it.

That’s not happening 😳

+7 after 16

early bath for Phil

Carry Bag

All down to why you want it?

In my case, it was for Winter use only. So as light as possible and waterproof.

I don't carry extra clothing and don't have a full set.

I couldn't give a shit if people don't like the appearance.

I bought a Ouul bag for £75.

Struggling to find them, now