Official Golf geeks gibber thread

Victorian

Anyone booked Dumbarnie Links via their online booking system yet?

Edited by joondalupjambo

• Replies 14.8k

• hmfc_liam06

• Samuel Camazzola

• Irufushi

• Victorian

On 14/02/2020 at 13:29, merrymac said:

Hips - first move on downswing everything else follows.

I should know i struggle with the process, same advice every time I go for a lesson !

Never had a lesson, maybe thats why im off 16.

1 hour ago, Harry Potter said:

Never had a lesson, maybe thats why im off 16.

Definitely does help mate.

Try one using Trackman, the level of info is fantastic.

Shows you what you are doing rather than what you think your doing👍

A couple of lessons , bit of practice you will be creaming it off 9-10.

1 hour ago, merrymac said:

Definitely does help mate.

Try one using Trackman, the level of info is fantastic.

Shows you what you are doing rather than what you think your doing👍

A couple of lessons , bit of practice you will be creaming it off 9-10.

Cheers bud, hoping for a good summer and plenty rounds, moved in to our new home , new kitchen

come march so should have some spare time..

I'm always amazed by people who will... 'Never go for a lesson'  ... Especially the 18+ handicappers.  

Tiger and Rory have lessons.... I probably take 1 or 2 a year to work on a specific part of my game, usually chipping.  I highly recommend them.  (if you are willing to practice what you have learned) 

52 minutes ago, Bigsmak said:

I'm always amazed by people who will... 'Never go for a lesson'  ... Especially the 18+ handicappers.  

Tiger and Rory have lessons.... I probably take 1 or 2 a year to work on a specific part of my game, usually chipping.  I highly recommend them.  (if you are willing to practice what you have learned) 

Who do you go to?

1 hour ago, merrymac said:

Who do you go to?

Used a few people over the years.  Gullane always has 4 or 5 pros working there.  Alastair Good is always good to work with.  

I used Oliver Morton who is now head pro at Archerfield and writes in Bunkered Magazine his facebook page -  https://www.facebook.com/TheLeadingEdgeGolfCompany/   and great to follow on twitter  https://twitter.com/ChangeTheGame54  - he posts a lot of good stuff on twitter. 

Also used Keir McNicoll who is now the head pro at Carnoustie.  

10 hours ago, Bigsmak said:

Used a few people over the years.  Gullane always has 4 or 5 pros working there.  Alastair Good is always good to work with.  

I used Oliver Morton who is now head pro at Archerfield and writes in Bunkered Magazine his facebook page -  https://www.facebook.com/TheLeadingEdgeGolfCompany/   and great to follow on twitter  https://twitter.com/ChangeTheGame54  - he posts a lot of good stuff on twitter. 

Also used Keir McNicoll who is now the head pro at Carnoustie.  

New 2020 GOLF TERMINOLOGY:

A Paris Hilton - an expensive hole  
A Diego Maradonna  - a nasty 5 footer  
A Salman Rushdie - an impossible read  
A Philip Schofield - thought it was straight, but it wasn't  
A Cuban - needs one more revolution  
An Elton John - a big bender that lips the rim  
An Adolf Hitler - two shots in the bunker  
A Yasser Arafat - ugly and in the sand  
A Kate Moss - bit thin  
A Gerry Adams - playing a Provisional  
A Brazilian - Just shaved the hole
A Rodney King - overclubbed  
An O. J. Simpson - got away with it  
A Princess Grace - should have taken a driver  
A Princess Di - shouldn't have taken a driver  
A Ladyboy - looks like an easy hole but all is not what it seems  
An Elephant's arse - high and shitty  
A Condom - safe but didn't feel real good  
A Sister-in-law – you’re up there but you know you shouldn't be  

Please pass this information to anyone who you feel may benefit from this advice.

13 hours ago, Bigsmak said:

Good point bud, bit like car drivers not taking lessons, mind you, by the way some folk drive thats questionable.

14 hours ago, Bigsmak said:

It's something I know I should be doing but rarely do, in fact, I've only had the one.

Part of it is time the other is fear of the guy tearing my game to bits and setting me back rather than pushing me forward. I guess it's down to finding the right coach.

You can glean free swing tuition from the silkiest, just by watching them. Louis Oosthuizen, David Toms, Fred Couples, Adam Scott and Steve Elkington. They all just seem to swing the club and let the ball get in the way...b*s*a*ds. All major winners tae.

4 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

New 2020 GOLF TERMINOLOGY:

A Paris Hilton - an expensive hole  
A Diego Maradonna  - a nasty 5 footer  
A Salman Rushdie - an impossible read  
A Philip Schofield - thought it was straight, but it wasn't  
A Cuban - needs one more revolution  
An Elton John - a big bender that lips the rim  
An Adolf Hitler - two shots in the bunker  
A Yasser Arafat - ugly and in the sand  
A Kate Moss - bit thin  
A Gerry Adams - playing a Provisional  
A Brazilian - Just shaved the hole
A Rodney King - overclubbed  
An O. J. Simpson - got away with it  
A Princess Grace - should have taken a driver  
A Princess Di - shouldn't have taken a driver  
A Ladyboy - looks like an easy hole but all is not what it seems  
An Elephant's arse - high and shitty  
A Condom - safe but didn't feel real good  
A Sister-in-law – you’re up there but you know you shouldn't be  

Please pass this information to anyone who you feel may benefit from this advice.

I thought this would always universally be known as a 'Dennis Wise'. 

You missed the Sally Gunnell one. No 2020 choice for this? 

7 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

I thought this would always universally be known as a 'Dennis Wise'. 

You missed the Sally Gunnell one. No 2020 choice for this? 

What’s the Sally Gunnell? 😀

Was on facebook and forgot that I had a Kickback Golf group set up 

https://www.facebook.com/groups/78854943769/

We could think about getting an outing this year.,.. (I know we always say this in the winter and never do it) 

Also -if you haven't joined this - this golf group is very active - 

https://www.facebook.com/groups/396211640744356/   - Golf Nutters

6 hours ago, Bigsmak said:

We could think about getting an outing this year.,.. (I know we always say this in the winter and never do it) 

Our old pro moved to Kingsknowe, he offered me golf with breakfast and dinner for £40pp for my society. I've never played it but could be a shout for a Kickback outing...which needs to happen!!

7 hours ago, Bigsmak said:

Got any links courses in mind and which month would you like this to happen please?

Liams £40 is very good!

Edited by Old Blue Eyes

12 hours ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

Got any links courses in mind and which month would you like this to happen please?

Liams £40 is very good!

Are posh taylored shorts required for the group.

Disser Pointon
On 18/02/2020 at 12:56, Bigsmak said:

I'm in the Scottish Golf Nutters group in Facebook, great bunch of guys, first outing this year is at Dundonald on 29 March.

5 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

Are posh taylored shorts required for the group.

I genuinely don't know what posh taylored shorts are Harry. Adidas, Nike, Under Armour and Puma are all taylored golf shorts but hardly "posh".

11 minutes ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

I genuinely don't know what posh taylored shorts are Harry. Adidas, Nike, Under Armour and Puma are all taylored golf shorts but hardly "posh".

Ok golf shorts that are standard for golfers, fancy the adidas ones myself.

22 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Ok golf shorts that are standard for golfers, fancy the adidas ones myself.

Aye, can vouch for the Adidas, a wee bit more expensive but last for years, mines have never lost their colour, shape or form.

35 minutes ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

Aye, can vouch for the Adidas, a wee bit more expensive but last for years, mines have never lost their colour, shape or form.

When do we think we'll actually get out on the course again, courses be dry by June? :lol:

Got a new bag and watch in January, they've not seen the light if day yet.

13 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

When do we think we'll actually get out on the course again, courses be dry by June? :lol:

Sun shining now, 10 minutes after a blizzard.

Unfortunately, the course is under a foot of water.

:sadrobbo:

1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I managed to get a few rounds in during January. The last few weekends have been horrific though. I'd imagine the course is pretty waterlogged now. 😢

On 22/02/2020 at 12:30, hmfc_liam06 said:

Tha Fairmont hosted a Texas Scramble on the Torrance yesterday and the course was in decent condition despite the downpours we've had. 

The greens were running really well and the only squelchy spots were in run off areas where little pools of stagnant water gathered. 

It was brutal in the strong winds at times but good to capitalise on the opportunity to play whilst the sun was shining. 

56 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Tha Fairmont hosted a Texas Scramble on the Torrance yesterday and the course was in decent condition despite the downpours we've had. 

The greens were running really well and the only squelchy spots were in run off areas where little pools of stagnant water gathered. 

It was brutal in the strong winds at times but good to capitalise on the opportunity to play whilst the sun was shining. 

I'd considered heading up there but thought it might have been soaking given I played the Kittocks in November and it was pretty wet then.

56 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Might brave it in march, carrick-knowe im coming to beat you, in my dreams.

John mcCartney

9 holes and a bit practice done at Old course Musselburgh yest afternoon.
Absolutely delighted,first bit of action in 2 weekends.

5 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I'd considered heading up there but thought it might have been soaking given I played the Kittocks in November and it was pretty wet then.

Gleneagles are still running their '2019' offer - 4 ball for £201.90. Their under soil system that draws the moisture out of the found is impressive and keeps the place in good nick. However, with the amount of rain we've had, I'd imagine there is only so much the system can do. 

Yay - managed a round on Gullane number 3 yesterday - went out for 8 holes ended up playing the whole way round.  Was my first game in about 3 or 4 weeks.  

So - I did it in 1 hour 43 minutes - Which is 20 minutes off the record I set when I was 17 and carried my clubs.   Shot a 70 scratch (2 over) but played from 8 - 18 1 under.  Really enjoyed it and cant wait for the season! 

Bring it on!

Looks like a wee summer trip up Aberdeen way is in the books.

Newburgh on Ythan open on the Saturday

Murcar Links open on the Sunday

Trump Internation on the Monday

Lovely!

32 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Looks like a wee summer trip up Aberdeen way is in the books.

Newburgh on Ythan open on the Saturday

Murcar Links open on the Sunday

Trump Internation on the Monday

Lovely!

Murcar is fantastic, just be sure you drive straight on front nine:lol:

5 hours ago, Tommy Brown said:

Murcar is fantastic, just be sure you drive straight on front nine:lol:

Yeah I've looked at the course before, looks solid. Think it'll be hybrid off the tee...that's if the carries aren't huge :lol:

Although it's an open, I'm not really arsed, just a good way to get a cheap golf trip planned.

8 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Yeah I've looked at the course before, looks solid. Think it'll be hybrid off the tee...that's if the carries aren't huge :lol:

Although it's an open, I'm not really arsed, just a good way to get a cheap golf trip planned.

You'll not reach the fairway with a hybrid, especially if there's a wind 😀

You'll absolutely love it, great course.

I managed 21 opens last year, great way to play courses.

1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I think I said before but I was in Aberdeen a fair bit last summer and often walked along the beach that the course runs along (can’t see it from the beach) amazing beach too btw, stunning and I never seen anyone on it. anyway I took a drive down to the course one day and I couldn’t believe how tight it was . Had a fantastic wee short game area as you come into the clubhouse from a wee single track road.