• hmfc_liam06

• Samuel Camazzola

• Irufushi

• Victorian

23 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Anyone heard any info about driving ranges opening up?

Unless you're keen on launching away 100 of your own balls, I can't see this happening. 

1 minute ago, Ray Gin said:

Unless you're keen on launching away 100 of your own balls, I can't see this happening. 

True.    The balls are washed so I wonder if that could be done with disinfectent as well?      It may be that that introduces it's own health risk.

Ron Swanson
3 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Our local one in leeds has opened. They have a one way system through the shop to collect your balls then a one way system out the bottom of the range. Went yesterday and it worked quite well so hopefully it'll be a start. They even moved all the mats to the front of each bay to allow even more space behind for walking.

Even the golf was quite promising.

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

Ours have been hoovered up very quickly for Frid, Sat and Sund.    I didn't bother getting in early but swooped in to snap up a couple of times that people cancelled.    

How are Leven handling it with them having two clubs? 

*I'm sure you're a Leven member if my memory serves me.

1 hour ago, Ray Gin said:

Would the ranges with automatic ball dispensers be ok?

No physical contact required with any items.

i am sure they could disinfect the buckets on return

41 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Vic's at an Edinburgh club. 👍 

8 minutes ago, merrymac said:

Would the ranges with automatic ball dispensers be ok?

No physical contact required with any items.

i am sure they could disinfect the buckets on return

Yeah if you're not touching anyone else's balls <insert Kenneth Williams emoji> then I guess it should be ok.

8 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Vic's at an Edinburgh club. 👍 

Ah it's McCartney who's Leven.

I'd heard rumours they were 9 holes each club. Know a few who have joined Charleton because of lack of availability. We've also gained one from Leven too.

9 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Ah it's McCartney who's Leven.

I'd heard rumours they were 9 holes each club. Know a few who have joined Charleton because of lack of availability. We've also gained one from Leven too.

Charleton is only about £350 a year so depending on when their subs commence, they've likely negotiated a good pro rated fee for this season. 

1 minute ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Charleton is only about £350 a year so depending on when their subs commence, they've likely negotiated a good pro rated fee for this season. 

Charleton are doing a 6 month membership deal, £250 or something.

Like it there, if I stayed Leven way I'd likely join there.

1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

No,  not Leven.  I'm a member of an Edinburgh club (not advertised).

Edited by Victorian

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

No,  not Leven.  I'm a member of an Edinburgh club (not advertised).

Aye, got you and McCartney mixed up 👍

Just now, hmfc_liam06 said:

Aye, got you and McCartney mixed up 👍

I like Leven.   One of the first away courses I ever played almost 40 years ago.

Charleton are doing a 6 month membership deal, £250 or something.

Like it there, if I stayed Leven way I'd likely join there.

That's good. If you could manage a dozen rounds it could justify it alone. 

Our clubs tee times are rammed. Interesting given there was seemingly a large percentage that hadn’t renewed, I’d have charged them a joining fee , personally.

23 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Our clubs tee times are rammed. Interesting given there was seemingly a large percentage that hadn’t renewed, I’d have charged them a joining fee , personally.

This is something we're toying with for those who haven't renewed, won't renew because there are 2 less months but want to come back next year.

15 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

This is something we're toying with for those who haven't renewed, won't renew because there are 2 less months but want to come back next year.

I think our club could get away with it, only 2 courses in Inverness now , one closed in feb/March time and with it being new and such a good layout I think it’s what we should be doing to the chancers who’ve held off. 

Any members of Glencorse?

I got my weekend bookings in but if anyone fancies a 2 ball next week, give me a shout. Sitting absolutely bored silly all lockdown so hitting the course as much as possible next week.

John mcCartney
4 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I'd heard rumours they were 9 holes each club.

full 18 Liam,who told you that one lol.....
Bookings for LGS go live 26/5........reckon Il stay up late tonight.

I imagine this could act as a deterrent to any potential new joiners (unless it's purely aimed at the ones who have not renewed). 

13 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

I imagine this could act as a deterrent to any potential new joiners (unless it's purely aimed at the ones who have not renewed). 

Purely at those who refused to rejoin and now refusing to because we haven't reduced our fees.

Our new membership is pretty strong, 10 signed up over the weekend with a further 5 who have said they'd be in this week to join.

Purely at those who refused to rejoin and now refusing to because we haven't reduced our fees.

Our new membership is pretty strong, 10 signed up over the weekend with a further 5 who have said they'd be in this week to join.

It's pretty poor from them. Could understand if their income had taken a hit and they could simply no longer afford it. Doesn't seem the case though. 

At worst, they could have retained their membership under the House category. 

31 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Definitely hit them with a re-joining fee. They abandoned the club in its time of need. **** them.

Everybody Loves Baz!

System crashed on BRS at 7.59am this morning just as I was about to book.

Managed to get 4 times though eventually, so all good.

Good news, golf bag is about 1/3 lighter since removing the winter graith.

Edited by Old Blue Eyes

I've sorted out a bag of 7 clubs to carry for the time being.   No clutter.   Nice wee light bag.    

Driver

Hybrid

5i

7i

9i

56 degree

Wand

Had a few swings in the garden and I was buggered.   :(

1 minute ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

**** carrying clubs :lol:

I know.   I'm going to get a good cart at some point.

5 minutes ago, Victorian said:

I know.   I'm going to get a good cart at some point.

I picked up a great deal in American Golf for an ex-demo Motocaddy S3 Pro last year. Think it was around £200.

Will probably give this kind of business to the club pro.    Plus it would reside in the trolley/cart shed so if it had any problems it's right beside it's origin of sale.

Carnage on the booking system this morning as 800 members tried to book the times for 6 days. 

However Saturday & Sunday in the bag :smugger:

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

I've sorted out a bag of 7 clubs to carry for the time being.   No clutter.   Nice wee light bag.    

Driver

Hybrid

5i

7i

9i

56 degree

Wand

Had a few swings in the garden and I was buggered.   :(

:scenes:  It's your garden, you can do what you want, don't be on the receiving end next time.

1 hour ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

:scenes:  It's your garden, you can do what you want, don't be on the receiving end next time.

4 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

**** carrying clubs :lol:

I got a push trolley about 6 years ago after always carrying, last few years after 14 or so holes my lower back was stiff as ****, bought a stand bag around the end of August and the back was tip top after my round. Being tall obviously doesn’t help with a push trolley (for me anyway) .

John mcCartney

Goswick was beautiful today,really enjoyed being back putting a shift in on the course.

Figured Id be better grabbing a round there than Leven Links as 2 clubs vie for the times over the weekend
and beyond.Think I saw a couple of times avail next Monday.

8 hours ago, John mcCartney said:

Goswick was beautiful today,really enjoyed being back putting a shift in on the course.

Figured Id be better grabbing a round there than Leven Links as 2 clubs vie for the times over the weekend
and beyond.Think I saw a couple of times avail next Monday.

McCartney 1 up...

4 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Clubs cleaned

Trolly battery charged

Watch batter charged

Is it time yet? :lol:

Is for some...

Lawn bowls now allowed.

Surely that drives a coach and horses through the concerns about golf surface contact,  etc.   Pins and other stuff.

20 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Lawn bowls now allowed.

Surely that drives a coach and horses through the concerns about golf surface contact,  etc.   Pins and other stuff.

It's almost like they're just making it up as they go along. 

Golf

10 minute intervals - pointless. 7/8 mins is fine. You can't go until the group in front are gone anyway.

2 balls is arbitrary. 3s or 4s would be just the same in terms of risk. 

bowls - use the same jack. Are they cleaning their bowls between ends?

I thought the old ***** who play bowls were meant to be shielding?

12 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's almost like they're just making it up as they go along. 

Golf

10 minute intervals - pointless. 7/8 mins is fine. You can't go until the group in front are gone anyway.

2 balls is arbitrary. 3s or 4s would be just the same in terms of risk. 

bowls - use the same jack. Are they cleaning their bowls between ends?

I thought the old ***** who play bowls were meant to be shielding?

It simply doesn't add up.    You've highlighted the obvious contact hazards.     There's the mat as well.

9 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Can we not just be happy we've got our game back?

Na, it's time to shift the moaning on to bunkers not having enough sand and course conditions not being up to scratch! 😄 

1 minute ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Na, it's time to shift the moaning on to bunkers not having enough sand and course conditions not being up to scratch! 😄 

Aye I cany wait til folk complain about the course tomorrow....

2 hours ago, Phage said:

One more sleep until Christmas

Two, dinnae have the Saturday punters repairing pitch marks and divots eh!...:biggrin2:

6 hours ago, Victorian said:

Lawn bowls now allowed.

Last guidance from Scottish Bowls was no over 70's to play.  Seems daft when a 90 year old will play golf on our course on Monday, saw his name on the booking sheet.