Official Golf geeks gibber thread

Victorian

Would it not be because it was unsuitable - If there is nothing wrong with it he is probably under no obligation to even give you store credit for it? 

• Replies 14.8k

• hmfc_liam06

• Samuel Camazzola

• Irufushi

• Victorian

7 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Chancing it.   Tell him to read the sale of goods act.   Whatever it is he'll probably be able to return it to his supplier.

4 minutes ago, Bigsmak said:

Would it not be because it was unsuitable - If there is nothing wrong with it he is probably under no obligation to even give you store credit for it? 

It's a pair of shoes. Tried them on, they felt awful on and were too narrow. 

To be honest it would be irrelevant if they were suitable or not? As a consumer I've got the right to change my mind.

Regardless, he hasn't seen a penny from me for them yet and won't be. Absolute chancer.

2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Shop pros need their membership customers.     He's being a cock.

I won't be spending a penny in his shop again that's for sure.

2 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

To be honest it would be irrelevant if they were suitable or not? As a consumer I've got the right to change my mind.

Regardless, he hasn't seen a penny from me for them yet and won't be. Absolute chancer.

Is this the Eastern European boy who tried to wipe everyone's unspent account credit at a year-end? 

I don't know too much about the consumer act but there are obvious differences between buying in store to online. An example is Sports Direct who only supply credit notes on returned goods unless there is a fault. However, their online arm has to offer refunds on everything. 

John mcCartney
21 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Liam,for shoes
only look for Footjoys or Ecco
FTR

McIlroy is a total *****, thought that for a long time now but he has just reinforced my opinion, he doesn't have an issue when he wins at -22 but takes a broad swipe at the Euro Tour course standard, he has a short memory when he fannied in an 8 on the first at Portrush then finished with a flurry of doubles, honestly, there's clearly something going on behind the scenes and I think the Euro Tour should just cut him loose rather than listening to him taking pot shots when he doesn't win.  Great swing but cannie putt to save his life, seems to think he's the billy big baws.

Rory - piss off you shitehouse of a brat, you do not represent golf in a good way IMO.  FUD.

1 minute ago, Armageddon said:

McIlroy is a total *****, thought that for a long time now but he has just reinforced my opinion, he doesn't have an issue when he wins at -22 but takes a broad swipe at the Euro Tour course standard, he has a short memory when he fannied in an 8 on the first at Portrush then finished with a flurry of doubles, honestly, there's clearly something going on behind the scenes and I think the Euro Tour should just cut him loose rather than listening to him taking pot shots when he doesn't win.  Great swing but cannie putt to save his life, seems to think he's the billy big baws.

Rory - piss off you shitehouse of a brat, you do not represent golf in a good way IMO.  FUD.

There was a stat on Twitter, the average PGA tour win is 3 strokes more than the European Tour and the top 5 scoring competitons last season were all PGA.

In short, he's talking out his arse.

No danger the courses are easier on the European tour. Pga tour is a putting competition most weeks. Wide fairways and minimal rough, odd tree to manoeuvre around if you miss the fairway. He does realise that most links are taken apart unless there’s wind? (Scottish open) and the same for the dunhill which also is set up for amateur players. 

he’s a dick these days. Talking pish. 

Yeah that's total bollocks what he's said.    Essentially his point is that European Tour events are birdie contests.   Basically a pitching and putting competition.     Even if that was true,   it's up to the players to out-birdie the rest to win.    If he's finishing 26th or 30th then he quite obviously hasn't played well enough to outscore the winner.    It goes without saying.

If what he says is true,   he should adapt to the challenge and keep his flappy mouth in check.

2 hours ago, Armageddon said:

Totally dysfunctional family on the male side it seems.

Following in Daddy's footsteps in being a D***

World handicap system.

Seems that CDH will be issuing WHS handicap indexes on 1/5/20.    This will run alongside your CONGU handicap.     CONGU handicaps still in use throughout 2020 and the WHS one will be for interest only.    WHS handicap index goes live 1/11/20 (out of normal summer season for most).    

17 hours ago, Victorian said:

World handicap system.

Seems that CDH will be issuing WHS handicap indexes on 1/5/20.    This will run alongside your CONGU handicap.     CONGU handicaps still in use throughout 2020 and the WHS one will be for interest only.    WHS handicap index goes live 1/11/20 (out of normal summer season for most).    

I've watched loads of video in this and cannot get my head round it!

28 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

I've watched loads of video in this and cannot get my head round it!

It's algebraic and a bit aramaic.

20 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

I play off 7, I want to know if i'll be off scratch, 7 or 15 ...

Guaranteed to be very little change.    I'm 7 too and I've worked mine out to be 6.9.

I think.

My season finished last night in dismal fashion at Harburn Seniors.

Overall, started the season at 13.0 and ended 12.2, so one lower.

I'll call it a success. I know fine well it should be lower.

22 home rounds and 22 opens.

Loads of great courses played for the first time. Murcar, Elie, Leven, Ladybank & Blaigowrie Landsdowne being the pick of the bunch.

Winter golf here I come.

Rory McIlroys ex caddie J.P. Fitzgerald was on the bag for the Dunhill Masters Champion Victor Perez...sook it up McIlroy.

Can anyone recommend someone in East Lothian for lessons please? 

I've played a few rounds per year on and off but never had lessons. I want to start taking it a bit more seriously now though. 

I'd like to at least get the basics in place over the autumn and winter so I can start playing again properly next spring. 

Thanks 

Up 0.1 yesterday to slip up to 8.   Playing one more medal to try to get back down.    A 0.2 cut to end the season on level terms.    

Started at 2.2 got to 1.7 finished at 1.9 . All things considered, pretty good. Only played around 8 comps . 

3 new wedges on order, new Taylormade mg2 in 50,54 and 58. Something to keep me interested in playing over the winter !

Changed my bag this year quite a bit - Took out my rescue club and replaced it with a Taylor Made GAPR2 iron thing - Cant seem to miss-hit it at all.  Just a bit shorter than my 3 wood but so much more consistent.  I then changed my wedges - So had PW, 52 and 58 - but found the gapping wasn't right - so have now removed the 3 wood from the bag as well.  So running Driver, 2iron, then 3-pw  And have 52, 56 and 60 degree wedges.  

Spent 2 hours at the practice ground this week and built a small chart that shows me my distances for the different swings using my 4 wedges - (see video) 

Have yet to use it on the course but hoping that it will be good.  Also got a teacher friend to laminate it ! lol

On 06/10/2019 at 16:08, Bigsmak said:

Changed my bag this year quite a bit - Took out my rescue club and replaced it with a Taylor Made GAPR2 iron thing - Cant seem to miss-hit it at all.  Just a bit shorter than my 3 wood but so much more consistent.  I then changed my wedges - So had PW, 52 and 58 - but found the gapping wasn't right - so have now removed the 3 wood from the bag as well.  So running Driver, 2iron, then 3-pw  And have 52, 56 and 60 degree wedges.  

Spent 2 hours at the practice ground this week and built a small chart that shows me my distances for the different swings using my 4 wedges - (see video) 

Have yet to use it on the course but hoping that it will be good.  Also got a teacher friend to laminate it ! lol

I can't stand listening to him - but I like what he explains here.  Let us know how you get on.

My golf in the next 6 days - Kilspindie, Luffness, The Glen and the Old Course ... my last 2 rounds have been 23 stableford points and an NR after 5 holes!! 

52 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

I can't stand listening to him - but I like what he explains here.  Let us know how you get on.

My golf in the next 6 days - Kilspindie, Luffness, The Glen and the Old Course ... my last 2 rounds have been 23 stableford points and an NR after 5 holes!! 

Any of those off mats yet? 😉

11 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Don't!!!

He will be back on with a stout defense:whistling:

43 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Mats make no difference to me these days - this was the breaking point of my 5 hole NR.

divot.jpg

28 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

Mats make no difference to me these days - this was the breaking point of my 5 hole NR.

divot.jpg

Ooft. Soft turf? Did the divot go further than the ball? 

1 hour ago, Armageddon said:

divot.jpg

Meteor strike?

7 hours ago, Armageddon said:

divot.jpg

At least it looks on a good line😂

29 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

Divot taken to Area 51 by police escort 🤦🏻‍♂️

on the back of a low loader by the looks of that divot 😕

Medalling today to try to retrieve the h/c again.   If it's another .1 up it doesn't matter too much.    Then that will probably be the bats shut away until April.     :)

6 hours ago, Victorian said:

Medalling today to try to retrieve the h/c again.   If it's another .1 up it doesn't matter too much.    Then that will probably be the bats shut away until April.     :)

Get yourself out in the quagmire/frost/biting cold. Man ****ing up 😎

As long as it not raining, I'm happy to be out there these days.

uphall has a monthly open. I have a spare slot on sat 2nd Nov if you fancy a jaunt out to the sticks😁

Nice day for golf, if a little breezy. I was striking the ball far more solid than I have recently (no duffers except the one shank off the first tee), but directionally a bit wayward and some poor club choices. Despite 4 lost balls, I would have broke handicap if it wasn't for taking 9 ****ing putts over the last 3 holes. Proper seethe when you're putting for birdie and walk off with a bogey.

Will hopefully still get a good few more rounds in this year.

Edited by Ray Gin

Similar at Lundin for me. Hit the ball really well, getting around or on the green in 2 but my putting was terrible. Probably around 40 blabs with the putter.

Up .1.    Largely neat and tidy aside from a couple of slips.    Hugely struggled with the zero run / wind / mud ball conditions.    Hit it nice enough apart from a couple of poor ones.    ****ing nutted the last three drives which is a nice way to finish off.    Same as last week 82.

On 11/10/2019 at 10:06, Armageddon said:

Played Castle Stuart today and used this for the first time used my chart 4 times and was really happy with the distances that I was hitting the ball (if not always the direction) so very happy with the results of this.  Might be the best 2 hours on the practice ground i've ever spent.. 

Playing Murrayshall on Saturday and Kilspindie on Sunday so will use it a lot more at these courses - lots more drive and wedge shots!  

Also - Second time playing Castle Stuart and still love it as a golf course, lots of variety with the holes and good shots are rewarded and bad shots aren't.  Thoroughly recommended. 

Round up at Drumoig today, course was in superb condition despite the recent deluge. For an inland course I was amazed how dry it was, not a mark on my shoes/trousers.

2 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Round up at Drumoig today, course was in superb condition despite the recent deluge. For an inland course I was amazed how dry it was, not a mark on my shoes/trousers.

Played that a couple of years ago in summer conditions.    Tough course with a bit of variety.    Superb greens.

On 12/10/2019 at 20:09, Bigsmak said:

Played Castle Stuart today and used this for the first time used my chart 4 times and was really happy with the distances that I was hitting the ball (if not always the direction) so very happy with the results of this.  Might be the best 2 hours on the practice ground i've ever spent.. 

Playing Murrayshall on Saturday and Kilspindie on Sunday so will use it a lot more at these courses - lots more drive and wedge shots!  

Also - Second time playing Castle Stuart and still love it as a golf course, lots of variety with the holes and good shots are rewarded and bad shots aren't.  Thoroughly recommended. 

Were you playing the main course or the Lyndoch? It's a pity that eight of the Lyndoch holes are no more. 

With the amount of rain recently, I assume the course was quite soft. Each time I've been up there, there hasn't been much run on the fairway. 

32 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Played that a couple of years ago in summer conditions.    Tough course with a bit of variety.    Superb greens.

Played it a few times now, really good course.

Still haven't scored better than a 7 on the 9th 😂

11 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Played it a few times now, really good course.

Still haven't scored better than a 7 on the 9th 😂

Quite a wee series of holes.   Water both sides of a fairway twice and then over water to a par 3.      In the hard conditions,    those tee shots at the par 4s have to be pretty accurate.    

30 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Quite a wee series of holes.   Water both sides of a fairway twice and then over water to a par 3.      In the hard conditions,    those tee shots at the par 4s have to be pretty accurate.    

Was blowing right to left at a good 25mph, water was a magnet.

11 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Was blowing right to left at a good 25mph, water was a magnet.

Not easy.   I suppose the first one can be played as a par 5.   Driver or whatever off the tee,  then play right of the green away from the water.    The second one can be a 7 iron or something off the tee.    In the hard conditions you're as well to have a go at the green off the tee.    Draw or fade.    Draw maybe better to come straight up the line of the fairway.

Played the Old Course last week... it's was great, but I don't think i'm good enough to savour the full experience, played it with my dad once before and this time with my boy, which was special, but in the main - holes 1, 17 and 18 and braw then the rest are just ok, that 14th par 5 is brutal, you cannot see where you're going so have to hit a blind 3 wood miles left to then get onto the front of the green!  I did birdie the Road Hole ... with my second baw :(

6C5BA601-1299-4944-8B78-A9C609DF59E1.jpeg

Edited by Armageddon