Official Golf geeks gibber thread

Victorian

1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said:

Carry Bag

All down to why you want it?

In my case, it was for Winter use only. So as light as possible and waterproof.

I don't carry extra clothing and don't have a full set.

I couldn't give a shit if people don't like the appearance.

I bought a Ouul bag for £75.

Struggling to find them, now

Trolley's still banned in the winter at Pumphy Tommy?

Always used to catch me out 😂

• Replies 14.9k

• hmfc_liam06

• Samuel Camazzola

• Irufushi

• Victorian

17 minutes ago, merrymac said:

Trolley's still banned in the winter at Pumphy Tommy?

Always used to catch me out 😂

the state the course can get into over winter. If your able to carry, you should.

9 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Koepka, Morikawa and Schauffle rumoured to be the next players to head to the LIV Tour.

Can't see Koepka jumping after his comments on BDC

Not been playing well recently, shot 100 last 2 games, nothing in my game was working. With the help of a friend who is off 7 has changed a few things, and also  ditching the driver and getting a new putter. Played last night, no topped shots, no 3 off the tee, putting was ok, striking my irons good, just playing my 5 wood instead of driver, still shot 90. Had a few bad holes, got stuck in a bunker on one which was largely due to me being lazy as i couldn't be bothered going back to my bag for the club that was needed. Ended up having to go bag to the bag and got out first time, lovely. Expectations are a ******* in golf. I shoot mid to high 80s yet felt disappointed in a 90 yesterday despite it being 10 shots better than previous rounds. Love & hate this game.

Edited by Sir Craig Gordon

Had a wee idea as a JKB outing.

Lochgelly @hmfc_liam06  have a gents open on Sunday 10th July. 

We could agree a set of times and book them. 

Give us a chance to put names to faces and have a competitive round with no one having the hassle to organise.

5 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

Had a wee idea as a JKB outing.

Lochgelly @hmfc_liam06  have a gents open on Sunday 10th July. 

We could agree a set of times and book them. 

Give us a chance to put names to faces and have a competitive round with no one having the hassle to organise.

I’m booked in already but could easily change time…that’s if I’m fit to play.

18 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I’m booked in already but could easily change time…that’s if I’m fit to play.

What?

Are you injured or got a drinking session planned the night before?:whistling:

2 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

What?

Are you injured or got a drinking session planned the night before?:whistling:

Injured haha nerve damage in my shoulder. Currently can’t move my left arm. Hopefully getting a scan next week to discover the extent of the damage.

1 minute ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Injured haha nerve damage in my shoulder. Currently can’t move my left arm. Hopefully getting a scan next week to discover the extent of the damage.

Sorry to hear that Liam.

Here's hoping you get it sorted👍

37 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Sorry to hear that Liam.

Here's hoping you get it sorted👍

Cheers mate, hopefully a few join you at Lochgelly. I’ll definitely be there for a pint.

US Open/Sky coverage, bollocks as usual, a bairn eating s hotdog, aerial view of Boston, Morikawa getting out his motor and JT cussing all the way up to the green after he duffed a second shot, now over to Fitzpatrick on the driving range sliding on a glove...brutal stuff...😥

15 minutes ago, OBE said:

US Open/Sky coverage, bollocks as usual, a bairn eating s hotdog, aerial view of Boston, Morikawa getting out his motor and JT cussing all the way up to the green after he duffed a second shot, now over to Fitzpatrick on the driving range sliding on a glove...brutal stuff...😥

Maybe cos he was getting out of his motor from right to left rather than his usual left to right ? :whistling:

2 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

@Irufushii know you’re not a member at Kings anymore but have you seen what’s happened to the greens?? 

Aye , a pal who’s a member sent some pictures of the greens to me last week 🙈. Lost all 18 greens. They’re on winter greens and have been told it’ll only be for a month, from what I’ve seen it’ll be a lot longer than that. Absolutely ****ed. 

3 hours ago, OBE said:

It's not their footage. They rely on the feed from NBC. 

27 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

It's not their footage. They rely on the feed from NBC. 

NBC director needs a boot in the bollocks then...👍

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

The big man looking to keep his title .

Sair yin @ the last, 3 wood doesn't reach they bunkers, will bounce back tomorrow. Rory got lucky @ the last with line-of-sight free drop from the grandstand, love the tight leaderboard...USGA should make the pins slightly easier to get to (Fathers day), they've monkeyed with the players minds enough...:thumb:

48 minutes ago, OBE said:

Sair yin @ the last, 3 wood doesn't reach they bunkers, will bounce back tomorrow. Rory got lucky @ the last with line-of-sight free drop from the grandstand, love the tight leaderboard...USGA should make the pins slightly easier to get to (Fathers day), they've monkeyed with the players minds enough...:thumb:

As they should. 

I'm going for a Faither's day round masel. With all ma new golf gear. :jambobanana:

22 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

As they should. 

I'm going for a Faither's day round masel. With all ma new golf gear. :jambobanana:

New sticks or threads, maybe both? Easy bit is looking like a golfer...:biggrin2:

Edited by OBE

17 hours ago, Irufushi said:

Aye , a pal who’s a member sent some pictures of the greens to me last week 🙈. Lost all 18 greens. They’re on winter greens and have been told it’ll only be for a month, from what I’ve seen it’ll be a lot longer than that. Absolutely ****ed. 

Have they put down a dodgy feed or something? The way they look they’ll be lucky to be playing on them next July!

15 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Have they put down a dodgy feed or something? The way they look they’ll be lucky to be playing on them next July!

Must be something like that, looks like they sprayed them will weed killer or something 😂

it’s a thankless task being a greenkeeper but this is a huge **** up. I’d not be happy playing on winter greens during the summer like. All comps non counting and completely closed to visitors and all opens look like they are cancelled too. Will cost them a huge amount of money. 

48 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Must be something like that, looks like they sprayed them will weed killer or something 😂

it’s a thankless task being a greenkeeper but this is a huge **** up. I’d not be happy playing on winter greens during the summer like. All comps non counting and completely closed to visitors and all opens look like they are cancelled too. Will cost them a huge amount of money. 

Seen photos on Facebook, it is horrendous.

For those who haven't seen them, far worse than the McDonald's course at Innerleithen posted a few weeks back.

Advice reqd:

For some reason, I cannot post a screenshot of a photo,  weird.

I can post screenshots ok.

15 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Seen photos on Facebook, it is horrendous.

For those who haven't seen them, far worse than the McDonald's course at Innerleithen posted a few weeks back.

Advice reqd:

For some reason, I cannot post a screenshot of a photo,  weird.

I can post screenshots ok.

6E53DE2D-B202-47AD-AC02-E12D01B35F53.jpeg

8 hours ago, OBE said:

New sticks or threads, maybe both? Easy bit is looking like a golfer...:biggrin2:

Threads and bag. Did play so good, tho.    :(

1 hour ago, Irufushi said:

Every time I see another picture it gets worse 🙈

Incredible. That green in particular won’t be all that playable well into next season.

1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Incredible. That green in particular won’t be all that playable well into next season.

All sorts of rumours flying about now, one that weed killer was in the spray tank and not cleaned properly. Looking at them that seems to make sense as it all 18 greens but who knows. 

brand new course , nice layout and they’ve ****ed it , royally. 

3 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

3443645E-2EC3-4AC2-89C0-ABCBB834B170.jpeg

What a calamity, feel for the owners and members. Bizarre still having a flagstick on that surface...

15 minutes ago, kila said:

Laura Davies' waffling is doing my head in

Be thankful it isn't McGinley on just now. 

9 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Yes, the Yanks have to put up with him for their coverage I think?

3 minutes ago, kila said:

Yes, the Yanks have to put up with him for their coverage I think?

I think he is doing a bit for Sky and the US network but he is a hard listen. 

27 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Mcginley who said it was the “big man upstairs” that created the wind yesterday. Fud. 

3 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Matt Fitzpatrick - Take a bow! 👏 

Hell of a putt , some reply from zalatoris. 

1 minute ago, Irufushi said:

Mcginley who said it was the “big man upstairs” that created the wind yesterday. Fud. 

The prick has been on the hair dye too. 😂

1 minute ago, Irufushi said:

Hell of a putt , some reply from zalatoris. 

Aye, for a guy with an awkward putting stroke, he is effective. 

2 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Ooft

Cracking approach and putt. Took advantage of the fortunate lie in the rough. 

Just feel there is a last bit of drama to come.